Jump to content











Photo

MistyPE - Windows 10 PE


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#51 PTAHDEL0H0

PTAHDEL0H0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:=RAELT, EU(ISALAND)
  • Interests:1PTz[)TR!ADÆYBF(]uAHDEFC0NY0H0{~~?

Posted 01 April 2017 - 06:06 AM

Hello world, here my latest AmiGoXPE build on Win10x64 PE SYSWOW64 enabled ....

REB00TPR0_PTAH_002.png


  • Nuno Brito likes this

#52 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 April 2017 - 06:24 AM

@PTAHDEL0H0
Thanks for sharing. I notice from the screenshot that your build is based on Windows 10.0.15063. How stable is the latest Windows 10 build? And have you noticed any issues?

I did some quick test using Windows 15058 last week - Drag N Drop did not seem to be working and the build had a habit of freezing.

Misty

#53 PTAHDEL0H0

PTAHDEL0H0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:=RAELT, EU(ISALAND)
  • Interests:1PTz[)TR!ADÆYBF(]uAHDEFC0NY0H0{~~?

Posted 01 April 2017 - 06:45 AM

@misty: Well ... for now I'm working to implement (and recompile) my tools into the build and make 'em work so haven't had the time to firmly test 15063...

grtz Peter


Edited by PTAHDEL0H0, 01 April 2017 - 06:45 AM.


#54 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 April 2017 - 09:40 AM

FYI - KB4015438 has broken VBScript.

I had to change my vbs code to work around it.

1703 Build 15063.0 also has the issue.



#55 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 April 2017 - 01:24 PM

FYI - KB4015438 has broken VBScript.

I had to change my vbs code to work around it.

1703 Build 15063.0 also has the issue.

Which code?

How (exactly) did you manage to workaround the error?

 

:duff:

Wonko



#56 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 April 2017 - 01:28 PM

I worked around it by writing the app in vb6 instead of vbscript!

I tried several methods to fix the vbs code but could get nothing to work, so I gave up.

Since the vbs code worked for all previous Win7/8/10 versions (and XP AFAIK) but is now broken by the new KB in Win8 and Win10, I assume MS will fix it sometime!

For instance, some simple vbs code example to read a binary file now reads in the wrong bytes!

 

Compare MPI Tool Pack 0.072 with 0.073 and look at CreateDesktopShortcuts.cmd


Edited by steve6375, 01 April 2017 - 01:31 PM.


#57 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 April 2017 - 01:49 PM

I worked around it by writing the app in vb6 instead of vbscript!

It reminds me when I once "worked around" the lack of drinkable water on a camping trip by drinking champagne instead.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#58 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 April 2017 - 06:57 AM

I forgot to mention the updated release of MistyPE. For anyone reading this thread and not also reading the main project topic, the following may be of interest -

I made the (self-imposed) deadline - Project updated. MistyPE April Fools Build (or is it?)

Please use the Tools > Update Project script if upgrading from build 2017-03-22, 2017-03-23 or 2017-03-24.

Full download is available from the Download Portal (here). Ignore the broken download warning - it is working.

Really exciting news - erwan.l has developed DiskMgr for release with the porject. This is managed in the WinFE script and is aimed at WinFE usage. See here.

Changelog - here

Please test and feedback.

:cheers:

Misty

P.s. I will be taking some time out after putting some ridiculous hours into the project - but will be checking in. Please do report any errors or give feedback.


Misty

#59 ReTokener

ReTokener

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 117 posts

Posted 02 April 2017 - 09:51 AM

Dear Misty,

thank you for updating your project.

 

Please do report any errors or give feedback.

 

I tried your latest build: [MistyPE.2017.04.01]

Tested on Host-Systems Win7x64U and Win10x64E(14393)

Source-DVD is:

14393.0.160715-1616.RS1_RELEASE_CLIENTENTERPRISE_S_EVAL_X64FRE_DE-DE.ISO

SysWOW64 enabled.

Both constellations fail with the following error:

(Core.script) DirCopy - Failed to copy directory [%BaseDir%\Projects\Cache\source\x64\SysWow64_Files\*.*] to: [%BaseDir%\MistyPE.Project.Output\ROOT]: Unknown error

Disabling SysWOW64 makes the build without errors.

 

It creates the build successfully when using source-disc:

9200.16384.WIN8_RTM.120725-1247_X64FRE_ENTERPRISE_EVAL_DE-DE-HRM_CENA_X64FREE_DE-DE_DV5.ISO

and SysWOW64 enabled.

 

Thanks again for your good work.

  T.

 


  • misty likes this

#60 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 April 2017 - 12:03 PM

@ReTokener
Thanks for the info. I don't have this source to test at the moment - but will test when I'm able to obtain a copy.

Misty

#61 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 April 2017 - 05:51 PM

@ReTokener
I managed to obtain a copy of 14393.0.160715-1616.RS1_RELEASE_CLIENTENTERPRISE_S_EVAL_X64FRE_DE-DE.ISO :whistling:

Building on a Windows 8.1 host system with UK regional settings - I've not been able to replicate your error with SysWoW64 enabled.

WinBuilder appears to work differently depending on the Host system region settings (see post(s) #47 and #48) - I wonder if this might be an issue?

Or possibly the source file is corrupt? Checksum info for my source file (obtained using 7-zip) -
---------------------------
Checksum information
---------------------------
Name: 14393.0.160715-1616.RS1_RELEASE_CLIENTENTERPRISE_S_EVAL_X64FRE_DE-DE.ISO
Size: 3610097664 bytes (3442 MB)

SHA1: 74F7BBD05EF8AA80720E6C52EBCD2146B4F2BE04
.
Regards,

Misty

#62 ReTokener

ReTokener

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 117 posts

Posted 03 April 2017 - 08:32 AM

Dear Misty,
thanks for the fast reply.

 

---------------------------
Checksum information
---------------------------
Name: 14393.0.160715-1616.RS1_RELEASE_CLIENTENTERPRISE_S_EVAL_X64FRE_DE-DE.ISO
Size: 3610097664 bytes (3442 MB)

SHA1: 74F7BBD05EF8AA80720E6C52EBCD2146B4F2BE04

 

I can confirm that this checksum is equal to that of the ISO I used.
Host system region settings seem to be the issue.

 

Regards  T.



#63 ReTokener

ReTokener

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 117 posts

Posted 03 April 2017 - 01:35 PM

Dear Misty,

on english version of windows 8.1 (9600), winbuilder ran your project successfully.

SysWOW64 enabled.

PE language / fallback "de-De"

 

Thanks again for sharing your good tool. :thumbup:

 

Sincerely   T.


  • misty likes this

#64 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 April 2017 - 05:26 PM

@ReTokener
Thanks for the feedback and the troubleshooting :thumbup:

@everyone
I will look into starting a list of Host OS regions that do not appear to function properly during the project build process. I anyone else is having any errors with a build, can you please temporarily retry the build with en-GB regional settings and check if it works. And also post if the build is not functioning with any particular region?

Thanks.

Misty

#65 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 April 2017 - 05:44 PM

As a side-side note, while I can understand the issue with Vietnamese locale (considering East Asian language , Unicode, large GMT offset, whatever) it is to say the least "queer" that the DE-DE locale creates the same issue, the main developer of Winbuilder being German. :unsure:

 

:duff:

Wonko



#66 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 April 2017 - 06:26 PM

As a side-side note, while I can understand the issue with Vietnamese locale (considering East Asian language , Unicode, large GMT offset, whatever) it is to say the least "queer" that the DE-DE locale creates the same issue, the main developer of Winbuilder being German. :unsure:
 
:duff:
Wonko

To be fair, it's a different issue reported. The Vietnamese Regional settings are resulting in errors when an attempt is made to run the If,ExistRegSection command.

Based on ReTokener's report the build appears to have problems elsewhere with de-DE regional settings. If I get the chance later then I'll try and reproduce his problem by running the build with my Host System set to de-DE region settings.

Misty

P.s. I was also surprised with the German settings causing errors with Peter being one of the main developers.

Misty

#67 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 April 2017 - 06:39 PM

Oh, I thought that the issues were the same, in the case of reTokener it is seeminly only the WOW64 the issue, so the glitch must be there (and then Peter may be "innocent", but since JFX was one of the developers of WOW64 script - at least originally - the DE-DE issue remains "queer").

Maybe some later changes to the Win10 PE script have not been tested by any German developer/user?

 

:duff:

Wonko



#68 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 04 April 2017 - 03:39 PM

I could not reproduce the issue reported by ReTokener using the same source with my region settings set to de-DE (German - Germany).

@ReTokener - I made an assumption based on your source file that your region settings are de-DE - can you please confirm?
 

... I thought that the issues were the same, in the case of reTokener it is seeminly only the WOW64 the issue, so the glitch must be there (and then Peter may be "innocent", but since JFX was one of the developers of WOW64 script - at least originally - the DE-DE issue remains "queer").

Maybe some later changes to the Win10 PE script have not been tested by any German developer/user?...

@Wonko - the WOW64 script was a used as a base. It's more likely that any bug introduced is due to my own fumbling efforts porting it to MistyPE.

In the case of the Vietnamese regional settings issue - I still find it baffling that it chokes on the If,ExistRegSection, commands and appears to cope with all others. It will be very difficult to remove these commands from MistyPE / Mini-WinFE and would leave the build subject to errors elsewhere.

It's such a shame that Winbuilder 082 is no longer in development - unless Peter can be persuaded to bug fix whilst recuperating from his recent efforts to become the bionic man :whistling:

Misty



Misty

#69 ReTokener

ReTokener

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 117 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 05:47 PM

Dear Misty,

thank you very much for your support.

I copied the "MistyPE.2017.04.01" folder to a different location, took ownership and finished the build successful.

Checking the Security-Tab of the faulty "..\\MistyPE\MistyPE.Project.Output\ROOT"-folder I found access rights for "User" and "Everybody" removed.

In the copy these rights were restored, so it worked.

The mistake I made: I extracted "MistyPE.2017.04.01.zip" accidental in a folder with limited permission.

I was dazzled by the successful building of "MistyPE_170308" in a folder next to "MistyPE.2017.04.01".

Acceess rights may not matter in previous build.

Maybe access rights did not matter in the previous build.

 

I´m sorry for taking your precious time in this case.

 

Sincerely T.



#70 ohajo

ohajo
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 April 2017 - 01:25 PM

Dear misty,

 

the download-link is definitely not working. Tried it at different times, at different networks and with different browsers. Always one gets SQL-Error. Could You give us a new download-link please?

Greetings from Germany

ohajo



#71 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 April 2017 - 07:01 PM

Dear Misty,
thank you very much for your support.
I copied the "MistyPE.2017.04.01" folder to a different location, took ownership and finished the build successful.
Checking the Security-Tab of the faulty "..\\MistyPE\MistyPE.Project.Output\ROOT"-folder I found access rights for "User" and "Everybody" removed.
In the copy these rights were restored, so it worked.
The mistake I made: I extracted "MistyPE.2017.04.01.zip" accidental in a folder with limited permission.
I was dazzled by the successful building of "MistyPE_170308" in a folder next to "MistyPE.2017.04.01".
Acceess rights may not matter in previous build.
Maybe access rights did not matter in the previous build.
 
I´m sorry for taking your precious time in this case.
 
Sincerely T.

@ReTokener
Thanks for reporting back in. And no apologies necessary - I'm happy to know that I don't have to try and fix something that isn't actually broken.

Misty

#72 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 April 2017 - 07:02 PM

Dear misty,
 
the download-link is definitely not working. Tried it at different times, at different networks and with different browsers. Always one gets SQL-Error. Could You give us a new download-link please?
Greetings from Germany
ohajo

@ohajo
I have no idea what is wrong with the download portal - I'll PM Nuno and ask him to look into it. Thanks for letting me know.

David

#73 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 April 2017 - 08:45 PM

Temporary download link - here

#74 Phr³³k

Phr³³k
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 07 April 2017 - 10:28 AM

Temporary download link - here

Hey Misty,

 

i could provide an additional mirror for your file if needed - if i manage to dl the complete file - currently it stopped every time i try downloading.

 

Trying wget now, got connection closes as well. no luck here..

2017-04-07 11:17:55 (126 KB/s) - Connection closed at byte 48054272. Retrying.
2017-04-07 11:24:27 (81,4 KB/s) - Connection closed at byte 48054272. Retrying.

maybe the file has some problems? could you check this?

 

edit: looks like 6th try worked

 

file: MistyPE.2017.04.01.zip

md5: 5727e93c0e959c448320a56034c4976c

sha1: 1e3b0c40dc3370f3c3f31b694b5671341cb74f36

sha256: 7dbdb36ff3df8870b6f6efb58ce6e5dbcd34bb79bf9abc7b41485c70f27ce77a

 

hashes are right? could put it on my owncloud to provide extra mirror.

 

Thanks


Edited by Phr³³k, 07 April 2017 - 10:33 AM.


#75 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 08 April 2017 - 06:01 PM

Hey Misty,
 
i could provide an additional mirror for your file if needed - if i manage to dl the complete file - currently it stopped every time i try downloading.
 
Trying wget now, got connection closes as well. no luck here..


2017-04-07 11:17:55 (126 KB/s) - Connection closed at byte 48054272. Retrying.
2017-04-07 11:24:27 (81,4 KB/s) - Connection closed at byte 48054272. Retrying.
maybe the file has some problems? could you check this?
 
edit: looks like 6th try worked
 
file: MistyPE.2017.04.01.zip
md5: 5727e93c0e959c448320a56034c4976c
sha1: 1e3b0c40dc3370f3c3f31b694b5671341cb74f36
sha256: 7dbdb36ff3df8870b6f6efb58ce6e5dbcd34bb79bf9abc7b41485c70f27ce77a
 
hashes are right? could put it on my owncloud to provide extra mirror.
 
Thanks

Thanks for the offer of hosting a mirror. To be honest, I'm hoping that the download portal problems get resolved. I'll have a think about it and will let you know.

Regards,

Misty




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users