Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Issues with booting Antivirus Live-CD's


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 lyreex

lyreex
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 10 January 2019 - 07:38 PM

Hello folks,

 

i just finished my Multiboot USB stick and just got a case where i need it.

 

I want to copy the Users Folder on a Notebook but w/o the write protect from windows.

 

So i wanted to start kaspersky rescue disk, because it copies the folder w/o write protect.

 

As soon as i boot into Kaspersky Rescue disk, the shell begin to load the System.

When it goes to mount hard disks, it says at a point: "Cannot find device with data/kernel.dat. Retrying ..."
 

After three times, the Shell stops and starts a mini shell.

I give you an example of my antivirus.lst:
 

 
## Menu start
title Kaspersky
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /images/antivirus/krd.iso
map --mem /images/antivirus/krd.iso (0xff)
map --hook
chainloader (0xff)
## Menu end
 
is there any problem? I just boot the ISO.

I'll be thankful for your time and hope i get some solutions.


#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 January 2019 - 07:42 PM

it ain't that easy!

https://www.rmprepus.../kasperkyrescue


  • lyreex likes this

#3 lyreex

lyreex
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 10 January 2019 - 08:01 PM

Thanks mate! It worked with your solution!
 

Is that the same reason, why i cant install windows with excatly the same lines like i posted with my kaspersky?

 

It says it cannot find the systemfiles.

 

Can i use the same code you posted in that link for windows installer? (Win10)



#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 January 2019 - 08:02 PM

No, that is very different.

Why not use Easy2Boot or WinsetupFromUSB or SARDU ?

www.rmprepusb.com has loads of tutorials...


  • lyreex likes this

#5 lyreex

lyreex
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 10 January 2019 - 08:04 PM

Just saw there is a tutorial for Windows installers.

 

I wanted to learn about how to make it on my own from scratch.

The Project was planned for my Work and i wanted to make a Multiboot USB for our company.

Is it very diffrent with Bitdefender live CD, Panda etc. too?



#6 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 January 2019 - 08:15 PM

For most linux ISOs you can use the same partnew method.

Many tutorials on the rmprepusb site - just search it.

 

Easy2Boot allows you to design your own menu system, etc. but takes out all the hard work.


  • lyreex likes this

#7 lyreex

lyreex
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 10 January 2019 - 08:17 PM

Okay i will check this Easy2Boot out, thank you very much for your kind help!

 



#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14960 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 10 January 2019 - 08:21 PM

Loosely:

 

The basic method for a "generic" iso is mapping the .iso to (0xFF) or (hd32), the --mem mapping being usually more successful than direct mapping. .

 

On *any* .iso that needs to read/access itself when the OS is loading the above may not work, you need *something* hooking the .iso in such a way that the OS can find it.

 

For Linux based .iso's, again generally speaking the trick is to write a "fake" partition entry (with Partition ID 00) for the extents the .iso is on the device, see:

http://reboot.pro/to...ge-2#entry88531

 

For Windows NT based .iso's generally speaking you need to use a driver to hook/mount the .iso.

 

Then each version/.iso/etc. might need some additional refining/ specific changes.

 

If you search on the board and on the RMPREPUSB's site you will find tutorials and/or specific setting for most of these more "specific" changes needed.

 

 

 

Easy2Boot allows you to design your own menu system, etc. but takes out all the hard work.

 

And the learning and the fun ... :whistling:

 

:duff:

Wonko


  • lyreex likes this

#9 lyreex

lyreex
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 10 January 2019 - 08:50 PM

Loosely:

 

The basic method for a "generic" iso is mapping the .iso to (0xFF) or (hd32), the --mem mapping being usually more successful than direct mapping. .

 

On *any* .iso that needs to read/access itself when the OS is loading the above may not work, you need *something* hooking the .iso in such a way that the OS can find it.

 

For Linux based .iso's, again generally speaking the trick is to write a "fake" partition entry (with Partition ID 00) for the extents the .iso is on the device, see:

http://reboot.pro/to...ge-2#entry88531

 

For Windows NT based .iso's generally speaking you need to use a driver to hook/mount the .iso.

 

Then each version/.iso/etc. might need some additional refining/ specific changes.

 

If you search on the board and on the RMPREPUSB's site you will find tutorials and/or specific setting for most of these more "specific" changes needed.

 

 

 

 

And the learning and the fun ... :whistling:

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

The Learning and the Fun was the part why i tried it on my own ^^ but i faced more issues and less solutions then the "Fun" part was worth it ^^
I will read the tutorials and try to learn it theoretically before i try it again. But thank you very much too ! :)



#10 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 January 2019 - 08:56 PM

FYI

http://www.easy2boot.../howe2bwasborn/

http://www.easy2boot.../how-e2b-works/

http://www.easy2boot...things-to-know/

https://rmprepusb.bl...o-boot-iso.html

http://www.easy2boot...-payload-files/

http://www.easy2boot...b/buggy-bioses/

http://www.easy2boot...eful-resources/

 

Have fun!


  • lyreex likes this

#11 lyreex

lyreex
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 10 January 2019 - 09:00 PM

Thank you!

I faced the same Issue with kaspersky like before in e2b but i think i have to take a deeper look in how it works.
 

God why cant i try something which works on first try ^^



#12 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 January 2019 - 09:05 PM

For any payload adding to E2B, just check this page

http://www.easy2boot...-payload-files/


  • lyreex likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users