Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Happy begining


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 happyusers

happyusers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 05 September 2007 - 09:24 PM

Hello all,
I tried the easiest way, the tutorial from Yorn called "Complete newb's guide to build a Live Windows XP CD/USB boot disk, Here it is, let me know if it works or any changes that I should make". I managed burning a bootable CD. Congratulations for that impressive job.
May I report some difficulties? First, I have a Samsung X30 and a broadcom NIC. At first, the card was not recognised. I ommited to checkmark the right driver in aditionnal network adapter. I did it and burned once more. Nothing better. I looked for the driver in system32/drivers, there was no specific file for bcm 440. I draged the files from addon directory to the right target directory and burned once more. It worked and I can connect to my LAN and Internet.
Do you have an explanation for that behaviour? This option seems to do nothing.
Second point, I am french and have a french keyboard. How can I adapt the layout ? I must admit that I built the thing with a download of win2003 from MS english version.
Thank you for any answer.

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 September 2007 - 11:30 AM

First, I have a Samsung X30 and a broadcom NIC. At first, the card was not recognised.
...
Second point, I am french and have a french keyboard. How can I adapt the layout ? I must admit that I built the thing with a download of win2003 from MS english version.


Hi happyusers!
Welcome in our forum.
Your first trial has been rather successful :loleverybody:
Most newbies have more troubles with their first trial!

#1:
Try the myNIC tool.
BTW: You have included PENetwork in the project?

#2:
Long time ago I wrote a script catching the keyboard from the local PC and add to the PE.
Try this.

Peter

#3 happyusers

happyusers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 06 September 2007 - 05:05 PM

Hi happyusers!
Welcome in our forum.
Your first trial has been rather successful :loleverybody:
Most newbies have more troubles with their first trial!

#1:
Try the myNIC tool.
BTW: You have included PENetwork in the project?

#2:
Long time ago I wrote a script catching the keyboard from the local PC and add to the PE.
Try this.

Peter


Thank you Peter for that quick answer.

For #1, I have solved the point in a selfish point of view but I was worrying for the behaviour of the script. Why checking some additionnal driver could have no impact on the result.

Concerning #2, I shall try immediately your script. I have found in file projectinfo.ini an empty field called KEYBOARDLAYOUT but I did not know how to use it.

Jacques

#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 September 2007 - 05:19 PM

For #1, I have solved the point in a selfish point of view but I was worrying for the behaviour of the script. Why checking some additionnal driver could have no impact on the result.

You know that English is not my native language, and I know that English is not your native language, too.
I do not understand what you mean :loleverybody:
Can you try to explain in very simple words?

Concerning #2, I shall try immediately your script. I have found in file projectinfo.ini an empty field called KEYBOARDLAYOUT but I did not know how to use it.

I'm the author of 'writing projectinfo.ini', too.
But I really have no opinion, how 'KEYBOARDLAYOUT' appears here.

Can you post a log of your project?

BTW: Posting a log is the standard when reporting issues.
For newbies, sometimes it is difficult to find 'log' in help, wiki, etc.
Therefore (it is very easy):
After building your project, on the script / right side click the tab 'Log'
Then click the button 'Save as log.html'
This creates 'log.html' in the folder where your WinBuilder.exe is installed.

Please ZIP this file before posting. It decreases from about several MB to several 10 kB.

Peter

#5 happyusers

happyusers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 07 September 2007 - 07:56 AM

You know that English is not my native language, and I know that English is not your native language, too.
I do not understand what you mean :loleverybody:
Can you try to explain in very simple words?

I'm the author of 'writing projectinfo.ini', too.
But I really have no opinion, how 'KEYBOARDLAYOUT' appears here.

Can you post a log of your project?

BTW: Posting a log is the standard when reporting issues.
For newbies, sometimes it is difficult to find 'log' in help, wiki, etc.
Therefore (it is very easy):
After building your project, on the script / right side click the tab 'Log'
Then click the button 'Save as log.html'
This creates 'log.html' in the folder where your WinBuilder.exe is installed.

Please ZIP this file before posting. It decreases from about several MB to several 10 kB.

Peter


Hi Peter,
I tried yesterday night and kept the log. It is joined here.
I have noticed that, as before, the choice of additionnal NIC drivers had no effect on the result. My braodcom card 440 is not detected when booting.
I explained in #1 that I had a solution (to put "manually" the right driver and right .inf in the target directory and burn) but I wondered why the script (additionnal drivers) has no effect.
Concerning the keyboard, when using your script, it was worse, everything was mixed, I had numeric among alphabetic keys. I have to make some more experiment to night.
Regards.

Attached Files



#6 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 September 2007 - 08:04 AM

Hi Peter,
I tried yesterday night and kept the log. It is joined here.
I have noticed that, as before, the choice of additionnal NIC drivers had no effect on the result. My braodcom card 440 is not detected when booting.
I explained in #1 that I had a solution (to put "manually" the right driver and right .inf in the target directory and burn) but I wondered why the script (additionnal drivers) has no effect.
Concerning the keyboard, when using your script, it was worse, everything was mixed, I had numeric among alphabetic keys. I have to make some more experiment to night.
Regards.

You are working with the WB set by thunn. It contains a very old WB version (053).Actual is 072.
This set does not contain PENetwork which detects the driver during initialization.

Try WB 072 with LiveXP (with a collection of Apps) or nativeEx_barebone (rather fundamental, only some sample apps)

Peter

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 September 2007 - 01:55 PM

@happyusers

I did a test:

I used nativeEx_barebone standard constellation with WinBuilder version 072a.

How to choose a constellation in nativeEx based projects:

  • In the project tree at the left, navigate to <project> >> Basic >> !WBManager >> WBManager
  • If the lower ScrollBox is empty, click 'Read Constellations'
  • In the lower ScrollBox, choose <your constellation>
  • Click 'Restore Set'
  • Do not worry about error messages like 'access violation' etc.
    That is currently an unwelcome feature of WinBuilder. But WB performs it's job correctly.

  • Choose W2003 English as source
  • Add the autoKeyBoard script and select it for run
  • Do not change anything else and built the project
It boots into qEmu with my (German) or your (French) keyboard resp.

Peter

#8 happyusers

happyusers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 09 September 2007 - 07:31 PM

Thank you Peter,
I tried the new version of liveXP you recommand. Unfortunately it does not boot on my PC. I get the splash screen and after a few minutes, the PC re-boots. It is the reason why I tried the older version from Thuun that boots without problem.
If I can use the last version, it would be great but I dont know how to get it boot.

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 September 2007 - 08:21 PM

Thank you Peter,
I tried the new version of liveXP you recommand. Unfortunately it does not boot on my PC. I get the splash screen and after a few minutes, the PC re-boots. It is the reason why I tried the older version from Thuun that boots without problem.
If I can use the last version, it would be great but I dont know how to get it boot.


If you download LiveXP and use it with W2003 source w/o changing the project, it will reboot.

I do not know the exact reason (If I would know, I would post how to fix).

But at least some days before there was a way to fix:

Download the 'updateCore.Script' from nativeex.boot-land.net.
This will insert a script into LiveXP which will update the nativeEx core.

I checked it last time about 2 weeks ago. At that time the originally rebooting LiveXP was fixed and booted into (I think) qEmu w/o troubles.

Peter

#10 happyusers

happyusers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 10 September 2007 - 05:54 PM

If you download LiveXP and use it with W2003 source w/o changing the project, it will reboot.

I do not know the exact reason (If I would know, I would post how to fix).

But at least some days before there was a way to fix:

Download the 'updateCore.Script' from nativeex.boot-land.net.
This will insert a script into LiveXP which will update the nativeEx core.

I checked it last time about 2 weeks ago. At that time the originally rebooting LiveXP was fixed and booted into (I think) qEmu w/o troubles.

Peter

Thank you Peter for beeing so patient.
I tried the workaround you mentionned, downloading UpdateCore and building a new liveXP . I have not burnt it because it seems to reboot again under qemu. I am rather unlucky.
Regards.

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 September 2007 - 07:50 PM

Thank you Peter for beeing so patient.
I tried the workaround you mentionned, downloading UpdateCore and building a new liveXP . I have not burnt it because it seems to reboot again under qemu. I am rather unlucky.
Regards.

Please, for this case and everything which will happen in the future:
If something goes wrong, post the log.

That is the only way for me and anybody else to find out what happens.
Just an 'issue description' does not help.

Peter

#12 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 September 2007 - 11:14 AM

I tried the workaround you mentionned, downloading UpdateCore and building a new liveXP . I have not burnt it because it seems to reboot again under qemu.

Today I tried my 'workaround':
  • XPP German host
  • WinBuilder 072
  • Deleted the complete 'LiveXP' project
  • Download a fresh LiveXP project.
  • Unchecked (to save time), all apps besides:
    • Opera
    • PENetwork
    • Task Manager
    • Notebook
    • Regedit
  • Defined path to W2003 R2 English
  • Changed nothing else
  • Build Project >> booted into qEmu and rebooted continously
  • Download updateCore from the nativeEx server
  • Navigate to LiveXP >> Tools >> updateCore
  • Click 'Update'
  • Click the 'Log' tab and watch the log beeing written
    This is unnecessary, but as the process needs a while I could see that it was still working
  • After the 'Finished' message: Exit and restart WinBuilder
  • Changed nothing else
  • Build Project >> booted into stable qEmu
Peter

#13 happyusers

happyusers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 11 September 2007 - 09:16 PM

Hello Peter,
everything went OK. I had not seen the button "Update" and thought that the script was like any other and would run in the process. The ISO is stable. I have trouble with PENetwork and shall try to get rid of it and put the right drivers in the directory manually. I have no recorder either I wonder why. Perheaps I dont have the right driver.
I shall give you news very soon.
Thanks again.

#14 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 September 2007 - 07:50 AM

Hello Peter,
everything went OK. I had not seen the button "Update" and thought that the script was like any other and would run in the process. The ISO is stable. I have trouble with PENetwork and shall try to get rid of it and put the right drivers in the directory manually. I have no recorder either I wonder why. Perheaps I dont have the right driver.
I shall give you news very soon.
Thanks again.

Now it is the right time to try myNIC. See post #2 above.

Peter

#15 happyusers

happyusers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 12 September 2007 - 05:34 PM

Now it is the right time to try myNIC. See post #2 above.

Peter

I am afraid you will hate me one day or the other. I have a new problem with MyNIC. It stops near the begining saying that it does not find oem0.inf in the temp directory it has written on. Having checked, I can say that the file is not here. I can join the log. I thought that it was a matter of file rights but I have tried writting on that directory and I am able to. No idea?

log :
HomeDir: C:\WinBuilder\Projects\LiveXP\Drivers\
Script file: C:\WinBuilder\Projects\LiveXP\Drivers\Intel® PRO_Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter.Script
Copy INF oem0.inf to C:\DOCUME~1\samsung\LOCALS~1\Temp\oem0.inf
Using inf file: C:\DOCUME~1\sams the file is interrupted here!

Two other questions if I am allowed :
1/ Why can't I upload any more a file to the forum?
2/ Does qEmu use my network card to connect to my Lan and the Internet and if the emulation works, does it means that the ISO on the real machine will work?

#16 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 September 2007 - 07:40 PM

I am afraid you will hate me one day or the other. I have a new problem with MyNIC.

I think I'll not hate you. Just the opposite: Your troubles make my life interesting!

Using inf file: C:\DOCUME~1\sams the file is interrupted here!


Just the same happened with TheHive's driver some days ago.
I did not find yet, but it seems to be a mechanism waiting for beeing found by me.
Give me some days!

1/ Why can't I upload any more a file to the forum?

No idea.
@Jaclaz, @Nuno: ???

2/ Does qEmu use my network card to connect to my Lan and the Internet and if the emulation works, does it means that the ISO on the real machine will work?

qEmu (as well as VMWare, VirtualBox, VirtualPC etc) uses it's own network card.
In case of qEmu it is Realtek 8139 (There are som older versions of qEmu script using a different Realtek).
If you want to have network under an emulator, you must add the corresponding driver to the build.

On the real machine you need the driver for the physically present card.

Peter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users