Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Windows 10 bootmgr no longer reading boot.ini


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 22 May 2017 - 10:33 PM

Hello! I've been testing the new bootmgr versions from Windows 10 images, Multiple Editions and Enterprise. The bootmgr from multi editions and enterprise have different checksums, and suprisingly none of them support boot.ini. The last known working edition is from windows 8.1.

 

Here's my issue of which i'd appreciate your guidance:

My USB drive is setup as: BOOTMGR -> BOOT.INI -> GRUB4DOS/POP

 

Now, In order for my VHDs to boot, I need bootmgr from windows 10. If I have bootmgr from 10, I no longer have boot.ini, and thus loose grub4dos and plop.

 

 

What could I do to have the best compatibility with VHDs and boot.ini?

Thank you!



#2 DarknessAngel

DarknessAngel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    South Korea

Posted 23 May 2017 - 08:46 AM

You can boot other bootloader from 'bootmgr' by '.mbr' file


  • Alexander Ceed likes this

#3 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 23 May 2017 - 10:01 AM

You can boot other bootloader from 'bootmgr' by '.mbr' file

So, bootmgr could boot grldr.mbr ? Or just rename grldr to grldr.mbr?



#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13574 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 May 2017 - 11:03 AM

Have you set the "advanced boot options"?

https://www.tenforum...ndows-10-a.html

 

:duff:

Wonko


  • Alexander Ceed likes this

#5 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6597 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 May 2017 - 11:13 AM

You can boot via BCD to grldr

http://www.rmprepusb...os_from_bootmgr


  • Alexander Ceed likes this

#6 alacran

alacran

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 473 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 23 May 2017 - 06:25 PM

@ Alexander Ceed

 

Just add grldr.mbr on same partition as bootmanager and using BootIce create a new BCD entry to load grldr.mbr, then assuming you already have grldr and menu.lst, thats all, (But you better update to a newer version).

Steve6375 recommended grub4dos-0.4.6a-2017-05-15 on this post:

http://reboot.pro/to...im/#entry203580

 

grub4dos downloads: http://grub4dos.chen...ries/downloads/


  • Alexander Ceed likes this

#7 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 24 May 2017 - 02:21 PM

Thank you!



#8 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 24 May 2017 - 06:03 PM

One more thing guys. The Windows 10 bootmgr no longer sees my VHDs now. I have one Windows 10 VHD and is not seeing the entry. All other entries are displayed expect this.

 

Here's a picture in bootice of the entry:

http://h.dropcanvas....5-24_210034.png



#9 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6597 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 May 2017 - 06:37 PM

You need to specify the disk, partition and path to VHD

 

also you have winloade.exe - is it MBR booting and MBR BCD or UEFI BCD???



#10 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 24 May 2017 - 06:47 PM

It's MBR boot, and MBR bcd. I double checked this. But the path is relative, it's on the same drive as bootmgr. On windows 8.1 this config works, as seen in the picture.



#11 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6597 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 May 2017 - 07:17 PM

Same partition as bootmgr?? Was VHD in root last time?



#12 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 24 May 2017 - 09:00 PM

Let me try to explain this another way: the config shown in the picture, works for bootmgr of Windows 8.1, exactly as it is. In windows 10 bootmgr it doesn't work and I don't know why.



#13 alacran

alacran

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 473 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 24 May 2017 - 09:03 PM

@ Alexander Ceed

 

Just diferent code on Bootmanger and how it reads BCD (MS calls it improvement, not me).

 

Also you better check your partition lay out, 10 may have created new partitions at the very beginning of disk.

 

Then follow steve6375 advice:

 

You need to specify the disk, partition and path to VHD

 

This should work fine.

 

alacran



#14 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 24 May 2017 - 09:25 PM

They changed something in bootmgr 10 that just isn't working with old bcd configs.

I'm using an HDD with two partitions, one active and bootable of 137GB NTFS and the other for data, also NTFS.

The disk MBR/PBR codes are as follows:

http://h.dropcanvas.com/emzwx/disk.png

http://h.dropcanvas....x/partition.png

 

I don't get it. Only the vhd entries are not listed, all the others like grub4dos or WIM are listed and working.



#15 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6597 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 May 2017 - 09:55 PM

Maybe a problem with BootIce? Can you use BCDEdit to add in the VHD using Locate?



#16 nguyentu

nguyentu

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 24 May 2017 - 11:17 PM

It looks like the VHD's menus will not show up in Legacy BIOS mode. Try UEFI. This also happened to me.


#17 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 24 May 2017 - 11:39 PM

I was using an older version of bootice and that's why it didn't work. However, now it shows the entry but outputs the error 0xc00000bb BCD cannot find a required file.



#18 nguyentu

nguyentu

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 25 May 2017 - 12:44 AM

I use the bcdedit command but nothing changes, the menus are only visible on UEFI mode.


#19 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 352 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 25 May 2017 - 02:35 AM

I was using an older version of bootice and that's why it didn't work. However, now it shows the entry but outputs the error 0xc00000bb BCD cannot find a required file.

Try latest version from pauly's site and that should work as expected...

 

http://www.ipauly.co.../11/15/bootice/



#20 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 25 May 2017 - 10:05 AM

I think the latest one is 1.3.4, from here http://bbs.wuyou.net...hread&tid=57675



#21 Alexander Ceed

Alexander Ceed

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 205 posts

Posted 25 May 2017 - 11:46 AM

Found the issue. I spent 6 hours for this crap :angry: . Apparently, the DVD folders for boot and EFI are not the same as the ones from a real installation of windows. Thus, I was missing the file bootvhd.dll and causded all VHD entries to be disabled. C:\windows\system32\boot did not help either. There are different timestamps and hashes on them.

Now everything works.



#22 nguyentu

nguyentu

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 25 May 2017 - 11:53 AM

Where did you get and put bootvhd.dll?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users