Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Chainload KNOPPIX isolinux.cfg from Grub4dos menu.lst

grub4dos multiboot

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 20 March 2017 - 06:23 PM

Dear All,

I created a multiboot USB as following;

  • First partition contains Gandalf's Win PE
  • Second partition contains Win7 Pro SP1 installer
  • Third partition contains syslinux bootloader, where I installed multiple linux distros using YUMI. One of the distro is KNOPPIX.

Things work fine. I am able to chainload 3rd partition, which will load YUMI menu from which I can navigate to all linux distros.

I'm doing some r&d to load everything through Grub4dos menu itself instead of going through YUMI menu. KNOPPIX got installed in (hd0,3)/multiboot/ KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN /. My every attempt to translate  (hd0,3)/multiboot/ KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN /boot/isolinux/isolinux.cfg failed so far. Below menu.lst entry will give you a fair idea what all I tried so far.

title 3.1 Boot Knoppix v7.6 - TEST\n Run KNOPPIX, a Live Linux system for System Administrators
#map (hd0,2)/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN/boot/isolinux/isolinux.bin (hd32)
#map (hd0,2)/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN/boot/isolinux/isolinux.cfg (hd32)
#map --hook
root (hd0,2)/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN
kernel /boot/isolinux/linux64 knoppix_dir=/KNOPPIX lang=en apm=power-off nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1
initrd /boot/isolinux/minirt.gz
#chainloader (hd32)
boot

I will see if I can upload isolinux.cfg of KNOPPIX, which YUMI menu system is calling to launch KNOPPIX and works well. I would like to load it through Grub4dos itself, if possible.

 

Thanks.



#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6641 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 20 March 2017 - 06:28 PM

Instead of posting the grub4dos menu which doesn't work, why don't you post the isolinux.cfg file or syslinux.cfg file which does work that is used by YUMI?

If you use YUMI to get to the menu, can you press TAB (if syslinux) or e (if grub4dos) to see the actual menu lines?



#3 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 20 March 2017 - 06:52 PM

Sure, I was looking for file attachment option. Couldn't upload a file. So, sharing a link to zip file, which contain all related .cfg files, which YUMI is using for menu navigation as well as isolinux.cfg file used for launching KNOPPIX

 

https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing

 

Thank you


Edited by Abdul Gafoor, 20 March 2017 - 06:52 PM.


#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6641 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 20 March 2017 - 06:57 PM

Well the isolinux.cfg entry is

LABEL knoppix
KERNEL linux
APPEND noprompt knoppix_dir=/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN/KNOPPIX lang=en apm=power-off initrd=minirt.gz nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1

So I would say you need to change the knoppix-dir= entry in your grub4dos menu to

knoppix-dir=/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN/KNOPPIX

  • Abdul Gafoor likes this

#5 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 20 March 2017 - 07:08 PM

I already tried that Steve.

 

But later changed to have common path prefix (/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN)in root entry itself.



#6 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6641 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 20 March 2017 - 07:35 PM

I suspect that syslinux sets the current device whereas grub4dos does not.

You need to specify the full path - using root does not affect the path at the second boot stage.

 

I think you will need to specify the partition somehow in grub4dos.

 

I am not sure if knoppix_dir supports UUID, but try

title 3.1 Boot Knoppix v7.6 - TEST\n Run KNOPPIX, a Live Linux system for System Administrators
uuid (hd0,2) > nul
set UUID=%?%
root (hd0,2)/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN
kernel /boot/isolinux/linux64 knoppix_dir=/dev/disk/by-uuid/%UUID%/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN/KNOPPIX lang=en apm=power-off nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1
initrd /boot/isolinux/minirt.gz
boot

You could also maybe try adding  root=UUID=%UUID%

 

or maybe fromhd=/dev/disk/by-uuid/%UUID%


Edited by steve6375, 20 March 2017 - 08:02 PM.


#7 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 20 March 2017 - 08:05 PM

Did as you suggested, but same result. Copying here the screenshot

  1. https://drive.google...ktxVDdxV0E/view
  2. https://drive.google...UoybHNMdVE/view

This is the same result I got when tried with menu entry I pasted first.

 

You could be right, at second boot stage required files couldn't be found.



#8 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 20 March 2017 - 08:12 PM

Steve, thanks for the idea. It never occurred to me that there is a second stage. When you said, I slightly modified my original menu entry and it's working now. Here is the final menu entry

title 3.1 Boot Knoppix v7.6 - TEST\n Run KNOPPIX, a Live Linux system for System Administrators
root (hd0,2)/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN/boot/isolinux
kernel /linux knoppix_dir=/multiboot/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN/KNOPPIX lang=en apm=power-off nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1
initrd /minirt.gz
boot


#9 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6641 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 20 March 2017 - 08:24 PM

That's what I first suggested! <_<

 

Most linux's boot in two stages.

 

Stage 1 - kernel is loaded into memory and executed (and usually initial ram drive is also loaded into memory)

Stage 2 - kernel runs in protected mode uses it's own drivers to access devices and mount partitions and looks for rest of files it needs (e.g. squashfs. KNOPPIX, etc.)

 

So at the second stage, all 'loops' and BIOS mapping, current device and path, etc. is lost. So the cheat codes need to indicate where it should look..


  • Abdul Gafoor likes this

#10 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 20 March 2017 - 08:29 PM

Oh! I see that now. :) My bad, I didn't get your point earlier.

 

Thanks again...



#11 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 22 March 2017 - 06:42 PM

Hello Steve,

 

Need one more help. I copied Offline NT Password & Registry Editor as well using YUMI. Following is the isolinux.cfg file for it, which is called by YUMI

#serial 0 19200
default boot
display boot.msg
timeout 250
prompt 1
label boot
  kernel vmlinuz

append rw vga=1 initrd=initrd.cgz,scsi.cgz loglevel=1
#console=ttyS0

Below is menu entry in menu.lst file

title 3. Offline NT Password & Registry Editor\nA utility to reset the password of any user that has a valid local account on your Windows system
root (hd0,2)/multiboot/usb140201
kernel /vmlinuz rw vga=1 loglevel=1
initrd /initrd.cgz
initrd /scsi.cgz
boot

When went through YUMI, it works. But when going through Grub4dos menu.lst entry, I get following error.

https://drive.google...U4zRFlVam8/view

 

Thank you,



#12 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 22 March 2017 - 06:55 PM

I tried changing menu entry as following;

title 3. Offline NT Password & Registry Editor\nA utility to reset the password of any user that has a valid local account on your Windows system
root (hd0,2)/multiboot/usb140201
kernel /vmlinuz live-media-path=/multiboot/usb140201 rw vga=1 loglevel=1
initrd /initrd.cgz
initrd /scsi.cgz
boot

This resulted in following error

https://drive.google...zllQlFUeDQ/view



#13 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6641 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2017 - 06:58 PM

It doesn't work with two separate initrd lines, use

initrd /initrd.cgz /scsi.cgz


#14 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 22 March 2017 - 07:12 PM

Okay, will try that.

 

But, I had issue with 3 images in initrd line yesterday. When I googled, I got info that it can be separated in 3 lines, so I did. It worked as well. Copying the menu entry here, which works for me well.

title 6. Parted Magic 32-bit\nA complete hard disk management solution. Version: 2017_03_14
root (hd0,2)/multiboot/pmagic_2017_03_14/pmagic
kernel /bzImage directory=/multiboot/pmagic_2017_03_14/ edd=on vga=normal vmalloc=608MiB
initrd /initrd.img
initrd /fu.img
initrd /m32.img
boot


#15 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 22 March 2017 - 07:16 PM

Wow!!! works. Thanks a lot man.

 

Now, I'm also confused a bit. In one menu entry, merging 2 images in single initrd is required and in another, vice versa!

 

Regards,



#16 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6641 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2017 - 07:18 PM

I think that  initrd x   followed by initrd y  will load y over the top of x

Also, initrd x,y does not work

It must be initrd x y   (with a space in between each file)


  • Abdul Gafoor likes this

#17 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6641 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2017 - 07:22 PM

Grub4dos Primer

Grub4dos guide

Advanced grub4dos

 

+ lots more!


  • Abdul Gafoor likes this

#18 Abdul Gafoor

Abdul Gafoor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United Arab Emirates

Posted 23 March 2017 - 11:48 AM

Thanks Steve.

 

Based on my reading of links you provided, I modified one of the menu entry as following to load 32-bit or 64-bit images based on hardware architecture. Is it correct?

title 7. Parted Magic\nA complete hard disk management solution. Version: 2017_03_14
root (hd0,2)/multiboot/pmagic_2017_03_14/pmagic
# 32-bit systems
kernel /bzImage directory=/multiboot/pmagic_2017_03_14/ edd=on vga=normal vmalloc=608MiB
initrd /initrd.img /fu.img /m32.img
# 64-bit systems
checkrange 2,3 is64bit && kernel /bzImage64 directory=/multiboot/pmagic_2017_03_14/ edd=on vga=normal vmalloc=608MiB
checkrange 2,3 is64bit && initrd /initrd.img /fu.img /m64.img
boot


#19 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6641 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 March 2017 - 11:50 AM

title 7. Parted Magic\nA complete hard disk management solution. Version: 2017_03_14
root (hd0,2)/multiboot/pmagic_2017_03_14/pmagic
# 64-bit systems
checkrange 2,3 is64bit && kernel /bzImage64 directory=/multiboot/pmagic_2017_03_14/ edd=on vga=normal vmalloc=608MiB
checkrange 2,3 is64bit && initrd /initrd.img /fu.img /m64.img
checkrange 2,3 is64bit && boot
# 32-bit systems
kernel /bzImage directory=/multiboot/pmagic_2017_03_14/ edd=on vga=normal vmalloc=608MiB
initrd /initrd.img /fu.img /m32.img
boot

This might be better?


  • Abdul Gafoor likes this





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: grub4dos, multiboot

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users