Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Has anyone succeed in dual boot Windows 8 after Windows 7 installed on UEFI GOP?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 wean_irdeh

wean_irdeh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 02 February 2017 - 09:56 AM

Installing Windows 8 besides Windows 7 on UEFI GOP causes Windows 7 to be unusable But is this problem unique to myself, and has anyone also experience this? Or is this totally true?

A Win7 bootx64.efi will only boot Win7 in EFI, and a Win8 bootx64.efi will only boot Win8 in EFI
If yes, how to mitigate this problem?

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13688 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 February 2017 - 09:19 AM

In the original post Halikus found a woirkaround using REFIND, but cannot say if it applies to GOP.

But what is the issue?

 

Maybe it is related to the Windows 7 install problem with the VGA driver? :unsure:

http://reboot.pro/to...l-gop-hardware/

 

AFAICT the Windows 8 EFI should be able to boot also the Windows 7. :dubbio:

 

:duff:

Wonko



#3 IAmTheTrueMeaningOfCovfefe

IAmTheTrueMeaningOfCovfefe

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 555 posts
  • Location:In hiding
  • Interests:An investigation is underway to determine whether Trump has any ties to America.
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 February 2017 - 10:18 AM

@OP: I don't know, maybe you should go ask anyone.



#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13688 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 February 2017 - 10:48 AM

@OP: I don't know, maybe you should go ask anyone.

Isn't that (asking publicly a question) exactly what the OP already did?  :unsure:

 

:duff:

Wonko



#5 IAmTheTrueMeaningOfCovfefe

IAmTheTrueMeaningOfCovfefe

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 555 posts
  • Location:In hiding
  • Interests:An investigation is underway to determine whether Trump has any ties to America.
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 February 2017 - 10:21 PM

You clearly didn't get the joke. Anyone, as in, ask anyone, or, ask Anyone, or ask anyone in particular. If he had used the word "somebody" or "someone" instead of "anyone", same situation. I'm trying to make a bigger point that people should be more particular and careful about their word choices, I certainly am. Say what you mean, mean what you say, it helps prevent misunderstandings in the long run. The meaning you're trying to convey and the actual message others are receiving, may be very different from your intentions, if you choose the wrong words. Any good negotiator, public speaker, salesman, etc knows this.



#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13688 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 February 2017 - 12:00 PM

You clearly didn't get the joke. Anyone, as in, ask anyone, or, ask Anyone, or ask anyone in particular. If he had used the word "somebody" or "someone" instead of "anyone", same situation. I'm trying to make a bigger point that people should be more particular and careful about their word choices, I certainly am. Say what you mean, mean what you say, it helps prevent misunderstandings in the long run. The meaning you're trying to convey and the actual message others are receiving, may be very different from your intentions, if you choose the wrong words. Any good negotiator, public speaker, salesman, etc knows this.

Sure :), but not everyone, you know, has English American as primary or mother language.

 

Personally I would be very happy to be able to express myself in - say - Vietnamese at the same level the OP showed.

 

Your play on words is similar to the "Who is on first?" by Abbot and Costello:
https://en.wikipedia.../Who's_on_First

but of course those are intended for an audience very familiar with the language.

 

You will be however happy to know that you are not the only one resenting on "has anyone?" questions, there is actually (was) an FGA dedicated to that:
http://web.archive.o...no-answers.html

but with non-native speakers some tolerance is usually allowed.

 

 

:duff:
Wonko



#7 IAmTheTrueMeaningOfCovfefe

IAmTheTrueMeaningOfCovfefe

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 555 posts
  • Location:In hiding
  • Interests:An investigation is underway to determine whether Trump has any ties to America.
  •  
    United States

Posted 04 February 2017 - 11:34 PM

For one, "American" as most of the world calls it, isn't a language, it's most of the Western Hemisphere! Technically, it comprises all of North/Central/South America. But yes, there is Americanized US English. It isn't proper, the true English language originates from England (now part of what is more commonly referenced as UK). Since they came first, their English is the "proper" version, and is usually given deference as the correct version to fall back on, by scientists, scholars, etc.

 

If I were you I would have chosen either "US English" or "Americanized US English", both are precise enough to avoid confusion. A careless word choice on your part.



#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13688 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 February 2017 - 10:01 AM

If I were you I would have chosen either "US English" or "Americanized US English", both are precise enough to avoid confusion. A careless word choice on your part.

Intentionally "inaccurate", rest assured, "US English" doesn't exist, at least accordingly to Her Majesty The Queen's (reknown) message to America ;), here is a link to the "original" version:
https://groups.googl...f4/W9gkBANh2yIJ
Point #2:

 

 

2. There is no such thing as "US English".  We will let Microsoft know on
your behalf. Future adult suffrage will be based in part on successful
completion of compulsory spelling examinations which will focus on words
like "colour" and "visualise" whose mis-spelling is endemic in the American
colonies.

:duff:

Wonko



#9 IAmTheTrueMeaningOfCovfefe

IAmTheTrueMeaningOfCovfefe

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 555 posts
  • Location:In hiding
  • Interests:An investigation is underway to determine whether Trump has any ties to America.
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 February 2017 - 10:41 AM

I seriously doubt that Queen Elizabeth ever sent such a message to then-President Clinton, seems like a joke post. Multiple points in the linked letter are inaccurate, false, and ridiculously unbelievable.

 

Perhaps she should send a similar letter to Trump. He might respond by declaring the UK as an enemy and nuking only God knows who. (Bill) Clinton was rather docile in comparison to Trump's temperament.



#10 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13688 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 February 2017 - 11:10 AM

I seriously doubt that Queen Elizabeth ever sent such a message to then-President Clinton, seems like a joke post. Multiple points in the linked letter are inaccurate, false, and ridiculously unbelievable.

 

Perhaps she should send a similar letter to Trump. He might respond by declaring the UK as an enemy and nuking only God knows who. (Bill) Clinton was rather docile in comparison to Trump's temperament.

Sure it is a joke. (and a very good one IMHO)

 

Here you can find some history about it:
http://www.snopes.co.../revocation.asp

 

And of course it has been revamped in several variations for the November 2016 US Presidential election, example:
https://www.armstron...merican-people/

 

:duff:

Wonko



#11 genetix

genetix

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 132 posts
  •  
    Finland

Posted 26 March 2017 - 03:10 PM

Hmm, why don't you use the BCD to redirect the winboot.efi? if the issue would be bootmgr.efi, well, you could as well replace the whole thing from Windows 8: "%SystemRoot%\Boot\EFI\bootmgfw.efi.".

 

Modify with bootice (http://www.ipauly.com/) makes it rather easy or simply use bcdedit copy of first OS and set / redirect the second OS to it's correct drive.



#12 wanker_the_insane

wanker_the_insane
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 29 March 2017 - 12:23 PM

You could use the free app "EasyBCD"? Works great with UEFI and dual-booting modern OS's  (7, 8, 8.1 and 10) Don't know what caused my dual-booting problems on UEFI but whatever it was, it fixed them.

http://neosmart.net/EasyBCD/






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users