Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Format Bitlocker HDD


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 guimenez

guimenez

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 22 May 2017 - 02:50 PM

Hi,

my sister encripted her hdd without knowing what was doing.

Now Windows can't start and i can't format, delete or do anything.

I start Windows 10 from USB (UEFI) but i can't remove partitions or delete partitions.

I've tried wiith Gparted and is showing me access denied.

If i try to format the disk from Windows setup i'm getting "0x80070057" error.

Using diskpart gives me can't format disk even with override option.

In the BIOS i've disabled the TPM.

Anyone know what can i do more?

Thanks



#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6559 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 May 2017 - 05:37 PM

Usually you need to use Diskpart and select the drive and then use CLEAN.

Then use CONVERT MBR  to remove any GPT partition table.



#3 Zoso_The_Internet_Tard

Zoso_The_Internet_Tard

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 525 posts
  • Interests:An investigation is underway to determine whether Trump has any ties to America.

Posted 22 May 2017 - 06:37 PM

dd or any zero-filling tool should be able to do this just fine. They don't give a shit about BitLocker. You don't even have to let it finish, less than a minute should be way more than sufficient to obliterate the protective MBR/MBR, partition table, and GPT primary header. Partitions will most likely still be there, but unrecognizable. Then Windows should be able to install to the disk. You can do the same with diskpart's "clean all" , maybe combined with the override parameter. This will fully format the entire disk (probably overkill in your case), so be sure to select the right disk.

Edit: I don't recommend zeroing out the entire drive or using "clean all" if the disk is an SSD, you're just unnecessarily using up far more write cycles than needed.

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13486 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 May 2017 - 07:32 PM

Just for the record, only wiping the first few sectors of a disk may be not enough with UEFI/GPT (of course this may depend on the actual UEFI/EFI implementation).

 

One of the few things that GPT made "right" is the duplication of all partitioning data at the end of the disk, for all we know this (or that) UEFI implementation may well - if it finds the primary table 00ed out - attempt to restore it from the secondary one (I doubt that such firmware actually exists, but you never know).

 

A good idea is to 00 just the first (say) 100 sectors and if this is not enough, also the last 100 sectors of the disk (if it is GPT).

 

:duff:

Wonko



#5 guimenez

guimenez

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 22 May 2017 - 08:19 PM

Thanks for the reply.

I've try the diskpart, using the clean and then the convert MBR.

It says everything ok, but after exit and opening diskpart again it starts all over.

The main problem, it's that is a tablet so i can't take the SSD to another PC without TPM protection.

I disable it on the BIOS but it doesn't want to clear the disk :(

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20170522_194626.jpg
  • IMG_20170522_195206.jpg


#6 Zoso_The_Internet_Tard

Zoso_The_Internet_Tard

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 525 posts
  • Interests:An investigation is underway to determine whether Trump has any ties to America.

Posted 22 May 2017 - 08:48 PM

I don't see the issue. The drive should now be ready to install to. Try doing a full zero-fill of the entire drive, that will erase any trace of BitLocker. I've never used BL but my laptop does have a TPM module, which I don't use since I'm convinced they're insecure. Go to the BIOS, reset to optimal defaults, then see if the issue. Check the TPM settings too.

#7 guimenez

guimenez

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 22 May 2017 - 09:30 PM

I don't see the issue. The drive should now be ready to install to. Try doing a full zero-fill of the entire drive, that will erase any trace of BitLocker. I've never used BL but my laptop does have a TPM module, which I don't use since I'm convinced they're insecure. Go to the BIOS, reset to optimal defaults, then see if the issue. Check the TPM settings too.

Do you know any program that can fill with zero but that can be run in UEFI mode? this Tablet doesn't have support for CSM.

I reset the BIOS to defaults and disable TPM but it's still the same.

Can't remove the partitions.

Diskpart says cleaned but exiting and opening again, all the partitions are still there :(



#8 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6559 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 May 2017 - 09:40 PM

What are the two disk shown by Diskpart?

What is the Make/Model of the Tablet?

If linux\gparted cannot access it, then it sounds like a BIOS configuration issue or the disk is protected in some way.

Are you sure that it was Bitlocker that was run on it? 



#9 Zoso_The_Internet_Tard

Zoso_The_Internet_Tard

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 525 posts
  • Interests:An investigation is underway to determine whether Trump has any ties to America.

Posted 22 May 2017 - 09:40 PM

Personally I just run the free version of Jetico's BCWipe. It can be booted as an ISO, directly from disc, or from USB. The free version is a trial, it allows one-pass wiping. Should be enough. Then you can ditch it if you no longer need it.


  • guimenez likes this

#10 guimenez

guimenez

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 22 May 2017 - 09:44 PM

What are the two disk shown by Diskpart?

What is the Make/Model of the Tablet?

If linux\gparted cannot access it, then it sounds like a BIOS configuration issue or the disk is protected in some way.

Are you sure that it was Bitlocker that was run on it? 

I'm running Windows 10 setup from usb, disk 0 is the ssd and disk 1 is USB.

The model is the Asus Switch 10.

If i try to format the disk with windows setup, it says that is protected with bitlocker



#11 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6559 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 May 2017 - 09:51 PM

So it is solid-state HDD.

I would take the 'bitlocker' report with a pinch of salt - other than it saying 'protected with Bitlocker' what else makes you think it has been encrypted with BitLocker (just trying to figure out what may have happened to the solid-state HDD...)



#12 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6559 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 May 2017 - 10:03 PM

The manual talks about a Acer disk-to-disk recovery BIOS setting - maybe this is causing the problem?



#13 guimenez

guimenez

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 22 May 2017 - 10:09 PM

The manual talks about a Acer disk-to-disk recovery BIOS setting - maybe this is causing the problem?

Thanks for the help.

I will try create an Acer Disk recovery, maybe it will work :D

I will try it out and the post here the results.

Thank you



#14 guimenez

guimenez

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 22 May 2017 - 10:46 PM

The acer is asking for serial number, and i put mine and says doesn't exist, so i can't download the software :(

I've attached an image of the bitlocker info.

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20170522_230650.jpg


#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13486 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 May 2017 - 11:06 AM

Hmmm:

 

What are the two disk shown by Diskpart?

 

 

I'm running Windows 10 setup from usb, disk 0 is the ssd and disk 1 is USB.

The first disk (disk 0) may well be the SSD, be 58 Gb in size and report 0 bytes free (for *whatever* reasons).

But the fact that is shows 0 Gb free is not "normal" at all, it seems like there is an issue in accessing it.

It sounds a lot like the SSD having gone in "read only mode". :w00t: :ph34r:

 

BTW, are you sure-sure that the second disk (disk 1) is actually the USB, with 58 Gb in size (same as disk 0)? (and filled up to the brim)? :unsure:

 

Which EXACT Switch 10 model is it?

Where (EXACTLY) did you attempt to enter the serial and got told it doesn't exist?

 

:duff:

Wonko



#16 guimenez

guimenez

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 4 weeks ago

Hmmm:

 

 

 

The first disk (disk 0) may well be the SSD, be 58 Gb in size and report 0 bytes free (for *whatever* reasons).

But the fact that is shows 0 Gb free is not "normal" at all, it seems like there is an issue in accessing it.

It sounds a lot like the SSD having gone in "read only mode". :w00t: :ph34r:

 

BTW, are you sure-sure that the second disk (disk 1) is actually the USB, with 58 Gb in size (same as disk 0)? (and filled up to the brim)? :unsure:

 

Which EXACT Switch 10 model is it?

Where (EXACTLY) did you attempt to enter the serial and got told it doesn't exist?

 

:duff:

Wonko

Sorry i made a big mistake.

I'm sleeping only 3h at night because my new child :D

The Switch 10 is mine.

The one i'm repairing (from my sister) is the ASUS TA110.

My USB Flash drive that as WinPE have 64GB like the internal SSD, but internal is disk 0 and my usb is disk 1.

I even mount recovery partition and copy the boot.wim from there to my winpe and start booting and i'm having the error attached.

Thanks 

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20170524_112837.jpg


#17 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13486 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 4 weeks ago

Good, though still the disk being seen as having 0 bytes free sounds more like an actual SSD controller issue than anything connected to BitLocker. :unsure:

And seemingly that error 99 means a device failing to intiialize:
https://www.eightfor...sus-s400ca.html

 

:duff:

Wonko


  • guimenez likes this

#18 guimenez

guimenez

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 4 weeks ago

Good, though still the disk being seen as having 0 bytes free sounds more like an actual SSD controller issue than anything connected to BitLocker. :unsure:
And seemingly that error 99 means a device failing to intiialize:
https://www.eightfor...sus-s400ca.html
 
:duff:
Wonko


Thank you for all the help.
I think the SSD it's bad too.
I will take to Asus.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users