Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

[Script] SaveBase / RestoreBase


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 20 November 2007 - 04:38 PM

There are two new scripts.
  • SaveBase.Script > "%ProjectDir%\Tools" folder
  • RestoreBase.Script > "%ProjectDir%\RestoreBase" folder
SaveBase is run instead of CreateISO or BootSDI and copies the complete target into a cache folder.
Additionally projectinfo.ini, ISO-PreProcess.Script.txt and some variables of script.project (which may change during build) are saved.

RestoreBase is called in a usual build instead of all the single scripts which are used to 'SaveBase'.

Time compare (on my PC, 2.4 GHz, 1 GB, IDE HDD):
  • Build a base nativeEx_barebone project
    basescripts.gif
    174 seconds
  • One times storing the project using SaveBase
    • 7z option:
      103 seconds
    • no 7z option, just folder copy:
      21 seconds
  • Every new build using RestoreBase:
    • 7z:
      19 seconds
    • Folder:
      17 seconds
Peter

Edited by psc, 22 November 2007 - 05:08 PM.
Adapted text to modified version


#2 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 20 November 2007 - 11:14 PM

Hi Peter,

I attempted to download these scripts. The savebase.link file downloaded to nativeEx_barebone\Finish\2 Create Image, which I take it points to nativeEx_Core\Finish\2 Create Image\savebase.script. This second file did not download as it doesn't appear on the download server.

Thanks,
Galapo.

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 21 November 2007 - 09:47 AM

Hi Peter,

I attempted to download these scripts. The savebase.link file downloaded to nativeEx_barebone\Finish\2 Create Image, which I take it points to nativeEx_Core\Finish\2 Create Image\savebase.script. This second file did not download as it doesn't appear on the download server.

Thanks,
Galapo.

There are some troubles with manually updating the server.

I did a complete new upload.

Peter

#4 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 21 November 2007 - 08:33 PM

Hi Peter,

Thanks for that. Download is now fine once I deleted the 'Finish' folders to download fresh.

Thanks indeed for these scripts as they are exceedingly useful for conducting script testing when multiple consecutive builds have to be done.

Regards,
Galapo.

#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 November 2007 - 09:39 AM

There has been a bug which prohibited building of some shortcuts. :cheers:

I fixed that.

Peter

#6 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 November 2007 - 05:12 PM

A new version is available.

The 'Standard' user now gets a predefined collection of scripts.
The 'Experienced' .script developer may define his / her own script collection.
savebase.gif
BTW: SaveBase.Script is moved to ºsedir%\Projects\Tools

Peter

#7 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4171 posts

Posted 26 November 2007 - 03:11 AM

SaveBase is run instead of CreateISO or BootSDI and copies the complete target into a cache folder.
Additionally projectinfo.ini, ISO-PreProcess.Script.txt and some variables of script.project (which may change during build) are saved.

Does this mean we can include the FBWF script in the base, or does it fall under the Create ISO and the BootSDI as not added.

This is a good Idea that will save alot of time. Alot of people will miss it because they will not know how to use it properly.

Need more details on how to use after you create the base. Do you disable the Cached Scripts that ran before and then run the RestoreBase.

What is the ReEnable Standard Scripts. When do we disable them.

The SaveBase says that "Location: ºseDir%\Workbench\<project name>\Cache\Base"
I went to it after enabling just the Scripts on your Screenshot. Disabled SDI and Create ISO.
Do we then run SaveBase by rightclicking it and running it or does it suppose to automatically do the Save.
Im thinking you have to manually run the Script for it to Start. I just did and I can now see the Base Folder.

Its a good Idea to compress the final Base so that people will not mess with it when looking into the folders.

When we want to Restore the SavedBase do we just Right click on the script of RestoreBase or do we press play and it should know not to run the Scripts that Created the Base. Will it erase the Target Stuff and the Temp Stuff so that it can Start from the Base or will it just uncompress it even if you already have content for that Project in the Target folder and such.


Shouldnt RestoreBase be at the Top of the Project. It should know what Scripts to Automatically Disable based on the Inf or ini of what scripts where run during building SaveBase. At this point its a bit hidden in between Scripts on the Winbuider List.

This is just some questions while testing.

#8 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 December 2007 - 09:08 AM

Hi Peter,

Line 30 of the script reads:
If,Modus,NotEqual,current,Run,%ScriptFile%,Do-List

Should 'Modus' be '%Modus%'?

Regards,
Galapo.

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 December 2007 - 10:45 AM

Should 'Modus' be '%Modus%'?

:cheers:

Thanks, Galapo :cheers:

Changed on server.

Peter

#10 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 December 2007 - 08:15 PM

Good, I'm glad a said something.

I see you've updated nativeEx's scipt.project with the %GlobalTemplates% variable. Thanks for that.

Regards,
Galapo.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users