Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Error 17 file not found chainloader\BOOTMRG


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 prontovic

prontovic
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis,MN
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 January 2008 - 04:05 AM

:D Hi Newbie here can someone help with this error "Error 17 file not found chainloader\BOOTMRG" When disk is booting




Thanks :thumbsup:

Vic

Attached Thumbnails

  • error.jpg


#2 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 30 January 2008 - 09:22 AM

The loader requires the BOOTMGR file to be present in the root of the disc and named in all uppercase letters. Is it?

#3 prontovic

prontovic
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis,MN
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 January 2008 - 01:01 PM

The loader requires the BOOTMGR file to be present in the root of the disc and named in all uppercase letters. Is it?



Arvy

Will try later today :thumbsup: Thanks for your quick responce and keep warm...it's 40 below in Minneapolis

Thanks

Vic

#4 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 January 2008 - 03:49 PM

"Error 17 file not found chainloader\BOOTMRG"


...also please note that in grub4dos (as in Unix/Linux) the separator for directories is / FORWARDslash and NOT (as in DOS\NT) \ BACKslash.

jaclaz

#5 prontovic

prontovic
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis,MN
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 January 2008 - 04:56 PM

...also please note that in grub4dos (as in Unix/Linux) the separator for directories is / FORWARDslash and NOT (as in DOS\NT) \ BACKslash.

jaclaz


:thumbsup:

Thanks Jaclaz

#6 prontovic

prontovic
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis,MN
  •  
    United States

Posted 31 January 2008 - 01:30 PM

:D

Thanks Jaclaz


Thanks again Jaclaz and Arvy you guys got me working correctly :thumbsup:

Vic

#7 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 January 2008 - 03:01 PM

Only too happy that problem is solved! :thumbsup:

jaclaz

#8 ozrial

ozrial
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Fiji

Posted 14 February 2008 - 01:39 AM

Hi!

I have the SAME problem (error: 17 file not found chainloader \bootmgr)

Iam kind of a noob in this sort of thing...what exactly do I have to do to fix it? I mean, could someone please
give me instructions? :thumbsup: I desperatly need to get into the OS (vista home)...to 'save' heaps of data... :D

All I want is to either fix this or bypass the whole grub thing..
Oh, and btw, I think this error is a result of the vista OEM?? (recall running the oem a few months back)

HELP A NOOB!!! :D

#9 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 14 February 2008 - 02:06 AM

I have the SAME problem (error: 17 file not found chainloader \bootmgr)

If the problem is truly the same, so is the answer. The Grub4Dos boot loader is case sensitve and it MUST find EXACTLY what its menu.lst file tells it to look for. In addition, Grub4Dos will only accept a forward slash (/) as the directory separator; a back slash (\) is NOT acceptable.

Normally, Grub4Dos is told (by menu.lst) to find a file named BOOTMGR (uppercase) in the root of the same drive on which the loader has been installed. In this case, however, if it really has been told to look for a file named bootmgr (lowercase) then that is what it must find. Once that has been accomplished, the Wonderful World of Windows takes over and case sensitivity is no longer an issue.

#10 ozrial

ozrial
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Fiji

Posted 15 February 2008 - 12:23 AM

Thnx for the assistance man, but changing the case ( grub> chainloader /BOOTMGR) gave me the same results. ( Error: 17 File not found)
..Used the foward slash too..heh..
Also, I have only one drive so I doubt it being searched incorrectly... :thumbsup:
The worst part about this problem is that its on my laptop which uses the harddrive for a system restore- I have to press F11 for the systme restore at a certian point during booting the pc AND this problem keeps me from getting to that point so I cant, lol...and no I never created the disc...its just gives me ' error 17' right at the point before it prompts me to press F11...
So is there any other solution to this? Like to bypass or something??

:D :D

Thnx for the help, again, Arvy.

#11 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 15 February 2008 - 01:24 AM

Thnx for the assistance man, but changing the case ( grub> chainloader /BOOTMGR) gave me the same results. ( Error: 17 File not found) ...Used the foward slash too..heh..

You changed the case and used forward slash WHERE? In the menu.lst file? And WHY? Was that entry previously present in lowercase and did you determine that there was, in fact, a file named BOOTMGR in the root of that drive. It's not merely a question of some arbitrary 'correct' entry in menu.lst but of telling Grub4Dos exactly where and what to look for in order to load the selected operating system. And what it's told to look for must actually be there.

Also, I have only one drive so I doubt it being searched incorrectly... :thumbsup:

Huh?! Pardon my confusion, but are you saying that the VistaPE preinstallation environment and its Grub4Dos loader has been installed onto your system's only drive?

The worst part about this problem is that its on my laptop which uses the harddrive for a system restore- I have to press F11 for the systme restore at a certian point during booting the pc AND this problem keeps me from getting to that point so I cant, lol...and no I never created the disc...its just gives me ' error 17' right at the point before it prompts me to press F11...
So is there any other solution to this? Like to bypass or something??

I'm not really sure what you mean by saying that you 'never created the disc'. Are you saying that you did NOT crearte a VistaPE build but did install Grub4Dos somehow? In any case, Grub4Dos itself normally does provide several boot options, but, if Grub4Dos has been installed into the Master Boot Record (MBR) of your 'only one drive' you'd need to boot to some other device (CD/DVD/USB) in order to get rid of it and restore that main drive's MBR to something else.

Unless someone else knows some 'magic' I'm unaware of, I can only suggest using the FIXMBR utility on your Windows installation disc. And, if the drive's Boot folder has been corrupted, you may also need to restore that. The VistaPE setup disc is pretty good at finding and fixing boot problems, but detailed procedures, if needed, can be found at Microsoft's web site.

#12 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 February 2008 - 09:36 AM

Arvy, take it easy, man. :D
Trying to help is sometimes trying, but you must always remember that at a certain point of your life you also were a "noob", and most probably you made the same (of even worse) errors, I remember on my first PC booting from floppy, issuing a FORMAT C:\ and answering Yes two times....:D :thumbsup:

ozrial,
main thing is to avoid panic. :D

Please review this thread:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=3833&hl=

where a user with a similar issue was able to recover.

If any of the step by step instructions I gave in that thread is not clear, do post here your doubts and reports of different behaviours of your system.

jaclaz

#13 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 15 February 2008 - 01:02 PM

Arvy, take it easy, man. :D
Trying to help is sometimes trying, but you must always remember that at a certain point of your life you also were a "noob", and most probably you made the same (of even worse) errors, I remember on my first PC booting from floppy, issuing a FORMAT C:\ and answering Yes two times....:thumbsup: :D

If I took it any easier, I'd be asleep. :D

Of course we all make mistakes and that certainly includes me. You don't have to be a "noob" either, although I'm not much more than that myself when it comes to any WinBuilder projects. There's certainly no implied criticism in any of my questions. Just wanting to be certain that I truly understand the actual situation. I've found that assumptions about what people really mean can be quite risky.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users