Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Latest Boot SDI Script fails


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 21 July 2007 - 09:10 PM

Hi,

For some reason the latest BootSDI script seems to think I don't have the correct Win2003 files :yahoo: . I have extracted the 3 necessary files from Windows 2003 Service Pack 1. I have told the script where to find these files. It still thinks I don't have the correct files. Can this be fixed, it was working before the update. Can you remove the Win 2003 file check if the user is supplying the files.

niche99

#2 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 22 July 2007 - 04:54 AM

Hi,

Checking file sizes of the 3 files extracted from Windows 2003 Service Pack 1 (English) downloaded direct from Microsoft.
My system reports:
ntdetect.com : 47,772
ramdisk.sy_ : 12,504
setupldr.bin : 298,096

Checking file sizes of the 3 files extracted from Windows 2003 Service Pack 1 (German) downloaded direct from Microsoft.
My system reports:
ntdetect.com : 47,772
ramdisk.sy_ : 12,510
setupldr.bin : 300,304

So, please remove the filesize check as setupldr.bin appears to be localized.

niche99

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 July 2007 - 08:08 AM

Hi,

Checking file sizes of the 3 files extracted from Windows 2003 Service Pack 1 (English) downloaded direct from Microsoft.
My system reports:
ntdetect.com : 47,772
ramdisk.sy_ : 12,504
setupldr.bin : 298,096

Checking file sizes of the 3 files extracted from Windows 2003 Service Pack 1 (German) downloaded direct from Microsoft.
My system reports:
ntdetect.com : 47,772
ramdisk.sy_ : 12,510
setupldr.bin : 300,304

So, please remove the filesize check as setupldr.bin appears to be localized.

niche99


:)

Thanks, Niche99 :yahoo:

I'll fix it.

Peter

#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 July 2007 - 11:44 AM

I fixed it, BootSDI version 030.

Now the criteria is no longer the file size.
I use FileByteExtract to check the version.

Unfortunatelly FileByteExtract has a small 'feature': It gives an error message if the version string is different from that one I'm looking for.

Nuno promitted to fix that in the next beta.

Peter

#5 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 22 July 2007 - 01:52 PM

Thanks Peter,

Everything now builds :yahoo: .
But I now have another problem. When the desktop appears I get the following error:
StartPNP.exe - Application Error
The application failed to initialise properly (0xc0000142)

VirtualBox then reboots.
Log attached.


niche99

#6 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 July 2007 - 02:01 PM

Thanks Peter,

Everything now builds :yahoo: .
But I now have another problem. When the desktop appears I get the following error:
StartPNP.exe - Application Error
The application failed to initialise properly (0xc0000142)

VirtualBox then reboots.
Log attached.


niche99

Your log does not contain any line that startPNP is copied or should be started.
May be some old remains.

Please delete the Temp and Workbench subdirectories and try again.

Peter

#7 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 22 July 2007 - 02:10 PM

Your log does not contain any line that startPNP is copied or should be started.
May be some old remains.

Please delete the Temp and Workbench subdirectories and try again.

Peter


Hi Peter,

Was reading your other post on the startPNP problem as you email notification arrived. Re-downloaded project, cleaned Temp and Workbench folders. Build now boots, but I get the unsigned driver dialog and desktop takes a long time to appear as previously discussed.
So I guess, before I update, I should clean out all necessary temp folders and redownload the complete project :yahoo:.

Shouldn't the Temp and maybe certain parts of the Workbench Folders be cleared before a build commences?

Regards,
niche99

#8 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 July 2007 - 02:28 PM

Build now boots, but I get the unsigned driver dialog and desktop takes a long time to appear as previously discussed.

The 'unsigned driver dialog' and 'long boot time' are fixed in HoJoPE version 33 (you currently have 32)

Shouldn't the Temp and maybe certain parts of the Workbench Folders be cleared before a build commences?

Usually not.
In the standard use some Workbench folders are cleared if necessary (e.g. on a change of the HoJoPE version).
I recommend the clearing only like in your case, if there is a discrepancy between log and reality.

Peter

#9 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 22 July 2007 - 02:56 PM

The 'unsigned driver dialog' and 'long boot time' are fixed in HoJoPE version 33 (you currently have 32)

Usually not.
In the standard use some Workbench folders are cleared if necessary (e.g. on a change of the HoJoPE version).
I recommend the clearing only like in your case, if there is a discrepancy between log and reality.

Peter


OK, 2 redownloads later and I seem to have HoJoPE 33 :yahoo:
Thanks,
niche99

#10 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 22 July 2007 - 03:16 PM

OK, 2 redownloads later and I seem to have HoJoPE 33 :yahoo:
Thanks,
niche99


I take that back, I'm still getting the unsigned driver dialog and desktop takes ages to appear. I have the HoJoPE version 33 script (at least it says so when I open the script) present in the correct nativeEx_core location. I've recreated the Winbuilder folder from scratch, redownloaded all nativeEX_barebones and nativeEx_core scripts from scratch. I'm giving up for today, nothing seems to be going as it should.

I notice that VirtualBox is no longer included in the nativeEx project, as I couldn't get Qemu to run I used VirtualBox.
Log attached


niche99

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 July 2007 - 03:48 PM

I take that back, I'm still getting the unsigned driver dialog and desktop takes ages to appear. I have the HoJoPE version 33 script (at least it says so when I open the script) present in the correct nativeEx_core location. I've recreated the Winbuilder folder from scratch, redownloaded all nativeEX_barebones and nativeEx_core scripts from scratch. I'm giving up for today, nothing seems to be going as it should.

niche99

I tried on my system (PC: 2.4 GHz, 1 GB):
  • Download nativeEx_barebone and nativeEx_core from scratch
  • Uncheck PENetwork script
  • Check UniversalVideoDriver
  • Source: slipstreamed XP Professional SP2 English
  • Build project
  • Boot into qEmu:
  • No driver dialog
  • Time between initial blue screen and complete desktop: 68 seconds
Boot into VirtualBox:
  • No driver dialog
  • Time between initial blue screen and complete desktop: 11 seconds
What's different on your system?

Peter

#12 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 22 July 2007 - 05:04 PM

My system (PC: 2.2 GHz, 1 GB):
  • Winbuilder 072 in empty folder
  • Download nativeEx_barebone and nativeEx_core from scratch <- Only psc server selected no others. PENetwork not present in download, portable apps also failed to download. Click Download tab again, PENetwork and portable apps not checked for download. Check folders , PENetwork and portable apps folders empty.
I'm giving up, had enough, I'm not even getting the correct downloads to begin with :yahoo:.

A suggestion for BootSDI script: possible include/exclude option for Prgram Files Folder when creating RAM Image?

niche99

#13 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 July 2007 - 05:09 PM

My system (PC: 2.2 GHz, 1 GB):

  • Winbuilder 072 in empty folder
  • Download nativeEx_barebone and nativeEx_core from scratch <- Only psc server selected no others. PENetwork not present in download, portable apps also failed to download. Click Download tab again, PENetwork and portable apps not checked for download. Check folders , PENetwork and portable apps folders empty.
I'm giving up, had enough, I'm not even getting the correct downloads to begin with :yahoo: .

niche99

Again my famous 'Voodoo' :)

@Nuno, do you have an idea about the download difficulties?

Peter

#14 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 22 July 2007 - 05:21 PM

Again my famous 'Voodoo' :yahoo:

@Nuno, do you have an idea about the download difficulties?

Peter

It's sunday, sundays up- and downloads and sometimes even reading and posting are always a big problem. Someone's snatching all bandwidth it seems. :)

PS: I'm not Nuno! :)

:)

#15 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10557 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 July 2007 - 05:41 PM

Been working ok all day long here in Portugal.

Tried to download all files under the Recomended Profile from your server and got no error messages at all - try it yourself too.. :)


After download - running the project generated a small warning message about a file being renamed and continued happy as a beaver..

Project built ok! :yahoo:

(haven't tested bootSDI thought)

#16 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 July 2007 - 05:53 PM

I'm giving up, had enough, I'm not even getting the correct downloads to begin with :yahoo: .

To survive with WinBuilder, you have to must be patient!
Attached my 'from scratch' running project.
Please try this.
You only have to change the source to your XP source.

Peter

Attached File  nativeEx_barebone.zip   4.33MB   297 downloads

#17 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 22 July 2007 - 07:00 PM

Just mean had enough for today :yahoo: . I won't be giving up on WinBuilder, it's way better than BartPE, IMHO.

Thanks for the project files Peter, I'll try them tomorrow. Need to sleep after a long sleeples night and a 6 hour Tai Chi Chuan demonstation :) .

Regards,
niche99

#18 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 22 July 2007 - 08:28 PM

OK, one last try before sleep.
Clean Winbuilder folder.
Unzipped Peters project.
Unchecked PENetwork, no VirtualBox network card driver, only using BootSDI script, not creating CD ISO. BootSDI keeps downloading Compaq usb format tool thingy. Should it do this every time?

Results the same, unsigned driver dialog for Universal Video driver appears, slooooow desktop.
Here's my logfile


Can't figure it out.
Nite,
niche99

#19 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 22 July 2007 - 10:57 PM

This is really bugging me now :yahoo: .

From scratch again. Downloading the project files is erratic, sometimes I get them, sometimes I don't. Unchecking then rechecking barebones and core seems to then get all files, is this because only psc server is checked?. I notice there are several scripts of the same name under different groups eg. standard, minimal. Should I just be selecting one particular group?

Anyway once I manage to get the project files, then build without PENetwork, unsigned driver dialog for universal video drivers appears and desktop sloooooow to appear. Build with PENetwork no problems at all. I notice there is no longer a FileByteExtract error during BootSDI script processing which ever way I build.

Logs withoutPE and withPE:



Really stumped now, would appreciate any help, erratic download behaviour aside, it seems to be something to do PENetwork.
Suggestion: Script version number should be visible as part of the processing information as it is being processed.

Regards,
niche99

#20 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10557 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 July 2007 - 11:15 PM

Using the latest PE network I also notice the "new" message box warning about unsigned drivers - wish they didn't appear.. :yahoo:

#21 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 July 2007 - 08:36 AM

@niche99:

Please have a look here and try the latest qEmu (!) script from the nativeEx server.

Peter

#22 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 July 2007 - 08:46 AM

Suggestion: Script version number should be visible as part of the processing information as it is being processed.

:yahoo:

Peter

#23 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 July 2007 - 10:07 AM

I did a reload from the nativeEx server and found that there is an old hivefactory script which does not yet contain the 'unsigned driver' change :yahoo:

Sorry niche99 that I wasted so much of your time!

The correct version now is on the nativeEx server.

Peter

#24 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 23 July 2007 - 10:13 AM

And since still a lot of scripts are supplied by posting in the forums, rather than being on a server and therefore no automatic version checking will be available, it would be great, if the version number would be part of the script name.
Something like: My Script v001.script

This would make manual sorting of scripts a breeze.

:yahoo:

#25 niche99

niche99

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland
  •  
    Scotland

Posted 23 July 2007 - 10:52 AM

Peter,

Downloaded updates from server, hopefully. No unsigned driver dialog, but desktop is still taking forever to appear.
Guess I'm forced to use PENetwork.

Regards,
niche99




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users