Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Smallest WinPE with networking support

networking winpe lightweight

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 videoguy

videoguy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 November 2017 - 07:28 PM

I am looking for a way to create smallest possible winpe bootable wim with networking support.

This is for Win10 64 bit systems. I have a folder with network drivers for the set of laptops that I want to support with this winpe.

 

Thanks



#2 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2280 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 11 November 2017 - 11:48 AM

Define small?

My Winpe size is around 200 Mb.

 

The host windows version dot not matter much I guess.

More important is the windows PE version you want to use.

Also is it important for you to generate a winpe x64? if yes, your winpe will be bigger.



#3 videoguy

videoguy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 November 2017 - 03:17 PM

Looking for something less than 100MB for Win10 64Bit. I am not looking for any GUI shell or tools.



#4 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2280 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 11 November 2017 - 03:38 PM

Less than 100mb will be tough (thus possible).

You can look at minixp, micrope, bartpe projects for instance.

Note that these will be based on older platforms (xp mostly).

 

But for that size, you will be missing lots of features, libraries, etc.

 

Why such a small size : what is limiting you?



#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14222 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 November 2017 - 02:29 PM

Looking for something less than 100MB for Win10 64Bit. I am not looking for any GUI shell or tools.

 

Yeah, sure, and possibly it should also do some nice (black, strong) coffee.

 

You can look at MistyPE:

http://mistyprojects...tyPE/index.html

but I strongly doubt that you can fit a 64 bit build, even minimal-minimal within 100 Mb :unsure:, maybe using some compression tricks...

 

@erwan.l

 

Maybe you used thus instead of though? :dubbio:

 

:duff:

Wonko



#6 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2280 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 12 November 2017 - 03:21 PM

@erwan.l

 

Maybe you used thus instead of though? :dubbio:

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

correct : I meant though/although also "bien que" in french or "anche se" in italian :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users