Jump to content











Photo

MistyPE - Windows 10 PE


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#26 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 25 March 2017 - 06:37 PM

Some additional quick tests.

MistyPE using Windows 10.0.14393 source. All programs included in the project were included in the builds if supported (a number were omited in the 64-bit build without SysWoW64 support). The Windows source files were already cached - as were all programs.

64-bit (SysWoW64)
Build time = 3 minutes 13 seconds
boot.wim file size = 458 MiB

64-bit
Build time = 1 minutes 26 seconds
boot.wim file size = 331 MiB

32-bit
Build time = 2 minutes 15 seconds
boot.wim file size = 327 MiB

A significant part of the build time is the injection of files to boot.wim. In the 64-bit build without SysWoW there were significantly fewer files to inject as a number of sizable 32-bit programs were omitted (including FTK Imager).

Included Programs
7-ZIP
AccessGain
AIDA64 (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
AmmyAdmin (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
CloneDisk
dd (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
Defraggler
DISK.MANAGEMENT
DMDE (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
DriveImageXML (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
Eraser (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
GHOST
HWiNFO
ImDisk
JkDefrag
LinuxReader (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
MWSnap (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
NTPasswordEdit
Opera
PartitionGuru
Recuva
DriveSnapshot
SumatraPDF
TinyHexer (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
TrueCrypt (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
FreeVK (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
WinHex (ommited from 64-bit without SysWoW64 support)
FAU
FTKImager
X-Way.Forensics
  • r3boot3d likes this

#27 genetix

genetix

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 132 posts
  •  
    Finland

Posted 26 March 2017 - 01:15 AM

I'd say no as 10.0.15063.x would need new PE tools or dump PE directly from official boot.wim which doesn't exist as far I've looked only WinRE is available from fast ring.

 

o I take it back... Just did some re-checking at slow ring.. Seems there is RS2 PE out now..

 

dfj5nd.jpg



#28 michaeltheclyde

michaeltheclyde

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Location:so-cal
  • Interests:women, music and women, in that order
  •  
    United States

Posted 26 March 2017 - 02:54 AM

Hey Misty,

 In the "Quick Start" and in the more detailed "Instructions" section it shows the same pic regarding setting the "SourcePath" in Winbuilder. but neither place discusses the (2) Items under the Source Path section. Is there any caveots to leaving them blank and possibly some other aspect of the program will auto-fill them in when you come to that section or should they be filled in initially when doing the source path? (or does it make a diff)

 

Not trying to be a pain but, sometimes not doing something one way versus another in that program can cause an irritating hitch in your giddiup from then on. (don't ask me how I know. ha)

 

thanks, Im glad the interest in your stuff has perked up


Edited by michaeltheclyde, 26 March 2017 - 03:08 AM.


#29 michaeltheclyde

michaeltheclyde

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Location:so-cal
  • Interests:women, music and women, in that order
  •  
    United States

Posted 26 March 2017 - 03:16 AM

Hey again,

I noticed you advised (on page 1) for a mounted .iso as source in Win 10. Does that apply to 3, 3.1, 4 etc ... and is it always best to use a mounted .iso?

 

thanks



#30 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 March 2017 - 05:59 AM

@michaeltheclyde
 

...In the "Quick Start" and in the more detailed "Instructions" section it shows the same pic regarding setting the "SourcePath" in Winbuilder. but neither place discusses the (2) Items under the Source Path section. Is there any caveots to leaving them blank and possibly some other aspect of the program will auto-fill them in when you come to that section or should they be filled in initially when doing the source path? (or does it make a diff)...

The two boxes can be used to set the %TargetDIr% and %ISOFile% variable in projects, however in MistyPE these boxes are not used. The %ISOFile% variable is not used at all, and the %TargetDir% variable is defined in the main project script - this will overide the settings in %TargetDir% box in the the WinBuilder SourcePath section.

Variable in the main project script include -
%TargetDir%=%BaseDir%\MistyPE.Project.Output\ROOT
%ISODir%=%BaseDir%\MistyPE.Project.Output
.

I noticed you advised (on page 1) for a mounted .iso as source in Win 10. Does that apply to 3, 3.1, 4 etc ... and is it always best to use a mounted .iso?

The reason I suggest a mounted .iso is due to there being less change of missing source files. If an .iso file contents is fully extracted to a local directory or network share then this is equally suitable.

If using the Tools > Cache Files script then other sources can be used. Option 1 for example can be used to specify a WinPE .wim file (e.g. boot.wim from RTM source, WinRE.wim, winpe.wim (from ADK), etc) and a source .wim file (e.g. install.wim). This is useful to create a cache using an ADK build with added packages (Optional Components) or WinRE.

Misty

#31 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 March 2017 - 06:02 AM

o I take it back... Just did some re-checking at slow ring.. Seems there is RS2 PE out now..

Thanks for the information. To be honest I usually avoid the Windows 10 builds until official release (e.g. November Update, Anniversary Update). I might give the 15063 build a try later - time permitting.

Misty

Edit - forget what I said about build 15063. The most recent .iso download I can access is build 15058.

#32 michaeltheclyde

michaeltheclyde

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Location:so-cal
  • Interests:women, music and women, in that order
  •  
    United States

Posted 26 March 2017 - 07:11 AM

Misty,

 15063 would be better than most builds below it

15063 Enterprise 32bit and 64bit corrects 2 major issues, they fixed a reliability issue from Build 15061 where in M$ Edge would hang hard and be as cold and unresponsive as my last ex-wife

They also fixed at least 1 issue for the Club where most all (if not all) of the localized files and registry keys associated with any additional language packs on the system would be gone/dissapear/not installed after enabling .NOT (needed) Framework 3.5.

I never experienced it since I have a hard enough time with southern slang by itself.

 

check your messages



#33 PTAHDEL0H0

PTAHDEL0H0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:=RAELT, EU(ISALAND)
  • Interests:1PTz[)TR!ADÆYBF(]uAHDEFC0NY0H0{~~?

Posted 26 March 2017 - 10:16 AM

Hello Mr. Misty,

 

very nice project indeed and though I'm using the 20170308 version (the update script or full download of 0324 doesn't work until 1th April I guess) & I managed to produce a fine WinPE Wow64 enabled iso on my Win2003SP2 32bit test-machine (yeah)

 

As Source 10240.16384 DVD (re)install medium of Win10pro 64bit which came with a Dell laptop. Since MistyPE didn't work OOTB for me I had to apply some minor but mandatory changes to Core Files script..

  1. Had to insert
    If,ExistFile,"%SourceDir%\sources\install.swm",Set,%install.wim%,"%SourceDir%\sources\install.swm",GLOBAL
    at line 210 to get pass an error (install.wim not found)
  2. option set boot.wim image number to 1
  3. other settings No|Default|x64|YES and no further changes besides the boot.wim image number

output: WinPE.iso of a whopping 577680KB

 

Hope my contribution can be of use ... it worked for me...

 

grtz Peter smiley_ptah.gif


Edited by PTAHDEL0H0, 26 March 2017 - 11:07 AM.

  • misty likes this

#34 genetix

genetix

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 132 posts
  •  
    Finland

Posted 26 March 2017 - 03:14 PM

Thanks for the information. To be honest I usually avoid the Windows 10 builds until official release (e.g. November Update, Anniversary Update). I might give the 15063 build a try later - time permitting.

Misty

Edit - forget what I said about build 15063. The most recent .iso download I can access is build 15058.

 

Well, There's 2 variants of that Creators Edition and RTM. You can be sure 1703 15063 is gonna be public soon enough, if it's not already. :)

 

But yeah, might be better to just wait for official ADK to be out for version 1703.



#35 genetix

genetix

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 132 posts
  •  
    Finland

Posted 26 March 2017 - 03:19 PM

Misty,

 15063 would be better than most builds below it

 

Well, to be honest those fixes none of them as far I looked  doesn't apply to MistyPE, but agree with go with the newest when it comes down to windows working as it should, lol.



#36 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 March 2017 - 03:30 PM

My altervista account has exceeded my monthly allowance and the MistyPE download is temporarily unavailable. I'll look into alternative hosting.
  • Atari800XL and r3boot3d like this

#37 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 March 2017 - 03:43 PM

Latest beta is temporarily available via filedropper - http://www.filedropp...mistype20170324


---------------------------
Checksum information
---------------------------
Name: MistyPE.2017.03.24.zip
Size: 53584170 bytes (51 MB)

SHA1: 93495C71A0A8243B28A95C1970E624EE8C5FDE5A

#38 r3boot3d

r3boot3d
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Abu Dhabi

Posted 26 March 2017 - 04:16 PM

@misty

 

this is a good host

 

https://cloud.mail.ru/public/12S6/KJD6CLg8d


Name: MistyPE.2017.03.24.zip
Size: 53584170 bytes (51 MB)


CRC32: D6F9F557
CRC64: 90559A5705349276
SHA256: B0BAAA587EEB9120654F2F5FB15CD2C065614FD7C08F0B6254CCB617A8A9FAFA
SHA1: 93495C71A0A8243B28A95C1970E624EE8C5FDE5A
BLAKE2sp: 8668A1832990F7869B9148AAAAA60D4E006C5837D5ADD71BD3E17878D66B4E97

  • misty and genetix like this

#39 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 March 2017 - 05:48 PM

I've registered with a new hosting site - https://x10hosting.com/

We believe that hosting should be accessible to all, and that's precisely why we offer free hosting for everyone. We even give you unmetered bandwidth and disk space allowing your site to grow without fear of ridiculously low limits like our other free hosting competitors! You won't find many companies doing that free of charge!


New domain - http://mistyrebootfiles.x10host.com/

I'm in the process of uploading files to create a mirror. The most recent MistyPE build (2017-03-24) has already been uploaded and the download portal has been updated.

This will be useful as a mirror or may become the main site.

Regards

Misty
  • Atari800XL likes this

#40 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 March 2017 - 05:56 PM

...........
64-bit (SysWoW64)
Build time = 3 minutes 13 seconds
boot.wim file size = 458 MiB

64-bit
Build time = 1 minutes 26 seconds
boot.wim file size = 331 MiB

32-bit
Build time = 2 minutes 15 seconds
boot.wim file size = 327 MiB.......

A number of scripts (40+) have a 1 second delay built into them. Removing the delay from each script will reduce the build times.

This could reduce the time quoted above for the 32-bit and 64-bit with SysWoW64 support build by over 40 seconds.

Misty

#41 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4138 posts

Posted 26 March 2017 - 07:18 PM

03-24-2017 Built the Project with all apps folder selected.

I like the way it continues building the project, but lets you know that a file needs to be installed or required for a certain app.

Finished the build. booted on quemu.

Congrats!

:punk:



#42 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 March 2017 - 07:42 PM

@TheHive
Thanks for the feedback. The project has come a long way since your first feedback in 2013! BTW, are you still using spaces in the path?

Misty

#43 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4138 posts

Posted 26 March 2017 - 07:55 PM

oh! yeah! forgot. I meant to mention that.

 

Build directory with spaces.

C:\Users\UserName\Downloads\- Winbuilder\MistyPE - Windows 10 PE\MistyPE.2017.03.24\MistyPE



#44 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 27 March 2017 - 09:32 AM

..very nice project indeed and though I'm using the 20170308 version (the update script or full download of 0324 doesn't work until 1th April I guess) & I managed to produce a fine WinPE Wow64 enabled iso on my Win2003SP2 32bit test-machine (yeah)...

Thanks for the feedback - it's nice to know the project works on Windows 2003 as I do not have a test environment for this version of Windows. :thumbsup:
 

As Source 10240.16384 DVD (re)install medium of Win10pro 64bit which came with a Dell laptop. Since MistyPE didn't work OOTB for me I had to apply some minor but mandatory changes to Core Files script..

  • Had to insert
    If,ExistFile,"%SourceDir%\sources\install.swm",Set,%install.wim%,"%SourceDir%\sources\install.swm",GLOBAL
    at line 210 to get pass an error (install.wim not found)
.....Hope my contribution can be of use ... it worked for me......

I've not come across any .swm files as I usually use RTM (or equivant) source files. The contribution is definitely of use - thanks for the tip - I'll add this to the next release. The relevant code to search for install.wim and install.esd was moved to a hidden script in the current beta (\MistyPE\Core\verify.script).
 

output: WinPE.iso of a whopping 577680KB

That's a very large .iso - I dread to think how much junk Dell added to your source file!

Thanks,

Regards,

Misty

#45 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 27 March 2017 - 10:19 AM

Another temporary solutions due to file hosting problems - https://sendit.cloud/9b8gvltex8v2

---------------------------
Checksum information
---------------------------
Name: MistyPE.2017.03.24.zip
Size: 53584170 bytes (51 MB)

CRC32: D6F9F557

CRC64: 90559A5705349276

SHA256: B0BAAA587EEB9120654F2F5FB15CD2C065614FD7C08F0B6254CCB617A8A9FAFA

SHA1: 93495C71A0A8243B28A95C1970E624EE8C5FDE5A

BLAKE2sp: 8668A1832990F7869B9148AAAAA60D4E006C5837D5ADD71BD3E17878D66B4E97

---------------------------


MistyPE has a new and hopefully permanent home! See post #247 in the MistyPE support thread.

#46 PTAHDEL0H0

PTAHDEL0H0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:=RAELT, EU(ISALAND)
  • Interests:1PTz[)TR!ADÆYBF(]uAHDEFC0NY0H0{~~?

Posted 27 March 2017 - 07:39 PM

MistyPE_20170324 Win7pro x64: WIn10 x64 SYSWOW64 + my oldschool AmiGoXPE 32bit tools  smiley_ptah.gif

REB00TPR0_PTAH_001.png


Edited by PTAHDEL0H0, 27 March 2017 - 08:06 PM.

  • Nuno Brito likes this

#47 nguyentu

nguyentu

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 30 March 2017 - 02:05 AM

@misty

 

Regarding this error in the previous posts, I found out the reason I had mistakenly remembered it related to the Vietnamese keyboard.
 
It is related to Region Formats. You can change it to Vietnamese (Vietnamese) for testing and I am sure it will return an error like below.

 

9koV0bQ.png

 

f1f97b5e436f4e2a9e2c9617a3cbcd05.png



#48 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 30 March 2017 - 11:20 AM

@nguyentu
Thanks for reporting back. I received the same error on my system when the Region settings were changed to Vietnamese. Unfortunately this appears to be a winbuilder error - as version 0.82 is no longer in development it is unlikely to be fixed.

The only workaround is to change region settings.

Sorry,

Misty

#49 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10452 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 March 2017 - 01:19 PM

MistyPE_20170324 Win7pro x64: WIn10 x64 SYSWOW64 + my oldschool AmiGoXPE 32bit tools  smiley_ptah.gif

REB00TPR0_PTAH_001.png

 

Hello!

 

It's been so long, really happy to see you again! Welcome back! :thumbup:



#50 PTAHDEL0H0

PTAHDEL0H0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:=RAELT, EU(ISALAND)
  • Interests:1PTz[)TR!ADÆYBF(]uAHDEFC0NY0H0{~~?

Posted 30 March 2017 - 05:40 PM

Yeah my friend it's indeed good to be back smiley_ptah.gif


  • Nuno Brito likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users