Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Testing VistaPE.


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 23 October 2007 - 07:19 PM

For LiveXP and nativeEx projects I have used qEmu for testing.
As VistaPE is not compatible with qEmu I have installed:

1. VirtualBox 1.5.2,
2. VMware Player 2.0.2 and
3. Virtual PC 2007 6.0.156.

I have as the host OS Vista Ultimate and have experienced problems,
by testing VistaPE, with all three virtualization programs:

1. Despite all the help from powaking, I have not been able to activate shared folder
nor start networking on VirtualBox, mainly due to inability to install "GuestAdditions".

2. In VMware I am not able to start recognition of USB devices
as a connection between guest and host system.

3. Virtual PC has simplest networking, but activation of the shared folder,
with installation of "Virtual Machine Additions", is beyond my ability.

So, to make full test of VistaPE, I am forced to use VirtualBox
for guest/host connection thru USB flesh disk and one of the other two
for networking.

Since this is not comfortable setup, I kindly ask for a help:

Does somebody have similar configuration as me and is willing to explain
what should be done to make one simple solution covering networking and
guest/host connection thru USB flash and/or shared folder?

Many thanks in advance!

#2 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 October 2007 - 01:44 AM

For LiveXP and nativeEx projects I have used qEmu for testing.
As VistaPE is not compatible with qEmu I have installed:

1. VirtualBox 1.5.2,
2. VMware Player 2.0.2 and
3. Virtual PC 2007 6.0.156.

I have as the host OS Vista Ultimate and have experienced problems,
by testing VistaPE, with all three virtualization programs:

1. Despite all the help from powaking, I have not been able to activate shared folder
nor start networking on VirtualBox, mainly due to inability to install "GuestAdditions".

2. In VMware I am not able to start recognition of USB devices
as a connection between guest and host system.

3. Virtual PC has simplest networking, but activation of the shared folder,
with installation of "Virtual Machine Additions", is beyond my ability.

So, to make full test of VistaPE, I am forced to use VirtualBox
for guest/host connection thru USB flesh disk and one of the other two
for networking.

Since this is not comfortable setup, I kindly ask for a help:

Does somebody have similar configuration as me and is willing to explain
what should be done to make one simple solution covering networking and
guest/host connection thru USB flash and/or shared folder?

Many thanks in advance!


Here's a quote from the VirtualBox forums. I might have bridged my cards but don't think I did it on the Vista machine (might have done it on the XP machine but can't remember). The link to this tread is here

Ok. I found out how to do this. Do the following and alot of this is per the VirtualBox documentation and a small bit comes via the help of a Microsoft Knowledge Base article.

Setup your Virtual Machine to use a Host Interface. Create a Host Interface and name it something. It doesn't matter but make note of it if you need to. For the purpose of this document I will call it "VirtualBox Host Interface".

Now go to Network connections and highlight both the real adapter and the new virtual one that you just created. Right-click them and select "Bridge Connections". This will create a Network Bridge in Windows.

The last thing is make sure the Network Bridge is reporting an IP address and that it has connectivity. If you cannot get on the internet then a little troubleshooting is in order.

The first thing that may happen is if you attempt to bring a wireless adapter into a network bridge. Most do not support promiscuous mode properly if at all. Virtually all of them will report they can be bridged but will not do so properly. The following article will work around that issue and allow you to get connectivity again.

Bridge May Not Work With a Non-Promiscuous Mode Network Adapter
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/302348

Windows XP Bridging and Media Support for Home Networking (look close to the end of the article)
http://technet.micro...y/bb457038.aspx

Now this applies to non-wireless adapters too however I have yet to see a wired adapter have this issue.

Now then if Innotek can implement Virtual Bridge support then we wouldn't have this issue.



#3 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 24 October 2007 - 06:36 AM

Here's a quote from the VirtualBox forums:
"Now go to Network connections and highlight both the real adapter
and the new virtual one that you just created.
Right-click them and select "Bridge Connections".
This will create a Network Bridge in Windows."



Done!

Now I have networking for XP based builds (tested with LiveXP and nativeEx),
but it is not helping for VistaPE.

By my analise, the problem is in unability of installig Guest VBoxGuestAdditions,
as it is required for Vista type guest. After installation it is necessery to rebot
guest system and when you do that you lose VBGA installation (ISO file).
For the same reason it's not posible to activate shared folder.

I wonder if anybody has done succesfull network testing of VistaPE in VirtualBox!?

#4 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 24 October 2007 - 07:25 AM

Virtual PC 2007 6.0.156.


Virtual PC is very comfortable program, but does not support universal serial bus (USB) devices.

Quote from manual: “

"However, a USB device connected to the physical computer might provide services that the guest operating system can use. For example, you can use Shared Folders to make an external removable storage device available to the guest operating system."”

is useless, as it is not possible to install Virtual Machine Additions on a guest system (ISO)!

I wonder if anybody has successfully activated shared folders when testing any WB build!?

#5 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 24 October 2007 - 09:25 AM

VMware Player 2.0.2



Comfortable for network testing,
but sharing with host is questionable.

It is possible to select USB Flash, but not possible to access it.
Device is removed from the host, but not showed in guest!?

Using shared folders is so complicated (if possible) that with all
my effort I haven't be able to manage it jet. Will try further.

I wonder if anybody have managed to activate shared folders in VMW Player!?

#6 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 October 2007 - 12:47 PM

Comfortable for network testing,
but sharing with host is questionable.

It is possible to select USB Flash, but not possible to access it.
Device is removed from the host, but not showed in guest!?

Using shared folders is so complicated (if possible) that with all
my effort I haven't be able to manage it jet. Will try further.

I wonder if anybody have managed to activate shared folders in VMW Player!?


For sure you have progress. What I think you need to do now (as I don't remember if you stated you did or not) is add the VirtualBox USB and NIC drivers into the Drivers script (http://ctv99.boot-land.net/).

This should let VistaPE recognize its network and usb functions.

To get access to a USB device its best to have this plugged in first. Once you have it plugged in launch VirtualBox and go into the settings of the WinBuilder machine. Under USB again enable it like you did with the Network card. Click on the green + to add a USB device (be it the port or the device you plugged in). Once that is done then test your VistaPE image.

All of this took me a while to figure out so don't feel like its just you. All of this is trial and error, just need to play with the settings a bit.

#7 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 24 October 2007 - 03:13 PM

For sure you have progress. What I think you need to do now (as I don't remember if you stated you did or not) is add the VirtualBox USB and NIC drivers into the Drivers script (http://ctv99.boot-land.net/).

This should let VistaPE recognize its network and usb functions.

To get access to a USB device its best to have this plugged in first. Once you have it plugged in launch VirtualBox and go into the settings of the WinBuilder machine. Under USB again enable it like you did with the Network card. Click on the green + to add a USB device (be it the port or the device you plugged in). Once that is done then test your VistaPE image.

All of this took me a while to figure out so don't feel like its just you. All of this is trial and error, just need to play with the settings a bit.



There is no problem with USB flash devices in VirtualBox.

I have managed networking for XP based builds (tested with LiveXP and nativeEx),
but not for VistaPE.

By my analise, the problem is in unability of installig Guest VBoxGuestAdditions,
as it is required for Vista type guest. After installation it is necessery to rebot
guest system and when you do that you lose VBGA installation (ISO file).
For the same reason it's not posible to activate shared folder.

#8 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 October 2007 - 03:32 PM

There is no problem with USB flash devices in VirtualBox.

I have managed networking for XP based builds (tested with LiveXP and nativeEx),
but not for VistaPE.

By my analise, the problem is in unability of installig Guest VBoxGuestAdditions,
as it is required for Vista type guest. After installation it is necessery to rebot
guest system and when you do that you lose VBGA installation (ISO file).
For the same reason it's not posible to activate shared folder.


Thats just it, I haven't done ANYTHING with this VBoxGuestAdditions which is probably nothing more than the drivers located in C:\program files\innotek VirtualBox\drivers

You need to copy these folders into the DRIVERS folder of that script plugin I mentioned above.

Again you haven't stated if you have used the said plugin above or not and until you do then VistaPE in VirtualBox will not know what nic VIrtualbox uses as a virtual nic until these drivers are included into your VistaPE build.

#9 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 08:39 AM

Thats just it, I haven't done ANYTHING with this VBoxGuestAdditions which is probably nothing more than the drivers located in C:\program files\innotek VirtualBox\drivers


Completely different: Attached File  GuestAdditions.zip   28.71KB   233 downloadsAttached File  HostNetDriver.zip   31.16KB   253 downloads

You need to copy these folders into the DRIVERS folder of that script plugin I mentioned above.
Again you haven't stated if you have used the said plugin above or not and until you do then VistaPE in VirtualBox will not know what nic VIrtualbox uses as a virtual nic until these drivers are included into your VistaPE build.



Done: No help!

#10 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 October 2007 - 01:30 PM

Completely different: Attached File  GuestAdditions.zip   28.71KB   233 downloadsAttached File  HostNetDriver.zip   31.16KB   253 downloads



Done: No help!


:cheers: Don't know what else to say. Might have better luck on the VirtualBox forum. They would seem to know more about running live cd's in VB and can offer some tips and tricks.

#11 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 01:45 PM

:cheers: Don't know what else to say. Might have better luck on the VirtualBox forum. They would seem to know more about running live cd's in VB and can offer some tips and tricks.



Trying to find best testing vehicle for WB builds I have tested:

0. qEmu 0.9.0,
1. VirtualBox 1.5.2,
2. VMware Player 2.0.2,
3. Virtual PC 2007 6.0.156 and
4. VMwareServer.1.0.4-56528.zip

After days and days of testing I have assembled following comparison table:

Network support	USB	Shared	Comment 		

			LiveXP	VistaPE		folders



0. qEmu		Yes	N/A	No	No	Note 0 

1. VirtualBox	Yes	???	Yes	???	Note 1 

2. VMW Player	Yes	Yes	???	???	Note 2 

3. Virtual PC	Yes	Yes	No	???	Note 3 

4. VMWServer	Yes	Yes	???	???	Note 2

Note 0: Small, simple and stand alone, but without guest/host connection.
Note 1: Simple USB support but for VistaPE script for GuestAdditions is necessary to
activate Network and Shared folders support.
Note 2: Simplest Network support, but without guest/host connection.
Note 3: No USB support; script for guest VMAdditions is necessary to activate
Shared folders support.
???: I have tried to make it working but with my limited knowledge did not succeeded!

Conclusion: If someone makes script for GuestAdditions “installation” during building,
VirtualBox 1.5.2 could be best and universal test vehicle for all WB builds!

#12 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 October 2007 - 01:57 PM

Trying to find best testing vehicle for WB builds I have tested:

0. qEmu 0.9.0,
1. VirtualBox 1.5.2,
2. VMware Player 2.0.2,
3. Virtual PC 2007 6.0.156 and
4. VMwareServer.1.0.4-56528.zip

After days and days of testing I have assembled following comparison table:

Network support	USB	Shared	Comment 		

			LiveXP	VistaPE		folders



0. qEmu		Yes	N/A	No	No	Note 0 

1. VirtualBox	Yes	???	Yes	???	Note 1 

2. VMW Player	Yes	Yes	???	???	Note 2 

3. Virtual PC	Yes	Yes	No	???	Note 3 

4. VMWServer	Yes	Yes	???	???	Note 2

Note 0: Small, simple and stand alone, but without guest/host connection.
Note 1: Simple USB support but for VistaPE script for GuestAdditions is necessary to
activate Network and Shared folders support.
Note 2: Simplest Network support, but without guest/host connection.
Note 3: No USB support; script for guest VMAdditions is necessary to activate
Shared folders support.
???: I have tried to make it working but with my limited knowledge did not succeeded!

Conclusion: If someone makes script for GuestAdditions “installation” during building,
VirtualBox 1.5.2 could be best and universal test vehicle for all WB builds!


drivers.JPG

See what happens...

#13 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 02:17 PM

drivers.JPG

See what happens...



I don't know how you have done this.

Could you make script to integrate in VistaPE build following:
Attached File  VBoxGuestAdditions.zip   1.13MB   198 downloads

#14 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 October 2007 - 03:00 PM

I don't know how you have done this.

Could you make script to integrate in VistaPE build following:
Attached File  VBoxGuestAdditions.zip   1.13MB   198 downloads



success.JPG

Had to re-establish my bridge connection for some reason but here you go.

Again use the Drivers plugin that has been mentioned before and include the drivers in the zip file into the drivers plugin.

Get the driver plugin here http://ctv99.boot-land.net/

#15 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 03:20 PM

success.JPG

Had to re-establish my bridge connection for some reason but here you go.

Again use the Drivers plugin that has been mentioned before and include the drivers in the zip file into the drivers plugin.



Great!!! :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

With what host system and version of VirtualBox you have done this?
Give me detailed tutorial what and how I should do to recreate it, please.
Bear in mind that I am newbie for drivers and networking!

#16 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 October 2007 - 04:43 PM

Great!!! :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

With what host system and version of VirtualBox you have done this?
Give me detailed tutorial what and how I should do to recreate it, please.
Bear in mind that I am newbie for drivers and networking!


Got busy but will try to keep it as simple as possible. Essentially you need to use that plugin, include the drives from the driver plugin in VirtualBox's folder.

Also in your Windows network settings highlight both the VB TAP adapter and your nic adapter and right click to select Bridge.

It should work after that. I'll get back later though. Let me know if you are able to get this far.

#17 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 06:22 PM

Also in your Windows network settings highlight both the VB TAP adapter
and your nic adapter and right click to select Bridge.



Done: Explorer_24.JPG

It should work after that. I'll get back later though.



I put all the files from GuestAdditions in Drivers\Drivers folder: Explorer_23.JPG

Let me know if you are able to get this far.


And the answer is: Explorer_22.JPG :cheers:

#18 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 October 2007 - 06:31 PM

Done: Explorer_24.JPG



I put all the files from GuestAdditions in Drivers\Drivers folder: Explorer_23.JPG



And the answer is: Explorer_22.JPG :cheers:


Looks like you're having an issue with the Drivers plugin. Just double check your path to the drivers folder. If you look in the Drivers script plugin there is a box to input your path to the drivers folder. It should read (for you anyway):

f:\f\!WinBuilder\VistaPE\Projects\VistaPE-Beta\Drivers\Drivers\Drivers

#19 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 07:00 PM

f:\f\!WinBuilder\VistaPE\Projects\VistaPE-Beta\Drivers\Drivers\Drivers



It looks that Copy/Paste is not supported in WinBuilder!

#20 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 October 2007 - 07:22 PM

It looks that Copy/Paste is not supported in WinBuilder!



:cheers: Not sure what you mean but the path in the Drivers plugin needs to reflect where it is on your hard drive.

#21 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 07:27 PM

:cheers: Not sure what you mean but the path in the Drivers plugin needs to reflect where it is on your hard drive.


I didn't browse to the Drivers folder, but Copy/Paste path it in the box.
WinBuilder didn't accept it. Path must be typed or browsed!!!

#22 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 07:56 PM

It should work after that. I'll get back later though. Let me know if you are able to get this far.



Finally!!!

VistaPE.JPG

With your knowledge and my muscles, I have managed it! :cheers:

Thank you very much for all the help, patience and attention.

#23 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 October 2007 - 08:01 PM

Finally!!!

VistaPE.JPG

With your knowledge and my muscles, I have managed it! :cheers:

Thank you very much for all the help, patience and attention.


Round on the house

:cheers: :cheers: :rofl: :cheers: :cheers:
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

#24 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 08:15 PM

Round on the house.


:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
:cheers: It took us some 30 replies, with price of 2MB build increase, :cheers:
:cheers: but it proves VirtualBox as best testing vehicle with very :cheers:
:cheers: comfortable networking and guest/host connection via USB. :cheers:
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

I am going to uninstall all other virtualization programs.

#25 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 28 October 2007 - 12:47 PM

:cheers: Not sure what you mean but the path in the Drivers plugin needs to reflect where it is on your hard drive.



You must browse to the "Drivers" folder or type the path.
WB is not accepting Copy/Paste the path.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users