47 replies to this topic

#1 bill5858

bill5858

• Members
  • 24 posts
  •  
    US Virgin Islands

Posted 29 June 2015 - 07:18 PM

I have spent some time reading around this forum but I need some help.  Be patient I am new and trying here.  I hope Steve6375 finds this post because his brains would come in handy about now.  There are many great folks here and I readily admit I am a newbie.  In fact I am using a "fossil" grub4dos but it is working great.

This is not just another TrueCrypt thread.  I am currently using grub4dos on a bootable usb as needed.  I mount 7 Pro as a normal unencrypted system disk and a hidden encrypted 7 OS on half my machines using grub4dos.   On these machines I remove the TrueCrypt bootloader and run an unencrypted 7 OS in sda1.  I use a grub4dos bootable usb to mount the hidden OS when needed -- its in sda2.  Its basic stuff really but I'll paste here for reference:

title TRUECRYPT RESCUE DISK
find --set-root /tc.iso
map --mem /tc.iso (hd32)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

I have used and helped scores of folks with TrueCrypt and now I want to take this to another level.  I made a sector by sector image of sda2.  I have acid tested the image by destroying sda2 in the original location and then replacing it with the saved image.  It works perfectly so its ready to go and accurate.