Photo
- - - - -

help needed: booting wee -> grldr config (easy2boot)

weesetup wee grldr easy2boot ext2

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 antiplex

antiplex
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    Switzerland

Posted 21 October 2014 - 08:37 AM

dear community,

i have to admit that i'm a beginner when it comes to bootloaders but i've managed to create several usb-bootsticks with the help of grub4dos, rmprepusb and easytoboot.

what i am currently looking into is to have easy2boot booting of an ext2-formatted usb-stick (ext-filesystem preferrable in my case for reasons not related to booting itself).

i got this idea when i learned that wee is able to boot grldr from an ext-partiton (an weesetup.exe is not included in RMPrepUSB) but somehow i seem stuck at a certain point and after trying several configurations for hours am unsure would be the right thing to do.

i got as far as getting easy2boot's /menu.lst on the boot partition executed but instead of executing the files last command 'configfile /%grub%/menu.lst' i end up on the grub-shell.

there i can see that the variable %grub% has been set correctly and the easy2boot-scripts will launch successfully if i enter the last command manually 'configfile /%grub%/MENU.lst'.

so i wonder how i may automate this so that i don't have to manually type this last command every time i boot.

what seems a bit weird to me is how weesetup.exe makes use of script files provided by the '-s mymenu.txt' parameter as there seems to be some sort of hard-coded values/options that may remain if using a shorter script (visible when looking at the corresponding sectors with a hex-editor).

i already tried to add the command 'configfile /%grub%/menu.lst' to mymenu.txt in different ways but i don't seem to get it right.

is there a way to specify a menu.lst including a path as a parameter to grldr such as '--config-file=/my/path/to/menu.lst' or do i need an entirely different approach?

thanks for any hints,

anti