A n00b's woes

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 cybergenesis

cybergenesis
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 February 2008 - 11:53 AM

Hi. Firstly, please understand that I am new to this, as I tend to bite off more than I can chew. Please put on the tone of voice you use when you splaining something slowly to a child :thumbsup:

I downloaded Download Winbuilder 074. It downloaded all the various files etc, it took a little while.

With all the selection boxes ticked for XP LIVE CD, I allowed it to run. It completed the process and reported no errors at all.

Yet when I try to run the ISO in VMWare or VirtualBox, it will load up, show the desktop background then reset. One time it briefly came up with some error (in VMWARE, in the guest OS, not a VMWare message) before it reset, something like unable to copy file because volume is unmounted, something like that (I couldn't read it, it reset too quickly).

I really want to get this working. I find it very exciting. But if anyone has further time here are some thing I want to be able to do from my bootcd:

* IF possible, I want audio, I have "realtek high definition audio" as my sound driver.

* Besides having recovery type tools, I want to be able to watch media files with Videolan or other player.

* I would love to be able to boot up VMWare Player or VirtualBox inside the LiveCD and then run a virtualized system, such as a system from a file on my hard drive.

* I wonder about the possibility of having a video presentation play, sort of like a tutorial when the system initially boots up.

edit: Tried in qemu, same problem as above.

#2 pscEx

pscEx

Platinum Member

• Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 05 February 2008 - 12:38 PM

With all the selection boxes ticked for XP LIVE CD, I allowed it to run. It completed the process and reported no errors at all.