Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

VistaPE and boot from USB


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 10 December 2007 - 09:49 PM

First version (ALFA) of script for creating bootable USB device with VistaPE 010 and 011 :cheers:

Attached File  USBDevice.script   1.19MB   5632 downloads

ps Grub4Dos as boot manager...

#2 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 December 2007 - 03:45 AM

First version (ALFA) of script for creating bootable USB device with VistaPE 010 and 011 :cheers:

Attached File  USBDevice.script   1.19MB   5632 downloads

ps Grub4Dos as boot manager...


Can't wait to try this out!

#3 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 447 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 December 2007 - 05:39 PM

First version (ALFA) of script for creating bootable USB device with VistaPE 010 and 011 :cheers:

Attached File  USBDevice.script   1.19MB   5632 downloads

ps Grub4Dos as boot manager...

Thought we already had a script for this that works well?

I have been using usbdevice.script by booty#1 (modified by Doc) with version 10 and 11 of VistaPE and have never had a problem with it so bit confused as to why we have to go backwards to alpha test something that already exists and works?

#4 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 December 2007 - 08:03 PM

Thought we already had a script for this that works well?

I have been using usbdevice.script by booty#1 (modified by Doc) with version 10 and 11 of VistaPE and have never had a problem with it so bit confused as to why we have to go backwards to alpha test something that already exists and works?


That script by Booty#1 never worked for me on version 10. I did with 9beta. Not in the office and won't be until Thursday so will try this script then.

#5 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 December 2007 - 01:43 PM

It works if I format my Sandisk Cruzer to Fat32 but not to NTFS (reports missing NTLDR). See if I can resolve that but none the less it works and with Grub too!

#6 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 14 December 2007 - 01:55 PM

powaking
hm... VistaPE can be booted from FAT/FAT32/NTFS, but if format my flash to FAT32, BIOS detect it as floppy, when format as NTFS, it detected as HDD and it's more better... theoretically we can use "diskpart" for formating, but it's working only under Windows Vista... Grub4Dos is more better for multiboot :cheers:

darren rose
Old script is good, but it's not multiboot and hove other issue, now it's small better :cheers:

#7 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 December 2007 - 04:12 PM

[quote name='NightMan' date='Dec 14 2007, 01:55 PM' post='26342']
powaking
hm... VistaPE can be booted from FAT/FAT32/NTFS, but if format my flash to FAT32, BIOS detect it as floppy, when format as NTFS, it detected as HDD and it's more better... theoretically we can use "diskpart" for formating, but it's working only under Windows Vista... Grub4Dos is more better for multiboot :cheers:

I'll try it again for sure. I heard that some USB flash drives can only boot if formatted one way or the other. I'll try NTFS again.

Also, why create a new menu.lst and not use the one thats currently created from WB? Just wondering....

#8 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 December 2007 - 06:34 PM

Works now with NTFS. I think I played around with the GRBMBR Installer app before. Just kept default and selected USB drive and it boots up.

#9 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 23 December 2007 - 01:39 PM

Here there is the latest version (2.1.8) of HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool.

Actually I use it and it works so fine (seems that it solves some previous bugs). :cheers:


Edit: this release is no longer advisable due to the fact that it solves (maybe) some previous bugs, but then it introduces some other ones.
The 2.0.6 version still seems the best one.

#10 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 December 2007 - 01:51 PM

Here there is the latest version (2.1.8) of HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool.

Actually I use it and it works so fine (seems that it solves some previous bugs). :cheers:


Link doesn't work.

#11 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 23 December 2007 - 03:22 PM

Link doesn't work.

Updated link.

The previous one worked on-off... :cheers:

#12 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 24 December 2007 - 11:32 AM

online
Thanks for new version! Updated script will be uploaded today :cheers:

#13 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 24 December 2007 - 11:54 AM

online
Thanks for new version! Updated script will be uploaded today :cheers:

Hey! You're welcome!!! :cheers: :cheers:

#14 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 29 December 2007 - 10:04 PM

Well, it gives me a stick that boots VistaPE (11), which is far better than any of the other methods that I have tried. Including Booty's script.

{ABE} The flash drive shows up as drive F, with all my programs in the programs directory ... but there are no shortcuts on the start menu to any of those programs, or on the desktop. I am pretty sure that the same ISO gives me shortcults when booted in Virtual PC ... WTF?

#15 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 01 January 2008 - 11:54 AM

JonF
you must not skip hardware detection during vpeldr start or run "Reload VistaPE settings" from start menu (shortcuts will be created only if program exists)

#16 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 January 2008 - 03:41 PM

JonF
you must not skip hardware detection during vpeldr start or run "Reload VistaPE settings" from start menu (shortcuts will be created only if program exists)


I did not skip hardware detection: I saw it running in the command window. I will try the reload.

{ABE} Reloading VistaPE settings worked, so I now have a working USB boot stick. But I don't know why it didn't see the programs at boot.

#17 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 18 January 2008 - 12:12 AM

Slax and gparted run in Ntfs?

#18 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 18 January 2008 - 08:22 AM

Slax and gparted run in Ntfs?

theoretical no...

#19 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 18 January 2008 - 11:38 AM

VistaPe in usb fat32 with slax, gparted, etc .... error: /boot/bcd

Structure of the USB key:
U:\Programs (from Vista PE)
U:\vistape.ima (300 MB)
U:\vistape.cd (0 byte)
U:\menu.lst (grub4dos configuration file)
U:\grldr (from grub4dos)
(note: I used grub4dos, so I do not need U:\bootmgr file).


Contents of vistape.ima
a:\bootmgr
a:\boot (3.4 MB)
a:\sources (210 MB)

Notes:
1) The vistape.cd file in the root of the USB key is important so that VistaPE loader/wpeinit.exe can detect the
system drive (containing \Programs directory).
2) The vistape.ima file must be contiguous in order to be mapped by grub4dos. You can use the 'contig' utility from sysinternals.com.
to verify/defragment the file. An easier way is to format the USB key and copy this file (all files in root) first, and no deleting files from the key
to avoid fragmentation.
3) To build the vistape.ima:
o use fsz (dsfo/dsfi package) or mksparse (on NTFS) to create a vistape.ima file with size about 300 MB.
o Mount it as floppy, drive letter A: with ImDisk.
o Format a: with FAT file system
o Copy bootmgr and the 2 directories \boot, \sources (from your VistaPE) to A:\
o Unmount a: (ImDisk)
o Use WinImage to set boot sector of vistape.ima (boot sector properties) to Vista Bootmgr.
o Copy vistape.ima to U:\ (root of your USB key).
o Verify that U:\vistape.ima is contigous by using the command: contig -a -v u:\vistape.ima.
4) One could try to include \programs inside vistape.ima (creating bigger floppy image), but it does not seem to work
(wpeinit did not find programs) and also it is less convenient, since by putting \programs in the USB key (writable) rather than
inside the (read-only) vistape.ima, modifications to \programs are much easier.

Content for U:\menu.lst:

CODE
title VistaPE from floppy image
find --set-root /vistape.ima
map /vistape.ima (fd0)
map --hook
chainloader (fd0)+1
rootnoverify (fd0)

#20 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 19 January 2008 - 07:31 PM

It not run in my pendrive 8 gb. I will probe part disk with swisknife

#21 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 21 January 2008 - 02:19 PM

vistape.ima

sorry, but why you don't boot VistaPE directly from USB?

ps not forgot enable boot.wim...

#22 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 22 January 2008 - 06:01 PM

sorry, but why you don't boot VistaPE directly from USB?

ps not forgot enable boot.wim...

The problem is that usb stick is 4 GB and Bios detect it como floppy disk. If the partition of usb is >2GB in fat32 it not run and is necesary ntfs system. In ntfs not run Linux for multiboot. I need have partitons in the pendrive. If not it not run.

Sorry for my english.

#23 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 06 February 2008 - 12:10 PM

The problem is that usb stick is 4 GB and Bios detect it como floppy disk. If the partition of usb is >2GB in fat32 it not run and is necesary ntfs system. In ntfs not run Linux for multiboot. I need have partitons in the pendrive. If not it not run.

Sorry for my english.


1. FAT32 work with disks >2Gb :D
2. linux can read and write to NTFS, use TRUE linux distribution :thumbsup:

#24 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 06 February 2008 - 05:41 PM

1. FAT32 work with disks >2Gb :thumbsup:
2. linux can read and write to NTFS, use TRUE linux distribution :D

Yes, fat32 work with disk >2GB but BIOS detect fat32 como floppy disk and vistape return error.

#25 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 06 February 2008 - 06:31 PM

A BIOS that changes its drive handling behaviour based on logical formatting is a new one on me, but some (not all) recent BIOSes do allow changing the settings for handling USB flash drives over/under a certain size. What make/model is your system motherboard? If you are using a recent ASUS mobo (AMI BIOS), I may be able to help from my own experience. Otherwise, the mobo manufacturer's web site is probably your best bet for detailed info.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users