Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

[tool] myNIC


  • Please log in to reply
168 replies to this topic

#26 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4168 posts

Posted 05 September 2007 - 06:13 PM

As soon as I get chance Ill do that.

#27 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 05 September 2007 - 06:17 PM

As soon as I get chance Ill do that.

:loleverybody:

Peter

#28 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 September 2007 - 01:47 PM

Version 2.1.0 released

myNIC / inf2WBS core has three different job types:
  • myNIC from local Windows directory
  • myNIC from source CD
  • inf2WBS
Instead of checking multiple times inside the core (historical by adding the inf2WBS), I consolidated the source to set some flags when starting.

Additionally I added a 'Patch INF' option:
It removes the 'CopyFiles' statements from the INF (Additionally empty and comment lines to save space).
Because during PE boot all files are already in the final folder, a copy does not make any sence (And depending on the install app, can make troubles with non-RAM boots).

Peter

#29 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 September 2007 - 12:17 PM

Version 2.1.2 is released.

I added a status bar and a progress bar.

Reason: To encode the complete Intel 845 graphics driver (more then 7 MB) my system (2.4 GHz) needs more than 1 minute.
In this time the program seems to hang, because nothing visible happens.

Peter

#30 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4168 posts

Posted 08 September 2007 - 07:34 PM

Version 2.1.2 is released.

Peter

I had some time to test the Scripted created by myNIC v1.0.4.
Good and bad news. I seems to recognize the card but when loaded. I went to the device manager and checked if it was showing. It was showing but it had a yellow exclamation thing on it. So it appears to be missing something for it to fully work.


I also tried to create a script using the new Version 2.1.2 but i get an error.
Attached File  myNIC_v_2.1.2_Results.zip   1.02KB   349 downloads

#31 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 September 2007 - 06:42 AM

I had some time to test the Scripted created by myNIC v1.0.4.
Good and bad news. I seems to recognize the card but when loaded. I went to the device manager and checked if it was showing. It was showing but it had a yellow exclamation thing on it. So it appears to be missing something for it to fully work.


I also tried to create a script using the new Version 2.1.2 but i get an error.
Attached File  myNIC_v_2.1.2_Results.zip   1.02KB   349 downloads

#1.
Do you have internet connection.
Do you have an idea, what's wrong?

#2:
Your log and your script end in the middle of a log line.

WriteLn(outFil, '[Process]');
log('Using inf file: ' + infFile);

This seems to be not myNIC related.
Can you test again?

Peter

#32 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4168 posts

Posted 09 September 2007 - 07:38 AM

#1.
Do you have internet connection.

YEs! I do have internet connection when I boot my Real OS.

Do you have an idea, what's wrong?

When you boot with the CD ROM and it bootsup to the desktop. It loads the Network drivers saying it sees the Intel Network Card and it seems to install the driver. But when you try to browse you can not because when i checked the Device Manger the card was seen and the drivers seemed installed but the List of Device Manager shows that it has a problem, so I cannot use the internet connection.



#2:
Your log and your script end in the middle of a log line.

This seems to be not myNIC related.
Can you test again?

Peter

Test what part again. The Building of ISO or the booting.

#33 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 September 2007 - 08:30 PM

Test what part again. The Building of ISO or the booting.


Building.

But there seems to be a different issue.

Please see here.

Peter

#34 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 October 2007 - 06:28 AM

Hi Peter!

Hope this thread isn't too old; I'm having similar problems as TheHive and I'm hoping you can help. On one of my computers the NIC is not detected upon booting with LiveXP or NativeEx with included NIC driver scripts, Intel 82559, SNetDrv or ANetDrv so I thought I'd try your nifty little tool to create a script for this NIC. MyNIC detected the Intel Pro/1000 MT Network Connection but said it couldn't open the oem1.inf in C:\DOCUME~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\oem1.inf so I searched and found the file in \\WINDOWS\inf folder. I tried browsing to this file in MyNIC but it doesn't show up even though show hidden and unhide system files enabled! So I manually entered the exact location and tried to make the script but got the following error:


Here's the script (stops at [Process] section) and log (not much here):


Won't let me upload the log file :cheers: but this is all it said:
HomeDir: C:\Documents and Settings\ATC\Desktop\
Script file: C:\Documents and Settings\ATC\Desktop\Intel® PRO_1000 MT Network Connection.Script
Copy INF oem1.inf to C:\DOCUME~1\ATC~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\oem1.inf
Using inf file: C:\DOCUME~1\ATC~1\L

(looks like it's looking in the original temp location, not where I directed it :cheers:

Here's the .inf file (for what it's worth):


It's a great idea, hope we can get it working :cheers:

BTW, what ever happened to Smiley's tool!? :cheers:

Thanks Peter!

#35 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2007 - 08:25 AM

Hi Peter!
...
Here's the script (stops at [Process] section) and log (not much here):
...
Won't let me upload the log file :cheers: but this is all it said:
HomeDir: C:\Documents and Settings\ATC\Desktop\
Script file: C:\Documents and Settings\ATC\Desktop\Intel® PRO_1000 MT Network Connection.Script
Copy INF oem1.inf to C:\DOCUME~1\ATC~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\oem1.inf
Using inf file: C:\DOCUME~1\ATC~1\L

I see a discrepancy between your description:

Copy INF oem1.inf to C:\DOCUME~1\ATC~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\oem1.inf

and the status bar entry of your screen shoot

File C:\DOCUME~1\KYLEC~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\oem1.inf does not exist

Do you have an idea?

Peter

#36 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 October 2007 - 09:43 AM

I see a discrepancy between your description:

and the status bar entry of your screen shoot

Do you have an idea?

Peter

Sorry, I was just testing from differant desktops but with same result :cheers:

BTW, your app works fine on my other machines but their NIC's are already covered by existing scripts (including one you sent me before, thanks again!)

I have the driver for this NIC and can encode it but I don't know how to set up a script for drivers like this :cheers:

#37 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2007 - 09:54 AM

Sorry, amalux!

In the first view I haven't been careful enough :cheers:

The 'Script Path' has to point to a directory where the generated script should be placed in.
I recommend %ProjectDir%\Drivers.

I rebuilt your fault on my system with my 'netrtsnt.inf' and got the same error like you.
I'll try to debug and make myNIC able to report the user error before crashing.

Peter

#38 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2007 - 10:26 AM

Sorry, amalux!

In the first view I haven't been careful enough :cheers:

The 'Script Path' has to point to a directory where the generated script should be placed in.
I recommend %ProjectDir%\Drivers.

I rebuilt your fault on my system with my 'netrtsnt.inf' and got the same error like you.
I'll try to debug and make myNIC able to report the user error before crashing.

Peter


I just delivered version 2.1.4 of myNIC.exe, which in this case of user failure shows an user error massage rather than crashing with internal error.

Peter

#39 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 October 2007 - 10:50 AM

Sorry, amalux!

In the first view I haven't been careful enough :cheers:

The 'Script Path' has to point to a directory where the generated script should be placed in.
I recommend %ProjectDir%\Drivers.

I rebuilt your fault on my system with my 'netrtsnt.inf' and got the same error like you.
I'll try to debug and make myNIC able to report the user error before crashing.

Peter

Tried again (this time I read the instructions! :cheers: ) but I got the same errors:


I confirmed the drivers location in Device Manager as C:\WINDOWS\System32 but it still tries to find oem1.inf in \\Local Settings\Temp! Am I missing something here? :cheers:

#40 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2007 - 11:04 AM

Tried again (this time I read the instructions! :cheers: ) but I got the same errors:


I confirmed the drivers location in Device Manager as C:\WINDOWS\System32 but it still tries to find oem1.inf in \\Local Settings\Temp! Am I missing something here? :cheers:


The 'Temp' is ok.

Because the program patches the *.inf, it first makes a copy to Temp rather than to change the original.

Can you please look in the Temp dir, whether there is a file oem1.inf.
If yes, is it write protected?

BTW: Defining local Windows as source and checking 'use' is senceless.
Local windows is default, if 'use' is unchecked.
Use this 'source' only if you have a dir with the Intel files.
(See 'Help' button)

Peter

EDIT: Please try the new version 2.1.4

#41 JusGellin

JusGellin

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 October 2007 - 04:16 PM

The 'Temp' is ok.

Because the program patches the *.inf, it first makes a copy to Temp rather than to change the original.

Can you please look in the Temp dir, whether there is a file oem1.inf.
If yes, is it write protected?

BTW: Defining local Windows as source and checking 'use' is senceless.
Local windows is default, if 'use' is unchecked.
Use this 'source' only if you have a dir with the Intel files.
(See 'Help' button)

Peter

EDIT: Please try the new version 2.1.4


Where is version 2.1.4? The download section has one dated Sept 1 2007. Is there a location that is newer?

Thanks

#42 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2007 - 04:23 PM

Where is version 2.1.4? The download section has one dated Sept 1 2007. Is there a location that is newer?

Thanks

Sorry, I do not understand your troubles.
There is no myNIC in nativeEx download.

The valid (and as far as I know only) URL is http://native.boot-l...tools/myNIC.zip, as mentioned in the first post.

Peter

#43 JusGellin

JusGellin

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 October 2007 - 04:31 PM

Sorry, I do not understand your troubles.
There is no myNIC in nativeEx download.

The valid (and as far as I know only) URL is http://native.boot-l...tools/myNIC.zip, as mentioned in the first post.

Peter

Whoops, I read the post as a new version of myNIC, but I see it is for nativex. :cheers:

#44 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2007 - 04:37 PM

Whoops, I read the post as a new version of myNIC, but I see it is for nativex. :cheers:

Sorry, now you are wrong.

In the mean time I looked into the Download section, and now I can understand your troubles.
There is written 'SEP 1 2007'. That has been the date when I made the post into Downloads.

But the link (the 'Download' button) points to the URL written in the first post.

And there is always the latest version, currently 2.1.4

I'm going to give a hint in the Downloads section.

Thanks :cheers:

Peter

#45 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 October 2007 - 09:22 PM

BTW, your app works fine on my other machines but their NIC's are already covered by existing scripts

@All
I did something illegal grey legal (?):
I PMed a script to amalux containing files he / she already has.
But I did not want to publish here because this really would be illegal.

The result: I think, amalux will report soon (but negative :cheers: )

So, lets wait for him / her

Peter

BTW: My personal (not proofed) opinon:

I have some troubles with other Intel (especially my personal used GL845 video driver) drivers which let the opinion come up, that anywhere Intel hides a secret reg entry which has to be found ...

#46 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 October 2007 - 02:43 AM

@All
I did something illegal grey legal (?):
I PMed a script to amalux containing files he / she already has.
But I did not want to publish here because this really would be illegal.

The result: I think, amalux will report soon (but negative :cheers: )

So, lets wait for him / her

Peter

BTW: My personal (not proofed) opinon:

I have some troubles with other Intel (especially my personal used GL845 video driver) drivers which let the opinion come up, that anywhere Intel hides a secret reg entry which has to be found ...

Hey, who you calling a 'he/she' :cheers: (I'm actually neither :cheers: but don't tell anyone!)

OK, first, when you start feeling guilty for just trying to help someone out; you know the lawyers are winning and that's just too sad :cheers:

Now, unfortunately, it's true; I'm getting the same error, "No network cards detected!" even with this latest driver script :cheers: I'm going to try and create a script from an alternate driver I have (supplied by Dell) to see if maybe that works (there's also an older version of the Intel driver) If this fails, I may just throw in a differant NIC (3Com?) Anyway, I'll probably need some help tweaking these scripts, so I'll let you know. Thanks again for all the help and concern; You're a good man Peter :cheers:

:cheers:

#47 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 November 2007 - 09:08 AM

I've tried MyNic 2.1.4 (last version).
It detects Nics, but on my PC it can't even copy the inf from where it is (C:\Windows\inf) to a Temp dir to start with. :cheers:
What might be the reason?
edborg

By the way, the inf folder (hidden) is not shown when browsing for selecting the Source (CD) Path.

Attached Thumbnails

  • MyNic2.1.4.jpg


#48 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 November 2007 - 03:41 PM

I've tried MyNic 2.1.4 (last version).
It detects Nics, but on my PC it can't even copy the inf from where it is (C:\Windows\inf) to a Temp dir to start with. :cheers:
What might be the reason?
edborg

By the way, the inf folder (hidden) is not shown when browsing for selecting the Source (CD) Path.

Sorry, currently I have no idea.

I already tried read only and hidden inf folder.
But then I get Access or I/O errors, not the message you post.

Peter

BTW: On the source CD there is no inf folder!

#49 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 08 November 2007 - 04:45 PM

Peter have you really read the message carefully?
It says that the inf file is not available in the temp folder. Quite honestly, why should it? :cheers:

:cheers:

#50 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 November 2007 - 04:53 PM

Peter have you really read the message carefully?
It says that the inf file is not available in the temp folder. Quite honestly, why should it? :cheers:

:cheers:


I already explained somewhere else:

Because I edit the inf file (remove copy sections etc.), I make a copy from the original location to Temp.
Then I edit this file and copy to target.

Appearently something is going wrong in copying from Windows to Temp.

Peter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users