Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

BartPECore


  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#1 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 July 2007 - 03:01 PM

Posted Image

The file server index, which includes a description of each included script, may be found here.

Introduction ~
'BartPECore' utilizes some of the best attributes of both pebuilder and winbuilder. It's a winbuilder project, with Bart's pebuilder at it's core, run unattended. This produces a 'vanilla' bartpe build to use as a base. Additional plugins will be processed if they're added to the Plugin folder.
The remaining project work is done by winbuilder.
The end result is an emulated bartPEcore.iso which uses a slightly modified XPE shell that loads without notifications. A localization script can add regional settings during the build if desired. Apps and features are detailed further below.

Here's a quick startup guide, I hope you enjoy the project..


1. Save 'winbuilder.ini' next to winbuilder.exe, it contains the following:
&#91;Main&#93;

WebServer=http&#58;//bartpe.boot-land.net/Projects

WebServer_Selected=http&#58;//bartpe.boot-land.net/Projects

Last_Download_Level=2

2. Run WinBuilder, click the Downloads tab to view the project link, then download all project files. When done, follow the short and simple instructions to begin.

3. sit back, relax, enjoy a snack, and watch the show. :)

...

If you don't have a copy of Windows to use for as a source, Windows Server 2003 R2 SP2 is available as an evaluation download, the registration process is fairly simple.
Recent test projects running under VMs..

[build] 72A044
Here's a shot or two of wmp11 preinstalled in an xpsp3 based pe, the plugin was added to bartpecore which normally uses a customized mplayer build ..

Posted Image

Posted Image

..bearwindows said, 'hey, where's my cpl extension?' :)
Here it is ..

Posted Image

[build] 710004

Successfully testing DiskDirector 10 and O&O Defrag 10 in an early build ..

Posted Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~
--final notes:

--The Filedisk Ramdisk makes use of NTFS junctions. It is not recommended for use with basic ISO images. Virtual harddisk images support NTFS. Please note, the Create BcdwPE script works to support the 'Filedisk Ramdisk'.

--Spaces in folder paths should not be an issue though it's best to avoid strange characters for folder names.

--Have fun. :yahoo:

#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10,200 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 July 2007 - 03:06 PM

Nice improvements! :yahoo:

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 July 2007 - 03:20 PM

Introducing..

Posted Image


Looks at least intersting, maybe good! :yahoo:

Before I'm going to test: 'BartPE' reminds me on 'everything in English'.
Does your project offer the ability to localize?

Peter

#4 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 30 July 2007 - 03:38 PM

Nice improvements! :)


Correct me if I am wrong, but I have had impression,
that one of strategic points of WinBuilder is to get away from BartPE!? :yahoo:

#5 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,771 posts

Posted 30 July 2007 - 03:46 PM

Could someone point the advantages of this mix out to me, please?

:yahoo:

#6 Haiphong

Haiphong

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 229 posts

Posted 30 July 2007 - 03:56 PM

Hello Thunn,

I want to do a try, but "winbuilder.ini" cant be download ==> Error Http 404.


Thanks !!!

#7 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10,200 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 July 2007 - 04:06 PM

Could someone point the advantages of this mix out to me, please?

:)


You can recyle bartPE plugins - mostly an advantage for long time bartPE users and also give them a glimpse of our scripts.. :yahoo:


Hello Thunn,

I want to do a try, but "winbuilder.ini" cant be download ==> Error Http 404.
Thanks !!!


It's not uploaded..

To solve:

- Open the download center
- Click Add Server
- Type bartpe.boot-land.net/Projects


This gives acess to the download server for bartpe core.

:)

#8 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,771 posts

Posted 30 July 2007 - 04:30 PM

You can recyle bartPE plugins - mostly an advantage for long time bartPE users and also give them a glimpse of our scripts.. :yahoo:

:) I thought h7se is working on a converter to make plugins usable in WB?
Also the name seems to emphasize that the core components are BartPE not the addons. ?

:)

#9 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 30 July 2007 - 04:36 PM

Also the name seems to emphasize that the core components are BartPE not the addons. ?

:)


Bart will be delighted!!! :yahoo:

#10 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 July 2007 - 06:14 PM

May I remind everyone of this thread:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=2541

and particularly of these posts:
http://www.boot-land...?...c=2541&st=3
http://www.boot-land...?...c=2541&st=6

No need for "competition", just fun in finding new ways, please. :yahoo:

jaclaz

#11 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 330 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 31 July 2007 - 06:40 AM

- Open the download center
- Click Add Server
- Type bartpe.boot-land.net/Projects
This gives acess to the download server for bartpe core.

:yahoo:

@thunn

It is quite difficult to download %TempToX.Script in directory BartPECore/Drivers/FileSystem. WinBuilder 072 gives an error message. Using a web browser pointing to http://bartpe.boot-land.net/Projects/ the file is listed but can not be selected. Only pointing the web browser to http://bartpe.boot-l...ers/FileSystem/ gives the possibility to download this script.

Another point that comes into my mind, in the Projects\Tools directory are files that are on the main server in that same directory. Wouldn't it make sense to remove them in the project server, I always get annoying 'oscillations' in WinBuilder download. Furthermore the folder CorePlugins seems to be project specific, wouldn't it be better to move it off to the project specific directory?

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#12 Haiphong

Haiphong

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 229 posts

Posted 31 July 2007 - 10:40 AM

You can recyle bartPE plugins - mostly an advantage for long time bartPE users and also give them a glimpse of our scripts.. :)
It's not uploaded..

To solve:

- Open the download center
- Click Add Server
- Type bartpe.boot-land.net/Projects
This gives acess to the download server for bartpe core.

:yahoo:


Hello Nuno_brito,

I do a try and it's ok !!!

Thanks !!!

#13 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 194 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 31 July 2007 - 12:24 PM

Hey thuun:

nice edition. tried it out last night. pretty smooth. heals up a lot of apps with the bartpe core addtional files and associations. it seems (right now) i can only boot using bcdwpe finishing. i'd like to use imdisk and build a regular iso. the problem with that is no boot bin and pointing to shortcuts and program files doesnt work.
building sort cut is no big deal. use h7pulginbuilder with a few mods. (further help with that later).

Thanks
Carfan

#14 Haiphong

Haiphong

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 229 posts

Posted 31 July 2007 - 03:14 PM

Hello Thunn,

Nice Project !!! I can boot on my Laptop with an USB 2.0 Key "Intuix S500" for 2 minutes !!! I have just a Problem ==> My download is blocked by "%TmpToX.Scrip" !!!

I have any questions :

1) Howto have another Keyboard ==> For Sample "French Keyboard" ?
2) My Network Driver is not detected ==> How to add Drivers ?
3) Where can I find "Script" for this Project ?
4) Is VistaPE Scripts compatible with BartPE-Core ? And Vice Versa !!!

Thanks for your Help and Advices !!!

#15 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3,809 posts

Posted 01 August 2007 - 02:41 AM

Similar to, Haiphong
but I think the Temp to X: script cant be downloaded using winbuilder.
http://bartpe.boot-l.../%TmpToX.Script

#16 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,628 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 August 2007 - 12:10 AM

The stop button does not work so when you hit this invalid download you have to exit winbuilder.

#17 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 194 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 August 2007 - 05:59 PM

imdisk not working with bartpe core. any ideas on how to incorporate?
(need more ram than 64 meg) like ramdisk has.
thanks

#18 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 04 August 2007 - 05:40 AM

It was the"%" causing the dl error, everything should work now.
I just renamed the script to keep wb happy.

I'm glad it's been interesting for some of you at least, the past two days I added some changes to smooth out any rough edges.

All seems to work now without issue in my checks, sorry for the silly mistake.

..
ImDisk fails when formated as FAT in PE, so, no, I won't be using it just yet.

#19 carfan

carfan

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 194 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 04 August 2007 - 04:53 PM

It was the"%" causing the dl error, everything should work now.
I just renamed the script to keep wb happy.

I'm glad it's been interesting for some of you at least, the past two days I added some changes to smooth out any rough edges.

All seems to work now without issue in my checks, sorry for the silly mistake.

..
ImDisk fails when formated as FAT in PE, so, no, I won't be using it just yet.


downloaded fresh copy. keep getting boot error cannot find file \boot\boot.bin. tried both bcdw and regular makeiso. get same error. using xpsp2 rtm as source. tried 2003 eval copy. always get same error. :yahoo:
:) :)

please help

#20 Haiphong

Haiphong

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 229 posts

Posted 26 August 2007 - 05:03 AM

downloaded fresh copy. keep getting boot error cannot find file \boot\boot.bin. tried both bcdw and regular makeiso. get same error. using xpsp2 rtm as source. tried 2003 eval copy. always get same error. :loleverybody:
:w00t: :w00t:

please help


Hello All,

I have the same problem, when I want to "Boot" from CD or USB Key !!!

Thanks for Help !!!

#21 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,771 posts

Posted 26 August 2007 - 04:59 PM

If anyone cares, the english source only problem seems to be a thing of the past.
The new version worked fine for me, with german source.

:loleverybody:

#22 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,771 posts

Posted 26 August 2007 - 05:56 PM

@thunn
You've overlooked that not everyone has an english keyboard layout! :loleverybody:
You need to integrate a script into your project that eighter automaticly changes the keyboard layout or gives the user the chance to choose one.

:w00t:

#23 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,771 posts

Posted 18 September 2007 - 01:22 PM

BartPE Core is making troubles again. :loleverybody:
In Script.Project one can read: %TargetDir%=%BaseDir%\BartPE
but right would be: %TargetDir%=%BaseDir%\Target\BartPE
Changing it has no effect, as it is imediately changed back. :w00t:

Anyone else encoutered that problem?

:w00t:

#24 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 18 September 2007 - 01:42 PM

BartPE Core is making troubles again. :loleverybody:
In Script.Project one can read: %TargetDir%=%BaseDir%\BartPE
but right would be: %TargetDir%=%BaseDir%\Target\BartPE
Changing it has no effect, as it is imediately changed back. :w00t:

Anyone else encoutered that problem?

:w00t:

Maybe this sounds a little bit aggressive, but I want to tell my opinion:

@Thunn: I really honour the ingeneer's work you did in your project. It is great! :w00t:

But in my opinion 'Use BartPE' in WinBuilder is like 'Mounting wooden wheels onto a Ferrari'

WinBuilder has so great opportunities, and the forum did a great work to build PEs independent from exising solutions.

Why to go back?

Peter

#25 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7,771 posts

Posted 18 September 2007 - 02:09 PM

Can't tell you why thunn build it, but i can tell you why i'm trying to use it. :loleverybody:
I'm trying to figure out what BartPE Core does differently then WBXPE. As the first one works/worked for me, but the second don't.
And with WBXPE working, i might don't have to reinvent the Ferrari racing wheels. :w00t:

:w00t: