Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

MMC links in control panel


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 October 2007 - 11:20 AM

The attached MMC script has been modified by me to have links show up in the Administrative Tools folder in the Control Panel. This was for LiveXP, not sure if other projects suffer from not having the links.

Regards,
Galapo.

Attached Files



#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:20 PM

Updated the "older" script on the newer liveXP version - thanks for the extra feature! :cheers:

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 October 2007 - 09:18 AM

The attached MMC script has been modified by me to have links show up in the Administrative Tools folder in the Control Panel. This was for LiveXP, not sure if other projects suffer from not having the links.

Regards,
Galapo.

Good idea, but unfortunatelly too 'English'

With my German version I get an error.

Reason
Start Menu\Programs\Administrative Tools
must also be localized.
In German it is e.g.
Startmenü\Programme\Verwaltung
Programme (sStartmenu_Programs) and Verwaltung (sAdministrative_Tools) are currently already defined by buildModel.

Startmenü is missing.
I'll soon publish a new version of buildModel.Script which includes it.

Peter

EDIT: New version 46 of buildModel.Script on the nativeEx server.
It creates a localized 'Start Menu' entry as 'sStart_Menu' in %ProjectInfo%

#4 DaemonForce

DaemonForce

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 119 posts
  • Location:SEA
  • Interests:[=D=] is online when I am.<br /><br />DaemonPE is 18% complete!<br />Latest ISO manufactured 25/09/2007
  •  
    United States

Posted 06 October 2007 - 01:20 PM

HOLD IT!

I've been digging through every line of code generated by the WinBuilder with your script. I don't care about shortcuts. There's a contradiction in the design of the Windows registry here:

HKLM\WB-SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MMC\SnapIns\*

Look at the NameStringIndirect section there and in your local Software registry and tell me something isn't wrong. :cheers:

Uber-Ninja-Edit: Another contradiction!

The Windows registry is designed to welcome strings with a REG_SZ. This doesn't work with paths so it needs to be expanded upon with a REG_EXPAND_SZ. If you look in your local software registry, these expanded links will not exist! They are under the REG_SZ class! :cheers:

#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 October 2007 - 02:32 PM

The Windows registry is designed to welcome strings with a REG_SZ. This doesn't work with paths so it needs to be expanded upon with a REG_EXPAND_SZ. If you look in your local software registry, these expanded links will not exist! They are under the REG_SZ class! :cheers:

Thanks for your report.

Every .script developer is happy if somebody reports a bug to be fixed.
But the bug report should not be an 'Oracle of Delphi': Go and search.
It is much better to quote the line where the '0x1' should be replaced by a '0x2'

Peter

#6 DaemonForce

DaemonForce

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 119 posts
  • Location:SEA
  • Interests:[=D=] is online when I am.<br /><br />DaemonPE is 18% complete!<br />Latest ISO manufactured 25/09/2007
  •  
    United States

Posted 06 October 2007 - 03:44 PM

It is much better to quote the line where the '0x1' should be replaced by a '0x2'

What is active in an installed environment is not 100% true in a protected one. I'm uncertain which value should be used.

#7 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 06 October 2007 - 04:59 PM

What is active in an installed environment is not 100% true in a protected one. I'm uncertain which value should be used.

Wow! That's news! If you find any specifics, please post. Up until now i lived and worked under the impression that there are no differences aside from the obvious ones.

:cheers:

#8 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 October 2007 - 01:33 AM

EDIT: New version 46 of buildModel.Script on the nativeEx server.
It creates a localized 'Start Menu' entry as 'sStart_Menu' in %ProjectInfo%

Thanks for that Peter.

Hopefully the attached script is now less 'English'. I still found I had to specify "All Users" as this is not defined either. Maybe this is not a problem?

Regards,
Galapo.

Attached Files



#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 October 2007 - 07:43 AM

I still found I had to specify "All Users" as this is not defined either. Maybe this is not a problem?

I think it is not. Until now I do not know any localization (same with Default User).

Peter

#10 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 October 2007 - 01:48 PM

@Galapo
I'm sorry, but the changes you made are not sufficient.
Here my test result:

LiveXP with English XP source: ok
LiveXP with German XP source: Control panel contains a folder Administrative Tools (Verwaltung), but this folder is empty.
nativeEx_barebone English XP source: Control Panel does not contain a folder Administrative Tools (Verwaltung)
nativeEx_barebone German XP source: Control Panel does not contain a folder Administrative Tools (Verwaltung)

Peter

#11 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 October 2007 - 11:15 PM

Hi Peter,

Thanks for testing. Unfortunately, I only have an English source for XP, so I am unable to test other languages.

Strangely, nativeEx_barebone English XP source worked for me with icons showing, whereas you reported that this was not the case for you. Not sure what's different.

Attached is a new version which adds the following registry entry.
RegWrite,HKLM,0x2,&#34;Tmp_software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders&#34;,&#34;Common Administrative Tools&#34;,&#34;#$pALLUSERSPROFILE#$p\%startmenufolder%\%programsfolder%\%admintoolsfolder%&#34;

See if it makes a difference.

Regards,
Galapo.

Attached Files



#12 DaemonForce

DaemonForce

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 119 posts
  • Location:SEA
  • Interests:[=D=] is online when I am.<br /><br />DaemonPE is 18% complete!<br />Latest ISO manufactured 25/09/2007
  •  
    United States

Posted 08 October 2007 - 06:23 AM

Don't listen to my posts about anything to do with start menu icons. My XPPE is developed with hard-set icons that are present prior to launch in an English release. In my current 03PE build I don't have an issue with icons because I run my PE with a straight command line. There is a reason for this.

I'm unfamiliar with the way WinBuilder creates the icons using your script. What strikes me as odd is a language boundary in MUI releases. This should not happen.

EDIT: If users are having conflicts with icon creation in your script, it's best advised to post what build of XP(version, language, modification) was used.

#13 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 October 2007 - 02:56 PM

@Galapo!

The latest version works with English and German source - sometimes :cheers:

Do not worry, the 'sometimes' is not your fault:

If Explorer.Script installs it's DLLs at boot time, it works.
If Explorer.Script DLLs are installed at build time, it does not work (no 'Administrative Tools' in the Control Panel).

Some regisrtry tweak seems to be missing in this case, but which one ????

Peter

#14 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 10 October 2007 - 06:58 AM

@Galapo!

The latest version works with English and German source - sometimes :cheers:

Do not worry, the 'sometimes' is not your fault:

If Explorer.Script installs it's DLLs at boot time, it works.
If Explorer.Script DLLs are installed at build time, it does not work (no 'Administrative Tools' in the Control Panel).

Some regisrtry tweak seems to be missing in this case, but which one ????

Peter

Hmmm. Interesting. Build time install of dlls works for English. But not for other languages.

What I was attempting to do here was to not have an annoying empty 'Administrative Tools' folder. So the script may seem to work when the folder is there, but not when the folder isn't there, which is fine (unless it is specifically desired that there be an 'Administrative Tools' folder in the Control Panel.

Thanks for testing.

Regards,
Galapo.

#15 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 October 2007 - 07:57 AM

Hmmm. Interesting. Build time install of dlls works for English. But not for other languages.


You misunderstood me
With Explorer boot time install both languages work, with build time install none.

Peter

#16 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 10 October 2007 - 08:21 AM

But the thing is: it's working for me, which is why I stated what I did in my previous post. English build time install is working, well at least for LiveXP. Will have to test nativeEx...

Regards,
Galapo.

#17 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 October 2007 - 08:26 AM

But the thing is: it's working for me, which is why I stated what I did in my previous post. English build time install is working, well at least for LiveXP. Will have to test nativeEx...

Regards,
Galapo.

Once again it s coming up:
My famous Voodoo :cheers:

Peter

#18 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 10 October 2007 - 08:37 PM

I wonder whether it has something to do with the addition of the explorer "tweaks and settings" script in LiveXP which makes the difference?

Galapo.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users