Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

grub4dos with windows 10 installer

grub4dos windows

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 29 March 2018 - 05:55 PM

Hi there, 

 

I would like to have an installer of my windows 10 ISO, all good so far, but when it goes to install I got this https://bit.ly/2GlyDhR. I have set all files like this: 

 

menu.lst
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /bootmgr || find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ntldr || rootnoverify (hd0) && chainloader +1 && boot
map () (hd0) && map (hd0) () && map --rehook
find --set-root --devices=h /bootmgr || find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ntldr
chainloader /bootmgr || chainloader /ntldr
 
liveos.lst
title  3) Windows 10 \n Live OS based on Windows For Preinstallation Environment
map /path/path/Win10.iso(0xff)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader (0xff)/bootmgr
boot
 
Thanks in advance

Edited by Cyrowll, 29 March 2018 - 05:56 PM.


#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6739 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 29 March 2018 - 05:58 PM

Windows Setup is trying to find \Sources\install.wim  (or install.esd), but it is inside the ISO file on the USB drive, so it cannot find it.

 

Use a multiboot solution like WinSetupFromUSB or Easy2Boot.



#3 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14291 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 29 March 2018 - 07:24 PM

Use a multiboot solution like WinSetupFromUSB or Easy2Boot.

Maybe, or maybe the OP would like to understand how to do the same as those (BTW nice) tools do.

 

That is the same error found (and solved) for windows 7:

http://reboot.pro/to...required-cddvd/

 

basically the ISO needs to be mounted by *some virtual disk driver*, Steve6375 at the time wrote a few good tutorials (and some later ones):

 

The original (and now superseded)

http://www.rmprepusb...utorials/winiso

 

The later one that has provisions for Windows 10:

http://www.rmprepusb...ials/firawiniso

 

:duff:

Wonko



#4 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 30 March 2018 - 01:41 PM

Maybe, or maybe the OP would like to understand how to do the same as those (BTW nice) tools do.

 

That is the same error found (and solved) for windows 7:

http://reboot.pro/to...required-cddvd/

 

basically the ISO needs to be mounted by *some virtual disk driver*, Steve6375 at the time wrote a few good tutorials (and some later ones):

 

The original (and now superseded)

http://www.rmprepusb...utorials/winiso

 

The later one that has provisions for Windows 10:

http://www.rmprepusb...ials/firawiniso

 

:duff:

Wonko

hi there,

 

I have try WinSetupFromUSB and it work great. I tested it in a diferent USB drive, just to see how things work, but I have all the work done in my "main" USB drive. What I have seeing all the files can be move to another USB drive. lets think I whant to move to a diferent folder in my "main" USB drive, like this, rep/images/win and put all the files from WinSetupFromUSB in the win folder. Problem is I have tried for hours to put this working in my "main" menu.lst as it in the original one, but nothing :( :( . Now i need some help...if this is can be possible, can someone help me?

 

WinSetupFromUSB files:

shifthd.bat  https://pastebin.com/2bf4gHuc menu.lst  https://pastebin.com/EfZzc23X  usb_drive_root order https://imgur.com/a/yXmI9

 

Cheers


Edited by Cyrowll, 30 March 2018 - 01:43 PM.


#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14291 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 March 2018 - 02:48 PM

I am not sure to understand. :unsure:

 

grub4dos by default loads a minimal "embedded" manu.lst, in it there are commands that look for the "real" menu.lst on the disk drives.

 

The "real" menu.lst is looked for in root and in two other folders, \boot\grub\ and \grub\ (on each drive until a first instance is found) i.e.:

	find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /menu.lst && configfile /menu.lst
	find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /boot/grub/menu.lst && configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst
	find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /grub/menu.lst && configfile /grub/menu.lst

the root is established on the root of the drive where the menu.lst is found.

 

If you want to move the menu.lst to some other folder/subfolder you will need to edit the embedded menu.lst. otherwise, if the menu.lst remains in root and given that the menu.lst you posted is found, it will look for shifthd.bat (which should NOT have a .bat extension, but rather a .g4b one, as a side note) in the same drive root where menu.lst has been found, if you want to move it to \rep\images\win then you need to edit the lines in menu.lst *like* 

ls /shifthd.bat > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf /shifthd.bat

/shifthd.bat

to:

ls /rep/images/win/shifthd.bat > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf /rep/images/win/shifthd.bat


/rep/images/win/shifthd.bat

of course you have to do this for each file that is looked for or loaded in menu.lst and that right now are in the same drive root as menu.lst.

 

As well since shifthd.bat looks for /usbdrive.tag, if you want not to have a file /usbdrive.tag in the root of the drive where menu.lst is, you will need to correct the path accordingly.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#6 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 30 March 2018 - 03:57 PM

I am not sure to understand. :unsure:

 

grub4dos by default loads a minimal "embedded" manu.lst, in it there are commands that look for the "real" menu.lst on the disk drives.

 

The "real" menu.lst is looked for in root and in two other folders, \boot\grub\ and \grub\ (on each drive until a first instance is found) i.e.:

	find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /menu.lst && configfile /menu.lst
	find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /boot/grub/menu.lst && configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst
	find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /grub/menu.lst && configfile /grub/menu.lst

the root is established on the root of the drive where the menu.lst is found.

 

If you want to move the menu.lst to some other folder/subfolder you will need to edit the embedded menu.lst. otherwise, if the menu.lst remains in root and given that the menu.lst you posted is found, it will look for shifthd.bat (which should NOT have a .bat extension, but rather a .g4b one, as a side note) in the same drive root where menu.lst has been found, if you want to move it to \rep\images\win then you need to edit the lines in menu.lst *like* 

ls /shifthd.bat > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf /shifthd.bat

/shifthd.bat

to:

ls /rep/images/win/shifthd.bat > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf /rep/images/win/shifthd.bat


/rep/images/win/shifthd.bat

of course you have to do this for each file that is looked for or loaded in menu.lst and that right now are in the same drive root as menu.lst.

 

As well since shifthd.bat looks for /usbdrive.tag, if you want not to have a file /usbdrive.tag in the root of the drive where menu.lst is, you will need to correct the path accordingly.

 

:duff:

Wonko

let me try to explain me better, this is https://imgur.com/a/MzrhVmy "hide" area in my usb drive of 8mb, where i put my files and this is my usb drive root: https://imgur.com/a/VezCj  https://imgur.com/a/wyrN2

I'm not sure but i think I have try the way you tel me but didn't work.

sorry im very noobie on this, what i have done so far is with the help of all of you.


Edited by Cyrowll, 30 March 2018 - 04:16 PM.


#7 Cyrowll

Cyrowll

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 30 March 2018 - 05:11 PM

the only progress so far: 

 

title  6) win10 \n 
map --unhook
map --unmap=0:0xff && map --rehook
savedefault +1
ls /RepairKit/images/win/shifthd.bat > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf /RepairKit/images/win/shifthd.bat
/RepairKit/images/win/shifthd.bat
root (hd%RDSK%,0) 
chainloader /RepairKit/images/win/bootmgr
boot
 
 
my guess is shifthd.bat is not been load...

Edited by Cyrowll, 30 March 2018 - 05:16 PM.


#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14291 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 March 2018 - 07:42 PM

 

the only progress so far: 

 

title  6) win10 \n 
map --unhook
map --unmap=0:0xff && map --rehook
savedefault +1
ls /RepairKit/images/win/shifthd.bat > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf /RepairKit/images/win/shifthd.bat
/RepairKit/images/win/shifthd.bat
root (hd%RDSK%,0) 
chainloader /RepairKit/images/win/bootmgr
boot
 
 
my guess is shifthd.bat is not been load...

 

Well, you cannot move bootmgr (actually you can) but you cannot move the \boot\BCD (which most probably you actually moved also)

 

If you think that shiftd.bat is not loaded, add at the beginning of it:

pause --wait=15 Hi, I am shiftd.bat, I should be called shiftd.g4d or however NOT .bat, but I am loaded

Depending on a number of factors you could use (as opposed to the "flat" \bootmgr and \boot\BCD) a so-called "Vista boot floppy" image containg them, mapping the image in grub4dos to a floppy.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#9 brookedow

brookedow
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 June 2018 - 05:19 PM

1. Backup USB

 

2. Download Windows 10 Install x86 x64 ISO:  MCT

 

3. Save Windows_10_Install.iso to USB E:\ISOS\ 

 

4. Extract Windows_10_Install.iso to USB root E:\

 

5. GRUB4DOS Menu:

 

title Windows 10 Install x86 x64

find --set-root /isos/windows_10_install.iso

map /isos/windows_10_Install.iso (hd32)

map --hook

chainloader /bootmgr

 

title Boot From Hard Drive\USB Windows (hd0,0)\n

find -set-root --ignore=floppies --ignore-cd /bootmgr || find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ntldr || rootnoverify (hd0) && chainloader +1 && boot

map () (hd0) && map (hd0) () && map --rehook

find --set-root --devices=h /bootmgr || find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ntldr

chainloader /bootmgr || chainloader /ntldr

 

 

 

Copy \Windows folder from USB Backup > to USB root E:\Windows

 

Start > Search > Type: cmd > Right Click Run as Admin > Type: bcdboot e:\windows > Enter

and: Type: e: > Enter > Type: bcdboot e:\windows > Enter

 

Type: chkdsk e: /f /r > Enter > Wait > Restart

 

GRUB4DOS:

 

Windows 10 Install ISO should work

 

Windows boot from HDD\USB should work and have a boot menu for Windows install & Windows USB OS

 

E:=USB?



#10 Rootman

Rootman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 279 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted 12 June 2018 - 09:53 PM

I use Easy2Boot to do this all the time, I create an imgPTN file from the ISO and boot to it directly, it works like a charm and is very quick and I have multiple ISO files for various Windows OSs on the same USB drive. 



#11 alacran

alacran

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 632 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 12 June 2018 - 10:38 PM

Faster and better way as you have options to add drivers folder and $OEM$ folder without modifiying your ISO and also  some good tricks if you want, is just booting from a WinPE and run WinNTSetup this excelent tool also allow you to use install.esd compressed and let you make compact installs (available from Win7 to win10), UEFI or MBR, it is realy a Windows Universal installer usefull to install from the good old XP up to Win10, of course you may use wimlib-imagex with it if you want too.

 

alacran







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: grub4dos, windows

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users