Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

New Explorer script


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 27 May 2007 - 03:27 PM

Hello.
I have seen my explorer script get to version 26. It must have been heavily modified. It had some mistakes in it so I have fixed them in the new version 27.
You can get it at my site. Also, there you can find a list of what I found wrong with it. Some causes are that an older script was modified again.

I have seen my old shortcuts script has been reintroduced. I find it obsolete, and think the new method (via BuildModel) is better. Therefore, I want to remove that method unless anyone thinks I should not. Please let me know if I shouldn't remove it.
Also, I want to remove the "create shortcut to Explorer options" (all 3 of them) beacause I think they are not used. Anyone who want to start Explorer just has to double click "My Computer"

These are the modifications I propose for the future. Please tell me what you think of them.

#2 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 330 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 27 May 2007 - 03:58 PM

Hi Ove,

what project do you talk about? I think it would help if the topics/posts that are not in a project specicfic forum are marked for what project they are intended.

When I started with WinBuilder/VistaPE and needed to get the necessary information through this forum the most difficult part was to find out what topic/post has relevant information for me and which not. It's getting better now, but as I said, for newcomers and people that are not that much specialists it would make life easier.

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#3 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 27 May 2007 - 04:02 PM

Hi Ove,

what project do you talk about? I think it would help if the topics/posts that are not in a project specicfic forum are marked for what project they are intended.

When I started with WinBuilder/VistaPE and needed to get the necessary information through this forum the most difficult part was to find out what topic/post has relevant information for me and which not. It's getting better now, but as I said, for newcomers and people that are not that much specialists it would make life easier.

Many Greetings
MichaelZ


I am talking about the LiveXP project.

#4 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3,813 posts

Posted 27 May 2007 - 06:55 PM

`best way to handle the older scripts used but not used anymore is to probably put something next to them saying that these scripts are not being used anymore in Winbuilder projects and maybe why they are not being used. They are left here for reference to how we started to handle shortcut building and Explorer building. or something similar. That way if in the future some one wants to now more about the methods used in early bootable PE development they could read a brief history of sorts. Old methods are not always obselete nor is information.

Thanks for the updates and thoughts about the methods. I dont understand them all but if you say new methods are a better way to handle things then they must be. Without your beginning methods we probably would have taken longer to get here.

#5 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 28 May 2007 - 09:25 AM

`best way to handle the older scripts used but not used anymore is to probably put something next to them saying that these scripts are not being used anymore in Winbuilder projects and maybe why they are not being used. They are left here for reference to how we started to handle shortcut building and Explorer building. or something similar. That way if in the future some one wants to now more about the methods used in early bootable PE development they could read a brief history of sorts. Old methods are not always obselete nor is information.

Thanks for the updates and thoughts about the methods. I dont understand them all but if you say new methods are a better way to handle things then they must be. Without your beginning methods we probably would have taken longer to get here.


I agree with that, but the old shortcuts should be left as a standalone script, not included in the new explorer script beacause it increases its size and slows it down. The old shortcuts script is still available on my site and I will update it with the modifications that are present in the new explorer script.

If you have further objections to its removal, please post them here

#6 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3,813 posts

Posted 28 May 2007 - 09:52 AM

I agree with that, but the old shortcuts should be left as a standalone script, not included in the new explorer script beacause it increases its size and slows it down.

No objections.

I was thinking the shortcuts part was in the shortcut script only. If some stuff is in the Explorer script and you think that it is not necessary then go ahead and take it out, that is, if its not going to be used anymore in future developments.

#7 pedrole15

pedrole15

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 731 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 30 May 2007 - 01:49 AM

Hello.
I have seen my explorer script get to version 26. It must have been heavily modified. It had some mistakes in it so I have fixed them in the new version 27.
You can get it at my site. Also, there you can find a list of what I found wrong with it. Some causes are that an older script was modified again.

I have seen my old shortcuts script has been reintroduced. I find it obsolete, and think the new method (via BuildModel) is better. Therefore, I want to remove that method unless anyone thinks I should not. Please let me know if I shouldn't remove it.
Also, I want to remove the "create shortcut to Explorer options" (all 3 of them) beacause I think they are not used. Anyone who want to start Explorer just has to double click "My Computer"

These are the modifications I propose for the future. Please tell me what you think of them.

Can you look at the change i've made on the script for making the old shortcut work ?
For me on french XP it work very well no difference with BuildModel
But i'm OK if you want remove it ,
i can make a script with the SHC.au3 inside to start on startup and it work with BuildModel

Attached File  Explorer_Beta.Script   160.11KB   158 downloads

#8 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 May 2007 - 06:40 AM

@Ove

I checked the new script for nativeEx compatibility.
It is 100 % compatible an can replace the explorer script included in nativeEx_barebone. :confused1:

In the mean time I created a version 028. I suggest that you also do the change and create your version 028:

Replace:

If,NotExistFile,"%ProjectDir%\Temp\shortcutWinExp.exe",ExtractFile,"%ActiveShell%","Shortcuts",shortcutWinExp.exe,%ProjectDir%\Temp
ShellExecute,Hide,"%ProjectDir%\Temp\shortcutWinExp.exe",#$q/C:%ProjectInfo%#$q#$s#$q/I:#1#$q

by:
If,NotExistFile,"%ProjectTemp%\shortcutWinExp.exe",ExtractFile,"%ActiveShell%","Shortcuts",shortcutWinExp.exe,%ProjectTemp%

ShellExecute,Hide,"%ProjectTemp%\shortcutWinExp.exe",#$q/C:%ProjectInfo%#$q#$s#$q/I:#1#$q

That brings the exes outside the project's area.
(Temp files inside the project area are assumed to cause open handles)

Peter

BTW: In your first post you wrote that you removed the 3 explorer shortcuts.
In the version I got by download from yout site they are still in.
Is there a wrong file?

#9 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 30 May 2007 - 04:15 PM

BTW: In your first post you wrote that you removed the 3 explorer shortcuts.
In the version I got by download from yout site they are still in.
Is there a wrong file?


I said that I want to remove the 3 shortcuts for explorer.exe, and i want to remove my old shortcut script if no objections are made.
I will modify the script, and probably remove those features as noone seems to object.

Thanks

#10 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 30 May 2007 - 04:17 PM

@pedrole15

Can you look at the change i've made on the script for making the old shortcut work ?
For me on french XP it work very well no difference with BuildModel
But i'm OK if you want remove it ,
i can make a script with the SHC.au3 inside to start on startup and it work with BuildModel

Attached File  Explorer_Beta.Script   160.11KB   158 downloads


I will look over it. There is no need to create a new script for shc.au3 since it already exists, it just needs updating.
I will take care of it.

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 May 2007 - 04:20 PM

I said that I want to remove the 3 shortcuts for explorer.exe, and i want to remove my old shortcut script if no objections are made.
I will modify the script, and probably remove those features as noone seems to object.

Thanks


Sorry, I misunderstood you (or did not read your post carefully enough :confused1: )

My suggestion:
Remove the shortcuts (really obsolete)
Do not remove the 'old shortcut mechanism'
I used it as sample that buildModel can handle different shortcut mechanisms.

Peter

#12 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 30 May 2007 - 04:33 PM

Sorry, I misunderstood you (or did not read your post carefully enough :confused1: )


No problem

My suggestion:
Remove the shortcuts (really obsolete)
Do not remove the 'old shortcut mechanism'
I used it as sample that buildModel can handle different shortcut mechanisms.

Peter


I think I'll put the shortcuts in another script

#13 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 May 2007 - 05:11 PM

No problem
I think I'll put the shortcuts in another script


Maybe we again misunderstood.
Here the 'new' shortcut mechanism:

A shell (in this case explorer) has one or more different ways to create shortcuts.
In the case of explorer they are:
  • the buildModel way ([shc-model])
  • your old 'createShortcut' way ([shc-run])
How the shell has to create shortcuts, is defined by %ExplorerShortcut%. %ExplorerShortcut% is either fixed (if the shell has only one way to create shortcuts) or defined by options inside the shell's script.

When any script wants to create a shortcut:
  • it 'asks' buildModel
  • buildModel passes to %ActiveShell%
  • %ActiveShell% creates the shortcut according %ExplorerShortcut%
Therefore, removing [shc-run] in explorer script, would bring some troubles, because [shc-run] is one of the possible %ExplorerShortcut% entry points.

Peter

#14 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 31 May 2007 - 02:12 PM

Maybe we again misunderstood.
Here the 'new' shortcut mechanism:

A shell (in this case explorer) has one or more different ways to create shortcuts.
In the case of explorer they are:

  • the buildModel way ([shc-model])
  • your old 'createShortcut' way ([shc-run])
How the shell has to create shortcuts, is defined by %ExplorerShortcut%. %ExplorerShortcut% is either fixed (if the shell has only one way to create shortcuts) or defined by options inside the shell's script.

When any script wants to create a shortcut:
  • it 'asks' buildModel
  • buildModel passes to %ActiveShell%
  • %ActiveShell% creates the shortcut according %ExplorerShortcut%
Therefore, removing [shc-run] in explorer script, would bring some troubles, because [shc-run] is one of the possible %ExplorerShortcut% entry points.

Peter


I get it now...
I will leave these 2 methods alone. I will only remove the 3 checkboxes for desktop, QL and SM shortcuts to Explroer
Thanks

#15 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 08 June 2007 - 09:20 AM

Can you look at the change i've made on the script for making the old shortcut work ?
For me on french XP it work very well no difference with BuildModel
But i'm OK if you want remove it ,
i can make a script with the SHC.au3 inside to start on startup and it work with BuildModel

Attached File  Explorer_Beta.Script   160.11KB   158 downloads


From all your modifications, I think I will keep the one in shc.au3 that changes the detection method for the psychical CD. The modifications related to the desktop name are not needed, as AutoIT automatically detects the desktop directory regardless of Windows' version (German or other languages)

#16 pedrole15

pedrole15

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 731 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 08 June 2007 - 02:56 PM

From all your modifications, I think I will keep the one in shc.au3 that changes the detection method for the psychical CD. The modifications related to the desktop name are not needed, as AutoIT automatically detects the desktop directory regardless of Windows' version (German or other languages)

Desktop icon are they shown in other language than french when you don't use BuildModel ? For me NO
Finaly I've made a little script for apply the change I need for Script (with option Run From CD) genered by the new MakeScript_V12 ( Not finish).
Attached File  MakeScript_Run_From_CD.Script   12.23KB   160 downloads

#17 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 10 June 2007 - 03:25 PM

Desktop icon are they shown in other language than french when you don't use BuildModel ? For me NO


Does this mean that your desktop is named in French when using BuildModel?
Maybe that's beacause you are using a French XP source.
And do your modifications (putting the desktop name in an INI file, and reading it with shc.au3 and using it as the desktop)
can fix that?

#18 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 10 June 2007 - 03:49 PM

I have made the modification on Explorer script.
The options for shortcut have been removed.
You can get it from my site.

#19 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 June 2007 - 06:32 PM

I have made the modification on Explorer script.
The options for shortcut have been removed.
You can get it from my site.


I download your script and upload to nativeEx_barebone project.
Before saving I added the hint to ImDisk as an alternity to RAMDisk (Verify and GUI).

Therefore on the nativeEx server it is now version 029.

Peter

#20 Garfield

Garfield

    Member

  • .script developer
  • 96 posts
  • Interests:pretty much everything
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 12 June 2007 - 11:46 AM

Peter

Firstly i must say that i admire your work, but i have found a slipup and it makes me very sad :thumbup:

The latest explorer script (version 029) from native_EX doesn't verify correctly

If !{%RAMDisk:Main.Selected%}
& !{%Boot SDI:Main.Selected%} Then
& !{%ImDisk:Main.Selected%}


should read

If !{%RAMDisk:Main.Selected%}
& !{%Boot SDI:Main.Selected%}
& !{%ImDisk:Main.Selected%} Then


But since i respect you so much I will forgive you.. :1st:

#21 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 June 2007 - 12:01 PM

Peter

Firstly i must say that i admire your work, but i have found a slipup and it makes me very sad :thumbup:

The latest explorer script (version 029) from native_EX doesn't verify correctly



should read



But since i respect you so much I will forgive you.. :thumbup:


Thanks for the honorous critics :thumbup:

I saw it yesterday and fixed w/o changing the version number because it has been a very small adjustement.
BTW There exists a post of mine asking for 'newer script = version number + upload time'.
Nuno and me agreed that 'in the standard case' nobody gets the intermediate wrong version.

You killed this 'standard case' :1st:

Just download the same version again and you have it.
If you are astonished about the download time:
This morning at about 9:00 MEZ I redelivered nativeEx_barebone completely.

Reason: I changed the predefined !WBManager constellations and currently in this case I see no different way than to redeliver.

Peter

#22 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 18 June 2007 - 09:39 AM

@PSC:
I've tested the latest explorer script from NativeEx and found out that Verify script gave a warning about the explorer script.
I have also discovered that your sripts from LiveXP are older than those in NativeEx. Maybe they could use an upgrade.
The explorer script in LiveXP is still 026 since 030 gives that warning.
Please try to fix it.

#23 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,436 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 18 June 2007 - 12:09 PM

I've tested the latest explorer script from NativeEx and found out that Verify script gave a warning about the explorer script.

A 'false positive' or is the warning correct?

@PSC:
I have also discovered that your sripts from LiveXP are older than those in NativeEx. Maybe they could use an upgrade.
The explorer script in LiveXP is still 026 since 030 gives that warning.
Please try to fix it.

I do not have access to the servers.
That's in the responsibility of the LiveXP and NativePE authors.

@Nuno, @Thunn ???

Peter

#24 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10,202 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 18 June 2007 - 01:42 PM

Time is a bit short to test scripts lately so I leave the liveXP server without changes until I give a fresh update when I'm also updating winbuilder.exe binary to the latest stable version.

And since nativeEx is meant to be the most updated project, I use it as a good model to keep track of new testings and improvements.

:1st:

#25 Ove

Ove

    .script developer

  • .script developer
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Fagaras, Romania
  •  
    Romania

Posted 18 June 2007 - 09:42 PM

@psc:

It is a false positive
It says it cannot call a section (can't remember it's name)