Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

is it possible to boot erd commander with syslinux?


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#1 basoc

basoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 30 August 2007 - 01:47 PM

hi!

i have a usb stick that boot's fine with syslinux...i can boot DSLinux or INSERT ....or disk images with memdisk...everything no problem!!!
but if i try to boot erd commander i get the message "BOOTCD: Couldn't find NTLDR"

i've already modified the bootloader.bin for the different ERD Folder !!!

there are the following files and folders on the stick!

ERDC -> Erd Commander Folder
syslinux -> Syslinux Folder
ldlinux.sys -> syslinux mbr !?
ERDC.BIN -> Erd Commander Boot loader
WIN51 -> some files for ERDC
WIN51IS -> some files for ERDC

anyone any idea's?

regards
basoc

p.s. evereything works fine with isolinux ...but isolinux is only for iso file format rigtht !?!

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 August 2007 - 03:32 PM

Is by any chance the file ERDC.BIN 2.048 bytes in size? :loleverybody:

jaclaz

#3 DaemonForce

DaemonForce

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 119 posts
  • Location:SEA
  • Interests:[=D=] is online when I am.<br /><br />DaemonPE is 18% complete!<br />Latest ISO manufactured 25/09/2007
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 August 2007 - 06:42 PM

Is by any chance the file ERDC.BIN 2.048 bytes in size? :loleverybody:

jaclaz

What is the end string of your ERD boot sector in relation to your ERD Commander path?

#4 basoc

basoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 31 August 2007 - 05:07 AM

Is by any chance the file ERDC.BIN 2.048 bytes in size? :loleverybody:

jaclaz


yes exact 2048!

...and the syslinux.cfg entry looks like that:

LABEL erd
KERNEL \ERDC.BIN


basoc

#5 basoc

basoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 31 August 2007 - 05:22 AM

What is the end string of your ERD boot sector in relation to your ERD Commander path?


i modifed the erdc.bin to the correct path !!!

...and please remember ...everything works fine (with the same files) with isolinux ...but we know isolinux is only for ISO9660 FileFormat !!!

i have also a really nice menu for cdshell ....but cdshell is only for ISO FF, too!!!

the question is: "is it possible to boot erd commander with syslinux?"

basoc

Attached Thumbnails

  • erdc.jpg


#6 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2007 - 09:13 AM

Well, you cannot expect to boot on a "not-CD" with a CD boot sector.

The 2.048 byte file is typically a "Microsoft Corporation.img" or "Arnes Boot Record", i.e. the bootsector for a no-emulation install CD.

For Syslinux you need a 512 byte bootsector, with extension .bss, i.e. a copy of the normal bootrecord on FAT16, FAT32 or NTFS, as made by the NT/2K/XP/2003 format command, edited (if needed) to invoke a differently named Loader (NTLDR, SETULPDR.BIN, PELDR, CMDLDR, etc.)

Read these:
http://www.911cd.net...o...0806&st=227
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=2362&hl=

You should find all the info you need. :loleverybody:

The Loader, with this method needs to be in ROOT of partition, as an alternative, you can try grub4dos, that can chainload a Loader in any directory.
Read this too:
http://www.911cd.net...o...c=18846&hl=

jaclaz

#7 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 31 August 2007 - 09:15 PM

I'm currently booting erd with syslinux from usb. I'll explain when I get time how I been able to do this. It's the beginning of the weekend here and wife and child require time...

Let me know the size of your erd files in total.

Regards,
Galapo.

#8 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 01 September 2007 - 01:01 AM

OK, here you go.

1. Download this file and extract ERD.img: http://galapo.boot-l...net/temp/ERD.7z (If the image file isn't large enough to fit your particular files, let me know and I can generate another. As an aside, this is also how I boot LiveXP images etc, but this image creation is now automated via a modified version of BootSDI for my own use.)

2. Copy the following files from server 2003 to the image using UltraISO: ntdetect.com and setupldr.bin renamed ntldr.

3. Copy erd.iso to the the image using UltraISO.

4. Copy winnt.sif to the image using UltraISO. winnt.sif should have the following lines:
&#91;SetupData&#93; 

BootDevice = &#34;ramdisk&#40;0&#41;&#34; 

BootPath = &#34;\I386\SYSTEM32\&#34; 

OsLoadOptions = &#34;/noguiboot /fastdetect /minint /rdexportascd /rdpath=erd.iso&#34;

5. Copy ERD.img to the usb stick.

6. Modify SYSLINUX.CFG to have an entry like:
LABEL ERD

	MENU LABEL Microsoft Diagnostics and Recovery Toolset

	kernel memdisk

	APPEND initrd=ERD.img

Hope this helps. I have been unable to get anything else other than this method to boot on my usb stick. Didn't matter what I tried, .bss files, etc. etc.

Regards,
Galapo.

#9 basoc

basoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 03 September 2007 - 07:39 AM

ty very much 4 the quick answer !

now i can boot erd commander from syslinux ...but can you give me a hint how to edit the .bss file to boot from the right path!?

this is how it looks like...

drive letter from my stick is G:

G:\ERDC\
G:\syslinux\
G:\erd.bss -> a copy from pe2usb.bin
G:\LICENSE.TXT
G:\WIN51
G:\WIN51IS
G:\ntldr -> a copy from \ERDC\setupldr.bin ...this file is already modifed!
G:\ldlinux.sys

is it possible to boot erd commander this way ...without building an img file of it ?

greetz
basoc


Well, you cannot expect to boot on a "not-CD" with a CD boot sector.

The 2.048 byte file is typically a "Microsoft Corporation.img" or "Arnes Boot Record", i.e. the bootsector for a no-emulation install CD.

For Syslinux you need a 512 byte bootsector, with extension .bss, i.e. a copy of the normal bootrecord on FAT16, FAT32 or NTFS, as made by the NT/2K/XP/2003 format command, edited (if needed) to invoke a differently named Loader (NTLDR, SETULPDR.BIN, PELDR, CMDLDR, etc.)

Read these:
http://www.911cd.net...o...0806&st=227
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=2362&hl=

You should find all the info you need. :loleverybody:

The Loader, with this method needs to be in ROOT of partition, as an alternative, you can try grub4dos, that can chainload a Loader in any directory.
Read this too:
http://www.911cd.net...o...c=18846&hl=

jaclaz



#10 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 September 2007 - 08:13 AM

ty very much 4 the quick answer !

now i can boot erd commander from syslinux ...but can you give me a hint how to edit the .bss file to boot from the right path!?

this is how it looks like...

drive letter from my stick is G:

G:\ERDC\
G:\syslinux\
G:\erd.bss -> a copy from pe2usb.bin
G:\LICENSE.TXT
G:\WIN51
G:\WIN51IS
G:\ntldr -> a copy from \ERDC\setupldr.bin ...this file is already modifed!
G:\ldlinux.sys

is it possible to boot erd commander this way ...without building an img file of it ?

greetz
basoc

You can try that. But personally I have not been able to get that method to work, at least with my usb stick.

The method I outlined will definitely work. But I'd be interested to hear if you get this other way to work.

[Edit: I just reread your post. It seems you have gotten that method to work. Congratulations. I wish I could.]

Regards,
Galapo.

#11 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 September 2007 - 09:37 AM

@basoc

I am afraid I cannot understand the question. :loleverybody:

If you chainload through syslinux a bootsector, the loader invoked by the bootsector (by default ntldr, but it can be changed on FAT partitions through the batch in my second given link) needs to be in ROOT of the partition.

If you don't want the loader on root, but rather in \ERDC\ you need to bypass the bootsector and directly chainload the loader. As said this can be done with grub4dos.

It is possible to use grldr as the first stage loader, i.e. have syslinux load a bootsector that invokes grldr, which then chainloads directly the loader in \ERDC\, but still grldr (and a menu.lst) needs to be on root.

At this point it is maybe straighter to put aside syslinux and use directly grub4dos for all booting chores.

Alternatively you can make a grub4dos bootfloppy image, that can be zipped and put wherever you want, and booted through syslinux/memdisk:
1st solution:
Syslinux -> bootsect.bss -> loader in ROOT

2nd solution:
Syslinux -> bootsect.bss -> grldr in ROOT -> menu.lst in ROOT -> loader in \ERDC\

3rd solution:
grldr in ROOT -> menu.lst in ROOT -> loader in \ERDC\ (and all other boot items - NO syslinux/memdisk)

4th solution:
Syslinux -> memdisk -> grub4dos floppy image zipped anywhere on drive -> loader in \ERDC\

jaclaz

#12 basoc

basoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 03 September 2007 - 11:28 AM

You can try that. But personally I have not been able to get that method to work, at least with my usb stick.

The method I outlined will definitely work. But I'd be interested to hear if you get this other way to work.

[Edit: I just reread your post. It seems you have gotten that method to work. Congratulations. I wish I could.]

Regards,
Galapo.


no...not really...if i copy the ntdetect.com and txtsetup.sif to the root dir ...nt start's...but then i've got the error "file \minint\system32\biosinfo.inf could not be loaded." Error Code 18

i think i have to modify the .bss file to the right path ...but how can i edit this file without changing the filesize (512 byte) and of course the checksum !


greetz
basoc

#13 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 September 2007 - 12:14 PM

i think i have to modify the .bss file to the right path ...but how can i edit this file without changing the filesize (512 byte) and of course the checksum !


NO.

The bootsector CANNOT invoke anything that is not in ROOT.

Please do read the "common sense advice" section in Rules:
http://www.boot-land...?act=boardrules
expecially point #f.

You are having the problem you lately reported:

..but then i've got the error "file \minint\system32\biosinfo.inf could not be loaded." Error Code 18

(bolding is mine)
because most probably the setupldr.bin that comes with ERDC has been hexedited to look for \ERDC instead of \I386 when booted from CD, but it still looks for \minint when booted from "HD like" device.

Read this:
http://www.911cd.net...o...c=20123&hl=

AND links therein.

jaclaz

#14 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 September 2007 - 10:28 PM

no...not really...if i copy the ntdetect.com and txtsetup.sif to the root dir ...nt start's...but then i've got the error "file \minint\system32\biosinfo.inf could not be loaded." Error Code 18

i think i have to modify the .bss file to the right path ...but how can i edit this file without changing the filesize (512 byte) and of course the checksum !
greetz
basoc

Well, you could give the method I outlined a go then. It is simple and works 100%.

Don't have to worry about stuffing around with .bss files and various loaders etc. Just load the files into the image and boot that image with syslinux.

Anyway, hope you get something to work.

Regards,
Galapo.

#15 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 03 September 2007 - 11:38 PM

no...not really...if i copy the ntdetect.com and txtsetup.sif to the root dir ...nt start's...but then i've got the error "file \minint\system32\biosinfo.inf could not be loaded." Error Code 18

I guess, you've made a beginners mistake.
All the files referenced directly by setupldr.bin need to be upper case.

:loleverybody:

#16 basoc

basoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 06 September 2007 - 01:05 PM

can i call u GOD of BOOT jaclaz???

after i modified the NTLDR this way...
http://www.911cd.net...rt=#entry115741

everything works like i want !!! :loleverybody: ...normally i don't like smiley's...but 4 this time i'll make a exeption!!!

tyvvvvvm
basoc

NO.

The bootsector CANNOT invoke anything that is not in ROOT.

Please do read the "common sense advice" section in Rules:
http://www.boot-land...?act=boardrules

expecially point #f.

You are having the problem you lately reported:

(bolding is mine)
because most probably the setupldr.bin that comes with ERDC has been hexedited to look for \ERDC instead of \I386 when booted from CD, but it still looks for \minint when booted from "HD like" device.

Read this:
http://www.911cd.net...o...c=20123&hl=
AND links therein.

jaclaz



#17 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 September 2007 - 01:58 PM

can i call u GOD of BOOT jaclaz???

Well, it seems to me a bit excessive :loleverybody:, I guess we could settle for a less preposterous definition, something like:
"a minor and obscure deity, Lord of IPL and booting matters" :w00t:.
:w00t:


everything works like i want !!! ...normally i don't like smiley's...but 4 this time i'll make a exeption!!!

Happy everything went well. :w00t:

jaclaz

#18 basoc

basoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 12 September 2007 - 08:27 AM

so last but not least i have two questions to the Lord of IPL (InternetPublicLibrary?)

first the important one...is it possible to shrunk the erdc files (maybe .iso or .sdi) a little bit (with rar \ERDC 180MB goes to 70MB [Shrunk Potential is available!!!]) ???
...and second i know i can allocate text menus to the F Keys in syslinux.cfg but may i also take the F Keys to start one of my (LABLE'S) Programs ?

greetz
basoc



Well, it seems to me a bit excessive :loleverybody:, I guess we could settle for a less preposterous definition, something like:
"a minor and obscure deity, Lord of IPL and booting matters" :w00t:.
:w00t:
Happy everything went well. :w00t:

jaclaz



#19 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 12 September 2007 - 10:55 AM

so last but not least i have two questions to the Lord of IPL (InternetPublicLibrary?)

first the important one...is it possible to shrunk the erdc files (maybe .iso or .sdi) a little bit (with rar \ERDC 180MB goes to 70MB [Shrunk Potential is available!!!]) ???
...and second i know i can allocate text menus to the F Keys in syslinux.cfg but may i also take the F Keys to start one of my (LABLE'S) Programs ?

greetz
basoc

I'm not the Lord -- but do have a look here: http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19737

Regards,
Galapo.

#20 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 September 2007 - 11:41 AM

so last but not least i have two questions to the Lord of IPL (InternetPublicLibrary?)

hmmm.... :loleverybody:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPL
...or Indianapolis Power & Light:
http://en.wikipedia....s_Power_&_Light

...I will go for:
http://en.wikipedia....al_Program_Load

:w00t:

jaclaz

#21 basoc

basoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 14 September 2007 - 06:52 AM

sniff..sniff.....snifsnifsnif....did u smell it??? it smells like it's a case for GOD of BOOOOOOT !!!!

sorry for that but i think my brain is nearly befor exploding!!!

ok...let me adjust my declaration...everything works like i wan't :-) needless to say that it would much better when i can start a compressed iso image from erd commander with syslinux! i read about compressing an iso with makecab ...this is not the problem...first i exactly have to know how to start an erd commander iso with syslinux if it's possible !?

greetz
basoc

hmmm.... :loleverybody:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPL
...or Indianapolis Power & Light:
http://en.wikipedia....s_Power_&_Light

...I will go for:
http://en.wikipedia....al_Program_Load

:w00t:

jaclaz



#22 Mr Been

Mr Been
  • Members
  • 0 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 14 September 2007 - 08:07 AM

hmmm.... :loleverybody:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPL
...or Indianapolis Power & Light:
http://en.wikipedia....s_Power_&_Light

...I will go for:
http://en.wikipedia....al_Program_Load

:w00t:

jaclaz


Thank you

#23 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 September 2007 - 10:03 AM

first i exactly have to know how to start an erd commander iso with syslinux if it's possible !?

Yes, it is possible, let's conventionally say that you are not trying to boot a ERD commander .ISO, but, more generally, a Windows XP install image or a PE image of some kind, i.e. something that boots through the use of SETUPLDR.BIN, renamed as you like.

You already learned how to chainload through Syslinux a SETUPLDR.BIN, hexediting it as needed to customize paths.

Now you need now to use a SETUPLDR.BIN and a RAMDISK.SYS/RAMDISK.SY_ coming from Server 2003 SP1+ (if you didn't already).
All the needed info is in the already given links by me and Galapo:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=20123
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19737

In first suggested thread, there is a link to this one:
http://www.911cd.net...o...19676&st=27

DO read it, as well as all links within suggested threads, and this too:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=20265

The SETUPLDR.BIN and RAMDISK.SY_ in ERD50.ISO are "ALREADY" the right versions, it should be just a matter of making a correct WINNT.SIF file as per given instructions by diddy.

First try with the "normal" .ISO, and only after it works, do try the compressed one method.

jaclaz

#24 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 14 September 2007 - 11:25 AM

Yes, he has a couple of options: i) compress the erd iso with makecab, decompressing this in ram with ramdisk.sys; or ii) load the erd iso into the image I provided with the other files and compress this with zip or gzip, decompressing this in ram with syslinux memdisk.

Regards,
Galapo.

#25 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 September 2007 - 12:58 PM

@Galapo

I just had a look at the ERD.img you posted :loleverybody: , please correct me if I am wrong and fill in the blanks:
1) The image is a HD-like image with a 150 Mb FAT16, 06 - BIGDOS
2) There is no need to use UltraISO as in previous posts as it can be mounted and accessed both with VDK and with IMDISK (using offset 63 sectors or blocks)
3) The bootsector of the partition invokes NTLDR, but the "OEM" data in it says "FDOS_1.0"
4) The MBR on the image is NOT a 2K/XP/2003 one, but rather one made by Free FDISK

Now the questions:
a. Is there any reason for using FAT16 06?
a.1 Could a NTFS, possibly compressed, partition be used?
b. What did you use to make this "hybrid" bootsector/format?
c. Is there any advantage of any kind in using the Free FDISK MBR?

:w00t:

jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users