Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

DOS 6.22 ????????


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 thantai

thantai
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 22 September 2007 - 03:31 PM

i am using DOS 6.22
> "There is one method of installing a commercial version of Windows that
> you may want to try. This will not work with the Toshiba recovery CD, so
> you have to have an actual Windows XP CD. You also need a desktop
> computer and a 40 to 44 pin adapter for the laptop hard drive, like the
> one pictured here: http://www.directron.com/adpide23.html
>
> 1. Remove the hard drive from the laptop.
>
> 2. Use the adapter to connect the laptop hard drive to an open IDE
> connection on the desktop.
>
> 3. Boot the desktop with an MS-DOS floppy. If you don't have one, get a
> bootdisk creation program from http://www.bootdisk.com and make one.
>
> 4. Format the laptop hard drive and transfer the DOS operating system to
> it. format [drive] /s This is so the drive will boot into DOS when you
> put it back in the laptop.
>
> 5. Create a directory on the laptop hard drive named WXPCD and copy the
> entire contents of the Windows XP install CD to it. You need to copy all
> of the subddirectories and their contents. Use the XCOPY command with
> the /s and /e options. For more on the XCOPY command syntax, see
> http://www.easydos.com/xcopy.html
>
> 6. Reinstall the hard drive to the laptop, boot it into DOS, navigate to
> the WXPCD directory and execute the winnt.exe setup program to install
> Windows.
>
> 7. You will then need to download and install all of the Toshiba
> utililties and drivers from http://support.toshiba.com for your model.
> You may want to download and copy these files to the hard drive while it
> is in the desktop, to make things easier."
>
--->on the step #4,how can i "Format the laptop hard drive and transfer
the DOS operating system to it" ?????? then copy the window xp CD into
hard drive
what the command do i need to use ???

1. Attach the laptop drive to the desktop as the ONLY hard drive in the system.

2. Boot from the floppy drive so that the A:\> prompt appears.

3. Type in the command 'sys C:'."


on the screen : "write failure, diskette unusable"

i reboot the PC and try it again but it does not work ?????????????

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 September 2007 - 04:15 PM

i am using DOS 6.22
.....
--->on the step #4,how can i "Format the laptop hard drive and transfer
the DOS operating system to it" ?????? then copy the window xp CD into
hard drive
what the command do i need to use ???

1. Attach the laptop drive to the desktop as the ONLY hard drive in the system.

2. Boot from the floppy drive so that the A:\> prompt appears.

3. Type in the command 'sys C:'."
on the screen : "write failure, diskette unusable"

i reboot the PC and try it again but it does not work ?????????????


You need to use:
1) Fdisk
2) Format C: /s

Please note that depending on the size of the hard disk, MS-DOS 6.22 won't be able to use the whole disk and, besides, the MS-DOS FDISK has limited capacities when compared with the FREE one, moreover, the only filesystem MS-DOS 6.22 recognizes is FAT16

It would be better if you used a later release of MS-DOS and the Free FDISK, see here:
http://www.911cd.net...o...c=16713&hl=
or directly FreeDOS, or otherwise, something you can do is get the XP DOS disk:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=16745


jaclaz

#3 thantai

thantai
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 22 September 2007 - 07:32 PM

You need to use:
1) Fdisk
2) Format C: /s


i am done with fdisk , format and transfer DOS to the laptop drive with the command 'sys C:'
then reboot the PC, install the XP operation ---> Start --> Run --> xcopy d: c:\wxpcd /s/e
replace the labtop hard drive back to the Toshiba labtop, boot with MS-DOS
the screen displays:
" starting MS-DOS...
C:\>"
i type in "c:\wxpcd\winnt.exe" , but it does not work ("Bad command...")
i need your help ?????????????

#4 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 September 2007 - 07:40 PM

i type in "c:\wxpcd\winnt.exe" , but it does not work ("Bad command...")

Sure, who should have put WINNT.EXE there? :w00t:

Enter the following:
CD wxpcd [ENTER]
DIR *.EXE [ENTER]

Can you see WINNT.EXE listed ( NO you cannot :w00t:)

Now enter:
CD i386 [ENTER]
DIR *.EXE [ENTER]

Can you see WINNT.EXE listed ( Yes, you can :w00t:)

Now enter:
WINNT.EXE [ENTER] :loleverybody:

jaclaz

#5 thantai

thantai
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 22 September 2007 - 08:05 PM

Enter the following:
CD wxpcd [ENTER]
DIR *.EXE [ENTER]

Can you see WINNT.EXE listed ( NO you cannot sad.gif)

Now enter:
CD i386 [ENTER]
DIR *.EXE [ENTER]

Can you see WINNT.EXE listed ( Yes, you can smile.gif)

Now enter:
WINNT.EXE [ENTER


it work well, but in the next step, there is 2 ways:
1, continuen setup without smartdrive ( it can not find smartdrive in my labtop)
2, or exist

what is smartdrive ? Should i continuen this setup ??

#6 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10452 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 September 2007 - 08:49 PM

SmartDrive is a disk caching program that shipped with MS-DOS versions 4.01 through 6.22 and Windows 3.x, [1] and greatly improved disk transfer rates by storing frequently accessed data in RAM. Early versions of SmartDrive are loaded through a CONFIG.SYS device driver named SMARTDRV.SYS. Later versions are loaded through an executable file named SMARTDRV.EXE, usually automatically at boot time by including the SMARTDRV.EXE command in AUTOEXEC.BAT.

http://en.wikipedia....wiki/SmartDrive

You can install with or without smartdrv loaded - I've tried it before and it takes a bit longer but works just the same.. :loleverybody:

#7 thantai

thantai
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 22 September 2007 - 08:56 PM

You can install with or without smartdrv loaded - I've tried it before and it takes a bit longer but works just the same..


while setup is coping files to hard drive, it just freeze, the labtop does not respond anything in near 1 hour

so, i restart the labtop, in the boot function, it appears one more option, to install the window XP --> i choose it, but while installing, the screen displays:
"setup can not find the End User Licensing Agreemnet. Setup can not continue. To quit, press F3"

????????????????????????????/

#8 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10452 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 September 2007 - 09:25 PM

This probably means that the copy process was not concluded and still has missing files.. :w00t:

I have a question - why do you want to use MSDOS on this case? :w00t:

If possible, it would ease your life to just use the CD and install directly from there wouldn't it?

-----------------------------

btw: Sometimes I've also had installations that stopped because the Windows CD source files were badly copied over to the CD, or you could also have a drive with faulty sectors - I'm guessing that if you're using floppy disks on a laptop then it should already have a few years and some hdd's seem to be quite sensitive about their age.. :w00t:

Possible steps:

1 - do a new install CD and test it by installing the OS on virtual machine (using virtual pc for example)

2 - check your drive for bad sectors - hdd regenerator is not free but will diagnose your drive. I would also erase the partitions, create fresh ones and format them properly. (this can be done from the diskete if needed), but I recommend a Win32 boot disk (look on the winbuilder section)

3 - After checking that this has all been done - do copy all files from your windows CD again to a folder on disk and repeat the same steps has were described above..

Good luck! :loleverybody:

#9 thantai

thantai
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 22 September 2007 - 10:50 PM

btw: Sometimes I've also had installations that stopped because the Windows CD source files were badly copied over to the CD, or you could also have a drive with faulty sectors - I'm guessing that if you're using floppy disks on a laptop then it should already have a few years and some hdd's seem to be quite sensitive about their age..


i try it again, do the xcopy with different DVD drive, but it is the same
i believe this is about the security on the window XP CD software. it does not let me install after i replaced the hard drive back to laptop

#10 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 September 2007 - 09:04 AM

i believe this is about the security on the window XP CD software. it does not let me install after i replaced the hard drive back to laptop


No, there is NO form of "security of any kind that prevents from copying the files properly in DOS.

1 hour is most probably not enough for copying all files without the SMARTDRIVE caching.

I still have concerns about the size of HD, can you post info on the hard disk and how you fdisked/formatted it.

There is no need (at this stage) for hdd regenerator or any other commercial utility, a SCANDISK will be enough.

AGAIN, you should use NOT DOS 6.22 but a later version, just as an example this one:
http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm
Windows 98 SE Custom, No Ramdrive
http://www.dehning.c...ks/boot98sc.exe
that includes SMARTDRIVE

jaclaz

#11 thantai

thantai
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 23 September 2007 - 01:19 PM

1 hour is most probably not enough for copying all files without the SMARTDRIVE caching.


you are right, it need 2 and a half hours to complete, so this problem is fine now

I still have concerns about the size of HD, can you post info on the hard disk and how you fdisked/formatted it.


my HD has over 50 GB, fdisk is 2 GB


AGAIN, you should use NOT DOS 6.22 but a later version, just as an example this one:
http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm


i do not know which VERSION i should use, can you give me the direct link Download ??????

a new problem while installing the setup, there is a error message:
" a problem has been detected and window has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer .....
technical information:
*stop: 0x0000009C(0X00000000,0X8054DA70, 0X A2000000, 08C010400)
"

#12 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 September 2007 - 02:07 PM

you are right, it need 2 and a half hours to complete, so this problem is fine now
my HD has over 50 GB, fdisk is 2 GB
i do not know which VERSION i should use, can you give me the direct link Download ??????

Actually I already did:
http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm <- page where the link is
Windows 98 SE Custom, No Ramdrive <- description of the bootdisk as found in the page
http://www.dehning.c...ks/boot98sc.exe <- direct link to the downloadable file
that includes SMARTDRIVE <- additional description

I mean what do you want, blood? :w00t:

However, with lots of patience, you are already beyond this. :loleverybody:


a new problem while installing the setup, there is a error message:
" a problem has been detected and window has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer .....
technical information:
*stop: 0x0000009C(0X00000000,0X8054DA70, 0X A2000000, 08C010400)
"

Who knows? :w00t:
http://support.micro...kb/329284/en-us
it appears to be a hardware error.
Typically besides a "real" hardware error, possibly RAM, this happens when some setting in BIOS is not appropriate and/or a LEGACY driver is not working the way it should.
I am afraid there is no way to tell from a distance. :w00t:
The only thing you can try IF you have an added stick of RAM is to remove it.
Also disconnect ANY external device.

jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users