Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

grub4dos - editing the menu that appears


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 455 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 14 October 2007 - 07:53 PM

Hi, playing about with vistape, and want to know how do I edit the grub4dos menu to add other bootable items that I have such as bootable winimage disk images of some useful DOS apps etc

Any pointers?

#2 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 October 2007 - 01:38 AM

Hi, playing about with vistape, and want to know how do I edit the grub4dos menu to add other bootable items that I have such as bootable winimage disk images of some useful DOS apps etc

Any pointers?


Take a look at the Create Iso script for v 010. In there you can include entries into the Grub menu. I've added Drive Fitness Tester (Hitachi drives) and GDisk Disk Wiping tool. I've also created a way to include md5 hash passwords for certain options in the menu.


Drive Fitness Test
TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%"," ","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","title Drive Fitness Test","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","kernel /boot/memdisk raw","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","initrd /boot/DFT32.img","Append"


If I want to password protect an entry I throw this in right after the entries title.

If,"%pCheckBox4%",Equal,true,Exec,%ScriptFile%,MD5

My Interface has a checkbox for password. If its checked then it will process the MD5 section with the password that is entered.

MD5

[MD5]

Echo, Generating MD5 Hash password...

FileCreateBlank,"c:\temp\md5.script"

TXTAddLine,"c:\temp\md5.script","[password]","Append"

ShellExecute,hide,"cmd.exe", "/c for /f #$qtokens=1 delims=#$q %a in ('%tools%\grubcrypt %pTextBox1%') do echo myvalue=%a >> c:\temp\md5.script"

IniRead,"c:\temp\md5.script","password","myvalue","%myVar%"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%",password --md5 %myVar%,"Append"

FileDelete,"c:\temp\md5.script

To use this I have a grubcrypt tool that was created in java that will actually create a md5 password that grub uses with a randomized salt.

I didn't like the sunset or sunrise pics so I added a pic that I found that I liked and added it to the drop down menu as a selection.

Those are somethings I have going on with my Grub menu.

#3 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 October 2007 - 07:57 AM

I would say this is more like grub4dos related, moving it in the appropriate section, just browse there to find a number of examples....:cheers:

jaclaz

#4 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 455 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 15 October 2007 - 12:36 PM

Take a look at the Create Iso script for v 010. In there you can include entries into the Grub menu. I've added Drive Fitness Tester (Hitachi drives) and GDisk Disk Wiping tool. I've also created a way to include md5 hash passwords for certain options in the menu.
Drive Fitness Test

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%"," ","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","title Drive Fitness Test","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","kernel /boot/memdisk raw","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","initrd /boot/DFT32.img","Append"
If I want to password protect an entry I throw this in right after the entries title.

If,"%pCheckBox4%",Equal,true,Exec,%ScriptFile%,MD5

My Interface has a checkbox for password. If its checked then it will process the MD5 section with the password that is entered.

MD5

[MD5]

Echo, Generating MD5 Hash password...

FileCreateBlank,"c:\temp\md5.script"

TXTAddLine,"c:\temp\md5.script","[password]","Append"

ShellExecute,hide,"cmd.exe", "/c for /f #$qtokens=1 delims=#$q %a in ('%tools%\grubcrypt %pTextBox1%') do echo myvalue=%a >> c:\temp\md5.script"

IniRead,"c:\temp\md5.script","password","myvalue","%myVar%"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%",password --md5 %myVar%,"Append"

FileDelete,"c:\temp\md5.script

To use this I have a grubcrypt tool that was created in java that will actually create a md5 password that grub uses with a randomized salt.

I didn't like the sunset or sunrise pics so I added a pic that I found that I liked and added it to the drop down menu as a selection.

Those are somethings I have going on with my Grub menu.



Thanks, very helpful

What type of bootable items will grub4dos accept? iso? img/ima?

#5 powaking

powaking

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Fall River, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 October 2007 - 01:08 PM

Thanks, very helpful

What type of bootable items will grub4dos accept? iso? img/ima?


grub4dos won't boot iso files so you may want to see if you creating a ima/img will work. As you can see from my sample I did find a way to get it to boot a img file (DFT32.img) which is just a Drive Fitness Test by Hitachi. I have a ima entry for GDisk that we use. Here is that setup.

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","title GDisk HD Wiping Tool","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","find --set-root /boot/GDISK.IMA","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","map --mem /boot/GDISK.IMA (fd0)","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","map --hook","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","chainloader (fd0)+1","Append"

As you can see its a little different than for my .img entry so you will have to experiment.

#6 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 455 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 15 October 2007 - 01:25 PM

grub4dos won't boot iso files so you may want to see if you creating a ima/img will work. As you can see from my sample I did find a way to get it to boot a img file (DFT32.img) which is just a Drive Fitness Test by Hitachi. I have a ima entry for GDisk that we use. Here is that setup.

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","title GDisk HD Wiping Tool","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","find --set-root /boot/GDISK.IMA","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","map --mem /boot/GDISK.IMA (fd0)","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","map --hook","Append"

TXTAddLine,"%MenuFile%","chainloader (fd0)+1","Append"

As you can see its a little different than for my .img entry so you will have to experiment.

Thanks powaking

Will give it a try




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users