Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

SharpBoot

xboot sharpboot zdimension iso usb multiboot syslinux grub4dos

  • Please log in to reply
83 replies to this topic

#1 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 28 November 2015 - 06:59 PM

SharpBoot

Current version: 4.5

 

SharpBoot is an easy to use utility for creating multiboot ISO files or bootable USB keys. It's another free and open-source alternative to Xboot and it's simple: you just need to drag-n-drop ISO/IMG files and click on a button, and you can directly try it on QEMU that is integrated.

You can choose between Syslinux and Grub4Dos, Fat12, Fat16, Fat32 or NTFS, 640x480, 800x600, 1024x768 or 1280x1024 and even the background image (ImageMagick is integrated so that images can be made compatible with Grub4Dos) !

It's available in the following languages :

  • us.png gb.png English
  • fr.png French / Français
  • de.png German / Deutsch
  • ro.png Romanian / Română
  • cn.png Simplified Chinese / 中文(简体)
  • tw.png Traditional Chinese / 中文(繁體)
  • ru.png Russian / ру́сский
  • ua.png Ukrainian / Українська
  • es.png Spanish  / Español
  • cz.png Czech / Čeština (55% translated)
  • it.png Italian / Italiano
  • pt.png Portuguese / Português
  • hu.png Hungarian / Magyar (95% translated)
  • pl.png Polish / Polski

Here's what it looks like :

ye84DmK.png

 

(screenshot from version 4.5)

As you can see, the UI is quite like Xboot's, but there's some more features.

 

TODO:

  • Add UEFI support
  • Add "USB tools" form with format, boot management etc stuff
  • Add Grub2 support: WILL BE DONE IN 5.0

CHANGELOG:

  • 3.3 - 2015-11-29
    • Added Traditional Chinese translation, thanks to Jen Hung-Chia
  • 3.3.1 - 2015-11-30
    • Refactored everything using ReSharper
    • MainWindow is now double buffered, so it doesn't flicker anymore when you change the language
    • Fixed the flag for Jen Hung-Chia, I had copied the ListViewItem without changing the flag
    • Fixed Program.GetVersion() showing only major & minor version (for example it was showing 3.3 instead of 3.3.1)
  • 3.4 - 2015-12-01
    • ​Added website of Jen Hung-Chia (Traditional Chinese translator)
    • Added Russian and Ukrainian translations (thanks to Michael Orishich)
  • 3.4.1 - 2015-12-02
    • Added cyrillic psf font for Syslinux (previously it was printing weird characters due to the default font not supporting cyrillic chars)
    • Fixed some Ukrainian translations
  • 3.5 - 2015-12-06
    • Added some ukrainian translations
    • Added HDD support
    • Finished Simplified Chinese translation
    • The app database isn't hardcoded anymore, it's now hosted on my website and automatically updated every 10 minutes
  • 3.5.1 - 2015-12-06
    • Added ISO database in case you don't have internet access
  • 3.6 - 2015-12-09
    • Added file size handling for Russian and Ukranian
    • Added empty file check in update: if the downloaded file is empty or invalid XML, then it doesn't erase the current one
    • Added some replacement fur some Ukranian chars unsupported by the font
    • Added spanish translation (thanks to Hector)
    • Now, the "Add ISO" form shows description of the selected app to download
  • 3.7 - 2015-12-10
    • Added an updater! It searches for updates at app start and every 10 minutes, and if there's one available, shows a tiny cute button at upper-right corner of the screen, and when you click it, it opens the GitHub page of the latest release!
    • Added the Antivirus and Windows categories
    • Fixed a Russian translation: памьять -> память
    • Added Michael Orishich GitHub page to README.MD and About dialog
  • 3.8 - 2015-12-14
    • Added a "Drop files here" text because some people didn't know how to add ISO files
    • Fixed the "Cancel" button when generating ISO, didn't do anything when clicked, now works
    • Added flags to the languages drop-down
  • 3.9 - 2015-12-15
    • Fixed Chinese MainWindow for screens under 1024x768 (the form would have been 800+ px height so some parts of the form were hidden)
    • Started adding Czech translation (thanks Valentin Fritz, 34% translated yet)
    • Added Italian translation (thanks Blys)
  • 4.0 - 2015-12-21
    • Fixed MainWindow in traditional chinese, some label were hidden
    • Moved language button to menu bar
    • Fixed Image rendering with Windows7Renderer
    • Added some Czech translations (from Microsoft Terminology Collection)
    • Added Custom Code window (you can put custom code for entries)
    • Added Custom Files window (you can put files that are automatically copied on the ISO/USB key)
  • 4.1 - 2015-12-30
    • Started working on first Launch window (not enabled yet, not finished)
    • Fixed ISO creation when bootloader is Syslinux and no backgtround image selected
    • Updated the grub.exe in Syslinux.7z (the integrated Grub4DOS binary used to boot ISOs)
    • Fixed some ISO generation bugs
    • Fixed the accent removal method (didn't remove accents properly)
    • Added a "Volume Label" window when formatting a USB key so you can choose the volume label
  • 4.2 - 2016-01-23
    • Fixed display size in main window
    • Now checks for update only at app startup
    • Fixed language icons
    • Updated QEMU 1.5.1 to 2.5.0
    • Updated 7-Zip 9.20 to 15.14
    • Updated ImageMagick 6.8.6 to 6.9.2
    • Fixed ImageMagick code in Grub4DOS
    • Updated some version strings and copyrights
    • Updated LibZ 1.1.0.2 to 1.2.0.0
    • Added 1280x1024 to supported resolutions
    • Moved my website, fixed the app database URL
    • Fixed a bug in the custom files form
    • Fixed 2 russian localizations
  • 4.3 - 2016-05-02
    • Fixed a bug when downloading an ISO file
    • Added NTFS support

    • Updated grubinst.exe 1.1 -> 1.4
    • ISO categories are now directly in the AppDB
    • Updated Syslinux 6.03 -> 6.04
  • 4.4 - 2016-09-19
    • Added Portuguese, thanks José Pedro

    • Updates:

      • 7-zip 15.14 -> 16.02
      • QEMU 2.5.93.0 -> 2.7.0
      • ImageMagick 7.0.1-0-Q16 -> 7.0.3-0-Q16
  • 4.5 - 2016-25-10
    • Added Hungarian (thanks Gabor Molnar)

    • Added Polish (thanks Mikolaj98)

    • Updates:

      • 7-zip 16.02 -> 16.04
      • QEMU 2.7.0 -> 2.7.50.0

Currently it's not finished I need some beta-testers and translators.

 

 

Any suggestion or comment is welcomed

 

Also if anyone gets a "File not found" when generating ISO / USB, please report the exact error (the important thing is the file name) because I often get this error but I get it very rarely

 

Official download : http://www.zdimensio...nload.php?f=shb

Help me developing SharpBoothttp://tinyurl.com/helpsharpboot

Report issues or problem : on this topic or https://github.com/z...harpBoot/issues

Translate SharpBoot in your languagehttps://poeditor.com...ject/GDNqzsHFSk

Browse the AppDBhttp://zdimension.tk...pps.php?correct

Download on reboot.pro : http://reboot.pro/fi.../567-sharpboot/

GitHub repository : https://github.com/z...nsion/SharpBoot

Page on my website : http://zdimension.tk/sharpboot.php

 

You can request features by posting on this topic or by sending me a PM


Edited by Monsieur Z, 26 October 2016 - 05:08 AM.

  • TheHive likes this

#2 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 28 November 2015 - 07:46 PM

index.php?app=downloads&module=display&s

File Name: SharpBoot
File Submitter: Monsieur Z
File Submitted: 28 Nov 2015
File Category: Projects


SharpBoot is an easy to use utility for creating multiboot ISO files or bootable USB keys. It's another free and open-source alternative to Xboot and it's simple: you just need to drag-n-drop ISO/IMG files and click on a button, and you can directly try it on QEMU that is integrated.
You can choose between Syslinux and Grub4Dos, Fat12, Fat16 or Fat32, 640x480, 800x600 or 1024x768 and even the background image (ImageMagick is integrated so that images can be made compatible with Grub4Dos) !

 

I just noticed that I created two posts (the first one and this one automatically created) is it possible to merge them ? Thanks

http://reboot.pro/to...0856-sharpboot/

Click here to download this file


Edited by Monsieur Z, 28 November 2015 - 08:13 PM.


#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12684 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 28 November 2015 - 09:27 PM

I merged.

 

Spam? I do not think so.

 

A 3 years old user with his first post.

 

Peter



#4 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 28 November 2015 - 10:13 PM

Also why is the button "Edit" hidden now ?

I mean I can't edit it anymore the button has disappeared...

 

(sorry for my bad english I'm french)



#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12684 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 28 November 2015 - 10:19 PM

The post is modified (merged) by a moderator. For you as a new member it is not editable now.

AFAIK your next post here will be editable. But who knows the deepest secrets of the forum's software ???

Peter :cheers:



#6 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10418 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 29 November 2015 - 09:42 AM

Hello,

 

As Peter mentioned, members with almost no posts have many actions restricted. Happens because of spammers. On your case I've manually placed your account as a developer so that you have no such restrictions. Very good work. Will be featured on the next newsletter.

 

:cheers:



#7 dummkopf007

dummkopf007

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Location:vasodilator madness .....hydrocephalus ...........hose your mind thx ............. Dr Struck off ... .......... Bedsforhire
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 29 November 2015 - 01:25 PM

The downloaded orphaned file does NOT launch on my XP system SP3 .Net framework 4

 

AppName: sharpboot.exe      AppVer: 3.2.0.0     AppStamp:5659fa73
ModName: clr.dll      ModVer: 4.0.30319.1      ModStamp:4ba1d9ef
fDebug: 0       Offset: 000120b2



#8 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 29 November 2015 - 01:38 PM

dummkopf007 I haven't tested it yet on XP, will do that right now on my VM



#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13305 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 29 November 2015 - 01:42 PM

So is this thingy .Net based? :w00t: :ph34r:

:duff:
Wonko

#10 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12684 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 29 November 2015 - 01:59 PM

On my XP x86 SP3 .NET 4 it works.

I could add 2 ISOs in the GUI

I could test in qemu.

 

No intensive tests made.

 

Peter



#11 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 29 November 2015 - 04:19 PM

Wonko The Sane: Yes, C#. And it's open-source!

Check it out here http://github.com/zdimension/SharpBoot



#12 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13305 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 29 November 2015 - 04:28 PM

Wonko The Sane: Yes, C#. And it's open-source!

Check it out here http://github.com/zdimension/SharpBoot

The fact that it is Open Source is a very good thing. :thumbsup:

The fact that is written in what I personally call C-dumb and needs .Net unfortunately makes it (for me, and personally) a no-no[1]. :(

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

[1]Please understand that there is nothing "wrong" in your (nice) tool or in your decision to use the stupid mass of bloat that .Net represents, it is just me believing that .Net is the root of most evil :frusty:.


  • pscEx likes this

#13 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12684 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 29 November 2015 - 05:25 PM

I do not remember that any of my developed programs uses .NET :bounce8:

Peter



#14 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 29 November 2015 - 06:29 PM

dummkopf007: Do you get an error when running the exe ?



#15 dummkopf007

dummkopf007

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Location:vasodilator madness .....hydrocephalus ...........hose your mind thx ............. Dr Struck off ... .......... Bedsforhire
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 29 November 2015 - 09:25 PM

   hi Monsieur Z the error report even contained my shoe size!

 

   Now fixed, I updated the MickySoft with NDP40-KB2600211-x86.exe

 

   huh!... I was wondering why some apps would'nt work!

 

                  ................  edit/ ha!  just noticed "AppName: sharpboot.exe  AppVer: 3.2.0.0"

                                            re-downloaded and installed SharpBoot_3.3 after update
 


Edited by dummkopf007, 29 November 2015 - 09:49 PM.


#16 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 29 November 2015 - 10:33 PM

Does it work with the version 3.3 now ?



#17 dummkopf007

dummkopf007

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Location:vasodilator madness .....hydrocephalus ...........hose your mind thx ............. Dr Struck off ... .......... Bedsforhire
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 30 November 2015 - 09:08 AM

   Yes it does; but only after I had updated to NDP40-KB2600211-x86.exe (Update 4.0.3 for Microsoft .NET Framework 4)

which I thought I had!, perhaps it juggled the files and fixed my old DotNet4?

   Took a while to install ( one episode of " I love Lucy " )

 

#18 dummkopf007

dummkopf007

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Location:vasodilator madness .....hydrocephalus ...........hose your mind thx ............. Dr Struck off ... .......... Bedsforhire
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 30 November 2015 - 10:26 AM

   The other file usbfastboot from the website errors with "...is not a valid win32 application"



#19 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13305 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 November 2015 - 08:56 PM

   The other file usbfastboot from the website errors with "...is not a valid win32 application"

That is on XP/2003, right?

This is becoming very common as some newish (stupid) MS compiler default to Major OS version 6, and it happens to quite a few developers to leave that "as is" without actually testing the program on XP/2003.

Usually (but not always) simply hexediting the PE header with 5 will solve the issue.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#20 v77

v77

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 505 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 01 December 2015 - 05:30 PM

That is on XP/2003, right?

This is becoming very common as some newish (stupid) MS compiler default to Major OS version 6, and it happens to quite a few developers to leave that "as is" without actually testing the program on XP/2003.

Usually (but not always) simply hexediting the PE header with 5 will solve the issue.

 

AFAIK, an OS version can be indicated as compatible with a resource file (integrated in the .exe at the time of the compilation), but this has nothing to do with the PE header.
But even if you set nothing about the compatibility with XP, the executable is still a valid Win32 application... except if it is a .NET one, such as in this case.
You can also get this message if you attempt to run a 64-bit executable on a 32-bit system.



#21 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13305 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 December 2015 - 06:27 PM

@v77

Lately I noticed a number of occasions of that error coming from the Major OS version set to 6 in the PE header, surely that same error can come from different causes, of course, and of course the error is misleading, still that one is the error that comes out when attempting to run a .exe (not necessarily a .Net one) on XP if the Major OS is set to higher than 5, this may (or may not) be the case, still it is a very probable cause of the error "xxxxxxxx.exe is not a valid Win32 application".

 

Last time I remember (JFYI):

http://www.msfn.org/...aces/?p=1092453

 

Homepage of the tool is here:

http://code.kliu.org/misc/elevate/

 

:duff:

Wonko



#22 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 01 December 2015 - 06:28 PM

If it doesn't work it's simply because I forgot to change the .NET version. It was compiled for 4.5, while XP only supports up to 4. I'm setting it to 2 right now.



#23 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 01 December 2015 - 08:29 PM

UPDATE: USBFastBoot 1.1 works perfectly on XP with .NET 4. I also added support of booting physical CD drives



#24 dummkopf007

dummkopf007

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Location:vasodilator madness .....hydrocephalus ...........hose your mind thx ............. Dr Struck off ... .......... Bedsforhire
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 December 2015 - 06:10 PM

   Yes confirming USBFastBoot 1.1 loads with XP now without the (NDP40-KB2600211-x86.exe) update!

Perhaps "SharpBoot" could be compiled to aswell? ( cough cough )   



#25 Monsieur Z

Monsieur Z

    Member

  • Developer
  • 51 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computers, C# and spaghetti
  •  
    France

Posted 02 December 2015 - 06:11 PM

dummkopf007: You mean without the .NET 4?

Sorry, I can't put it on .NET 2.0 or 3.0 because I use async and LINQ stuff that are only available on 4.0 and after :/

 

Also (will put that on first post) if anyone gets a "File not found" when generating ISO / USB, please report the exact error (the important thing is the file name) because I often get this error but since I need to see what it is I don't see it anymore







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: xboot, sharpboot, zdimension, iso, usb, multiboot, syslinux, grub4dos

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users