12 replies to this topic

#1 ArthurD

ArthurD
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 December 2007 - 08:45 PM

I am very new to WinBuilder (although I have some experience with peBuilder) and I am getting some strange errors during the build process.

I downloaded "WinBuilder72a-BartPECore-full" and followed the instructions for a default build. The result worked 1st. time, which was very impressive.

I then tried to incorporate my own script to include a simple application, and promtly got the following error during the build:

PE Builder UA Loader by thuun - Error, pebuilder.exe not found
PEBUAL.exe runs PEBuilder unattended and auto closes builds containing errors that would normally be paused for inspection. Run this file in the pebuilder.exe folder. See the pebuilder input.ini for configuration options.

The WinBuilder log file indicated the error occured during a check for the setupreg.hiv file:

IF - File does not exist: [D:\WinPE\WinBuilder\BartPE\i386\system32\setupreg.hiv] executing command: [Halt,*Error!* Build Halted. Setup hive was not created. Reboot if problem persists.]

I tried the reboot suggestion, without any improvement.

I checked the build output directory, but it was empty. I ran peBuilder.exe directly, and it completed without an error. I assumed I had done something stupid while making my script, so I removed the entire Winbuilder directory and downloaded it again (without my script), but when I tried to build the project I got exactly the same error. I then tried downloading another project (NativePE), but got the same error again.

I am using Windows XP SP2 as my source, copied to a hard drive.

I have searched the forum for similar problems without seeing anything that could explain what is happening. Has anybody had a similar experience, or possibly suggest where I could start fixing this?

#2 MedEvil

MedEvil

Platinum Member

• .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 19 December 2007 - 10:21 PM