Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Easy2boot after boot I have only shortcuts and no application


Best Answer steve6375 , 03 January 2016 - 11:29 AM

In the INI file you have specified a path to \ISO\MAINMENU ?? Also you have used forward slashes ???

In the .mnu file, you have not specified a path, so it is looking for \GandalsW10x86.iso   (i.e. in root).

 

if the ISO is in the \_ISO\MAINMENU folder then use:

title GandalsW10x86 ISO \n Use for most WinBuilder PE ISOs
set ISO=/_ISO/MAINMENU/GandalsW10x86.iso
/%grub%/QRUN.g4b force.iso01 %ISO%
boot

But if you have the ISO in the MAINMENU folder, you will get two menu entries, one for the .mnu file and one for the .ISO file. I suggest that you move the .mnu file to the \_ISO\MAINMENU\MNU folder and use:

title GandalsW10x86 ISO \n Use for most WinBuilder PE ISOs
set ISO=$HOME$/GandalsW10x86.iso
/%grub%/QRUN.g4b force.iso01 %ISO%
boot

where $HOME$ is translated by E2B to be the same folder as .mnu file.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 mrapi

mrapi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 02 January 2016 - 12:35 PM

Hi!

I put  Gandalf’s Windows 10PE x86 into _ISO/MAINMENU

then boot window 10 live,but  I have only shortcuts and no application

seems that iso not loaded automatically into a virtual drive DVD,how to fix that

thanks!



#2 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1338 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 January 2016 - 06:16 PM

Did you follow the instructions for a PE???

 

http://www.easy2boot...and-winpe-isos/

 

From looking at the site, and reference to "theOven", this is most likely a Winbuilder based PE, so follow those instructions.

 

Scott


  • mrapi likes this

#3 mrapi

mrapi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 02 January 2016 - 08:46 PM

Ok,I followed the instructions:

I put iso in the root usb  GandalsW10x86.iso

I got WinBuilderPE_ISO.mnu from Sample mnu files/Windows ant put into _ISO/MAINMENU

then rename it to  GandalsW10x86.mnu and edit:

 

title GandalsW10x86 ISO \n Use for most WinBuilder PE ISOs
set ISO=GandalsW10x86.iso
/%grub%/QRUN.g4b force.iso01 /%ISO%
boot


title GandalsW10x86 ISO + Load ISO as new drive letter \n Use for WinBuilder PE ISOs\n which don't auto-load the ISO as Y:
set ISO=GandalsW10x86.iso
/%grub%/QRUN.g4b force.isope01 /%ISO%
boot

I chose first option(Use for most WinBuilder PE ISOs),it is booting but no drive Y is present at the end and shortcuts goes to no drive Y

what I have done wrong

 

Thanks!



#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 January 2016 - 09:36 PM

It is easiest to convert the ISO to a .imgPTN file.

If you want to boot from an ISO file directly, you will need to add an INI file and use the special .isoWB file extension plus a special .WB file. See http://www.easy2boot...and-winpe-isos/

 

http://rmprepusb.blo...om-gandalf.html

http://rmprepusb.blo...nstall-iso.html

 

If you want to run it as an ISO using your .mnu file, rename the .iso file to \WIN10PESE_x64.ISO (for 64-bit version) because that was the original WinBuilder name (if you click on the Yellow triangle on the Gandalf Desktop, it will show you what name it is expecting).


Edited by steve6375, 03 January 2016 - 12:05 AM.

  • mrapi likes this

#5 mrapi

mrapi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 03 January 2016 - 11:24 AM

Hi,because it is possible to add multiple iso,I follow this : http://www.easy2boot...and-winpe-isos/

 

I found the MountPEmedia.ini got the name of ini file

ExternalIniFileName=Win10PESE.ini

I put Win10PESE.ini into usb root with this content:

[IsoInfo]
IsoName=_ISO/MAINMENU/GandalsW10x86.iso

GandalsW10x86.mnu into _ISO/MAINMENU/:

title GandalsW10x86 ISO \n Use for most WinBuilder PE ISOs
set ISO=GandalsW10x86.iso
/%grub%/QRUN.g4b force.iso01 /%ISO%
boot


title GandalsW10x86 ISO + Load ISO as new drive letter \n Use for WinBuilder PE ISOs\n which don't auto-load the ISO as Y:
set ISO=GandalsW10x86.iso
/%grub%/QRUN.g4b force.isope01 /%ISO%
boot
 

when I boot first item seems to be invalid (if I select it is not booting),second item works

 

 

I want to add windows 8.1 x86 iso,where do I have to put the iso file ?

 

thanks!

 


Edited by mrapi, 03 January 2016 - 11:25 AM.


#6 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 January 2016 - 11:29 AM   Best Answer

In the INI file you have specified a path to \ISO\MAINMENU ?? Also you have used forward slashes ???

In the .mnu file, you have not specified a path, so it is looking for \GandalsW10x86.iso   (i.e. in root).

 

if the ISO is in the \_ISO\MAINMENU folder then use:

title GandalsW10x86 ISO \n Use for most WinBuilder PE ISOs
set ISO=/_ISO/MAINMENU/GandalsW10x86.iso
/%grub%/QRUN.g4b force.iso01 %ISO%
boot

But if you have the ISO in the MAINMENU folder, you will get two menu entries, one for the .mnu file and one for the .ISO file. I suggest that you move the .mnu file to the \_ISO\MAINMENU\MNU folder and use:

title GandalsW10x86 ISO \n Use for most WinBuilder PE ISOs
set ISO=$HOME$/GandalsW10x86.iso
/%grub%/QRUN.g4b force.iso01 %ISO%
boot

where $HOME$ is translated by E2B to be the same folder as .mnu file.


Edited by steve6375, 03 January 2016 - 11:34 AM.

  • mrapi likes this

#7 mrapi

mrapi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 03 January 2016 - 01:33 PM

Indeed now it is working

 

I also want to add windows 8.1 setup iso I put it into .../_ISO/WINDOWS/WIN8 ,it boots but when I have to chose windows drive to install,it shows no drive and the message:   A media driver your computer needs is missing...

 

thanks



#8 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 January 2016 - 01:49 PM

http://www.easy2boot...s-install-isos/

 

http://www.easy2boot.com/faq-/

 

Are you sure the USB drive is a Removable flash drive? Does the system contain a hard disk and does Win 8 have the correct drivers for the hard disk controller?



#9 mrapi

mrapi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 03 January 2016 - 04:39 PM

The usb is removable media

The iso file is that I've installed my system,it contains drivers for my hdd

I put a newer iso version but the same thing

 

thanks



#10 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 January 2016 - 05:45 PM

Do you see the blue console window before Setup runs? 

What is the exact error message? Do you see this message box or similar about CD\DVD Device driver? If so it suggests that the blue console window did not appear? This can be due to using a non-removable USB drive or perhaps a non-Microsoft ISO,

If it is a 'special' ISO, you should convert it to a .imgPTN file.


Edited by steve6375, 03 January 2016 - 05:48 PM.


#11 mrapi

mrapi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 04 January 2016 - 10:04 AM

Hi! I can see blue console window

iso is a custom build,I converted to imgPT and seems to work but WHEN I BOOT IT ASKS ME TO OVERWITE THE PARTITON  WITH SOME FILES AND I LOST SOME OF THEM (from USB) ....very strange method


Edited by mrapi, 04 January 2016 - 10:04 AM.


#12 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 04 January 2016 - 10:44 AM

When you use a .imgPTN file, it replaces the partition table with a new one.

You can restore the original E2B USB drive contents by booting it and selecting CSM Menu option #0 - or use the \e2b\Switch_E2B.exe utility on the drive to 'restore E2B partitions'.



#13 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 04 January 2016 - 11:03 AM

If you can see the blue console Window when using the ISO, does it say that it has loaded the ISO as drive Y: ??

Are you using the latest version of E2B 1.75 or 1.76Beta? If you see the blue console window and it has mounted the ISO as Y: then Setup should work.



#14 mrapi

mrapi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 04 January 2016 - 11:22 AM

Hi

I'm using Easy2Boot v.1.75.

I'll not use erase method,I'll use rufus to create usb windows setup files 

thanks for your time and answers!


Edited by mrapi, 04 January 2016 - 11:25 AM.


#15 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 04 January 2016 - 07:00 PM

No problem. Rufus is great but it is not multiboot.



#16 wozz

wozz
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 25 January 2016 - 10:32 PM

Hi,

 

can someone guide me to instructions on how to have easy2boot put onto a second hard disk (internal) please

 

thanks in advance.

 

ww



#17 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7044 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 25 January 2016 - 10:42 PM

Not recommended! You will need to explain what disks are in the system and what is on each disk and how they are partitioned.

E2B is really intended for USB drives.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users