Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

RMPrepUSB now has an 'install grub2 to MBR' option

rmprepusb grub2

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 21 September 2016 - 09:39 AM

RMPrepUSB v2.1.733 is now available.

http://rmprepusb.blo...-available.html


  • memoarfaa likes this

#2 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 23 February 2017 - 01:44 AM

Is there any way to turn off the pop-up msgs that appear when  I have a large USB HDD attached to my laptop?

The drive is always attached to my docking station and it is annoying to see the msg describing how to display a

large drive every time I run RMprepUSB. More annoying is that the same msg appears twice if you don't reply to the

1st prompt right away. When I select the option list large drives from the settings menu, I get another msg warning

me about what I just did. :huh:   Also, that option doesn't stick for the next launch and the show starts all over again.

The user can select everything he needs from the menus list, so why is all this interaction needed beforehand when

a large drive is attached? It would be nice if this behavior could be suppressed.

 



#3 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 February 2017 - 10:31 AM

Hi

Many users have a large USB HDD attached which they use for backup.

I was worried that a user (i.e. me!) may get careless and accidentally wipe the drive using RMPrepUSB - something that I imagine they would not be very pleased about!

 

So, by design, you do have to press Ctrl+Z to see large USB drives.

 

If you add the ALLDRIVES parameter to a shortcut to RMPrepUSB, it will load RMPrepUSB and show all drives (USB and non-USB).

 

With v2.1.735 (new version!), if you use the LARGEDRIVES parameter, it will display all USB drives of any size.

Just right-click - Properties on the shortcut and add after the Target entry LARGEDRIVES.

v2.1.735 also fixes the double-message issue.

 

But don't blame me if you accidentally format your backup drive!



#4 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 23 February 2017 - 01:51 PM

Hi,

Actually, I don't want to use my large USB at all. I would much rather have RMPrepUSB not show the drive as it does now, without the IMHO useless pop-up(s). If users really want to use a large USB or HDD, I'm sure they will figure out how to do it via the menus. There is really no need for those pop-ups when launching RMPrepUSB. I was just trying the different options to find a way to avoid the message(s). You could always warn users and give them a chance to cancel their request if they select a function in the GUI that would wipe or make unwanted changes to their HDD or large USB disk. That would make more sense to me handling it that way.

 

Instead of a LARGEDRIVES switch, how about adding one that says SILENT? :lol:

Thanks for this nice program and having an open ear....



#5 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 February 2017 - 02:02 PM

Well, it originally did not have the Ctrl-Z pop-up and I got loads of emails from people complaining that their USB HDD did not show up!

That's why I added the pop-up, so it stays.

At least now you only get one pop-up and not two.

Is it really such a pain to click the OK button once each time you run RMPrepUSB?

If so, why not disconnect the USB HDD drive or just Eject it?



#6 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 23 February 2017 - 02:35 PM

Okay, I understand you for wanting to keep the pop-up. My USB is a 3 terabyte drive that is used for backups etc. and I rarely remove it. It's not a pain to service the prompt, but for me, the less clicks, the better.  I just tried ALLDRIVES in 2.1.732  and that keeps it silent, but leaves too many choices for me to a mistake, so I will use the new version and just add the LARGEDRIVES parameter to my shortcut  to launch directly into the GUI.

 

Thanks again ....



#7 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 04 March 2017 - 01:05 PM

7zG.exe and 7z.dll included in RMPrepUSB are a bit  outdated (v9.20/9.22). Is there any reason not to use  v16.4?

IIRC there was a vulnerability issue with 7-zip a while back which has since been fixed in v16.4.

 

Also, can I just extract v735 and use it as a portable?. I'm not sure what to do with the LangDLL.dll in the $PLUGINSDIR. I don*t see that dir in the v732 portable version. There is also an uninstall.exe in PEtoUSB, a WEE installer, Grub2 and TestMBR which were not part of the older portable.



#8 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 04 March 2017 - 01:12 PM

Later versions seem to do odd things with some ISOs.

Until I receive a complaint that something does not work, I don't want to change it.

 

You can simply replace the files if you wish to try it.



#9 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 12:21 PM

I am still getting the double msgs when using LARGEDRIVES option with v735. ALLDRIVES doesn't give me any msgs. Shouldn't LARGEDRIVES work the same way?



#10 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 March 2017 - 12:27 PM

Is your shortcut running v 2.1.735?

Seems OK for me...



#11 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 12:40 PM

I'm on Win7 32-bit if that matters.

 

24l8ktu.png



#12 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 March 2017 - 12:50 PM

The message you are getting is LARGE DRIVE SELECTED.

The message that was suppressed was 'large drive(s) detected'.

I can't repro what you are seeing.

How many USB drives are connected to your system and which one is selected by default?



#13 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 12:56 PM

I have a single 3 terabyte toshiba external drive attached via docking station which is the one selected. No other usb drives attached. The rest of the drives are internal SSDs. One 2,5 and the other M..2 SSD. ALLDRIVES gives no msgs and has nothing selected in the list. If I add another usb with LARGEDRIVES, I don't get any messages because then, nothing is selected in the list. I would  think the best solution would be to leave a single large drive unselected as a precaution and then pop a single message ;) if it's selected by the user.



#14 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 March 2017 - 01:01 PM

Ah! OK - I have 'No user prompts' ticked and that suppresses the pop-ups!



#15 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 01:34 PM

BTW USB_Disk_Eject.exe is at v1.3.0.4 in case you want to update it. Not sure why it's 3Mb+ larger though



#16 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 March 2017 - 01:57 PM

If I don't select the single drive, then that means the user always has an extra 'click' when just using RMPrepUSB to format a single flash drive.

It may confuse the 'new' user and it is a change of the behaviour of the app.

So I will fix the double-pop-up issue in the next version, but you will still see one pop-up unless you use the No user Prompts tickbox.

 

.

 



#17 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 02:23 PM

I just meant if it's a large drive, not to select it. I don't believe most users will be formatting their large drives with RMPrep that often to complain about having to select the drive. The extra click would also be a precaution + they have to make the decision and not RMPrepUSB. For smaller flashes, things can stay as they are. I know, it's extra work and may not be worth it, but either way, you are not saving an extra click unless you use no prompt which I guess I'll have to do.



#18 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 March 2017 - 03:11 PM

try new v2.1.736 on beta versions page of www.rmprepusb.com.



#19 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 04:00 PM

I don't see 736, only 734 and 735



#20 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 March 2017 - 04:01 PM

http://www.rmprepusb...redirects=0&d=1

 



#21 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 04:14 PM

Great, job. I can leave the no prompt unchecked and only get the warning if I select the drive. Thanks, IMO much nicer this way.



#22 adric

adric

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 168 posts

Posted 11 May 2017 - 09:06 PM

Some of the links on the Latest RMPrepUSB versions + downloads give me Page not Found

We're sorry, but we were unable to locate the page you requested.

i.e Install_RMPrepUSB_Full_v2.1.737.zip and Install_RMPrepUSB_Full_v2.1.738.zip

 

Are these versions not available?



#23 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 May 2017 - 11:15 PM

http://www.rmprepusb...b-beta-versions

2.1.739 is latest



#24 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 12 May 2017 - 02:27 AM

Still unable to find 2.1.739 in above page ?



#25 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 12 May 2017 - 07:49 AM

It should be there now (the site is cached by CloudFare and so there is a delay).






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users