Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

how do i add a subfolder in startmenu-programs? and how to boot from ram


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 parker

parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 03 June 2007 - 12:32 AM

i need to have a sysinfo & benchmark subfolder in start menu-programs , i tried it like this but it didnt work and there were errors about shortcutWinExp.exe while building the project
Run,%BuildModelScript%,Add-Shortcut,"SM","#$pSystemDrive#$p\Programs\cpuz\cpuz.cmd","SysInfo & Benchmark\CPU-Z"


also how do i set it to boot from ram? could someone provide me a step by step guide?
im using wbuilder 070 with xp live project

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 03 June 2007 - 08:28 AM

i need to have a sysinfo & benchmark subfolder in start menu-programs , i tried it like this but it didnt work and there were errors about shortcutWinExp.exe while building the project
Run,%BuildModelScript%,Add-Shortcut,"SM","#$pSystemDrive#$p\Programs\cpuz\cpuz.cmd","SysInfo & Benchmark\CPU-Z"


also how do i set it to boot from ram? could someone provide me a step by step guide?
im using wbuilder 070 with xp live project

Hi parker,
welcome in the forum :confused1:
The subfolder must be at the SM token:
Run,%BuildModelScript%,Add-Shortcut,"SM/SysInfo & Benchmark","#$pSystemDrive#$p\Programs\cpuz\cpuz.cmd","CPU-Z"

For booting from RAM, see the BootSDI script as sample.
:confused1: Important is to use ntdetect.com, ramdisk.sys and setupldr.bin from W2003 source CD.

Peter

#3 parker

parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 03 June 2007 - 10:26 AM

thank you :confused1: , theres one thing i dont understand about bootsdi , where do i set the path to the W2003 source? (is it the button in "include"?,unclear to me) , or should i use W2003 to build the project?

#4 parker

parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 03 June 2007 - 10:45 AM

i had a look at the bootsdi source, ntdetect.com,ramdisk.sys,setupldr.bin are all integrated to it , so i guess i dont need to set the W2003 source after all (in the older version of wbuilder i had it was necessary to set it)

#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 03 June 2007 - 10:46 AM

thank you :confused1: , theres one thing i dont understand about bootsdi , where do i set the path to the W2003 source? (is it the button in "include"?,unclear to me) , or should i use W2003 to build the project?

There exist two different versions of BootSDI:
In the LiveXP project there is an older version than in the nativeEx_barebone project.
The LiveXP version contains the files. So you do not have to worry about them. But is seems not to be completely legal to distribute MS files.
The nativeEx_barebone version offers a separate file box in the bottom where you can define the path to these (your) files.

If you have W2003 CD, you can build with that CD and do not need to define the path to the three files.

Peter

#6 parker

parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 03 June 2007 - 08:02 PM

houston we have a problem (always wanted to say that :confused1:) , not sure why but from some reason now it wont get pass that greenish desktop background just stays there and doesnt go on , this happens with & without bootsdi , tried disabling my scripts but that didnt make a diffrence , any ideas :confused1:

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 04 June 2007 - 07:04 AM

houston we have a problem (always wanted to say that :confused1: ) , not sure why but from some reason now it wont get pass that greenish desktop background just stays there and doesnt go on , this happens with & without bootsdi , tried disabling my scripts but that didnt make a diffrence , any ideas :confused1:


Please post the log:
After building the complete project click the log tab.
Then click "Save as log.html" in the lower left.
That generates "log.html" in the %BaseDir% folder (where winbuilder.exe resides).
Post this file here.

BTW: This is the standard way when asking for help. Other can see what's belonging to your project and how it ran.

Peter

#8 parker

parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 04 June 2007 - 10:43 AM

alright , heres the log http://www.divshare....load/831355-252
i disabled almost all apps scripts so it will build quicker , i tried giving it more time after it halts on the desktop , and it turns out it does proceed but only after 2 minutes and its reponding a little slower then usual when i double click somethin

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 04 June 2007 - 10:55 AM

alright , heres the log http://www.divshare....load/831355-252
i disabled almost all apps scripts so it will build quicker , i tried giving it more time after it halts on the desktop , and it turns out it does proceed but only after 2 minutes and its reponding a little slower then usual when i double click somethin

You have some errors in your log. Usually, if there is an error, the final PE will not run corectly.
So, first you must try to eliminate the errors (maybe with help from here).

One of the error shows me that there is something VERY mixed in your project:
Posted Image Run - Failed to find section [Process-log] in file: [%BaseDir%\Archive\Build\ScriptLog.script]
The \Archive folder is not anymore used since a long time.

I suggest to delete your complete LiveXP folder (save your personal scripts before!), delete %BaseDir%\Temp.

Then download a fresh LiveXP, define the source CD path and run it w/o any other changes.

If that runs, add your personal scripts and try again.

Peter

#10 parker

parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 04 June 2007 - 11:35 AM

you reminded me , im using the winsxs script that i took from an older version puted it in LiveXP\Basic\Build, some of my progs need it (alot of programs needs it , i wonder why it was removed in the first place) , i removed the scriptlog line from it to fix that error , tried building the project again and nothin changed , then tried without it (disabled winsxs) and it still didnt make a diffrence so i dont think its related , ill try to download a fresh livexp later on , in the meantime could you please have a look at the winsxs script and fix the other (file rename) errors?

Attached Files



#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 04 June 2007 - 11:38 AM

you reminded me , im using the winsxs script that i took from an older version puted it in LiveXP\Basic\Build, some of my progs need it (alot of programs needs it , i wonder why it was removed in the first place) , i removed the scriptlog line from it to fix that error , tried building the project again and nothin changed , then tried without it (disabled winsxs) and it still didnt make a diffrence so i dont think its related , ill try to download a fresh livexp later on , in the meantime could you please have a look at the winsxs script and fix the other (file rename) errors?

I'm sorry, I do not want to look for the winsxs errors now.

As long as you have old and new scripts mixede, it is wasted time.

Peter

#12 parker

parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 04 June 2007 - 11:43 AM

thats the only old script i have in it , why you think its a waste of time? if i cant get my favorite programs to run with winbuilder , then yes it certainly is , guess ill have to fix those file rename errors myself but anyway its not related to the main issue , as alredy said even with the winsxs disabled it still same , a fresh livexp will likely fix it

#13 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 04 June 2007 - 11:47 AM

thats the only old script i have in it , why you think its a waste of time?

One old script is one too much!

Peter

#14 parker

parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 04 June 2007 - 01:06 PM

ok i deleted my livexp folder and re-downloaded a fresh copy , it shorted it to 38 seconds instead of 2 minutes (time between the desktop background & til it fully loads) , is this normal? bit too long for my liking , i attached the latest log , theres no errors in it , also i found out the winsxs thing is alredy in the explorer script so guess i wont need to fiddle around with the old script

Attached Files

  • Attached File  log.zip   28.78KB   125 downloads


#15 parker

parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 04 June 2007 - 01:49 PM

problem solved :confused1:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users