Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

LiveXP stopped working?


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 SlimShady

SlimShady

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 21 December 2007 - 02:54 PM

I'm not sure if it's the project that doesn't work or my system.
Yesterday I downloaded WB074 into a fresh folder.
From within WB I've downloaded 'recommended' first and later 'complete' with the same results:
The final ISO boots fine it seems, until the wallpaper is shown for 10 seconds then it reboots.

There are no errors shown in the log or popped up.
Could someone test if LiveXP still works for you?

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 21 December 2007 - 05:42 PM

I'm not sure if it's the project that doesn't work or my system.
Yesterday I downloaded WB074 into a fresh folder.
From within WB I've downloaded 'recommended' first and later 'complete' with the same results:
The final ISO boots fine it seems, until the wallpaper is shown for 10 seconds then it reboots.

There are no errors shown in the log or popped up.
Could someone test if LiveXP still works for you?

I did a test:
  • Download (recommended) LiveXP
  • Defined source (in my case XPSP2 German)
  • Nothing else ...
  • Built the project
It ran into qemu, and after a while I could google.

Try again, in a really empty folder with WinBuilder 074 only.

If that fails again, there seems to be an issue with your source CD.

Peter

#3 billonious

billonious

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 528 posts
  • Location:greezeland
  • Interests:curiosity

Posted 22 December 2007 - 03:11 PM

WB074 is beta ? This moment, I work on wb072 and it is work better than I believed. Even the beta wb073 works on my pc. Just to debug wb074, choose only the very necessary sripts, neither applications, nor drivers and test it.

#4 SlimShady

SlimShady

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 23 December 2007 - 01:39 PM

I tested the final ISO with VBox, VMWare 6, QEMU and burned to CD. All the same behavior.
There's something seriously wrong here :cheers:. Thanks for the confirmation.

#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 December 2007 - 02:12 PM

I tested the final ISO with VBox, VMWare 6, QEMU and burned to CD. All the same behavior.
There's something seriously wrong here :cheers: . Thanks for the confirmation.

Can you try nativeEx_barebone project with the same source?
If that fails, too, you should 'recycle' either your source CD or your host. :cheers:
(Or we find something else to help you ...)

Peter

BTW: Maybe first you post your (even error-free) log here.

#6 SlimShady

SlimShady

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 23 December 2007 - 06:48 PM

nativeEx_barebone works better. I guess LiveXP is a bit unstable.

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 December 2007 - 07:24 PM

nativeEx_barebone works better. I guess LiveXP is a bit unstable.

You are wrong. LiveXP is not unstable. It runs well on my system.

In this topic I (and other members) want to help you to find out, what to do on your system to bring the project to run.
But you have to help in this task.

Please read the board rules, especially chapter f!

Peter

#8 SlimShady

SlimShady

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 24 December 2007 - 11:18 AM

Here's a current log. Customized and without OfflineSysprep, DPMass drivers.

#9 jtopjian

jtopjian
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 January 2008 - 01:49 AM

I'm running into the same problem with LiveXP and version 74 as well: qemu boots, the wallpaper appears, sometimes the start menu appears, then it reboots. I've burned the ISO to a CD and get the same thing outside of a virtual environment. I've even tried creating an ISO with no applications to see if that would help.

Have tried it on two different computers with two different source CDs.

I've downloaded version 072 to see if that works.

#10 jtopjian

jtopjian
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 January 2008 - 02:05 AM

I've downloaded version 072 to see if that works.


Just a quick follow-up -- the ISO is done building and it works fine.

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 January 2008 - 06:35 PM

Here's a current log. Customized and without OfflineSysprep, DPMass drivers.

Your ISO is 270 MB.
Maybe the standard qEmu size of 384 MB is too small.
(unfortunatelly there is no qEmu in your log :cheers:
This is the app which fails!)

Maybe you try VirtualBox or burn a CD-RW

Peter

#12 SlimShady

SlimShady

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 11 January 2008 - 06:31 PM

I have redone the build, still with 074, only changed the paths. Pressed the Play button right after.
Log is attached. Attached File  log.html   2.37MB   912 downloads

Result:
qEmu boots the ISO. Reboots after showing the wallpaper for a couple of seconds.
Then I started VirtualBox with 512MB allocated memory. Same behavior.

#13 SlimShady

SlimShady

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 11 January 2008 - 07:01 PM

And this is with 072. Attached File  log.html   862.89KB   1497 downloads
Same steps and behavior as above. I guess something is wrong with my configuration.

#14 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 11 January 2008 - 07:15 PM

@SlimShady
Did you try what Peter suggested? Please post details.

Can you try nativeEx_barebone project with the same source?
If that fails, too, you should 'recycle' either your source CD or your host. :cheers:
(Or we find something else to help you ...)


Does a burnt image boot on real hardware?

Regards,
Galapo.

#15 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 January 2008 - 04:32 PM

And this is with 072.
Same steps and behavior as above. I guess something is wrong with my configuration.

I did a test with exactly (?) your configuration (extracted from log).
I used dutch XP Pro SP2
(Built from original MSDN subscription XP Pro and slipstreamed downloadable .exe)

Here the result:
dutch_livexp.gif

I'm rather sure that something is wrong with your source CD or (less propable) with your HW.

Try to compare the files in your WinBuilder Target dir with that ones on your host. Most important here is the size. Perhaps you have to uncompress some drivers before.

If there is a remarkable size difference:
Compare the versions. If they are identical, the target file (and therefore that one on your source CD) propably is corrupted.

Peter

#16 lobanovski

lobanovski
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 12 January 2008 - 10:05 PM

Hello,

I am seeing the same thing happening here as described by SlimShady.
A fresh install of WinBuilder 0.74, a 'complete' download of LiveXP, and then an auto-reboot after showing the wall-paper when running the resulting ISO in either Qemu or VMware. So I tend to believe that SlimShady and I are experiencing the same problem and that this is not caused by a faulty source-disk.

I am new to WinBuilder so I might be wrong, but I do not trust a couple of subdirs that were created in the process of playing the LiveXP script. In my WinBuilder-dir I see the following subdirs now:
%GlobalSupport%
%GobalTemp%
%PPISODir%
%ProjectCache%
%ProjectTemp%
%ProjectTemplates%

So including the %-signs. These look like variables that are not expanded to me. Can this be a reason for the fact that something is going wrong with building the LiveXP-ISO?

Regards, Lobanovski

#17 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 January 2008 - 09:50 AM

Hello,

I am seeing the same thing happening here as described by SlimShady.
A fresh install of WinBuilder 0.74, a 'complete' download of LiveXP, and then an auto-reboot after showing the wall-paper when running the resulting ISO in either Qemu or VMware. So I tend to believe that SlimShady and I are experiencing the same problem and that this is not caused by a faulty source-disk.

I am new to WinBuilder so I might be wrong, but I do not trust a couple of subdirs that were created in the process of playing the LiveXP script. In my WinBuilder-dir I see the following subdirs now:
%GlobalSupport%
%GobalTemp%
%PPISODir%
%ProjectCache%
%ProjectTemp%
%ProjectTemplates%

So including the %-signs. These look like variables that are not expanded to me. Can this be a reason for the fact that something is going wrong with building the LiveXP-ISO?

Regards, Lobanovski


Here seems to be a different issue than SlimShady had. It looks something to be wrong in your script.project.
Or @SlimShady, do you have the same and did not tell us?

The mentioned precent-names are not defined in the [variables] section.

But why?
@Galapo: Please check the script.project on the server!

Peter

#18 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 January 2008 - 10:44 AM

In my WinBuilder-dir I see the following subdirs now:
%GlobalSupport%
%GobalTemp%
%PPISODir%
%ProjectCache%
%ProjectTemp%
%ProjectTemplates%

So including the %-signs. These look like variables that are not expanded to me. Can this be a reason for the fact that something is going wrong with building the LiveXP-ISO?

I made a test:
Deleted the mentioned variables in script.project and built the project.

I got the same directories.

But they contained useful content and the qEmu run well.

Peter

#19 lobanovski

lobanovski
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 January 2008 - 02:03 PM

Ok, I got it working now. I suspect that the culprit is the shared 'tools'-dir.
Initially I just had all projects selected and downloaded and with each run I would download all 'updated' stuff to keep everything nicely in sync. Then I would select the LiveXP project and create the ISO. I noticed that virtually all projects would update the tools-dir when choosing download. So I guessed that they all require different versions of UPX and 7Z and such and will overwrite each others versions.
When I got it working I first deselected all projects but LiveXP, only updated that one, and created the ISO. That worked.

So probably it was a newby-thing of me to try to keep all projects updated at once. I assume now that one is supposed to only update the project that one is about to run.

Regards, Lobanovski.

BTW after deleting the %-dirs they never returned when rerunning the project so this indeed seems unrelated.

#20 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 January 2008 - 02:19 PM

So I guessed that they all require different versions of UPX and 7Z and such and will overwrite each others versions.

Congratulations! A good finding! :thumbsup:

UPX does not matter. But all nativeEx based projects, that means LiveXP too, need a certain 7za.exe. It must have a lenght of 457216 bytes. Using a different 7za, the compression of $ModelRam is wrong w/o error message.

In LiveXP you can execute the Tools > updateCore.Script. This checks and if necessary downloads the correct tools and also the latest nativeEx core scripts.

If updateCore.Script is not in your project, you can download it from the nativeEx server (nativeex.boot-land.net) under LiveXP.

Peter

#21 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 04:44 PM

In response to the VistaPE for dummies idea.
How about if all developers/maintainers of XP/2k3 based projects, would get together and finally sort that version nonsense out?

It can't be that hard to agree upon the same version of a program. And if you really can't, then rename the stupid thing!
But save people from this update/dependency nightmare!

:thumbsup:

#22 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 January 2008 - 05:12 PM

Congratulations! A good finding! :thumbsup:

UPX does not matter. But all nativeEx based projects, that means LiveXP too, need a certain 7za.exe. It must have a lenght of 457216 bytes. Using a different 7za, the compression of $ModelRam is wrong w/o error message.

In LiveXP you can execute the Tools > updateCore.Script. This checks and if necessary downloads the correct tools and also the latest nativeEx core scripts.

If updateCore.Script is not in your project, you can download it from the nativeEx server (nativeex.boot-land.net) under LiveXP.

Peter

I have to add:

I tried the 7za.exe thunn delivers with NativePE. It has a size of 476.672 bytes and works, too.

The reason I spoke about the size was a 7za.exe which was much smaller (about 190000 bytes). And this one really did not work!

(Maybe somebody renamed a 7z.exe to 7za.exe to make a script happy ???)

Peter

#23 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 January 2008 - 05:20 PM

@Lobanovski
@SlimShady

Can you try to reproduce the failure again and then post the 'dir %baseDir%\Tools > myTools.txt' here?

Peter

#24 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 05:26 PM

The reason I spoke about the size was a 7za.exe which was much smaller (about 190000 bytes). And this one really did not work!

(Maybe somebody renamed a 7z.exe to 7za.exe to make a script happy ???)

Peter



I have in the same Projects folder LiveXP, nativeEx and PicoXP
and from PicoXP download, comes 7za.exe size of 192.50KB.

When downloading, LiveXP and PicoXP overwrite this file all the time.

Could you please convince PicoXP to live with 7za.exe from LiveXP ,
to avoid this overwriting, as it is a rather annoying?

Thank you.

#25 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 January 2008 - 05:44 PM

I have in the same Projects folder LiveXP, nativeEx and PicoXP
and from PicoXP download, comes 7za.exe size of 192.50KB.

When downloading, LiveXP and PicoXP overwrite this file all the time.

Could you please convince PicoXP to live with 7za.exe from LiveXP ,
to avoid this overwriting, as it is a rather annoying?

Thank you.

Thanks, Phox :thumbsup:

When I got the e-mail about your new post, i have just running a build with PicoXP's 7za for test.
Now it is finished and ???

The project runs well :D
??? Posted Image

Nevertheless: 7za.exe is never used in PicoXP

@Galapo: Please remove 7za.exe from PicoXP server.

Peter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users