Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

VistaPE v.11 Final!


  • Please log in to reply
162 replies to this topic

#51 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 11 January 2008 - 08:04 PM

Hi VistaPE-Friends,

I have found many errors in VistaPE-Final Explorer-script.
Many Language-MUI-Files are not copyed. I have already informed NightMan about this errors.

I have corrected the explorer-script.
Here can you download it:



I hope the Explorer work now again as in the beta.

:cheers:


VirtualBox testing:

1. As you can see, Ad-aware update works:

Ad.JPG

2. However, IE does not:

Ad_1.JPG

Attached File  log.zip   67.43KB   240 downloads

#52 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 11 January 2008 - 11:29 PM

ALL
Test it before i upload it :cheers: (i can not test on real computer right now)
[3_Config.script]

Works fine for me. No log errors at all.

I have corrected the explorer-script.
Here can you download it: 3_explorerv.7z ( 593.37K )

Well, correcting all those missing close quotes sure does help with some of the Jan 1st 3_explorerv.script issues, but I still can't get IE working under VistaPE 11. Same "not available" error as phox.

P.S.: Wish I had a dollar for every closing tag that I've missed. Using IDM UltraEdit's scripting syntax checker helped for me. :cheers:

#53 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 12 January 2008 - 06:33 AM

Well, correcting all those missing close quotes sure does help with some of the Jan 1st 3_explorerv.script issues, but I still can't get IE working under VistaPE 11. Same "not available" error as phox.


Well, thank you in a way: I have thought that only I am imagining things!

#54 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 12 January 2008 - 12:26 PM

I know what you mean, phox. One does feel 'lonely' sometimes about reporting weird errors. I wonder -- just guessing -- if this one could have anything to do with Vista permissions for the SYSTEM user, and/or perhaps the file types (non)association issue. I also get a similar error if I try to open a local HTML file in IE. I hope Nightman and 2aCD don't give up on it entirely.

Anyhow, all things considered, VistaPE's few 'rough edges' aren't too bad at all. With a few minor mods to the Grub4Dos part of the Standard-7-iso.script, I've actually got it working with WinBuilder's BartPEcore output to create an 'all-in-one' DVD. Just as another example of how easily minor oversights can cause major problems, I almost missed BartPE's lower case file name output (setupldr.bin and s_setupldr.bin) which Grub4Dos (*nix) doesn't recognize as the correct files for booting into the on-CD and in-RAM options.

One minor feature that I really do miss in VistaPE is a Command Prompt Here item in the context menus. NightMan might want to consider adding it to the main package -- just two registry lines:
RegAddBoot,"HKLM",0x1,"SOFTWARE\Classes\Drive\shell\Command Prompt Here\command","","cmd.exe /s /k pushd ""%V"""

RegAddBoot,"HKLM",0x1,"SOFTWARE\Classes\Directory\shell\Command Prompt Here\command","","cmd.exe /s /k pushd ""%V"""


#55 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 12 January 2008 - 12:30 PM

Now I can reproduce the problems with IE7.
I will seach the errors and post a new script, when I found it.
:thumbsup:

#56 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 12 January 2008 - 12:47 PM

Anyhow, all things considered, VistaPE's few 'rough edges' aren't too bad at all.



Far from bad: I have nice rescue package made with VistaPE 10!

#57 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 12 January 2008 - 12:49 PM

Now I can reproduce the problems with IE7.
I will seach the errors and post a new script, when I found it.
:thumbsup:


Bear in mind that all IE scripts work fine with VistaPE 10!

#58 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 12 January 2008 - 04:41 PM

Now I'm ready with a fixed explorer-script.
The IE7 is now working. :D

Some registry-entrys I must add for VistaPE 11

Here can you download it:

[remove (see later in this thread)]

:thumbsup:

#59 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 January 2008 - 05:00 PM

The whole discussion about VitaPE 10, VistaPE 11 beta, and Vista PE 11 final, leads to the result:

There is really a project version necessary, which I already demanded in my topic 'VistaPE for dummies'

Maybe it should be named 'VistaPE w/o additional OSs and w/o shells and whistles, running on the first click _skeleton' or more simple (and contain this stuff only!).
BTW: I do not want to suggest _barebone to avoid confusion with a well running project

Sorry that I'm a bit agressive now, but since the beginning of the VistaPE project my suggestions to simplify are disappearing in Nirwana.
Sample #1: First suggestion has been to take the download of some "standard" and "NightMan's" linux OS's off the download. At least me, maybe several or a lot of other people do not need Linux in a VistaPE CD.
Result ???
Sample #2: Some troubles I explained in my above mentioned "VistaPE for dummies" have been explained by booty#1 long time ago.
Result ???

Peter

#60 K0LO

K0LO
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Interests:Amateur Radio, Model Airplanes<br />PC interests:<br />Windows Vista<br />Tablet PC<br />Linux<br />PC Boot Process, partitioning, imaging
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 January 2008 - 07:20 PM

Now I'm ready with a fixed explorer-script.
The IE7 is now working. :thumbsup:


I can confirm that IE7 does work now. But I am having the same dilemma as NightMan. Adding IE7 to the build makes boot.wim about 100 MB larger.

#61 K0LO

K0LO
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Interests:Amateur Radio, Model Airplanes<br />PC interests:<br />Windows Vista<br />Tablet PC<br />Linux<br />PC Boot Process, partitioning, imaging
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 January 2008 - 07:28 PM

ALL
Test it before i upload it :thumbsup: (i can not test on real computer right now)


Great job! This script fixed the issue that one of my computers was having. It has a wireless USB mouse and a USB keyboard. They work at boot time and until vpeldr is finished, then there was no more keyboard or mouse. But they now work properly with the new script.

I like that the HWPNP routine, which was slow, was replaced with a USB device detection routine, which takes only 15 sec.

Now from power on to the Vista Explorer shell takes 102 seconds; much better.

#62 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 12 January 2008 - 09:56 PM

Now I'm ready with a fixed explorer-script.
The IE7 is now working. :thumbsup:


Confirmed. I'm typing this from IE in VistaPE 11. Terrific!!! Great job! Still having a few problems with local HTML file viewing, but that's probably just a matter of fixing up the file associations.

Don't know about that preinstallation environment "for dummies" suggestion. Sounds a bit dangerous to me. :D But VistaPE sure beats Mickeysoft's command console as far as I'm concerned. I just uncheck whatever I don't want.

#63 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 12 January 2008 - 10:52 PM

There is really a project version necessary, which I already demanded in my topic 'VistaPE for dummies'

Maybe it should be named 'VistaPE w/o additional OSs and w/o shells and whistles, running on the first click _skeleton' or more simple (and contain this stuff only!).
BTW: I do not want to suggest _barebone to avoid confusion with a well running project

Sorry that I'm a bit agressive now, but since the beginning of the VistaPE project my suggestions to simplify are disappearing in Nirwana.

Peter if you read Nightmans last posts about VistaPE12, then you should realize that you will get what you're asking for.
And also that there are already forces on the move to prevent that! :D

:thumbsup:

#64 DigeratiPrime

DigeratiPrime

    Newbie

  • Advanced user
  • 15 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 January 2008 - 11:08 PM

The new Standard Config and Explorer scripts worked faster and almost flawlessly for me! Although I don't intend to use/include IE7 I tried it and it worked good, although I noticed it would give a memory read error unless I waited for the network to be ready. I think it would be good to split IE7 from the Explorer script unless they have many shared dependencies.

#65 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 06:23 AM

I can confirm that IE7 does work now. But I am having the same dilemma as NightMan. Adding IE7 to the build makes boot.wim about 100 MB larger.


Your dilemma is justified, but who doesn't like IE, just should not select it!

#66 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 06:38 AM

The whole discussion about VitaPE 10, VistaPE 11 beta, and Vista PE 11 final, leads to the result:

There is really a project version necessary, which I already demanded in my topic 'VistaPE for dummies'

Maybe it should be named 'VistaPE w/o additional OSs and w/o shells and whistles, running on the first click _skeleton' or more simple (and contain this stuff only!).
BTW: I do not want to suggest _barebone to avoid confusion with a well running project

Sorry that I'm a bit agressive now, but since the beginning of the VistaPE project my suggestions to simplify are disappearing in Nirwana.
Sample #1: First suggestion has been to take the download of some "standard" and "NightMan's" linux OS's off the download. At least me, maybe several or a lot of other people do not need Linux in a VistaPE CD.
Result ???
Sample #2: Some troubles I explained in my above mentioned "VistaPE for dummies" have been explained by booty#1 long time ago.
Result ???

Peter



I agree with Peter, including apologies for "bit aggressive" approach,
but "demanded" may be replaced with suggested.

#67 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 08:06 AM

Now I'm ready with a fixed explorer-script.
The IE7 is now working. :D

Some registry-entrys I must add for VistaPE 11

Here can you download it:



:D



I simply could not make it work in VistaPE 11?! :thumbsup:

When IE is not selected, icon should not appear on desktop.

#68 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 13 January 2008 - 11:34 AM

Hi phox,

icon for IE7 on desktop is disapared, when IE is not enabled.
Have you replace explorer-tweaks also. NightMan place explorer-tweaks in folder shell.
Have you removed explorer-tweaks in folder tweaks?

When IE is correct working for all, then I can dry to reduce IE to core-components for a smaller bootwim.
100mb bigger bootwim is not good for machines with 512mb ram.

#69 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 01:16 PM

Hi phox,

icon for IE7 on desktop is disapared, when IE is not enabled.
Have you replace explorer-tweaks also. NightMan place explorer-tweaks in folder shell.
Have you removed explorer-tweaks in folder tweaks?


No. I have your ExplorerTweaks.script v12 in folder "Tweaks".

When IE is correct working for all, then I can dry to reduce IE to core-components for a smaller bootwim.
100mb bigger bootwim is not good for machines with 512mb ram.


IE brings only additional 15MB!

#70 risolutore

risolutore

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 311 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 January 2008 - 01:36 PM

I am waiting a better twaks script with more option to select via checkboxes, I wuold like to see the oppotunity to set favorites, and to set sendto destination shortcut onto file and folder menu

#71 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 13 January 2008 - 02:55 PM

Hi phox

you must place tweaks from the last upload from this tread.
Date from 12.01.2008

The folder Internet Explorer is 15mb but the copied dll's in system 32 are more
This dll's I will reduce.

#72 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 13 January 2008 - 03:04 PM

Hi NighMan

the autorun.cfg is now running before you mount Y:.
Entrys that are run from CD (Y:) now are ignored.
The syntax with %CDDrive% is also not supported.

:thumbsup:

#73 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 04:33 PM

Hi phox

you must place tweaks from the last upload from this tread.
Date from 12.01.2008



I could not find it!

The folder Internet Explorer is 15mb but the copied dll's in system 32 are more
This dll's I will reduce.


In my case, the difference between ISO size with and without IE is just 15MB.

#74 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 13 January 2008 - 04:51 PM

I could not find it!


the filename are:

3-explorerv.script
4-explorer policies.script

Only this two files you must use with date from 12.01.2008.
Not a separate script in folder tweaks

The names in Winbuilder are:
Explorer Vista (+IE)
Explorer Tweaks

In my case, the difference between ISO size with and without IE is just 15MB


Ok are you using 'full Filecopy' ?
I use Filecopy Standard

#75 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 05:01 PM

I agree with Peter, including apologies for "bit aggressive" approach,
but "demanded" may be replaced with suggested.

phox, according to your posts you have managed to have a very nice VistaPE.
How about if you start/maintain a 'VistaPE for Dummies' project?

:thumbsup:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users