Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 3 votes

[project] ETBoot


  • Please log in to reply
221 replies to this topic

#76 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2008 - 12:17 PM

Hi ! I'm new in this trail and i need some help.

Download Toolkits + Tutorial:





The extrected ETPatchBoot.iso does not boot in VM, I have try in several modes : as image in VM/CD
as Virtual CD / DaemonTools or PowerISO, Magic ISO, Ultra ISO Virtual CD drives.
Please, if have somebody an ideea what's happening, tell me.
Up this step everithing is OK. VM is runing W2003SP1 eXPerince version.


You do not need ANY of the tools you listed, NO "Virtual CD's" of ANY kind, NOR ANY ISO modifying tool.

Simply point the VM to the extracted .iso, then set the VM to boot from the INTERNAL virtual CD drive, by modifying boot order in the BIOS of the VM.

If for any reason (which VM is it?) you do not succeed, use the BCDL floppy to boot from it, see this:
http://www.boot-land...?...=3890&st=46

jaclaz

#77 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 02 March 2008 - 01:02 PM

You do not need ANY of the tools you listed, NO "Virtual CD's" of ANY kind, NOR ANY ISO modifying tool.

Simply point the VM to the extracted .iso, then set the VM to boot from the INTERNAL virtual CD drive, by modifying boot order in the BIOS of the VM.

If for any reason (which VM is it?) you do not succeed, use the BCDL floppy to boot from it, see this:
http://www.boot-land...?...=3890&st=46

jaclaz


Thank you Jaclaz for quick answering,

Details you asked for:

VMware Workstation ACE Edition
Workstation 6.x virtual machine
CD-ROM (IDE 0:0) Using file ...\ETPatchBoot.iso

How to modify the boot order in the BIOS of the VM ?
... like on phisical PC ... entering with Del on Boot ? (the options displayed in VM are F2, F12 & Esc and don't work)

ASSR

#78 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2008 - 02:13 PM

How to modify the boot order in the BIOS of the VM ?
... like on phisical PC ... entering with Del on Boot ? (the options displayed in VM are F2, F12 & Esc and don't work)


You need to press F2 to enter BIOS.

But you also have to click with the mouse on the VM window before AND (if you have one of those "smart" :) I-have-all-keys-you-may-ever-need-and-thus-the-only-useful-keys-you-need-i.e.-the-F1-to-F12-keys-are-only-accessible-after-you-press-F-lock-key :( keyboards) try toggling the F-lock key.

If you have a fast machine you need to be really quick, and possibly press the F2 key several times.

jaclaz

#79 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 02 March 2008 - 02:32 PM

Thank you Jaclaz

With F2 is Ok but is needed to be very fast to start VM / click the mouse /pres F2 ... in 1/2 of a second.
Ok ... I modified in BIOS the BOOT priority to CD-ROM and it try to boot from it.
"Press any key to boot from CD ..."(*) Ok ( press Enter or Space or anything else) for five seconds think
about I don't know ... and after boot the OS from C:
I think that is something wrong with my downloaded files (but I allready download them 3 times and
recompose them with WinRAR) ETPatchBoot.iso does not work. I allreay try to write it on CD, with Nero
failed with errors, with MagicISO is ok ... i'll try to boot from CD now.
-------------
I've try allready to boot from CD ... same thing ... is booting from OS after (*).
I think is something with boot files in the ISO image of ETPatchBoot.
Maybe I'm wrong but I have no other idea.
-------------
I've try to boot ETPatchBoot from PC ... and it worked, why doesn't work under VM ?
It seems the iso file is good ... there are few steps and I'm stuk :)

ASSR

#80 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2008 - 03:22 PM

No, if the burned .iso works, there is NO reason why the same file would not work in the VM, the file is OK.

Since you appear to have .iso modifying software, try DELETING from the .iso the file "bootfix.bin".

It is possible that somehow you "lose focus" from the VM window and thus the key you are pressing is NOT sensed within the VM.

By removing bootfix.bin you have NOT anymore the option to "Press any key to boot from CD" and thus it WILL boot from it NO MATTER what you do. :)

jaclaz

#81 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:24 PM

Thank you Jaclaz

Everything mater is speed ... it works ... but ... I don't see the drive C: in ETpatch.
IMG.jpg
I think because is NTFS formated upon Install WS2003SP1 (probably needed FAT32 but nobody say it).
For those that use VMwareWS on machine with new processors A64 or Double Core >2GHz and with >1GB of RAM
the speed of reaction is the solution for aquire the process running even the settings in VM is 1 proccesor and default
recomanded RAM ... I learn something today.
If i'm wrong about NTFS formatting please let me know ... if possible today.

Thank you again

ASSR

#82 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2008 - 04:55 PM

Well, since you asked for it, :):

If i'm wrong about NTFS formatting please let me know ... if possible today.


You are WRONG!
:(

ETBoot can read NTFS allright (NOT Encrypted volumes of course)

Since the project has been tested (see first post) with 2003 SP2, maybe Server 2003 SP1 is the culprit, but I quite frankly doubt it.

We could exchange PC's, on my 1 Ghz, 512 Mb RAM, VIA Epia I find all VM's rather slowish. :cheers:

What do you mean cannot see C:?

You do have a Virtual Disk connected to the machine, do you?

Is also the BIOS setting accurate?

jaclaz

#83 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:19 PM

The BIOS is accurate
No Virtual Disk connected to the machine
For "cannot see C:" plese see sreenshot at post #81
Ok I understand the error presumming NTFS formatting ... sorry. :)
Drive C: of VM is not encripted. only compressed.
But in this phase I don't know what to do.

ASSR

#84 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:55 PM

I'll try to rephrase, if you have no Virtual Disks connected to the machine, you cannot have a C: ! :)

I assume that you meant that you have just that one connected. :(

Try disconnecting (from VM settings) the ETBOOT.ISO file.

Try booting the VM.

Does it boot to C: normally, i.e. with the XP or 2003 that you ALREADY installed to it?

jaclaz

#85 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 02 March 2008 - 06:14 PM

I'll try to rephrase, if you have no Virtual Disks connected to the machine, you cannot have a C: ! :)

I assume that you meant that you have just that one connected. :(

Try disconnecting (from VM settings) the ETBOOT.ISO file.

Try booting the VM.

Does it boot to C: normally, i.e. with the XP or 2003 that you ALREADY installed to it?

jaclaz


Yes Jaclaz

Is booting normally on OS, and yes you are wright is one VD with ETBoot.iso under VM
How ever to boot without it ? ... There is no other VD under PC. (and yes I have a drive C: under phisical drive)
All is all right ... less after booting ETBoot (iso) under VM in VD, it doesn't list the drive C: (like in tutorial .pdf)
and I can't specify "Target drive: C:" and "Target WinDir: Windows" to continue.
If you need more informations plese specify ...
IMG2.jpg

ASSR

#86 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2008 - 06:41 PM

Maybe there is still a communication problem.

Can you post the screenshot corresponding to the image on page 4 of 14 of the .pdf?

In that image you can see that there are THREE disk devices connected to the machine:
1) Hard Disk (IDE0:0) - that should be connected to your Virtual Disk - a .vmdk file - the one that boots as C:
2) CD-ROM (IDE1:0) - that should be either not connected to anything or connected to ETBOOT.ISO
3) Floppy - no need to connect it to anything

Now, when booting from ETBOOT.ISO, the Virtual Disk or .vmdk file should be as well connected.

What you are telling me is that once booted, ETBOOT.ISO cannot "see" the C: drive.

This is simply impossible :), even if it was formatted badly or not formatted at all, ETBOOT.ISO should see ANY entry in the partition table in the MBR of any connected hard disk (Virtual or physical).

The only possibility, would be if for any reason the VM fails to connect to the hard disk, something that you say it does not. :(

But this makes me wonder on another thing, you asked for assistance because you were not able to boot the VM from the .iso of ETBOOT, but then HOW did you managed to install windows within the VM as in step 3 of the tutorial (that assumes that ones boots the VM from the original XP/2003 Install CD or .iso image) ?

You can try using that CD/.iso instead of ETBOOT.ISO to boot and see if it can see the C: Virtual Disk/Hard Drive, starting (and not finalizing) a new or Repair install.

If the Windows install CD cannot see your Virtual Disk/Hard Drive, the problem is NOT in ETBOOT.ISO.

If it does, just reboot the machine after having changed just the .iso image to ETBOOT.ISO and it MUST see the drive.

If it does not, it must be some other setting you missed/set the wrong way.

Other than this, I'm really out of ideas....

jaclaz

#87 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 02 March 2008 - 07:19 PM

Tank You for assitence, I'll try to post the screenshots and explanations

IMG3.jpg

The devices connected to the machine work fine (Drive N - CD-ROM instead Auto)
Virtual Hard Disk (SCSI 0:0) is OK - chkdsk / Acronis Disk Director 10 - partition made at OS install.
Flopy A: Ok working - Booting with Startup 98SE
Network : Bridged directly to router - working ok
USB - Present - Working when USB flash connected
Sound Adapter - Autodetect - Disabled in Device manager
Dispaly & Processor OK.
---------------------------
At first boot ,VM rcognised the installation CD, and were no problems to install the OS (everything works as on PC)
---------------------------
I'll try to boot the install CD again to see what hapends.
I will post the results.
---------------------------
Results :
- Istallation CD is booting normally
- Win PE from install CD view the C: drive on VM
- Reinstall Windows on C: / Reboot VM / Ok
- Boot ETBoot OK - DON'T SEE THE C: DRIVE OF VM - same problem
---------------------------
Problem being the same I recloned the previous version (that works OK and have Apps installed)
---------------------------
IMG4.jpg

ASSR

#88 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4168 posts

Posted 02 March 2008 - 08:43 PM

Dont forget this part.

8. Testing the final bootable ISO image:

Insert the finally made bootable ISO image to the virtual machine, and remove the virtual hard disk that used for
creating this bootable ISO image
, because the hard disk and the CD-ROM contains same disk signature which
will cause the Windows on CD/DVD-ROM failed to boot with BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) error.

The disk signature is unique for every disk, 4 bytes data located at offset 0x01B8 on the hard disk. It is
generated when the disk is partitioned.



#89 Dhilip89

Dhilip89

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Malaysia, Johor
  • Interests:Anything that can blow my mind.
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 03 March 2008 - 04:05 AM

Tank You for assitence, I'll try to post the screenshots and explanations

IMG3.jpg

The devices connected to the machine work fine (Drive N - CD-ROM instead Auto)
Virtual Hard Disk (SCSI 0:0) is OK - chkdsk / Acronis Disk Director 10 - partition made at OS install.
Flopy A: Ok working - Booting with Startup 98SE
Network : Bridged directly to router - working ok
USB - Present - Working when USB flash connected
Sound Adapter - Autodetect - Disabled in Device manager
Dispaly & Processor OK.


@ASSR

Regarding of the problem you encountered, I've found that you are using SCSI mode for the virtual hard disk.
You may try to use IDE mode for the virtual hard disk because I just tested with IDE disk without this problem.

#90 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 March 2008 - 08:31 AM

Right on spot Dhilip89! :(

Explanation for ASSR:
The tutorial uses IDE disk, you are using SCSI disk.

The ETBOOT.ISO contains the drivers for the IDE bus, but not the ones for the SCSI one.

Now everything makes sense. :)

jaclaz

#91 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 03 March 2008 - 02:23 PM

Thank you both Dhilip89 & Jaclaz !

Probably this will solve the problem ... I'll try it today and I'll post back the results :)

------------
First I've try to move the machine on other one with IDE HDD ... failed on boot ... BSOD (conflict of drivers)
Second I've try to import the machine but is no option to modify from SCSI to IDE.
Third I've create a new machine with IDE HDD and I've install a new OS W2003SP1 (Tiny) - works OK.
------------
ETBoot is booting fine and finaly see the drive C: under VM - thank you for suggestion.
------------
I'll install all Apps, and after I'll make the ISO image I'll post the results.

Best regards,

ASSR

#92 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 04 March 2008 - 11:02 PM

Final result

Everithing was OK till the last step.
I generate the ISO image and at boot, after bootscreen (Win...) BOSD.
Why ? ...
The VM works fine, was cleaned, defragmented, etc.
All tutorial steps were repected... and return cmd messages were as in tutorial.

Have a clue ?

#93 Dhilip89

Dhilip89

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Malaysia, Johor
  • Interests:Anything that can blow my mind.
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 05 March 2008 - 01:37 AM

Final result

Everithing was OK till the last step.
I generate the ISO image and at boot, after bootscreen (Win...) BOSD.
Why ? ...
The VM works fine, was cleaned, defragmented, etc.
All tutorial steps were repected... and return cmd messages were as in tutorial.

Have a clue ?


8. Testing the final bootable ISO image:

Insert the finally made bootable ISO image to the virtual machine, and remove the virtual hard disk that used for creating this bootable ISO image, because the hard disk and the CD-ROM contains same disk signature which will cause the Windows on CD/DVD-ROM failed to boot with BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) error.


Did you done this step ?

#94 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 05 March 2008 - 06:24 AM

Did you done this step ?


Hi Dhilip89,

I allredy have done this step, I had followed the steps of tutorial accurately.
I'm not a specialist and I don't know if the step 4 is needed for create image on same machine.
The tutorial specifies that this step is needed for make image on another machine. (I have done this step).
Is nedeed or not if the image is done on same machine ? Maybe this step is not needed in my case.
But I think this drivr is a generic driver which works anyway !?
Is possible that one of installed Apps to modify somehow the geometry of the HD ? i.e. Acronis Disk Director
Server, Acronis True Image Echo Server or O&O Defrag or maybe Symantec Endpoint Protection (Server)
to protect data on HD or encript data somehow (in hiden mode) after installation ?
If I'll heve enough time today (afternoon) I'll start the project again and I'll buid another new machine (VM)
with clean install of Windows and I'll test if I can handle it to the final step without other Apps installed.
Plese if you can and if you have time, clearify for me "in two words" the step 4 importance of apply or not.

ASSR

#95 Dhilip89

Dhilip89

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Malaysia, Johor
  • Interests:Anything that can blow my mind.
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 05 March 2008 - 07:28 AM

Hi Dhilip89,

I allredy have done this step, I had followed the steps of tutorial accurately.
I'm not a specialist and I don't know if the step 4 is needed for create image on same machine.
The tutorial specifies that this step is needed for make image on another machine. (I have done this step).
Is nedeed or not if the image is done on same machine ? Maybe this step is not needed in my case.
But I think this drivr is a generic driver which works anyway !?
Is possible that one of installed Apps to modify somehow the geometry of the HD ? i.e. Acronis Disk Director
Server, Acronis True Image Echo Server or O&O Defrag or maybe Symantec Endpoint Protection (Server)
to protect data on HD or encript data somehow (in hiden mode) after installation ?
If I'll heve enough time today (afternoon) I'll start the project again and I'll buid another new machine (VM)
with clean install of Windows and I'll test if I can handle it to the final step without other Apps installed.
Plese if you can and if you have time, clearify for me "in two words" the step 4 importance of apply or not.

ASSR



If you skip step 4 you can still able to boot with VM, but BSOD on real machine.

Good luck :)

#96 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1445 posts

Posted 05 March 2008 - 05:12 PM

The size of hard disk image limited to 4GiB - 1 Byte because the ISO9660 file system limit

A ISO9660 file SECTION is limited less 4GiB.
However a file may consists of several file sections.
A ISO9660 file greater 4GiB is within 20 year old secification.

NT4 list a 3PiB file at ISO9660 media.


@Pavel Azanov
PE read migrate.inf.
Windows dosn't read migrate.inf.

Not tested: try fix drive letter at registry.
Boot DVD,
export setting to .reg file,
edit .reg file: change letter at .reg file.
load offline registry from hard disk
apply .reg file to to registry
unload registry
build a new DVD

#97 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 05 March 2008 - 07:11 PM

If you skip step 4 you can still able to boot with VM, but BSOD on real machine.

Good luck :)


Hi Dhilip89,

The problem was that I was tired and I hit Ok to the reminder popup of VM and Install the VM Tools - My mistake
(sorry for being annoying)
The ISO image is runing under VM.

Best regards,

ASSR

#98 ASSR

ASSR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 09 March 2008 - 09:01 AM

Hi Dhilip89,

After several ISO images with different size, checked step by step, with and w/o different apps in composition, the result is that all images are ok and boot under VM but none does boot under phisical machine.
After first boot screen of Windows allways come an BSOD. I try to boot on 3 different machines and the result is the same. I don't know what to do more. Have a clue ?

#99 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 09 March 2008 - 10:35 AM

What exactly is the message in the BSOD?

:)

#100 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 March 2008 - 11:21 AM

I would bet that it is a 0x0000007b one, which should mean that the image has wrong or missing mass storage drivers.

Do the machines have SATA or PATA/ATAPI/IDE drivers?

jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users