Jump to content











Photo
* * * - - 1 votes

CheckList


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 ozbob

ozbob
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 15 October 2007 - 09:47 AM

I have been looking and searching around how to use the interface object called checklist. So far I have not been able to find any reference for this object. I would like to find out how to make use of this feature. Currently I am running Winbuilder 072a.

By the way I would like to mention that Winbuilder is really a nice and user friendly tool, also for my needs which consists of building unttended Windows installation images in conjunction with tools like nLite, Xpize modified winnt.sif etc. So far this tool has been the best approach way of doing this as it can run modular and has great logging features.
The only thing which I am missing in Winbuilder is a lack of getting it to read file lists and put them up in a screen for selection, hence my question as it might be there if I know how to use checkfile.....

#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 October 2007 - 10:29 AM

Hi ozbob!

There is a checklist component on the interface - but it was not completed mostly because of other requests that appeared as things moved on.

If you wish, we're just starting the discussion for the new beta wb and this feature can likely be added without hassle.

What is the type of behavior and syntax you find more suited? :cheers:

We can have a checklist that reads all INI values from a section and simply adds true/false values.

To create lists of files and display them on your scripts I would recommend creating a small script in autoIt or any other programming language that would write the interface section on a given script and update it as needed.

If you don't know how to do it - likely a few other members around here can help you getting it done.

--------------------------------------


It's very good to hear that you have experience with unattended installs.

There is a winbuilder project which needs someone with enough know-how and motivation to finish it and maybe you'd be interested in picking it up and improve it to meet your unattended standards.

Look here for more informations: http://www.boot-land...tall-t2673.html

The driverpacks team is willing to help, xpize is open source and can also be included - only missing nlite from the list of automated programs but maybe we can talk with nuhi to allow working alongside with nlite as well - we're already mirroring the oficial nlite distribution in the boot-land.net server.

The idea was to automate all these steps needed to build an unattended CD and mixing it with a xp based liveCD to create a good all-in-one tool.

Hope you like it - let me know your opinion.. :cheers:

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 October 2007 - 12:25 PM

Today I had an issue where the functioning checklist could help.

In updateCore.Script could be nice if the user defines which nativeEx core items he / she wants to download into LiveXP or NativePE or ...

Currently I solve by radioboxes:
  • existing scripts only
  • all scripts
@Nuno:
So would be nice if you use hours 25 to 29 of your day to finish the checklist. :cheers:

Peter

#4 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 October 2007 - 12:34 PM

Ok, give me some time to see what can be done.. :cheers:

#5 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 October 2007 - 02:56 PM

It's added on the next beta.

Add a section inside the script like this:
[test]

2123=0

dsa=True

sdfdf=1

sdfd=False

sdf=1

wer3=0

thjthy=1

And the listbox will change these value acording to the user's click-check.

Acepts both True/False and 1/0 values.

:cheers:

#6 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 October 2007 - 03:27 PM

It's added on the next beta.

Add a section inside the script like this:

[test]

  2123=0

  dsa=True

  sdfdf=1

  sdfd=False

  sdf=1

  wer3=0

  thjthy=1

And the listbox will change these value acording to the user's click-check.

Acepts both True/False and 1/0 values.

:cheers:

Currently it sounds Arabic for me. :cheers:
(Name of the box = 'test' ?)
Let's wait for the beta! :cheers:

Peter

#7 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 October 2007 - 03:44 PM

Maybe an image can help understand.. :cheers:

checklist.PNG

Here's the code found inside the script:

[Interface]
pCheckList1=test,1,9,68,72,200,200,
pTextLabel1=pTextLabel1,1,1,11,27,230,18,8,Normal

[test]
1=0
2=1
3=0
4=1
5=0
6=true
7=0
8=true
9=0
10=1




Whenever the user click and marks a check or uncheck any item - it will write the respective value on the [test] section.

:cheers:

#8 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 October 2007 - 03:46 PM

Maybe an image can help understand.. :cheers:

checklist.PNG

:cheers:

Thanks :cheers:
I hope you have finished the new beta within 5 (Latin) minutes.

Peter :cheers:

#9 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 October 2007 - 04:10 PM

It's just about ready for tests - but I'm still working on some details that I'm not yet happy.

:cheers:

#10 ozbob

ozbob
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 16 October 2007 - 03:22 PM

It's just about ready for tests - but I'm still working on some details that I'm not yet happy.

:cheers:


Nuno,

Thanks for your reply, had found the scripts for unattended install already, this is how I got here in the first place.
As to the list requirements for me; I would like to have a way to fill the dialog with files and be able to select multiple files to process.

I have another odity with variables;
my code line reads: If,%pCheckBox1%,Equal,True,Set,"%ApplicationDescription%","Dotnet 3.0"
No matter what I do the contents of ,"%ApplicationDescription% breaks down with Dotnet, the space and 3.0 are being dropped. Am I doing something wrong here or could this be a bug with the set command?

Thx

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 October 2007 - 03:27 PM

my code line reads: If,%pCheckBox1%,Equal,True,Set,"%ApplicationDescription%","Dotnet 3.0"
No matter what I do the contents of ,"%ApplicationDescription% breaks down with Dotnet, the space and 3.0 are being dropped. Am I doing something wrong here or could this be a bug with the set command?

try:
If,%pCheckBox1%,Equal,True,Set,"%ApplicationDescription%","Dotnet#$s3.0"

Sometimes spaces, commas, quotes, disturb WinBuilder.
Then you should use the corresponding 'special character' (to be found in the statement wizzard.

Peter

#12 ozbob

ozbob
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 21 October 2007 - 01:06 PM

try:
If,%pCheckBox1%,Equal,True,Set,"%ApplicationDescription%","Dotnet#$s3.0"

Sometimes spaces, commas, quotes, disturb WinBuilder.
Then you should use the corresponding 'special character' (to be found in the statement wizzard.

Peter


Thanks Peter, this was the solution, however it doesn't make things more readable in the script. Maybe there should be another special character that defines everything between the markers shuld be left alone and parsed on.
My problem is solved never the less.

#13 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 14 March 2008 - 07:45 AM

Maybe an image can help understand.. :)

checklist.PNG

Here's the code found inside the script:





Whenever the user click and marks a check or uncheck any item - it will write the respective value on the [test] section.

:(


Hi Nuno,

This looks good, and I have it working as described.

One question about its purpose/function...

In order to use the CheckList to do things, is it necessary to 'IniRead' each key-value and assign the value to a Variable, then have a Script do something on the basis of the Variable?

... or is there a more streamlined way to do something on the basis of the key-value directly?

Thanks :cheers:

#14 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 March 2008 - 09:24 AM

Thought I haven't (yet) tried what I'm about to suggest - I would recommend using the [variables] section inside %scriptfile% as repository for all the values that you need to place on that list.

If you need to add more variables then these could be placed on a different section and inserted when the [process] section is executed.

I've recently used this list feature here: http://xp.winbuilder...1-Addons.script

Made a small binary to find all files inside a subfolder and add them on the list to be processed by nlite.

:)

#15 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 14 March 2008 - 09:29 AM

... or is there a more streamlined way to do something on the basis of the key-value directly?

Thanks :)


OK. I found a way. It looks a bit dangerous though.

If the CheckList Section is called [test], every key-value can be assigned to a variable-value with:

AddVariables,"%ScriptFile%","test"


Dangerous because every key - without percentage signs, becomes a variable - without percentage signs! That is, every occurence of the key word in the script will be read as a Variable with a Value.

For example:

[process]

AddVariables,"%ScriptFile%","test"

Message,"testing to see if this works"



[test]

testing to see if this works=1

... will return a MessageBox with '1' in it!

#16 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 March 2008 - 09:39 AM

That's a good solution! :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users