Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

WinBuilder Setup with BartPECore (link updated)


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 04 November 2007 - 04:55 AM

File name: WinBuilder Setup with BartPECore (link updated)
Description:Posted Image

This 50 MB.+ installer contains winbuilder v74 with the entire BartPECore project.
The post data may not reflect the most recent update, please download the file itself to check for the version.:

Download Link

pls. note: No .exe files are currently permitted in downloads via the download button, use above link for now.

View screenshots and discuss details here.

some info.

*After download and a quick install you're ready to build a customized pe image from your XP/2K3 source. All scripts are pre-configured.

**Please enable a network connection to download two required files at runtime. The final ISO runs in VBox pc emulator.

***Any PEBuilder .INF plugins added to a %BaseDir%\Plugin folder (next to WinBuilder) are processed.
A second plugin folder, which holds base project plugins, is also available. It's inside the winbuilder 'tools' dir.. (coreplugins).

The setup adds the same registry entries as found under WinBuilder's 'Options' and may be uninstalled in add/remove programs. Use a " /SILENT" or " /VERYSILENT" switch for automated deployment.

View a detailed index of included scripts and files:
http://bartpe.boot-land.net/Projects

--Enjoy, -t

note: Last edit for upload of build 0.51, various minor fixes are included.
Download file

Edited by thunn, 17 January 2008 - 10:10 AM.


#2 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4171 posts

Posted 04 November 2007 - 08:39 AM

Beautiful layout and everything seems well organized. WoW!

The project listing for VistaPE is not anymore
http://vistape.boot-land.net/project/

The new address is
http://vistape.net/project/

Questions:
In order to use BartPE plugins we have. We would need to modify the inf file or can we just add them and they should work. Some detail would help others interested in switching plugins to be used within youre Winbuilder Project.

For Winbuilder Scripts should the new API Scripts work with this project.

In the Create ISO Script there is recomendation to use the FBWF Driver. But there is no Option in the Project to include it in the build. I used the option to Use the Window 2003 Files to Create RAMBoot but I get errors when Some of the Programs are trying to write back to the X drive.
How can I activate the FBWF Driver so I wont get those errors when Using the Create ISO option.
Drivers - Filesystem - FBWF Driver

Thanks for the New release. :cheers:

#3 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10560 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 04 November 2007 - 09:15 AM

Tested with XP SP2 PRO portuguese and worked great! :cheers:

#4 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 04 November 2007 - 08:46 PM

I added a source wizard with suggestions for the user, thx for the comments! :cheers:

#5 jpeni

jpeni
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Uniondale, New York
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 November 2007 - 09:05 PM

thunn,

Your BartPECore setup works beautifully...I have only one question:

I have created portable versions of ALL programs I want on the BootCD.

When I create the iso file, the programs I copied to the \BartPE\Programs folder do NOT appear
in the compiled ISO.

I also tried copying all portable files to the \Projects\Tools\CorePlugins folder - it still did not appear in the ISO.

How do I copy portable applications so they are included (and unchanged) in the final compiled ISO?

Jpeni

#6 Alexei

Alexei

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 664 posts

Posted 06 November 2007 - 11:30 AM

@thunn,
Is there a "non-installer" version of your project available?
Installers of commercial software try to hide what they do, but why would we follow this practice? I can tolerate installers that provide summary of what they gonna do and, if "custom install" is selected, ask user approval for every action, though there is no real assurance they do no evil :cheers: I'm not saying you're a "bad guy", just that "installers are an evil from MS" :cheers:
Anyway, is there a way to avoild automatic installation of Virtual Box?
Vbox is buggy, doesn't provide proper networking, and can't clean after itself :cheers:
Initially it looked very promising, but I decided to abandon it when found that its team don't really care :cheers:
:cheers:
Alexei

Vbox references:
Bugs: http://www.virtualbox.org/report/1
Networking: http://forums.virtua...opic.php?t=1547
Uninstall: http://forums.virtua...opic.php?t=2180

#7 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 November 2007 - 06:31 PM

@thunn,
Is there a "non-installer" version of your project available?
Installers of commercial software try to hide what they do, but why would we follow this practice? I can tolerate installers that provide summary of what they gonna do and, if "custom install" is selected, ask user approval for every action, though there is no real assurance they do no evil :cheers: I'm not saying you're a "bad guy", just that "installers are an evil from MS" :cheers:
Anyway, is there a way to avoild automatic installation of Virtual Box?
Vbox is buggy, doesn't provide proper networking, and can't clean after itself :cheers:
Initially it looked very promising, but I decided to abandon it when found that its team don't really care :cheers:
:cheers:
Alexei


Believe me, I understand you viewpoint.
I had considered using a WinRAR Sfx with some bitmaps added and a hacked ui, this would be a little 'cleaner', but not as user friendly. The objective was to appeal to a broader user base, most users are at home with the kind of installer I supplied which is why I used it. As I mentioned, It's not for everyone. :cheers: I will consider a SFXed version in the future though. As the project has been revised, a new installer is one the way!

..with regard to vbox. I recommend vmware but must supply a free resource as well. qEmu is just too slow.

#8 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 November 2007 - 09:42 PM

I downloaded a fresh version last night. Works great. Have always been a fan of this project.
One quick question - I tried to map to a shared drive form this build and on the user name and password box i got this:

bartpe18645/Guest (greyed out)
and a blank password field

I tried to use the password that I provided in penetwork - no joy
I left it blank - no joy
I tried Administrator - no joy
I tried Guest - no joy

Any Ideas and or I know PSC has a work around using the build computer and mimicking it.
However, I use winbuilder on hundreds of different pc's. I am not able to get the information
at winbuilder build time to cover all possibilities. Is there a way to assign a different account other
than a Guest account so the drives can truly be shared? and or mapped? or what is the Guest accounts
password?

Thanks
Carfan

#9 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 December 2007 - 02:43 PM

during build, keep getting error; cant find driversigning.exe or any of the post processing files. how can that be? they are encoded in the script. i uninstalled and reinstalled - same thing. ???

carfan

#10 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10560 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2007 - 03:44 PM

Please post the log.html file otherwise it will be very difficult to guess your work conditions.

:cheers:

#11 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 December 2007 - 04:59 PM

Please post the log.html file otherwise it will be very difficult to guess your work conditions.

:cheers:

if i delete the bartpe and temp folders before a fresh build it works ok. ???

#12 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10560 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2007 - 05:16 PM

I don't know - that's the reason why viewing your log is important.. :cheers:

It should have all the information regarding what happened while building your boot disk.

You find the log on this tab and you should save the contents to log.html after it completes

Posted Image

It's the best way to see more extensive details about your work conditions.


:cheers:

#13 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 December 2007 - 05:24 PM

Attached File  log.html   1008.42KB   1437 downloads

Edited by Nuno Brito, 02 December 2007 - 05:28 PM.
removed quote of previous reply


#14 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10560 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2007 - 05:32 PM

There is only one error marked on your log:

DirDelete - Failed to delete directory [%BaseDir%\Projects\Tools\MultiOpt


I see you're using WinXP PRO but I'm tempted to believe it might be a locked file that prevents this folder from being deleted.

You can try to install bartPE core on another folder, reboot your machine and see how it goes.

Anti-Virus sometimes also intercept this sort of things - you can also try with any antivirus or similar app running in the background.

Hope this helps.. :cheers:

#15 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 December 2007 - 05:41 PM

There is only one error marked on your log:



I see you're using WinXP PRO but I'm tempted to believe it might be a locked file that prevents this folder from being deleted.

You can try to install bartPE core on another folder, reboot your machine and see how it goes.

Anti-Virus sometimes also intercept this sort of things - you can also try with any antivirus or similar app running in the background.

Hope this helps.. :cheers:


here is part of the problem area:
[InfCacheBuild]
Echo,"InfCacheBuild working.."
If,ExistFile,"%TargetDir%\i386\inf\INFCACHE.1",FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\inf\INFCACHE.1"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","Folder","InfCacheBuild.exe","%BaseDir%"
//ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","InfCacheBuild.exe","#$q%TargetDir%#$q"
//Wait,2
//FileDelete,"%BaseDir%\InfCacheBuild.exe"

with these lines commented out as a test - no errors. if i uncomment out the shellexecute line - instant error.

#16 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10560 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2007 - 06:06 PM

Look on this command
wait,2

It will tell wb to wait 2 seconds before continuing and this is not a very reliable because it works differently from machine to machine.

As a test - try replacing 2 with 20 and try again.

:cheers:

#17 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 December 2007 - 06:24 PM

Look on this command

wait,2

It will tell wb to wait 2 seconds before continuing and this is not a very reliable because it works differently from machine to machine.

As a test - try replacing 2 with 20 and try again.

:cheers:

found it!!! i had to change;
from
in driver signing
ShellExecute,Hide,"DriverSigning.exe","-W"
to;
ShellExecute,Hide,"%BaseDir%\DriverSigning.exe","-W"

in postprocessing
from
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","InfCacheBuild.exe","#$q%TargetDir%#$q"
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","UpdateInfs.exe","#$q%TargetDir%\i386\inf\*.*#$q"
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","ConvAscii.exe","#$q%TargetDir%#$q"
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","CleanPERegistry.exe","#$q%TargetDir%#$q"
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","GenShortcuts","#$q%TargetDir%#$q"
to
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","%BaseDir%\InfCacheBuild.exe","#$q%TargetDir%#$q"
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","%BaseDir%\UpdateInfs.exe","#$q%TargetDir%\i386\inf\*.*#$q"
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","%BaseDir%\ConvAscii.exe","#$q%TargetDir%#$q"
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","%BaseDir%\CleanPERegistry.exe","#$q%TargetDir%#$q"
ShellExecute,"%CmdWnd%","%BaseDir%\GenShortcuts","#$q%TargetDir%#$q"

bolded changes to make them easier to see

thanks nuno

ps

had to add %BaseDir%\ to entry DriverSigning in netcore script also.

#18 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10560 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2007 - 06:28 PM

Great work!! :cheers:

I'll mail thunn about this! :cheers:

#19 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 December 2007 - 07:40 PM

Great work!! :cheers:

I'll mail thunn about this! :cheers:

hey nuno:

i've got a toy i've been working on. it's borrowed from reatogo's xpsp2-fix.reg. i've made a rather cumbersome but automatic reg change. it adds the xpsp2-fix.reg to the registry that allows two or more pc's running bartpe or a variant to see, use and map each others drives. you see, i run serveral pcs booted from a boot disk, run ultravnc on each machine, and run them from one main pc. i can clean, repair, backup, backup to each others hard drives from one remote location. i made a autoit script to handle the running of the .reg file automatically. i was having trouble entering the reg info during the build proccess and have it work. it always seems to work doing it manually. can one of you script writers help me out with this to streamline it and if so, make me an .inf file also for my bartpe stuff. thuun, maybe you could add it to your other choices in your netcore gui.

Carfan

autoit script:

ShellExecute("winpe-xpsp2-fix.reg")
Sleep(1000)
WinWaitActive("Registry Editor")
Send("Alt+Y")
WinWaitActive("Registry Editor")
Sleep(1000)
WinWaitActive("Registry Editor")
Send("Enter 2")
WinWaitClose("Registry Editor")
MsgBox(4096, "XPsp2 Shares_Fix", "XPsp2 Shares_Fix has been added to registry", 5)

which i compile to an excecutable and place in the startup folder

.reg

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Parameters]
"NullSessionPipes"=hex(7):43,00,4f,00,4d,00,4e,00,41,00,50,00,00,00,43,00,4f,\
00,4d,00,4e,00,4f,00,44,00,45,00,00,00,53,00,51,00,4c,00,5c,00,51,00,55,00,\
45,00,52,00,59,00,00,00,53,00,50,00,4f,00,4f,00,4c,00,53,00,53,00,00,00,4c,\
00,4c,00,53,00,52,00,50,00,43,00,00,00,62,00,72,00,6f,00,77,00,73,00,65,00,\
72,00,00,00,73,00,72,00,76,00,73,00,76,00,63,00,00,00,00,00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa]
"RestrictAnonymous"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\reatogo\PE]
"winpe-xpsp2-fix-done"="YES"

any help would be much appreciated, i know there's got to be someone out there besides me who wants to use more than 1 booted machine at a time like i do. (i think) :cheers:

thanks
carfan

#20 mmoore99

mmoore99
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 December 2007 - 08:42 PM

Pardon, the newbish nature of this question.

I have successfully installed and built the BartPECore image. Can someone point me in the right direction as to how I would go about adding the ability to use Acronis TrueImage 10 in this build. I know the build supports TrueImage 9, but unfortunately I do not have that version. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

#21 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10560 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2007 - 09:36 PM

I don't use Acronis products either but I think you can adapt the script for version 10 and see how it goes.

You can either use notepad or edit the script inside wb and look at the code.


The script language is fairly straightforward to read and you should be able to identify which files get copied to the boot disk.

Good luck! :cheers:

#22 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 December 2007 - 01:15 AM

Pardon, the newbish nature of this question.

I have successfully installed and built the BartPECore image. Can someone point me in the right direction as to how I would go about adding the ability to use Acronis TrueImage 10 in this build. I know the build supports TrueImage 9, but unfortunately I do not have that version. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.



Mustang has light versions that work extremely well for both TI10 and DD10. He does however, charge for these.
I think $1.99 each the last time I checked. Just add to coreplugins folder.

Carfan

#23 mmoore99

mmoore99
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 December 2007 - 02:17 AM

Mustang has light versions that work extremely well for both TI10 and DD10. He does however, charge for these.
I think $1.99 each the last time I checked. Just add to coreplugins folder.

Carfan


I actually had already purchased Mustang's plugin and was able to use it successfully for a build with UBCD4Win. However, when using the pre-configured BartPECore for WinBuilder it is not clear to me where the coreplugins folder is located. I have looked through all of the folders under the project, but can't seem to find where I should copy the files. Any suggestions?

#24 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 December 2007 - 03:17 AM

I actually had already purchased Mustang's plugin and was able to use it successfully for a build with UBCD4Win. However, when using the pre-configured BartPECore for WinBuilder it is not clear to me where the coreplugins folder is located. I have looked through all of the folders under the project, but can't seem to find where I should copy the files. Any suggestions?


to go projects\Tools\CorePlugins and put your plugin there. You will have to remove any mention of reatogo or nu2menu from your .inf

Carfan

#25 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 196 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 December 2007 - 05:42 PM

thunn:

downloaded a fresh bartpecore build last night. built with my usuall xpsp2 en. something broke ti 9. keeps saying cant find correct key
. it has always worked before your latest updates. iv'e tried it on two diffrent machines. same problem. ive tried to copy-paste the install
key (by the way ot wont hold it pasted into the box once you leave that script for another) and to use the locally installed key. Ive used
regedit on the use local key approach and the key was there under trueimage. i went back to a bartepecore version previous to your
christmas edition and it worked fine. i even replaced the ti 9 script in your latest build with the previous build and still the same problem.
everything else including acronis disk director works, just the problem with ti 9. please let me know what you think?

thanks
-c




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users