Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Extract dynamic VHD to RAM


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 karyonix

karyonix

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 451 posts
  •  
    Thailand

Posted 07 June 2015 - 10:47 PM

Loading from dynamic VHD can be faster than loading from raw disk image when there is large unused space that has not been expanded.

I added dynamic VHD reading capability to this modified grub4dos.
You can use with map --mem.
It will reads content of disk image in dynamic VHD.
Don't map dynamic VHD directly without --mem.

Differencing VHD is not supported.

Binary
http://www.mediafire...06-08-dynvhd.7z

Source
http://www.mediafire...50608-dynvhd.7z

(based on https://github.com/chenall/grub4dosfrom 2015-05-23)
  • i likes this

#2 i

i

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 523 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 08 June 2015 - 02:04 AM

Ok,.. this is cool  :)

 

I hope the speed is fasssssst,... but, how to convert to dynamic (?) and convert back to normal disk? ( :P this question could come up by someone? like sixcentgeorge?)

 

How to compact a VHD steps are here though :unsure:



#3 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13636 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 June 2015 - 08:56 AM

Good. :)

Now if also plain RAW sparse files could be implemented   :unsure: (and chenall adds the feature to the official branch) we could have an even plainer and wider solution. 

 

(no offence intended of course, but making this fork, while it is a nice way to test a new feature, does not represent iMHO a long term solution)

 

Cross linking to:

http://reboot.pro/to...n-many-ramdisk/

http://reboot.pro/to...b4dos/?p=193023

 

:duff:

Wonko



#4 F...youidontcareanymore

F...youidontcareanymore

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location:Adelaide
  •  
    Australia

Posted 08 June 2015 - 10:43 AM

I have a utility to resize vhd either dynamic or fixed, but i can't find attachments?



#5 F...youidontcareanymore

F...youidontcareanymore

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location:Adelaide
  •  
    Australia

Posted 13 July 2015 - 10:15 AM

I'd like to share the vhd resize utility but don't know of an upload service that does not require registration, anyone?



#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13636 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 July 2015 - 11:03 AM

I'd like to share the vhd resize utility but don't know of an upload service that does not require registration, anyone?

http://www.zippyshare.com/

 

You should however be able (since you have more than - I believe - 50 posts) to attach a file, you need to click on "More Reply Options" to access the more complete editor including the provision for attachments.

 

:duff:

Wonko 



#7 F...youidontcareanymore

F...youidontcareanymore

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location:Adelaide
  •  
    Australia

Posted 13 July 2015 - 11:26 AM

Can only attach existing media :( When my imaging finishes i'll use zippyshare jac



#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13636 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 July 2015 - 11:47 AM

Can only attach existing media :( When my imaging finishes i'll use zippyshare jac

What do you mean "existing media"?

You do not see this ?:

attachafile.jpg

 

:duff:

Wonko



#9 F...youidontcareanymore

F...youidontcareanymore

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location:Adelaide
  •  
    Australia

Posted 13 July 2015 - 11:57 AM

No, i do not have that.



#10 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13636 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 July 2015 - 12:22 PM

Maybe the "limit" is then 100 posts. :unsure:

 

:duff:

Wonko



#11 F...youidontcareanymore

F...youidontcareanymore

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location:Adelaide
  •  
    Australia

Posted 13 July 2015 - 12:44 PM

I was above 81, now im not over 81, oh the joy

 

81 since 2009 and still not counting, so that would be never jac!

 

Guess i see my worth :idea:


Edited by DoleBludger, 13 July 2015 - 01:01 PM.


#12 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13636 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 July 2015 - 01:16 PM

I was above 81, now im not over 81, oh the joy

 

81 since 2009 and still not counting, so that would be never jac!

 

Guess i see my worth :idea:

Well, but if you e-mail (not PM, e-mail) Nuno asking him nicely, he aways provided exceptions for the less talkative ;) developers/contributing members ....

 

:duff:

Wonko



#13 F...youidontcareanymore

F...youidontcareanymore

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location:Adelaide
  •  
    Australia

Posted 13 July 2015 - 02:25 PM

I'll post my findings in another 4 years or so.

 

http://reboot.pro/to...trojan-on-page/

 

Of course, it seems nuno is quite good at writing security tutorials after that event.

 

I would rather eat dog ..... than grovel to that .....

 

Fairwell jaclaz :fool:






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users