Jump to content











Photo

How to add/integrate 'Wow64' feature within 'Image Index: 2' of 64-bit 'boot.wim' of 'Win8.1U3/Win10' with the help of .cmd and .script files ?

syswow64 wow64 5-wow64.script x64_boot.wim winnt6 winnt10

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 08:47 AM

Hello Everyone....
 
I want to manually add/integrate 'Wow64' feature within 'Image Index: 2' of 64-bit 'boot.wim' of 'Win8.1U3/Win10' with the help of .cmd and .script files.
 
I want to first extract all required 'Wow64' files (embedded in '5-Wow64.script') within from 'Source' directory to 'Wow64' directory.
 
\Wow64\Windows\SysWow64
\Wow64\Windows\WinSxS\Manifests
\Wow64\Windows\WinSxS
\Mount_Boot_Index.cmd
\Wow64.script
 
I will use following variables within 'wow64.script' -
//WinNT6 and WinNT10 Variables
%Wow%=%~dp0\Wow64\Windows\SysWow64
%tWow%=%SystemDrive%\mount4\Windows\SysWow64
%Manif%=%~dp0\Wow64\Windows\WinSxS\Manifests
%tManif%=%SystemDrive%\mount4\Windows\Winsxs\Manifests
%SXS%=%~dp0\Wow64\Windows\WinSxS
%tSXS%=%SystemDrive%\mount4\Windows\Winsxs
CopySysWoW=Run,%ScriptFile%,Process-CopySysWoW
//

And then 'Mount_Boot_Index.cmd' will run 'Wow64.script' in order to add 'Wow64' feature within mounted 'boot.wim'.

 

These are all things which I plan to do till now.  I need support and guidance of related experts. So PLEASE suggest me a better way to achieve my goal.....

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Till now, I have found following thread which I think may be useful for extracting All files encoded in .script

 

 
 wbzip_new.zip
 unwbzip006.zip
 
AFAIU, 'unwbzip.cmd' is a simple batch to help in using 'wbzip_new.exe' to extract files embedded in Winbuilder .scripts.
 
Usage:
unwbzip <scriptname.script> &#91;options&#93; &#91;<section> <filename>&#93; &#91;TargetDir&#93;
 
Options&#58;
/L        - List all filenames of files encoded in .script
/LS     - List all Sections of files encoded in .script
/XA     - eXtract All files encoded in .script
     
 
I want to create 'Wow64.zip' which will contain all needed files inside '5-Wow64.script' for 64-bit Win8.1U3/Win10.
 
Can 'wbzip_new.zip' and 'unwbzip006.zip' do something for me ?
 
I could not understood how to use these files in order to extract all files embedded in '5-Wow64.script'.
 
Can anybody please help me in creating required bare minimum 'Wow64.zip' for both WinNT6 and WinNT10 ? 
 
How to run 'Wow64.script' file within from a .cmd file in order to add 'Wow64' feature within 'boot.wim' mounted folder ?
 
Thanks in Advance.....
 
Regards....


#2 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 11:11 AM

What if I first create 'Win8.1U3SE_x64_boot.wim' and then copy following directories within from mounted 'Win8.1U3SE_x64_boot.wim' and

then paste all these directories to 'Image Index: 2' of 64-bit Win8.1U3/Win10 'boot.wim' ?

\Windows\SysWow64
\Windows\WinSxS\Manifests
\Windows\WinSxS


Will it work ?

 

Regards....



#3 Agent47

Agent47

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 164 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 11:16 AM

Hi

 

First of all "Wow64" script doesn't contain doesn't contain any Windows system files. The script will copy necessary files to enable 32 bit support on 64 bit PE from the "Windows 8.x" source. Also the script will add necessary registry entries to enable 32 bit support. If you want to add "Wow64" support to "Win10 PE", you need to work from scratch. Since 8.1 and 10 are very similar, you can refer the 8.1 script to know which files needed to be added, which registry keys needed to be added etc. It is certainly not an easy task.

 

I am just curious to know why you need a Win10PE so badly. I mean what is wrong with Win8PE or Win8.1PE ?. 



#4 Agent47

Agent47

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 164 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 11:19 AM

I would like to add that, "Multi Wim" by JFX won't work with UEFI ( it requires GRUB4DOS ). You can forget to use both index of a "boot.wim" if you need UEFI support.



#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 December 2014 - 11:46 AM

 

 

 

Till now, I have found following thread which I think may be useful for extracting All files encoded in .script

 

 
 wbzip_new.zip
 unwbzip006.zip
 
 

 

And what happens when you run:

unwbzip.cmd Wow64.script /L

And what happens when you run:

unwbzip.cmd Wow64.script /LS

:unsure:

 

Please also take notice of this rather explicit part of the original release post :whistling::

 


As always, no help file given , if the above info is not enough to let you use the batch, it means that you should NOT use it.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#6 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 12:15 PM

 

I am just curious to know why you need a Win10PE so badly. I mean what is wrong with Win8PE or Win8.1PE ?. 

 

I never told that I want 'Win10PE' so badly. I am currently happy with 'Win8.1SE'. Actually I want to just add 'Wow64' feature within 64-bit 'boot.wim' of both Win8.1U3 and Win10.



#7 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 12:16 PM

 

I would like to add that, "Multi Wim" by JFX won't work with UEFI ( it requires GRUB4DOS ). You can forget to use both index of a "boot.wim" if you need UEFI support.

I knew about it 2 days ago. ;). I think you could not understood my point.  I don't want to use both index of a "boot.wim'. 

 

AFAIK, In Windows Installer 'Boot Index is 2' and 'Image Index: 1' is unused. So I will delete all files of 'Image Index: 1' and use only 'Image Index: 2' of 64-bit 'boot.wim'.

 

Regards........



#8 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 12:19 PM

 

unwbzip.cmd Wow64.script /L
unwbzip.cmd Wow64.script /LS

Please also take notice of this rather explicit part of the original release post  :whistling::

 

Thanks for providing exact command. Actually where I should put 'wbzip_new.exe' , 'unwbzip.cmd' and 'Wow64.script' before applying above command was the main confusion for me...

 

\wbzip_new\wbzip_new.exe

\wbzip_new\unwbzip.cmd

\wbzip_new\Wow64.script

 

And finally I put all 3 files within 'wbzip_new' folder and Simply hold down the Shift key and right-click  'wbzip_new' folder. And choose "Open command window here” option within from context menu. And then type above commands. And It work perfectly......

 

Thanks & Regards....



#9 Agent47

Agent47

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 164 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 01:38 PM

 

AFAIK, In Windows Installer 'Boot Index is 2' and 'Image Index: 1' is unused. So I will delete all files of 'Image Index: 1' and use only 'Image Index: 2' of 64-bit 'boot.wim'.

 

Regards........

 

 

A WIM file won't store multiple copies of same file. WIM uses single instancing which is a technique used to store multiple copies of same file without taking additional space. Both index 1 and 2 shares same files ( index 1 has less files than 2 ). 

 

Source :  http://technet.micro...y/cc507842.aspx

 

 

 

  • The WIM image format enables compression and single instancing, thus reducing the size of image files significantly. Single instancing is a technique that allows you to store two or more copies of a file for the space cost of one copy. For example, if images 1, 2, and 3 all contain file A, single-instancing stores a single copy of the file A and points images 1, 2, and 3 to that copy.

 

By deleting index 1, you will only gain minor size reduction. But that is totally your choice.



#10 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 02:04 PM

A WIM file won't store multiple copies of same file. WIM uses single instancing which is a technique used to store multiple copies of same file without taking additional space. Both index 1 and 2 shares same files ( index 1 has less files than 2 ). 

 

Source :  http://technet.micro...y/cc507842.aspx

 

 

By deleting index 1, you will only gain minor size reduction. But that is totally your choice.

 I really didn't know about this point.......Thanks for sharing very useful information......

 

Do you know about list of additional files which 'Image Index: 2' of 'boot.wim' contains.......?



#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 December 2014 - 02:08 PM

Well try opening unwbzip.cmd in Notepad, it is not written in brainfuck :w00t: :ph34r:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brainfuck

it is a plain enough batch file.

 

Of course the wbzip_new.exe needs to be in the same directory as the unwbzip.cmd, and of course you need to open a command prompt and navigate to the directory where both are, while you may have the target .script in another folder (and in this case you will need to provide the full path to it instead of just the filename).

 

However:



C:\Downloaded\Chainboot>unwbzip
A parameter is missing or incorrect, you typed:
unwbzip "" ""

unwbzip.cmd simple batch to help in using wbzip.exe or wbzip_new.exe
to extract files embedded in Winbuilder .scripts
Release ALPHA 0.06 08/April/2010 by jaclaz
****************************************************
**paths with spaces in them may be supported , NOW**
****************************************************

Usage:
unwbzip <scriptname.script> [options] [<section> <filename>] [TargetDir]

Options:
/L - List all filenames of files encoded in .script
/LS - List all Sections of files encoded in .script
/XA - eXtract All files encoded in .script
/XF <filename> - eXtract File <filename> regardless of it's Section
/XS <section> - eXtract All files contained in <Section> only
/XSF <section> <filename> - eXtract <Filename> from <Section> only

C:\Downloaded\Chainboot>unwbzip 5-Wow64.script /L

# - Section(s) - File(s)
_________________________________________________

1 - "AuthorEncoded" - "Win_48.ico"
2 - "Files" - "systemprofile.7z"
3 - "Files" - "run64.exe"
4 - "Folder" - "6000_SxS.reg"
5 - "Folder" - "6001_SxS.reg"
6 - "Folder" - "6002_SxS.reg"
7 - "Folder" - "7600_SxS.reg"
8 - "Folder" - "7601_SxS.reg"
9 - "Folder" - "9200_SxS.reg"
10 - "Folder" - "9600_SxS.reg"
11 - "Patcher" - "WOW64Patch.exe"

:duff:

Wonko



#12 Agent47

Agent47

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 164 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 02:44 PM

 

 

Do you know about list of additional files which 'Image Index: 2' of 'boot.wim' contains.......?

 

I don't know about the exact differences. I think Windows setup related files are not present in index 1. I  myself wondered about why MS used two indexes in boot.wim. 



#13 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 03:12 PM

What you think about Post #2 ?

 

Will it add 'Wow64' feature within 'Image Index:2' of  64-bit 'boot.wim' by just copying required 'Wow64' files within from already Wow64 integrated 'Win8.1SE_x64_boot.wim' ?

 

What are the bare minimum 'Wow64' files which are neccessary in order to enable 'Wow64' feature within WinPE/boot.wim ?

 

Regards...



#14 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 December 2014 - 03:19 PM

What you think about Post #2 ?

 

Will it add 'Wow64' feature within 'Image Index:2' of  64-bit 'boot.wim' by just copying required 'Wow64' files ?

 

Regards...

 

Hmmm. :dubbio:

First of all "Wow64" script doesn't contain doesn't contain any Windows system files. The script will copy necessary files to enable 32 bit support on 64 bit PE from the "Windows 8.x" source. Also the script will add necessary registry entries to enable 32 bit support. If you want to add "Wow64" support to "Win10 PE", you need to work from scratch. Since 8.1 and 10 are very similar, you can refer the 8.1 script to know which files needed to be added, which registry keys needed to be added etc. It is certainly not an easy task.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#15 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 04:00 PM

The script will copy necessary files from the "Windows 8.x" source to enable 32 bit support on 64 bit PE. Also the script will add necessary registry entries to enable 32 bit support. 

 I mean I want to first copy all necessary files from "Windows 8.x" source to 'Wow64' directory (It's why I want to first know about exact bare minimum necessary Wow64 files i.e "Wow64.zip"). I will modify 'Wow64.script' in such a way so that it will copy necessary files within from the 'Wow64' directory instead of "Windows 8.x" source and also add necessary registry entries to enable 32 bit support on 64 bit PE. 

 

Instead of using 'WinBuilder', I want to run 'Wow64.script' with the help of 'Mount_Boot_Index.cmd' .

 

Regards...



#16 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 December 2014 - 04:13 PM

 And I want to run 'Wow64.script' with the help of 'Mount_Boot_Index.cmd' instead of 'WinBuilder'.

 

It will be interesting to see how you will manage to do that :w00t:, writing a brand new .script interpreter written in batch :dubbio:,  since you cannot seemingly even run a pre-made batch file, you'll likely have lots of fun :thumbup:.

 

Should you have not noticed, the .script contains the list of the needed files, basically each and every line containing a DirCopy, FileCopy or CopySysWoW command contains also a directory or file name that is needed.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#17 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 17 December 2014 - 05:28 PM

It will be interesting to see how you will manage to do that :w00t:, writing a brand new .script interpreter written in batch :dubbio:,  

http://technet.micro...y/bb490816.aspx

 

I am just starting to learn about these .script files. Actually I have read Above post to run scripts using the command-line-based script host (Cscript.exe). And I assume that May be it possible to run .script files from command line. Is it not possible ? :confused1: 

 

If not possible, then I will try to adopt wimb's 'Make_PE3' concept (which I think is also based on .cmd and script files ) of adding 'Won64' feature within WinPE/boot.wim ?

 

Should you have not noticed, the .script contains the list of the needed files, basically each and every line containing a DirCopy, FileCopy or CopySysWoW command contains also a directory or file name that is needed.

I have already noticed all those list of files. But It's looking a bit difficult for me to copy each and every Directory and files one by one. AFAICS, .script contains list of required files for all OSes (XP/Vista/7/8/8.1). And I am not too much familiar with the coding .script files to proper find out all required files for Win 8.1. It's why I want to copy all necessary files from "Windows 8.x" source to 'Wow64' directory with the help of .script if possible instead of copying files one by one.

 

AFAIK, 'Win8.1SE_x64_boot.wim' created with the help of 'Win8.1SE' contains fully working all required 'Wow64' files in following directories. 

 

\Windows\SysWow64
\Windows\WinSxS\Manifests
\Windows\WinSxS

 

What if I copy above fully working 'Wow64' directories within from mounted 'Win8.1U3SE_x64_boot.wim' to 'Image Index: 2' of 64-bit 'boot.wim' of 'Win8.1U3' to enable 32 bit support on 64 bit 'boot.wim ?

 

Will this method not work ? 

 

Thanks & Regards.....



#18 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 December 2014 - 06:14 PM

devdevadev, :)

seriously, you are not (anymore) a newbie, you should by now have learned how your approaches of setting before you a goal (often a difficult or complex one, or however well beyond your current  reach/possibilities) and then putting together randomly bits and pieces you get from here and there without taking the time to study and understand the basics of the involved tools or of a given method are deemed to either failure or take an endless amount of time, even after having been steered away from your initial mis-planning into the right direction? :unsure:

 

You do not really believe that the good MS guys created a .script interpreter that can read and execute Windbuilder .scripts, do you? :w00t:

 

Read here:

http://technet.micro...y/bb490887.aspx

maybe that will make more clear to you that cscript is related to the Windows Script Host (and that it "understands" ONLY scripts written in some LANGUAGES, .vbs for VBScript and .js for JScript).

  • Visual Basic Script is one script LANGUAGE. (and it is interpreted by cscript.exe)
  • Java Script is another script LANGUAGE.(and it is interpreted by cscript.exe)
  • Batch is yet another script LANGUAGE (and it is interpreted by command.com or cmd.exe)
  • Winbuilder is yet another script LANGUAGE (and it is interpreted by Winbuilder.exe)

 

If you want to "get" something out of a Winbuilder .script, you need to study and understand the Winbuilder .script syntax.

If you want to "translate" this something into a batch script, you need to study and understand also the batch script syntax.

 

The above is usually obtained (at least this is how all the other people learned the Winbuilder or the batch syntax) by studying it, and then trying writing small, simple scripts, and experimenting a lot, you simply cannot expect to get to the level of interpreting a complex script such as the Wow64 one for Winbuilder without having first got the basics, and as well you cannot expect to write a complex batch file if you cannot write on your own simple ones or - as it seems - you cannot even understand why a working, tested, already written batch suddenly fails to work when you try to run it.

 

Same applies for getting the info from the Make_PE3, in this case you won't need to study and learn Winbuilder syntax, but you will need anyway to study and learn the batch one.

And it still seems to me like you are missing a very basic concept, the Wow64 (32 bit sub-system) addition to a PE is made essentially of 2 (two) different parts:

  1. adding the needed files
  2. adding the needed Registry hives/keys

 

If you add the files only, it won't work.

If you add the Registry hives/keys only, it won't work.

BOTH parts are needed

 

Of course, there is always the possibility that someone (doesn't matter if moved by pity, simply good disposition or to only stop you from re-asking always the same thing) will do what essentially is your homework, like it happened in the past, but does it gives you a sense of satisfaction to not learn anything, even after months of dealing on the same topics?

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

 


  • devdevadev likes this

#19 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 December 2014 - 10:14 PM

OK...Wonko...we don't have to be too hard on the guy... :chair:  

 

HOWEVER...

 

Devdevadev..... what we need to do here is go back and clarify the WHAT, and not the HOW something is done...Clearly, the scripting language isn't that hard to follow, and use as a model...there is a lot of docs on it on the web, etc.   And as Wonko pointed out, the existing script has all the info you need in it for the existing supported OS's...Seems to me that what you want to know is...

 

1. what is that list of files for win 8.1 / win 10

        (Short answer is I'm not sure anyone knows or it would have been put into the script file :) )

 

2. how do do it using a CMD syntax

        (again, short answer is most of us don't care to re-invent the wheel in a pretty old/ugly command parser language)...

 

So, maybe if you can help us follow the logic of what you want to accomplish (and WHY), we can help you with HOW to do it in the best possible way.


  • devdevadev likes this

#20 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 18 December 2014 - 03:55 AM

Hi 'sbaeder'......

 

Thanks to ALL for encouraging me and providing me better understanding of script files......Special thanks to Wonko   :worship:  and sbaeder for their kind words and support........

 

My main goal is to SWAP PTN3 of 'Removable USB Drive' On-the-Fly (within from Online/Running 'Image Index: 2' of 64-bit 'boot.wim' ). And For this I managed 'SWAPTN_OTF v0.1.zip' which first mount 'Image Index : 2' if 'Boot Index : 2' (for normal 'boot.wim') and mount 'Image Index: 1' if 'Boot Index: 1' (For WinPE). And then copy contents of '\SWAPTN_OTF v 0.1\Mount' folder to the root of mounted 'boot.wim/WinPE' and then dismount in order to commit changes.

 

Currently I have used 'RMPARTUSB.exe' in 'SWAPTN_OTF v0.1.zip' in order to SWAP PTN3 of 'Removable USB Drive' On-the-Fly. AFAIK, 'RMPARTUSB.exe' require 'MSVBVM60.DLL' in order to run within WinPE Environment. But 'MSVBVM60.DLL' is a 32-bit DLL, which won't work on 64-bit PE unless we have WOW64 added. It's why I want to first copy all required Wow64 files within from 'Windows 8.1/Win10' Source to '\SWAPTN_OTF v 0.1\Wow64\' directory. And I want either Wow64 CMD Syntax or WinBuilder Wow64 Script Syntax (which will be both easily possible and executed within from 'Mount_Boot_Index.cmd' in order to enable 32 bit support on 64 bit 'boot.wim') which will add both needed Wow64 files and needed Registry hives/keys within from '\SWAPTN_OTF v 0.1\Wow64\' directory to mounted 'boot.wim'.

 

So this is WHY I want both 'Wow64.zip' and necessary Wow64 CMD Syntax/ Wow64 Script Syntax which I can use along with my 'Mount_Boot_Index.cmd' in order to enable 32 bit support on 64 bit 'boot.wim'.

 

So Can anybody PLEASE suggest me a better and simple way to enable 32-bit support on 'Image Index: 2' of 64-bit 'boot.wim' of 'Win8.1U3/Win10' ?

 

 

PLAN B -

 

AFAIK, 'Bootice_x86/x64_1.33' can also SWAP (Set Accessible) PTN3 of 'Removable USB Drive' and doesn't require any 32-bit DLL or 'MSVBVM60.DLL' in order to SWAP (Set Accessible) PTN3 within 64-bit WinPE environment.

AM I RIGHT ? But I am unable to find out BOOTICE Command line Syntax in order to SWAP (Set Accessible) PTN3 with the help of 'Auto.cmd' file and 'Bootice.exe' .

I think by this way I will not have to add 'Wow64' feature within 64-bit 'boot.wim'.

      So does anybody know about the BOOTICE Command line Syntax in order to SWAP (Set Accessible) PTN3 of 'Removable USB Drive' ?

If 'Yes' , then PLEASE help me.........

 

Thanks & Regards.....

Attached Files



#21 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 December 2014 - 11:05 AM

Typical XYZ problem, again. :frusty:

http://homepage.ntlw...red-banana.html

 

You want to swap/reorder partitions?

 

Good :), then ask "How can I swap partitions?", do not ask "How can I gather some plutonium and build an interstellar spacecraft that will allow me to make contact with an alien race that will have the technology to go back in time and swap partitions?"  :whistling:

 

Once stripped of all the unneeded over-structure, if I get this right you want *something else* that has the same effect of:

RMPARTUSB DRIVE=%DRIVE% FIRSTPART=0 SURE
RMPARTUSB DRIVE=%DRIVE% FIRSTPART=1 SURE
RMPARTUSB DRIVE=%DRIVE% FIRSTPART=2 SURE
RMPARTUSB DRIVE=%DRIVE% FIRSTPART=3 SURE

and that works in that senseless 64 bit environment, something which you could probably get using a simple batch and dsfi/dsfo (cannot say if they work in a 64 bit environment without WOW64, but certainly similar "dd-like" tools exist in "native 64" anyway, and in any case the dependencies of dsfi/dsfo should be minimal:

http://www.911cd.net...ndpost&p=168509

 

 

:duff:

Wonko



#22 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 18 December 2014 - 01:04 PM

RMPARTUSB DRIVE=%DRIVE% FIRSTPART=1 SURE

I have not used above code line within 'Auto.cmd'. From where you add it.  :) AFAIK, It is invalid code.....It's why I have not used it.....

 

I want to re-arrange order of partition entries of my 'Removable USB Drive' as follows-

RMPARTUSB DRIVE=%DRIVE% FIRSTPART=0 SURE
RMPARTUSB DRIVE=%DRIVE% FIRSTPART=3 SURE

if not "%exit%"=="1" echo NO INSTALL.WIM FOUND! & pause & goto :eof
X:\setup.exe /noreboot

RMPARTUSB DRIVE=%DRIVE% FIRSTPART=0 SURE

So which tool will be better for me in order to Re-arrange Partition entries of USB Drive within from 64-bit WinPE in above manner ?

 

Actually I want to use a tool/.cmd which will either automatically detect connected 'Removable USB Drive' or List all 'Removable USB Drives' in order to choose and perform above re-ordering automatically.

 

Which "dd-like" tools exist in "native 64" ? How I can use 'chptnord.cmd' so that it re-arrange partitions similar to above fashion in 64-bit WinPE ?

 

Do you know about Bootice Command line Syntax for Re-order/Set Accessible ?

 

What Bootice command line code should I use in order to restore MBR from LBA33 ?

 

Regards.....



#23 Agent47

Agent47

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 164 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 18 December 2014 - 01:34 PM

May be it's just me but i feel that it is too early to use "Win10 PE" as the main recovery environment. Since "Win10" is in beta/test stage, a lot can change when it is finally released on next fall. If i am not mistaken, you are using "Winntsetup" to deploy various NT6 operating systems. For that you can use either "Win88PE" or "Win8.1PE" which can boot to either CSM/UEFI mode and supports USB 3 etc. I personally don't see any advantage in switching from "Win8xPE" to "Win10PE" ( which is apparently in beta stage ). 



#24 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 December 2014 - 01:42 PM

So which tool will be better for me in order to Re-arrange Partition entries of USB Drive within 64-bit WinPE in above manner ?

Whichever works.
 

Actually I want to use a tool/.cmd which will either automatically detect connected 'Removable USB Drive' or List all 'Removable USB Drives' in order to choose and perform above re-ordering automatically.

Sure, and possibly make some coffee, black, strong and hot, two spoons of sugar for me, thanks.
 

Which "dd-like" tools exist in "native 64" ?

Who knows?
Why don't you simply TRY using dsfo/dsfi in your reduced 64 bit PE environment?
Maybe it works, maybe not. :unsure:
Or you can try studying the rawcopy syntax:
http://www.ltr-data.se/opencode.html/
as there is a 64 bit version of it that may do.
 

How I can use 'chptnord.cmd' so that it re-arrage partitions 

similar to above fashion in 64-bit WinPE ?
Learning batch syntax, understanding how that batch works, experimenting, writing your own modified batch? :unsure:

 

Do you know about Bootice Command line Syntax for 'Set Accessible' ?

No.

:duff:
Wonko

#25 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 406 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 18 December 2014 - 01:47 PM

May be it's just me but i feel that it is too early to use "Win10 PE" as the main recovery environment. Since "Win10" is in beta/test stage, a lot can change when it is finally released on next fall. If i am not mistaken, you are using "Winntsetup" to deploy various NT6 operating systems. For that you can use either "Win88PE" or "Win8.1PE" which can boot to either CSM/UEFI mode and supports USB 3 etc. I personally don't see any advantage in switching from "Win8xPE" to "Win10PE" ( which is apparently in beta stage ). 

I don't want to use 'Win10PE'. I never told for using 'Win10PE'.... I want to just add/integrate 'Wow64' feature within 'Image Index: 2' of 64-bit 'boot.wim' of 'Win8.1U1/Win10'.

 

Regards...a






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users