Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Help with multiboot project (newbie alert)


  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#51 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 February 2016 - 12:00 AM

Thank you! Let's say I want to use qrun and the ntboot.mod folder. if I move them to my compilations boot folder, would that be possible? The DPMS folder is over 60 megs. I just want to know what files I need. I looked at the ::wim section. I know if I move the stuff I would need to alter the pathing in the section.



#52 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 27 February 2016 - 12:06 AM

You must have downloaded the DPMS version - you don't need that version unless you intend to install XP.

You don't need QRUN.g4b, just use the code from it

e.g.

# ISOC has wim file, bootmgr is in root, no BCD needed
set ISOC=/myfolder/myboot.wim
/_ISO/e2b/grub/NTBOOT NT6=%ISOC% NTLDR=/bootmgr

so you need the \_ISO\e2b\grub folder and the NTBOOT.MOD subfolder.

Probably just the NTBOOT file is needed in the grub folder (but it may use some other files??? - can't remember??)

NTBOOT is a grub4dos text file (batch file), it assumes there is a DPMS\NTBOOT.MOD folder below where NTBOOT is.

 

so

\xxx\yyy\NTBOOT

\xxx\yyy\DPMS\NTBOOT.MOD folder

 

should work.


Edited by steve6375, 27 February 2016 - 12:13 AM.


#53 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 February 2016 - 12:53 AM

I am getting windows failed to start errors when it changes to use NTBOOT. My directory structure and everything should be fine.

 

\_ISO\e2b\grub\DPMS\NTBOOT.MOD has all of the files in there including BOOTMGR I have tried a different versions of the BOOTMGR

 

\_ISO\e2b\grub has the NTBOOT file  and nothing else. It has no extension, should it have the g4b extension on it?


Edited by Shoshi, 27 February 2016 - 01:47 AM.


#54 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 February 2016 - 04:15 AM

OK, I have moved files around, made sure things were in place that I think they should be in place. Tried a few different bootmgr files and I still get the status 0xc000000e error. Ugh...



#55 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 February 2016 - 04:32 AM

It seems to kinda work on a USB not as an ISO. The windows loading screen appears and it finishes. Then an error appears.

 

it involves winload.exe and 0xc0000428

 

the signature could not be verified.



#56 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 27 February 2016 - 08:15 AM

Are you using a recent version of grub4dos - e.g. 2016-02-26 0.4.6a is latest version and seems good.

Is the wim file a PE-in-RAM file (i.e. loads as X:) and is it bootable? You cannot boot a flat-file wim.

Try with a \sources\boot.wim file from an standard MS Windows Install ISO.

Try on a standard E2B USB drive just to make sure it works.

I have never tried NTBOOT from a CD - so that may well not work or require some tweaking...


Edited by steve6375, 27 February 2016 - 08:38 AM.


#57 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 February 2016 - 09:07 AM

I ended up using the version of G4D that the latest non beta of RMPrep uses. I scraped having it boot the wims directly and I am jut using the whole ISO or booting and it works fine! Going the WIM way only saved a little bit of space. I will still give the options you gave me a look. 



#58 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 February 2016 - 01:15 AM

I have been doing research and Is there a more elegant solution available now to make a splash screen with no menu? I have looked at http://www.rmprepusb...o-menu-on-boot-



#59 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 February 2016 - 05:10 AM

Is there an easy way to add a welcome screen to gfxboot? I am using that for my menus. To get the splash I had made a new menu.lst that did not include the gfxboot code so it would just simply load a background graphic as a splash and then call menu2.lst that has the gfxboot code and the menu entries. But if there's a way to add a welcome screen to gfxboot that would be awesome.



#60 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 February 2016 - 07:30 AM

As it is using the information provided all of the text is hidden except the bottom text that tells you to use the arrows to make a selection and stuff.



#61 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 February 2016 - 08:49 AM

The new grub4dos can display a graphic bitmap/jpeg with a delay using the new splashimage --animate command.

 

You can display one file for a number of 1/18ths of a second, or a whole sequence for animation.

http://reboot.pro/to...-grub4dos-046a/

 

You can move/hide the help text using the new setmenu command in grub4dos.



#62 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 February 2016 - 10:48 AM

Would you recommend such a new version of g4d? 



#63 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 February 2016 - 10:49 AM

latest one seems good 2016-02-26 0.4.6a



#64 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 February 2016 - 11:24 AM

Upgraded and got rid of the box and version text. Unsure how to hide the help and menu text.

 

Is there a way to have my config file menu redirect function without a menu entry? I removed the title tag and it just automatically went to the next menu instead of listening to the timeout.


Edited by Shoshi, 28 February 2016 - 11:24 AM.


#65 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 February 2016 - 12:06 PM

move the help outside the display to line 90

 

setmenu --help=0=0=90

 

Not sure what you mean about config file? What do you have at the moment?



#66 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 February 2016 - 12:11 PM

My menu. This is just supposed to be purely a splash image that after 6 seconds redirects to my actual menu.
 
clear
debug off
graphicsmode -1 1024 768 32
splashimage /bsg.bmp
timeout 6

setmenu  --box l=0  --ver-off


title Main menu
configfile /boot/grub4dos/menu.lst





Edited by Shoshi, 28 February 2016 - 01:07 PM.


#67 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 February 2016 - 01:26 PM

try

setmenu --box y=40

to set the menu to start at line 40  (only 37 lines in 800x600) - so is off screen



#68 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 February 2016 - 09:06 PM

That works! I just noticed though, If I press a key while the splash screen is loading it stops the redirect. Is there a way to disable that?



#69 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 February 2016 - 09:11 PM

If you can wait a day or two for a new version of grub4dos, you can use the new splashimage --animated command to display any bitmap for a period of time. There is a small bug at the moment - if you set a time of say 6 seconds it does not actually display the bitmap for 6 seconds and then displays it for 6 seconds. Once that is fixed, you wont need to use any tricks.



#70 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 February 2016 - 09:21 PM

or try this

graphicsmode -1 800
splashimage /_ISO/e2b/grub/background.bmp.gz
# set cursor mode and show graphics
call Fn.70 3
clear
# delay 3 secs
call Fn.73 3
# restore cursor mode
call Fn.70 2

Function calls are detailed on my site here.

 

Edit: To hide the cursor, move it off the screen

call Fn.5 0 38


Edited by steve6375, 28 February 2016 - 09:58 PM.


#71 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 February 2016 - 11:12 PM

This will prevent keystrokes from interacting wit my splash screen?



#72 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 February 2016 - 11:21 PM

yes.



#73 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 February 2016 - 11:41 PM

I must not be doing it correctly. I have added it to my existing lst file and it did no work and I put alone in a lst file and it did not seem to work. The following code seems to work   (except keypresses can stop the timeout, etc)

 

I wonder if there is another way to add a splash boot image. I have checked into GFXBOOT and I know it can do it, but itis not easy. I was able to fnd the rippergfx download by using the wayback machine. I know you have messed with it and did not have much luck.I am a bit scared to mess with it as a few virus engines detect it as having malware. Not sure if is false positives. 

clear
debug off
graphicsmode -1 1024 768 32
splashimage /bsg.bmp
timeout 6

setmenu  --box l=0  --ver-off --help=0=0=90  --box y=80


title
configfile /boot/grub4dos/menu.lst




#74 Shoshi

Shoshi

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 29 February 2016 - 01:12 AM

I just made a second GFXBOOT file that is only linked to my splash menu.lst and it works except hitting  key stops the timeout countdown.

default 0
timeout 6
gfxmenu /splash.gfx


title
configfile /boot/grub4dos/menu.lst




#75 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6933 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 29 February 2016 - 07:16 PM

Here is latest 2016-02-29 0.4.6a which has fixed the splashimage bug I mentioned earlier. It may not be the final version, but at least you can try the splashimage command now to display a 'boiler plate' for a number of seconds

 

e.g.

graphicsmode -1 800

splashimage /background.bmp > nul

clear

debug 0

#display boilerplate for 5 seconds (90/18)

splashimage --animated=1=90=1=300=300 /boilerplate.bmp > nul

 

title ddddd

etc.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users