Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Yikes! Windows 10 VirtualBox and KonBoot


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Rootman

Rootman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted 03 March 2016 - 06:56 PM

I have a Windows 10 VirtualBox VM with a lost administrator password and NO user accounts.  I have V2.5 of KonBoot, but it only works on Windows 10 from a USB stick.  Anyone have any ideas how to boot a USB stick from within a VB VM?  I tried creating a RAW partition pointing to the stick in VB but it fails to boot With a MBR HELPER NOT FOUND error.

 

For general use, I got around having to have a dedicated USB stick for just KonBoot by making an .imgPTN using Steve's MPIPack tool, from a KonBoot USB drive. It works fine on real hardware but I can't load the .imgPTN file in my VirtualBox OS as an option to the above problem.

 

Any good ideas out there?



#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 March 2016 - 09:02 PM

To boot from a USB stick in VBox, use DavidB's Virtual Machine USB Boot.

http://www.rmprepusb...r-vmware-server



#3 Rootman

Rootman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted 04 March 2016 - 01:37 PM

Well, that's a cool utility, thanks for pointing it out to me.  It would not work at all on my home Win 7 laptop, it would simply NOT boot off either USB stick I tried, failed with an error.

 

I set it up at work on my main box and it worked fine, booted any USB stick I configured it for.  However KonBoot failed to work as advertised on the Win 10 VM.  It never came up with the prompt to create another administrative account.  So I guess I'll have to try the stickykeys hack. I just figured if I already HAD KonBoot it would be cool to make it work with a VM. Technically I was using it for business and I only have a KonBoot personal license anyway so I can't even complain about it. :)  I'll have to give the KonBoot USB stick  it a go on my physical Win 10 laptop at home to make sure it's doing what it is supposed to.

 

I set this Win 10 VM up for a coworker for him to mess around with on our domain as a test to see what will cooperate with our softwares and what wouldn't.  The dummy only had the local administrators account an no other admin equals and when he disjoined it from the domain (why he disjoined it he still can't explain), and forgot the administrators password (why he changed THAT he can't explain either), he was stuck trying to get back into it.

 

Thanks again!  I'll add this gem to my arsenal of tools and probably use it for other stuff.



#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 March 2016 - 10:13 AM

When you have time, can you report about the VMUB error in your home Win7 system please?



#5 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6629 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2016 - 09:24 AM

P.S. KonBoot should work, but you need to bear in mind that when you boot from USB under VMUB,  hd0 is the USb drive and hd1 is the hard disk even after booting to Windows. So you may need to swap hd0 with hd1 if using a grub4dos menu for KonBoot???



#6 Rootman

Rootman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted 22 March 2016 - 05:12 PM

Sorry, I just deleted the thing.  Win 10 runs pretty dismally on VirtualBox, even on  quad core XEON and 12 GB of RAM on the host.  I recreated the VM from the original Win 7 VM I created it from originally, which was pulled off the domain and updated to Win 10. Somehow I lost the local administrator's password.

 

I run Win 10 on hardware at home and it's just fine.  I find it intolerable as a VM. Too slow.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users