Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Community OFA NVMe 1.5 Storport Miniport for Windows Server 2003 R2 SP2

nvme ofa storport 2003

  • Please log in to reply
320 replies to this topic

#276 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 19 April 2019 - 06:54 PM

@ruthan

 

I have also a new GT 610 PCI graphiccard, Zotac 512 MB passiv cooled.

This works on older MSI boards with XP

Dietmar



#277 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 19 April 2019 - 07:13 PM

This is not big deal for Win98 point of view there are not drivers, its nice if PCI cards would work there are nice for Dos and maybe if some new PCI videocard is working, so older would too and there are lots of old PCI videocards with Windows 98 support. Like Vooodo 3 PCI, or some Geforce 5 PCI cards, also Radeon 9200 / 7000, Matrox G200/G400G550.. but even than PCI-E gen 1 cards are much faster.. - PIC cards could make something like 1024x768 in games, with PCI-E you can play in 1600x1200, which count especially with LCD screen, where not native resolutions sucks..



#278 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 19 April 2019 - 09:38 PM

Today I make a new acpi.sys for XP SP3 32 bit.
It works on AMD, Intel motherboards,
for all languages,
Dietmar

 

PS: You can find it at the Fernando forum:

 

https://www.win-raid...0.html#msg76043



#279 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 19 April 2019 - 10:33 PM

So no more bios mods needed?

 

Otherwise here are described my problems with new Gigabyte boards and XP - where mod bios ACPI was solution:

https://msfn.org/boa...s-microfreezes/


Edited by ruthan, 19 April 2019 - 10:36 PM.


#280 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 19 April 2019 - 10:34 PM

On the AMD board

asrock fatal1ty ab350 gaming k4

it runs without modification of the Bios.

Some more tests are needed

Dietmar



#281 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 19 April 2019 - 10:56 PM

@ruthan

Make a test for correct working timer in XP with Win Timertester 1.1

https://drive.google...WNlV0RTcUU/view

If there appear negative values, you have to install the modified hal.dll

which forces XP to use the realtime clock

Dietmar

 

PS: For each language you need to modify hal.dll for yourself.



#282 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 19 April 2019 - 11:02 PM

I cant test it right now, i have machine in other location.. i had to install it in Multiprocessor MPS mode, after bios patching i was able to boot with ACPI - boot.in hal etc.. line, but i had issue linked above, i had some with Z170 even with patched bios, but after some more clever patching it finally started working..



#283 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 19 April 2019 - 11:14 PM

BTW if your X79 board has PCI slot there is quite big change with right sound card - Yamaha 724/744/754 or Aureal Vortex V1/V2 pure dos sound can work too, i have X58 board with which has same block device diagram and here it is working.. So you can have pure Dos /Win 98 to Win10 machine to all in one..

 

Im using Gigabyte MBs, because they have in Bios nice feature - primary videocard slot selection, so you can have multiple videocards depends on started OS - you only select right bios profile for that. Other vendors except some HP O.E.M board dont have such feature in the bios..


Edited by ruthan, 19 April 2019 - 11:18 PM.


#284 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 19 April 2019 - 11:26 PM

On the Asus Apex X board

you can disable PCI-e slots one by one.

I tested it with graphicard GTX 980 for XP

and GTX 1070 for Win 10.

 

But you are right:

This board Sabertooth X79 has an PCI slot

and so everything is possible. I like Siedler 2 a lot.

Even boot XP from nvme disk,

until now, because no nvme.sys based on scsiport on the market:))

only via s4e method,

but this works nice and absolut stable.

Dos, Win 95, Win98, XP (and may be some day Win20^^).

Dietmar



#285 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 20 April 2019 - 03:52 PM

I wonder other thing, if chipset is capable M.2 NVME booting, but there is not M.2 slot, its possible that would be possible to boot through PCI-E to NVME adapter, or simply no PCI-E slot, no IRQ 13 => no XP booting?

 

 Possiblity of disable slot, one by one is nice.. If it could be included within Bios profiles? I wonder its typical Asus feature.. and how is exact bios name for such feature, or could you just make screenshot?



#286 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 20 April 2019 - 04:18 PM

@ruthan

As long as you find in Bios NVMEINT13,

you can do legacy nvme boot of XP,

no matter, if there is a M.2 connector.

 

Enable, disable each PCI-e slot is via dip-switch on mainboard

Dietmar



#287 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 22 April 2019 - 12:18 AM

Is there any NVMEINT13 testing utility?

 

 Otherwise my ADATA XPG SX6000 Pro SSD 256GB has arrived, so far i had time test it only in Windows 7.

https://www.dropbox..../Adata.png?dl=0

 

  Adata utility is funny - it reports - temperature - 65 000 C and when i try to upgrade firmware i get message that my SSD is not from Adata..


Edited by ruthan, 22 April 2019 - 12:18 AM.


#288 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 22 April 2019 - 05:25 PM

I havent enough time to clone HDD to NVME, but driver installation was nice i can see NVME as second driver and i can work with it in XP.

  Here is XP benchmark on GB-Z170 board, its slower than in WIn7, but fast enough, i didnt do any OS for SSD registry modifications etc.. BTW is there some tool , scriptfor it and XP?

 

https://www.dropbox.....08.19.jpg?dl=0

 



#289 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 22 April 2019 - 05:41 PM

Hi,

just install AOMEI and copy the XP

to the nvme disk.

By the way, when you give me the exact name

of your motherboard,

I can fetch latest Bios and look for NVMEINT13

in it,

Dietmar

 

PS: I just downloaded from Microsoft the "How to to build a storport driver from a scsiport one :). "

       Now I go vice versa. I am not good in C but I have done this in summer 2005 so..

       Because the OFA nvme driver can be compiled direct to Win 2003 I make

       a try to build scsiport driver from it. Win server 2003 has scsiport and storport and can handle both.

       The compiler and everything else is exact like the build nvme 1.3 from Kai, via WinDDK 7600.16385.1

       Because the scsidriver model from NT is as fast as possible, interesting IF I succeed

       to compare scsiport nvme it with storport nvme under XP SP3.

       And in the end I can start XP SP3 from my Sabertooth X79

       and any compi with PCI-e direct from nvme via ntbootdd.sys,

       Dietmar



#290 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 22 April 2019 - 07:49 PM

Here are all my MBs + some which i would bo buyi near future, were it would be nice to make XP NVME boot working:
 
GA-Z170-HD3
Gigabyte z370 aorus ultra gaming
GA-X79-UP4
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
GB GA-Z97P-D3
GA X99 Gaming 5P
Asrock Z97 Extreme 4 / 3.1
GA-Z170M-D3H
GA-X99-SOC Force; 
GA-Z97X-Gaming
GA-P75-D3P 


#291 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 22 April 2019 - 08:46 PM

I just looked at Bios from GA-Z170-HD3.

There is NVMEINT13,

so to boot nvme legacy XP SP3

should work

Dietmar



#292 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 28 April 2019 - 11:12 AM

I finnaly made XP booting form NVME.

 

 Performance is half of Win7 performance i dunno why, maybe driver (1.3 community edition linked above) is not very good for Adata NVME:

https://www.dropbox....ata-XP.PNG?dl=0

 

 I had a bit problem to make it bootable, because i didnt just copied whole HDD to NVME through AOMIE free version, because on source disc where more parttions and it was too big to make a clone and Windows 98 partition would be bootable from NVME. So i copied only XP partition, after it bios wasnt able to find any boot loader on NVME, i tried Paragon 2012 which is best for XP booting fixing - but its not supporting NVME, i tried Paragon 2015 which is able to see NVME, boot fixing was done but again not bootable disc. So i used old good Grub (boot repair after partition copy to fix MBR - https://help.ubuntu....ity/Boot-Repair ) - through copy of my Linux partition and after i used Boyans VisualBCD / Dual boot repair - i had to use version 0.9 - newer not supports XP well:

https://www.boyans.n...dVisualBCD.html

 

 And now its working, so im the XP NVME booting club.

 

 Now i will transfer all Windows 7 partition and most funny par Android x86 one, its able to boot from M.2 Sata, so we will see if NVME is will work too.

 

 Now i what to make same thing working for Gigabyte z370 aorus ultra gaming and Asrock Z97 Extreme 4 / 3.1 if you can check if INT 13 is here.

 

And after i what to try X58 boot, some people reporting that its working at least on some MBs for Windows 7/10 with Legacy bios NVME like Samsung 950, so i want to try my - Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5, it has PCI-E gen 2 so max speed would be around 1500 MB/s.

 

 I wonder if Samsung 951 has leagy bios or not? 950 seems to be hardly to get in these days.


Edited by ruthan, 28 April 2019 - 11:20 AM.


#293 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 28 April 2019 - 03:53 PM

Android X86 and Windows 7 are working fine too.



#294 Blackcrack

Blackcrack

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 408 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 29 April 2019 - 10:42 AM

Hi Didi,

 

(sorry for my german but in german is more understandable for Diedmar :) )

 

schönen guten Morgen, Didi könntest Du da ein Deutsches readmefile machen wie und weshalb

das ganze besser funtioniert als die Standart treiber und wie das ganze zu benutzen iss..

Das wäre doch sicher auch was für Reactos ? Wenn das ganze unter GPL2 währe, könnte man das doch einbinden ?

So wie ich das ganze verfolgt hab ist das ein sata Treiber, der das ganze bschleuningt im Datentransfer von Festplatte zu System... oder ?

lad doch mal ne actuelle build runter und probiers in Reactos aus in vbox, warum ich nicht, Du hast da mehr erfahrung, weil wenn

das ganze funtioniert, könnte das doch in reactos mit einfließen..

https://reactos.org/getbuilds/

 

liebe Grüße

Blacky



#295 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 29 April 2019 - 08:04 PM

@ruthan

Take a look, if your PCI-e slot (or M.2) with the nvme disk on the Gibabyte 170 board has

x4 free lines. If not, speed is reduced (to half).

This happens to me also on brandnew motherboards,

because only 16 lines max at all for PCI-e from CPU. Some mainboards reduce this to <16 free Pci-e lines.

Remember, the Sabertooth 79 has 40(!) lines.

Strange for me, because this makes CPU >=170 slow to

the world outside. Only the CPU with for example i7980 have more free Pci-e lines.

 

Gigabyte z370 aorus ultra gaming BIOS F14 has NvmeINT13,

Asrock Z97 Extreme 4/3.1 Bios 5.8 has also NvmeINT13 support.

 

Only the Samsung 950 pro has own, legacy Bios.

It works for Win7 32 bit with mbr, I tested it, but on most boards not for to boot legacy XP.

You get an interesting crash, like snowfall.

Until now, from about 10 mainboards I tested,

only the Asus Apex X can work together with the Bios from 950 pro for XP legacy boot,

Dietmar



#296 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 29 April 2019 - 09:36 PM

@Dietmar

x4 it make no sense, because if look at Windows 7 results its x2 times faster. Its possible that XP driver for MB could use only PCI-E gen2 instead of gen3 for Win7?

 

Look at this - in Win 7 - is speed - 2 GB/s - as no system disk

https://www.dropbox..../Adata.png?dl=0

 

In Win7 as system disk - 1.6 GB/s
https://www.dropbox.....08.19.jpg?dl=0

 

  Or can how partition is made - size of blocks such difference? I can test if performance of XP partition in Win7 is the same or not.. I also dont fully understand, how its possible that there is such difference between system and not system partition.. its strange, im not aware some big disk usage during testing by other application, but these NVME caches are magic. I read in some review etc that also ammount of free space has some impact.. so maybe at the start of testing disc was empty and now its not. I would be suprised if these Adata discs would have some flaws..

 

MBs - ok, thanks.

 

951 - ok.

 

X58 - Win 7 x64 would be also ok? What has Apex X so special taht is able to boot XP with legacy? Are able to recognize, what MB feature is needed like INT 13 etc?


Edited by ruthan, 29 April 2019 - 09:43 PM.


#297 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 29 April 2019 - 09:45 PM

I do not know,

what is special in this Asus Apex X Bios.

I only noticed, that it has a lot of other advantages also.

Here, it is the work together with the Oprom Bios of the 950 pro under XP,

Dietmar

 

PS: Win7 64 I have not tested on mbr with 950 pro.  I think it will work on any compi.

The nvme 1.3 driver from Kai is faster than any other nvme driver, which I tested, on any OS.



#298 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 01 May 2019 - 07:37 PM

Today I make some fun with the new

icy box ib-1817m-c31.

You can put an nvme M.2 device

in it, no matter what size, how many GByte.

I put an Samsung 960 pro 1 TB in it.

Now it is like an ultrafast, big USB :)  stick

in XP SP3. Getting warm.

Dont forget to pull up BOTH plastic folies

from the heatpad.

But I noticed also some not nice things:

You need a very good USB 3.2 cable,

to make this rate come true.

And, your USB 3.2 slot needs to be able

to give a lot of power.

On the website from icy I do not found any information

about powerconsumption.

Now I know why. The icy fails on asrock fatal1ty z370 gaming k6

because not enough power. It connects, disconnect again and again

and later I have problems to start the motherboard again,

I think, because Bios cries about too much power need via USB 3.2.

Also on my compi for daylie work (X58 :) )

with a USB 3.0 Pci-e slot card,

the icy shows 0.1 Mb/s, because of not enough power.

I try it also with an USB hub with external power, did not change situation

Dietmar

 

PS: Photo is from EVGA z390 dark motherboard,

it gives enough power for the nvme disk in the icy case.

 

EDIT: Powerconsumption depends very much on

the used nvme SSD. Its range is from  <0.5Watt  -  >10 Watt.

b10080-1556739296.jpg



#299 Dietmar

Dietmar

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 235 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 02 May 2019 - 11:45 PM

Now I put the Optane 32 GB

in the icy case

and do USB boot with it

on the Asrock motherboard.

This is possible, because

this Optane needs less than 2 Watt.

This XP is fast, you cant imagine

Dietmar

 

PS: USB boot from nvme device :cheerleader: :cheerleader: :cheerleader:

 

5e1d98-1556840468.jpg



#300 ruthan

ruthan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 03 May 2019 - 12:00 PM

Dietmar, how ended you X79 experiments - still no go?

Im thinkit about test it with GA-X79-UP4..






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users