Jump to content











Photo

cant load my window vista getting error 17

windowvista error17 grub error grub4dos 0.4.3

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 12 May 2020 - 02:47 PM

Tried to install a windows service pack and when I restarted my comp, vista wouldn't boot. When I try to boot it up, it gives me this screen that says
Booting Windows Vista
Acpi
Vista Loader
Done!
Fallback 1
Find --set-root /bootmgr
Error 17: file not found
Booting: Windows NT/2000/XP
Fallback 2
Find --set-root /ntldr
Error 17: file not found
Booting Enter Command Line
Boot failed. Press any key to enter command line.



#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 May 2020 - 03:56 PM

Hmmm. :dubbio:

 

This is very like the kind of damage that can be done by "Spyhunter", read this:

http://reboot.pro/to...s-7-unbootable/

 

You may be able to use the bootmgr in /windows/boot/pcat/bootmgr (provided that there is one, there is surely in Windows 7, cannot really say on Vista).

 

Ask for help if anything is not clear BEFORE making changes to the files.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#3 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 05:58 AM

what can i do after getting this 

 

GRUB4DOS 0.4.3 2007-03-13, MEMORY : 640K / 509M, CodeEnd : 0x3D7BC

[ Minimal bash like line editing is supported. for the first word, tab lists possible comand completions. anywhere else tab lists the possible completions of device/filename, Esc at any tie exits.

grub>



#4 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 06:06 AM

after entering this command 

geometry (hd0)

 

i am getting this 

 

drive 0x80(LBA): C/H/S=16383/255/63, Sector Count/Size=2631922895/512

Partition num: 0, Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x42
partition num: 1, Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x42

 

which command i should enter after that ?

 



#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 May 2020 - 08:06 AM

 drive 0x80(LBA): C/H/S=16383/255/63, Sector Count/Size=2631922895/512

Partition num: 0, Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x42
partition num: 1, Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x42

 

That is another issue. :ph34r: (besides and before the BOOTMGR not found issue)

 

It sometimes happens, and the reason why it happens has never been clearly pinned down, that some "rogue" program wrongly changes partition ID in the MBR partition table.

Partition ID 0x42 is the ID for Dynamic Volumes, a very rare kind of setup that in practice noone uses.

 

Most probably you had EITHER:
1) a small FAT32 partition hosting the "boot" files (what MS confusingly calls System)
2) a largish NTFS partition hosting the "system" files (what MS condusingly calls Boot)

which is the "standard" way Windows 7 (but not Vista) is installed, see here:

http://www.multibooters.co.uk/

http://www.multiboot....uk/system.html

 

OR:

1) a NTFS partition (possibly both "boot" and "system")

2) a second NTFS partition /possibly used for data or backups

 

Since it is Vista (and not 7) and since all the cases I have seen of heard of this kind of Partition ID change happened changing the "normal" ID for NTFS (0x07) to the one for Dynamic disks (0x42), I would propend for the latter.

 

Can you confirm that this (2 NTFS partitions) is how the disk was previously partitioned?

 

Now the problem is that the grub4dos you are booting to is a very oldish 0.4.3 version that misses a number of commands (added in later releases) so right now I cannot say if it is possible to attempt repair from that grub prompt you have or if it is needed to boot from another media with a more recent version of grub4dos.

 

Can you / do you have a USB stick that you can use? (meaning that data on it will be overwritten)

Or does that PC have a CD/DVD rom drive?

And do you have the possibility to "burn" a new CD or DVD on another PC?

 

In the meantime I'll have a look at that old version of grub4dos and see if it already contains the needed commands.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#6 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 08:20 AM

yes SIR  i have usb drive of 8GB 



#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 May 2020 - 08:28 AM

yes SIR  i have usb drive of 8GB 

Good. :)

 

Can you remember if the two partitions were NTFS?

 

Update.

Just checked, even that version of grub4dos has at least some of the needed commands. :)

 

At the 

grub>

prompt, issue:

parttype (hd0,0)

you should get:

Partition type for (hd0,0) is 0x42

 

As well, if you enter:

parttype (hd0,1)

you should get 

Partition type for (hd0,1) is 0x42

 

Now is time to attempt restoring the "right" partition ids:
parttype (hd0,0) 0x07

parttype (hd0,1) 0x07

 

Now, try again the

geometry (hd0) 

command

 

And post output.

 

Then run this command:

cat --hex --skip=446 (hd0)0+1

and post output (it will be a series of hex numbers, they are the values in the partition table)

 

:duff:

Wonko



#8 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 08:52 AM

Can you remember if the two partitions were NTFS?

sorry sir i dont remember this   :(   :(

.

sir after entering this command geometry (hd0) i am getting this 

 

drive 0x80(LBA): C/H/S=16383/255/63, Sector Count/Size=2631922895/512

Partition num: 0, Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x7
partition num: 1, Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x7 

 

again after type this cat --hex --skip=446 (hd0)0+1 

 

i am getting this 

 

000001BE 80 01 01 00 07 FE FF FF 3F 00 00 00 00 D8 D6 B6 06 ................

000001CE 00 FE FF FF 07 FE FF FF 3F D8 B6 06 71 18 9A 02 .............

000001DE 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........

000001EE 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 .........

000001FE 55 AA

 

grub> 



#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 May 2020 - 09:21 AM

Ok, at least this is good :

 

Partition num: 0, Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x7

Can you re-check the hex data you posted?

There is something that doesn't sound right.

the first 16 bytes are seemingly fine:



80 01 01 00 07 FE FF FF 3F 00 00 00 00 D8 D6 B6 

the second 16 bytes are not (maybe you made an error copying the data), the bolded ones seem fine:

 

06 00 FE FF FF 07 FE FF FF 3F D8 B6 06 71 18 9A 02
there is seemingly an inserted "06" and I need to have the last bytes confirmed

 

Try running:

cat --hex --skip=462 --length=16 (hd0)0+1

(these are only the 16 bytes for the second partition).

 

and post results.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#10 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 May 2020 - 09:32 AM

Update:

No, also the first 16 bytes are not entirely correct:

80 01 01 00 07 FE FF FF 3F 00 00 00 00 D8 D6 B6 

 

Try running:

 

cat --hex --skip=446 --length=16 (hd0)0+1

(these are only the 16 bytes for the first partition).

and post results.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#11 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 09:43 AM

thanks sir

I have used commands which were told by you and restarted the pc,as a result window vista opened.After that ,on opening my computer I found Local disk F was changed to D.Apart from this , a message is being flashed on screen ...you need to format the disk in drive D: before you can use it...kindly help to operate  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  



#12 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 May 2020 - 10:22 AM

thanks sir

I have used commands which were told by you and restarted the pc,as a result window vista opened.After that ,on opening my computer I found Local disk F was changed to D.Apart from this , a message is being flashed on screen ...you need to format the disk in drive D: before you can use it...kindly help to operate  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  

Yes, the first command

parttype (hd0,0) 0x07

restored the "right" type of partition (and grub4dos recognized it as NTFS), so it has been able to find the BOOTMGR on it, and thus (since it was the active volume and both "boot" and "system") the Vista booted fine, good. :)

 

The second command:

parttype (hd0,0) 0x07

did not work.

This means that the partition was NOT NTFS before.

 

I need the output of (reboot and when you see the grub4dos menu press "c" to get to command line):

 

 

Try running:

cat --hex --skip=462 --length=16 (hd0)0+1

(these are only the 16 bytes for the second partition).

 

Seen how the first (now working partition) is aligned it seems like the disk was not partitioned under Vista, but rather by an earlier OS, it could be XP, 2K or even 9x/Me.

It is possible that the second partition is an extended one, but I need the output of the above command to check what is at its start address to proceed (hopefully) in restoring it without losing data nor needing to re-format it.

 

Do also another thing:

while you are still in the booted Vista, run Regedit.

Go to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\MountedDevices

look for a key:

\DosDevices\D:

(if any) 

and post the hex values.

Just above it there should be a

\DosDevices\C:

key with the same first 4 bytes as the above, followed by 00 7E 00 00 00 00 00 00 i.e.:

\DosDevices\C: = WW XX YY ZZ 00 7E 00 00 00 00 00 00 

and 

\DosDevices\D: = WW XX YY ZZ ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? 

 

:duff:

Wonko



#13 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2908 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 May 2020 - 12:34 PM

It is possible that the second partition is an extended one, but I need the output of the above command to check what is at its start address to proceed (hopefully) in restoring it without losing data nor needing to re-format it.

 

 

It could be the 20 GB FAT32 Recovery partition with partition type 0x0C (or may be 0x0B) that was normal in the time of Vista .....

 

EDIT: correction

Number of Sectors 1st partition  = 00 D8 D6 B6 06 = Hex 06B6D800 = 112.646.144 x 512 bytes = 53 GB

Number of Sectors 2nd partition = 71 18 9A 02 = Hex 029A1871 = 42.630 43.653.233 sectors x 512 bytes = 20 GB

 

Goto Sector 0x06B6D83F = 112.646.207 will show Boot Sector 2nd partition

Or equivalently in Grub4dos command use

cat --hex (hd0,1)0+1

cat --hex (hd0)0x06B6D83F+1



#14 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 May 2020 - 01:17 PM

It could be the FAT32 Recovery partition with partition type 0x0C (or may be 0x0B) that was normal in the time of Vista .....

I don't know :huh: , usually grub4dos recognizes FAT partitions notwithstanding the partition ID, but again, being such an old version that may be not the case.

On the other hand if the partition is an extended one, it has no BPB in the PBR (and as such no filesystem can be recognized from its "bootsector", a further jump to the address in the EPBR is needed to get there).

 

Since the offset to the first partition is 63 sectors, it is unlikely that the disk has been partitioned under Vista, let alone by the Vista Setup, that may create that 0x0C (I don't think 0x0B since we are well past the CHS address space) recovery partition you mention.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#15 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 01:31 PM

sir i did format the D disk because i didnt want that data so i format that disk but whenever i turn on my computer i faced one issue which is ..
this command is flash for just 2 second
acpi
Vista Loader 2.1.2

Done!
fallback 1
find --set-root /bootmgr
(hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x7
chainloader /bootmgr
Will boot NTLDR from drive=0x00, Partion=0x0(hidden sectors=0x3f)
wht should i do to remove this from flashing on screen while turining on the pc.

Edited by sudeeponeness, 13 May 2020 - 01:36 PM.


#16 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 01:35 PM

but the computer is working fine after turning on bro  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)  :)



#17 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 May 2020 - 04:38 PM

@wimb

Good guess. :)

 

The now "guessed" values:

 

80 01 01 00 07 FE FF FF 3F 00 00 00 00 D8  B6 06
00 FE FF FF 07 FE FF FF 3F D8 B6 06 71 18 9A 02

 

the 1st partition:

Sectors before: 3F 00 00 00 = 63

Numb. sectors: 00 D8  B6 06= 112646144

 

the 2nd partition:

 

Sectors before: 3F D8 B6 06  = 112646207

Numb. sectors: 71 18 9A 02  = 43653233 <- Hex 029A1871 NOT = 42.630

 

 

 

the first partition seems ok, 63+112646144=112646207 good :)

 

 

though BOTH partitions do not respect 255/63 cylnder boundaries, let alone the MB one, so they are not created by MS tools or have been fiddled with in the past.

 

Of course we have two sets of 16 bytes, BOTH wrongly transcribed by the OP, which of course ignored each and every attempt to obtain the correct values and proceeded to format the 2nd partition, I guess we'll never know.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#18 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2908 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 May 2020 - 05:01 PM

@wimb

Good guess. :)

 

 

It was not a guess, but it is recognisable .... ;)

 

There were originally 17 bytes in the first entry, so 1 byte had to be removed and it was clear that byte D6 was wrongly inserted ....

 

The sum of 3F 00 00 00 and 00 D8  B6 06 in the first entry must be equal to 3F D8 B6 06 in second entry.

Start Sector + Number of Sectors of first partition = Start Sector of second partition.

 

Thanks for correcting my hex to decimal conversion of number of sectors in second partition.  :)



#19 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 05:07 PM

sir i did format the D disk because i didnt want that data so i format that disk but whenever i turn on my computer i faced one issue which is ..
this command is flash for just 2 second

acpi
Vista Loader 2.1.2

Done!
fallback 1
find --set-root /bootmgr
(hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x7
chainloader /bootmgr
Will boot NTLDR from drive=0x00, Partion=0x0(hidden sectors=0x3f)
wht should i do to remove this from flashing on screen while turining on the pc.



#20 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 05:08 PM

please sir help me regard this i am feeling irritated by this command showing on whenever i turned on my pc 



#21 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 May 2020 - 06:34 PM

please sir help me regard this i am feeling irritated by this command showing on whenever i turned on my pc 

 

Ow, wow, if you feel irritated by this, I wonder :dubbio: how you were feeling when it didn't boot at all.  :ermm:

 

One thing is helping you to have your PC boot again, another is supporting your cosmetic preferences about that Vista Loader thingy that - shouldn't you be aware about it - is a crack or anyway a workaround to use a non properly licensed OS, based on a largely obsolete version of grub4dos, BTW modified and in clear violation of the GNU (Open Source) license under which grub4dos is released.

 

I am sure that if you look around enough on the internet you will find other boards and other people (sirs or bros) that will know how (and will be willing to) assist you :).

 

Not here, and definitely not me, sorry :(.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#22 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 07:11 PM

Bro i didn't want to hurt you with my words actually i don't know the proper English even then i was typing in English but i just want to say you that thanks for helping me for each and every step ❤ you guide me very nest nd i appreciate your help sorry bro if i dsay something wrong bcz of my lack of English language ♥

#23 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 07:13 PM

Thanks bro ♥♥♥♥♥♥

#24 sudeeponeness

sudeeponeness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 13 May 2020 - 07:22 PM

Yes bro i was so much tensed when my window was not booting and you did my lots of help to solve this problem and yes i am using my pc because of you ♥️♥️ thank you again nd sorry if i said something wrong

#25 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15393 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 May 2020 - 07:20 AM

Naah, don't worry, everything is fine,you didn't hurt me at all. :)

 

Point remains that I have no idea what to suggest you (if not removing that software and boot "normally", which likely won't happen due to the protections that the Vista loader was installed to workaround), I don' t think that there is a (known) way to make it "silent" or "blank" at boot time and I suspect that it always behaved like that, but that for *some reasons* now it has become slower and thus you notice the messages printed on screen.

 

It is also possible that *somehow* something is not "right" on the disk, hence the slower booting.

 

And it is also possible that something changed in that thingy settings (but really cannot say what it could be).and it would be "strange".

 

:duff:

Wonko







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: windowvista, error17, grub error, grub4dos 0.4.3

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users