Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Symantec Ghost 11 script


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 zeg1

zeg1
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 01 July 2007 - 07:21 PM

File name: Symantec Ghost 11 script


Description:
Symantec Ghost 11 script.

You need to attach the version 11 files of ghost32.exe, ghostexp.exe and ghostsrv.exe from "Symantec Ghost Solution Suite v2".


Download file

#2 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4171 posts

Posted 01 July 2007 - 08:34 PM

Thanks for the Script.

#3 Guest_redmars_*

Guest_redmars_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 October 2007 - 05:30 PM

Zeg1,

I'm getting the following errors in the script:

TxtAddLine - Failed to add line to file: [%BaseDir%\Target\VistaPE\windows\system32\shortcut.inf] line: [!CD\Programs\Ghost11\ghost32.exe,!DS\Ghost11\Ghost11.lnk,!CD\Programs\Ghost11]   TxtAddLine - Failed to add line to file: [%BaseDir%\Target\VistaPE\windows\system32\shortcut.inf] line: [!CD\Programs\Ghost11\ghost32.exe,Ghost11\Ghost11.lnk,!CD\Programs\Ghost11]   TxtAddLine - Failed to add line to file: [%BaseDir%\Target\VistaPE\windows\system32\shortcut.inf] line: [!CD\Programs\Ghost11\ghostexp.exe,Ghost11\Ghost Explorer.lnk,!CD\Programs\Ghost11]   TxtAddLine - Failed to add line to file: [%BaseDir%\Target\VistaPE\windows\system32\shortcut.inf] line: [!CD\Programs\Ghost11\ghostsrv.exe,Ghost11\Ghost Server.lnk,!CD\Programs\Ghost11] 



 4 errors occured!

So none of my ghost files were copied over to the C:\WinBuilder\Target\VistaPE\Programs\Ghost11 folder.

-RM

#4 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 11 October 2007 - 01:20 PM

@redmars

Probably it's a misunderstanding.
Author's notes describe that "You need to attach the version 11 files of ghost32.exe, ghostexp.exe and ghostsrv.exe" and his script was created to do this.

From script:

Due to copyrighted files you will need to attach the following files by yourself

ghost32.exe, ghostexp.exe, ghostsrv.exe

1.	Install Symantec Ghost Solution Suite v2

2.	In Winbuilder choose the ghost 11 script and edit

3.	Select attachments

4.	Add the ghost files: ghost32.exe, ghostexp.exe and ghostsrv.exe to the Ghost11 folder from Symantec\Ghost

5.	Close and enjoy

Now, if you don't want attach the 3 files in the script you can try this:

create a "Symantec" (for example) folder in "\WinBuilder\Projects\VistaPE\App\Disk Tools", place the 3 executables and the script in that folder, and replace this line:

ExtractAllFilesIfNotExist,"%ScriptFile%","Ghost11","%TargetDir%\%DestDir%"

with the following:

FileCopy,"%ScriptDir%\*.*","%TargetDir%\%DestDir%"


:cheers:

#5 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 October 2007 - 03:36 PM

Do remember that VistaPE 09 scripts use the old method and now we're all adopting the common app script format.

:cheers:

#6 zeg1

zeg1
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 16 October 2007 - 07:10 PM

Redmars,


The error you got is because winbuilder cannot find %BaseDir%\Target\VistaPE\windows\system32\shortcut.inf.

This file contains information about icon creation and is created by module “3 - Shell & Config”.

I have tried this in Winbuilder 070 and Vistape 009. Maybe this is changed in the new winbuilder / Vista pe project.

Of course as online says you have to attach ghost files to the script before running it as it says in the information.

:cheers:

#7 EvolutionR

EvolutionR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 15 March 2008 - 06:22 PM

I'm using WinBuilder 074, VistaPE V11 final!

I've tried all of the methods, replaced the codes.
Still got the error like the following picture:

Posted Image

Please help me I would really need it, kindly assist!

Thanks!


@redmars

Probably it's a misunderstanding.
Author's notes describe that "You need to attach the version 11 files of ghost32.exe, ghostexp.exe and ghostsrv.exe" and his script was created to do this.

From script:

Due to copyrighted files you will need to attach the following files by yourself

ghost32.exe, ghostexp.exe, ghostsrv.exe

1.	Install Symantec Ghost Solution Suite v2

2.	In Winbuilder choose the ghost 11 script and edit

3.	Select attachments

4.	Add the ghost files: ghost32.exe, ghostexp.exe and ghostsrv.exe to the Ghost11 folder from Symantec\Ghost

5.	Close and enjoy

Now, if you don't want attach the 3 files in the script you can try this:

create a "Symantec" (for example) folder in "\WinBuilder\Projects\VistaPE\App\Disk Tools", place the 3 executables and the script in that folder, and replace this line:

ExtractAllFilesIfNotExist,"%ScriptFile%","Ghost11","%TargetDir%\%DestDir%"

with the following:

FileCopy,"%ScriptDir%\*.*","%TargetDir%\%DestDir%"


:)



#8 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 16 March 2008 - 12:41 PM

I'm using WinBuilder 074, VistaPE V11 final!

I've tried all of the methods, replaced the codes.
Still got the error like the following picture:

Posted Image

Please help me I would really need it, kindly assist!

Thanks!

Hi, EvolutionR!

In order to reach VistaPE recent compatibilities of this script (and to simplify things) I've just re-written it ex novo for the occasion.

Please, note that due to copyright implications the script in attachment contains an empty "Ghost.7z" archive (that would must contain Ghost files).

Now, please follow these notes:


1. Create a folder named "Ghost" on your desktop;

2. Copy into it your "Ghost32.exe", "Ghostexp.exe", "GhostSrv.exe" and optionally "ghostcdr.dll";

3. Selected files and create a "7z" archive (just named "Ghost.7z") that will content those 4 files only (not a folder);

4. Copy the (attached) script in "Disk Tools" folder and launch WinBuilder;

5. Replace existing "Ghost.7z" (empty) with that one just created;

6. Enjoy!



Btw: please, note that some lines in the script are "commented".
First ones to reach VistaPE 012 full compatibility, other ones (registry related) to set some pre-settings under "Ghost Explorer" application.
Of course, if needed you will uncomment them.




Edit: please, download the (new) script from here.

#9 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 16 March 2008 - 07:20 PM

Replace existing "Ghost.7z" (empty) with that one just created

Btw: to replace an existing (and in this case "7z" encoded) file in a script under WinBuilder is enough to select the script and to start a new file copy from "Attachments" (please, see the screenshot).
When the file that you are copying have the same name of an existing one then the existing one will be replaced.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 11.png


#10 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4171 posts

Posted 17 March 2008 - 12:25 AM

I always tough you had to remove a file to replace it. Its good to know it will work the way you mention.

#11 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 17 March 2008 - 07:47 AM

Its good to know it will work the way you mention.

Yes: it's 100% working (psc docet).
Please, note that if the file is large in size then the time to wait for replacing is proportionally long (then if it is so: be patient, please :thumbsup: )...

Furthermore that seems to me a new way (> empty archives encoded in scripts) in order to create scripts (and most of all to share them) with no copyrighted files encoded, but with a simple way to reach the final result: a legally working script.



Btw: I just replaced my previous script in attachment because of I renamed it in order to distinguish it from that one of the topic's author.

#12 EvolutionR

EvolutionR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 17 March 2008 - 11:06 AM

I've created

1) Ghost.7z with the 4 files without the folder.

I don't quite get it with steps 4 & 5, I'm newbie about the script thing, I get used to the BartPE plugins!

Mind put some screen shot step by step? Here's my evolutionr@gmail.com

Sorry for the inconveniece cause!

Hi, EvolutionR!

In order to reach VistaPE recent compatibilities of this script (and to simplify things) I've just re-written it ex novo for the occasion.

Please, note that due to copyright implications the script in attachment contains an empty "Ghost.7z" archive (that would must contain Ghost files).

Now, please follow these notes:


1. Create a folder named "Ghost" on your desktop;

2. Copy into it your "Ghost32.exe", "Ghostexp.exe", "GhostSrv.exe" and optionally "ghostcdr.dll";

3. Selected files and create a "7z" archive (just named "Ghost.7z") that will content those 4 files only (not a folder);

4. Copy the (attached) script in "Disk Tools" folder and launch WinBuilder;

5. Replace existing "Ghost.7z" (empty) with that one just created;

6. Enjoy!



Btw: please, note that some lines in the script are "commented".
First ones to reach VistaPE 012 full compatibility, other ones (registry related) to set some pre-settings under "Ghost Explorer" application.
Of course, if needed you will uncomment them.



#13 EvolutionR

EvolutionR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 17 March 2008 - 01:17 PM

ok

I've done the method given by online, it extracted the files.

But when I copy within the "New Folder" to my USB thumb drive, it booted to the VistaPE Explorer desktop, from there I can't see any Program Files or Program Folders, also looked at the All Programs from the Start Menu, none can be found? Any solution to it? Seems like it din't install on VistaPE at all?


Very confusing to use script instead of plugin?

Once again anyone? :thumbsup:

Attached Thumbnails

  • Ghost.JPG


#14 AtomicKitten

AtomicKitten

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 17 March 2008 - 04:14 PM

Think that's because the script builds the final iso from E:\WinBuilder\Target\VistaPE\Programs\Ghost , don't know how you got the New Folder thing.

I successfully made the script works and added a shortcut to the VistaPE desktop, just a small problem, I use it to boot into a new machine (empty HDD), partitioned it from Disk Management, copy the ghost image to D: partition and image it back to C:, but when I reboot, it boots into the grub command line, instead of Windows XP. I've marked the C: partition as Active . Is there another hidden partition that I should delete within VistaPE? I've also tried using bootsect /nt52 C: (for Windows XP). Hope someone can answer this lol cause I wasted a few days trying to figure this out.

PS: The hardisk is not empty at the start, it's partitioned in half with FreeDos in C: but I delete both partitions, right click and choose "Simple Volume".

#15 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 17 March 2008 - 04:15 PM

ok

I've done the method given by online, it extracted the files.

But when I copy within the "New Folder" to my USB thumb drive, it booted to the VistaPE Explorer desktop, from there I can't see any Program Files or Program Folders, also looked at the All Programs from the Start Menu, none can be found? Any solution to it? Seems like it din't install on VistaPE at all?

Really it seems that a few of confusion there is... :D and I assumed that you had a working VistaPE, but it is not so yet: right?

Then I thought that my suggestions were easier, but perhaps in this case I was wrong: however, I will try to be more clear about your question in topic:

1. In your first screenshot in this thread is shown the WinBuilder tree and a visible "Ghost11.script" in "Disk Tools" folder: please, try to remove it from "VistaPE\Projects\VistaPE\App\Disk Tools" and to copy my attached "Ghost.script" in "VistaPE\Projects\VistaPE\App\Disk Tools";

2. Then launch WinBuilder, select "Ghost.script" in "Disk Tools" folder (in WinBuilder tree) and click on "Attachments" tab (please, see screenshots);

3. Replace "existing "Ghost.7z" with that one you've just created;

to replace an existing (and in this case "7z" encoded) file in a script under WinBuilder is enough to select the script and to start a new file copy from "Attachments".

When the file that you are copying have the same name of an existing one then the existing one will be replaced.
Furthermore before to replace it, try to open your "Ghost.7z" archive with "7-Zip File Manager", to open not to extract, in order to verify that those 4 files are visible... (only 4 visible files and no folder inside your just created "Ghost.7z" archive, ok?);

4. When the copy process is completed (please, wait for until it's completed) click OK on related button and click on the red X ("Close edit mode") at bottom of "Refresh" big button, then click on "Refresh" button;

5. Now you are ready to start your VistaPE compilation with a working and VistaPE 011/012 compatible "Ghost.script" inside.



Btw: under WinBuilder/VistaPE you do not need to create and/or to copy any file/folder manually in your USB Flash Drive...

:D

:thumbsup: :tabletalk:

Attached Thumbnails

  • Ghost_1.png
  • Ghost_2.png
  • Ghost_3.png


#16 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 17 March 2008 - 05:05 PM

New "Ghost.script" in attachment contains an encoded "Ghost.7z" archive with all needed files inside (0 bytes) in order to reach hoped for better exemplification.

Attached Files



#17 EvolutionR

EvolutionR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 17 March 2008 - 10:46 PM

New "Ghost.script" in attachment contains an encoded "Ghost.7z" archive with all needed files inside (0 bytes) in order to reach hoped for better exemplification.


online,

At last it worked after few attempts! Thank You!

#18 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 17 March 2008 - 11:54 PM

You're welcome!

under WinBuilder/VistaPE you do not need to create and/or to copy any file/folder manually in your USB Flash Drive

Except rare exceptions... :thumbsup:

#19 EvolutionR

EvolutionR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Malaysia

Posted 17 December 2008 - 10:37 AM

I need the Symanctec Ghost 11 script file.

I try to download but the link provided is dead/ error!

Need it badly asap!


Thanks!

#20 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 December 2008 - 12:02 PM

Try this, updated to the new API. Gost11.

#21 pifpof

pifpof

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 24 January 2009 - 07:33 AM

Hello,
I am using this very nice script and everything is working very well!
But I want to pass some parameters to ghost. This is done normally by a txt file because not all parameters are in the ghost.ini or are not useful for a certain job.
So I want to create for several different scenarios/computers several icons of ghost with the different parameter text file added.
The result should have the possibility to edit the txt file while VistaPE is up and running (from a USB-stick). Because it is helpful to adjust it for different drive letters.

At the moment I have created a batch file placed in the root of the stick which I have to start manually:

x:
cd Program Files\ghost
ghost32.exe @f:\backup.txt

backup.txt:
-afile=f:\error.txt
-clone,MODE=create,SRC=1,DST=g:\test.gho
-ir
-noOSlayout
-szel
-fro

Any help is very appreciated :cheers:

#22 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 24 January 2009 - 08:49 AM

Hi pifpof,

Currently i have a ghost script with developed by gathering all options of ghostscripts around boot-land. I would like to add the function you are asking but i am not sure what you are asking for.

From what i understand (as far as)
You can use shortcut creation with parameters so in shortcut(s) it will write
Ghost_backup1.lnk ----> "X:\Program Files\Ghost\ghost32.exe" @backup1.txt
Ghost_backup2.lnk ----> "X:\Program Files\Ghost\ghost32.exe" @backup2.txt
Ghost_backup3.lnk ----> "X:\Program Files\Ghost\ghost32.exe" @backup3.txt

does this satisfy your need ?


Edit: Fixed

#23 pifpof

pifpof

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 24 January 2009 - 12:59 PM

Hi Lancelot,

thanks for your quick reply! I am not a script developer and usually I just add a few lines to adjust them to my hardware. Under BartPE I could even create several menu entries under ->start->ghost.
So I want to do this under VistaPE as well.
Let me try to understand your answer:
In the script there will be a section called shortcut containing these lines?
Ghost_backup1.lnk ----> "X:\Program Files\Ghost\ghost32.exe" @backup1.txt

Am I right that your backup1.txt will be extracted to drive x: during boot time? I would prefer to have the parameter file directly on the stick, so that I am able to change it easily and without recreating the iso-image.
Do you think this is possible?

cheers
pifpof

#24 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 24 January 2009 - 01:42 PM

First, you will need to run a batch file to find the drive letter of your stick. Only then can you create the shortcuts. These things can be done at boot-time.

Be careful how drive letters are assigned under VistaPE, especially when ghosting.

Regards

#25 pifpof

pifpof

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 24 January 2009 - 01:56 PM

Hi allanf,

you're right when I try to ghost an unknown computer! But I know my machines and I will investigate the computer after boot. So I can figure out all needed drive letters. With this information I want to adjust the parameter-file, to create my personal USB-Stick.

cheers
pifpof




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users