Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Boring boot sequence


Best Answer pscEx , 07 June 2016 - 09:50 AM

The issue is solved.

It is valid for my personal configuration (described in post #7). Other configurations must be checked by the user!

 

Under Win10 (For Win7 bcdedit "bootmenupolicy" is unknown) execute as administrator:

bcdedit /set {current} bootmenupolicy legacy

Then booting runs as intended.

 

The solution has the (for me and Wonko(?) and ...) nice side effect that you see the good old "DOS" Win boot manager UI, rather than the graphical one.

 

Thanks alacran and Wonko! :worship:

 

Peter

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 05 June 2016 - 07:35 AM

In my Lenovo I have a strange boot behaviour , which I want to change if possible.

 

History:

 

Primarily I had Windows boot manager with Win7 and Win10.

Then I additionally installed Mint and let the Linux boot manager do the work.

 

What now happens:

On boot I choose "Win Boot Manager" and in the manager I choose "Win7".

 

Now the system loads some things, and then the Linux boot manager comes up again.

I have to choose "Win Boot manager" again, and then Win7 comes up.

 

I do want not to have the second appearance of Linux Boot Manager.

 

Any suggestions?

 

Peter



#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13643 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 June 2016 - 09:09 AM

That would most probably be a GRUB2 "automagical" install. (and like most "automagical" things, wrong or more complex than needed).

 

If you provide some actual info, it should be possible to make a better arrangement.

 

Is it BIOS or UEFI?

Is it MBR or GPT?

How (EXACTLY) are partitions/volumes arranged?

 

Post contents of the grub.cfg (the settings/options file for GRUB2) AND the output of the BCDEDIT (both when booted in 7 and in 10, just in case), and we'll surely finf a suitable way.

 

Please understand how GRUB2 is "inherently automagic" and the grub.cfg (unless you modify additionally the contents of the "building scripts") is likely to revert any changes at next GRUB2 update, see this for some reference:
http://reboot.pro/to...ng-grub4dos-hd/

 

:duff:

Wonko



#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 June 2016 - 11:07 AM

I have EFI, GPT.

 

The other answers see attachement.

 

Peter

 

EDIT: Sorry, the attachment is not included and I tried again to attach "bootinfo.zip". I got the error: "No file was selected for upload".

 

Has anybody an idea what is going wrong?

What can I do???

 

As a workaround,

http://winbuilder.ex...st/BootInfo.zip

can be downloaded.



#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13643 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 06 June 2016 - 04:02 PM

The grub.cfg entry that you see should be this one:



### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Windows Boot Manager (on /dev/sda2)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-efi-8A05-F956' {
savedefault
insmod part_gpt
insmod fat
set root='hd0,gpt2'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2 8A05-F956
else
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 8A05-F956
fi
chainloader /EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
}
set timeout_style=menu
if [ "${timeout}" = 0 ]; then
set timeout=10
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

besides stupidly and needlessly complex,it seems like fine.

Are you sure that you see twice the 'Windows Boot Manager (on /dev/sda2)' ? 

What happens when you are booting if you press F12? (or F9, it depends from the specific system)

 

You should be able to choose between the Windows Bootmgr (bypassing the GRUB2) and GRUB2.

 

It *sounds* like there is a "conflict" of some kind with actual names of the files, it has to be understood which is which and what is inserted (and also which is default) in the NVRAM.

There is a tool called boot-repair for Linux that seemingly can make things even worse :w00t: :ph34r:, you didn't happen to have used it, by any chance?

http://ubuntuforums....d.php?t=2234019

 

Are you sure that the file  /efi/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi is the actual Windows BOOTMGR and which other files do you have (i.e. /efi/boot/bootx64.efi and /efi/ubuntu/grubx64.efi ) ?

 

:duff:

Wonko



#5 alacran

alacran

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 473 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 06 June 2016 - 07:33 PM

Well if Grub2 is OK, I think that he is using the grafical bootmanager of Win10 and then it always reboot if you want  to load Win7 (or any thing else that is not Win10), just change it to to text as in Win7 bootmanager and it goes directly to the selected Win version you want to boot.   This can be done with the Win10 bootmanager itself if selecting Win7 as default or using BootIce.

 

alacran


  • pscEx likes this

#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13643 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 June 2016 - 07:16 AM

Well if Grub2 is OK, I think that he is using the grafical bootmanager of Win10 and then it always reboot if you want  to load Win7 (or any thing else that is not Win10), just change it to to text as in Win7 bootmanager and it goes directly to the selected Win version you want to boot.   This can be done with the Win10 bootmanager itself if selecting Win7 as default or using BootIce.

 

alacran

Good pick. :)

 

Didn't think that anyone would be using that thing in graphical manner when multibooting :blush:, my bad :(

 

One can use BCDEDIT fine to set it to "text mode" (while still leaving the default Windows 10):
http://www.askvg.com...r-in-windows-8/

http://winaero.com/b...-in-windows-10/

 

:duff:

Wonko


  • pscEx likes this

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 June 2016 - 08:41 AM

@Wonko: I do not see a difference between "my" and "your" grob.cfg (???)

 

@All:

Maybe it helps a bit for the future, here a more detailled history:

  • I got the Lenovo with Win8.1 Pro, no manual changes made to BCD & Co, rearranged partitions for my schedule of the final design.
  • I added Win7 (cheep gotten Dell OEM legal new Win7 professional), let the OS make the new boot arrangement, no manual changes made to BCD & Co
  •  I replaced Win8.1 with Win10, using the free M$ offer, let the OS make the new boot arrangement, no manual changes made to BCD & Co
  • I added Linux mint 17, which included automagically a new boot arrangement using grub(xxx), let the OS make the new boot arrangement, no remarkable manual changes made to BCD, grub.cfg  Co,
    Only changed grub.cfg, to default to the last used boot procedure (${saved_entry})
  • Added Acronis15 and Grub2 (GRLM) recovery to the start menu, let the OS make the new boot arrangement, no manual changes made to BCD, grub.cfg & Co
     

@alacran, Wonko: Thanks. I really see the graphical manager when booting. I did not waste any thougt on this, I accepted as "standard" :dubbio:
I'll try alacran's suggestion using Wonko's link.

 

I know, I can save and restore the current BCD. But how reset to the current graphical bootmenupolicy by command line?

 

EDIT: I think with "bcdedit /deletevalue bootmenupolicy"

 

Peter



#8 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 June 2016 - 09:50 AM   Best Answer

The issue is solved.

It is valid for my personal configuration (described in post #7). Other configurations must be checked by the user!

 

Under Win10 (For Win7 bcdedit "bootmenupolicy" is unknown) execute as administrator:

bcdedit /set {current} bootmenupolicy legacy

Then booting runs as intended.

 

The solution has the (for me and Wonko(?) and ...) nice side effect that you see the good old "DOS" Win boot manager UI, rather than the graphical one.

 

Thanks alacran and Wonko! :worship:

 

Peter



#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13643 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 June 2016 - 10:25 AM

Well, the merit all goes to alacran that thought about that possibility.

 

Knowing your (as dinosaurish as mine ;)) attitude the idea that you were using the graphical mode didn't even cross my mind. 

 

:duff:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users