Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

How to fix my 'Kingston DT101 G2' 32 GB? It is showing 0 MB


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 minikane

minikane
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Alderney

Posted 15 July 2014 - 12:59 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm having a strange issue with my 'Kingston DT101 G2' 32 GB flash USB. I don't know what happened and how can it malfunctioned so badly... I remember fully FAT32 formatting the USB and got stuck at 49% for a long time so, I removed it unsafely. I need to fix this USB with ur help cause it's showing me 0 MB plus it's a 32 GB & I can copy lots of data... Are there any permanent fixes available?

Any detailed help will be appreciated.

Thnx...

image.jpg

Ued.jpg

Untitled.jpg


Edited by Nuno Brito, 16 July 2014 - 02:41 PM.


#2 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2838 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 15 July 2014 - 06:07 AM

Hi Minikane,
I would try to wipe the physical drive or at least the first sector.

Regards,
Erwan

#3 minikane

minikane
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Alderney

Posted 15 July 2014 - 06:42 AM

Hi Minikane,
I would try to wipe the physical drive or at least the first sector.

Regards,
Erwan

And how'd I do that? Any proper utilities?

Screenshots for extra info:

image.jpg

Untitled.jpg
 



#4 dummkopf007

dummkopf007

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Location:vasodilator madness .....hydrocephalus ...........hose your mind thx ............. Dr Struck off ... .......... Bedsforhire
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 15 July 2014 - 10:48 AM

hi minikane try this software to fix your stick Kingston format tool

 

 

http://www.kingston.com/en/support/technical/urdrive


Edited by dummkopf007, 15 July 2014 - 10:52 AM.


#5 minikane

minikane
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Alderney

Posted 15 July 2014 - 03:32 PM

Did that but it fails to format...

Untitled.jpg



#6 memoarfaa

memoarfaa

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 15 July 2014 - 04:04 PM

hi minikane

 

you need to repair your flash software show this topic

 

http://www.rmprepusb.com/tutorials/repair-your-usb-flash-drive



#7 florin91

florin91

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 197 posts
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 July 2014 - 04:13 PM

Did you ran as administrator those tools?

#8 memoarfaa

memoarfaa

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 15 July 2014 - 05:09 PM

No 

1- download ChipGenius_v4_00_0030.exe

http://www.usbdev.ru/?wpfb_dl=4381

 

find your flash vid and pid 

 

ChipGenius will provide you the vid and pid like this

 

Description: [K:]USB Mass Storage Device(Kingston DataTraveler 2.0)
Device Type:  Mass Storage Device

Protocal Version: USB 2.00
Current Speed: High Speed
Max Current: 100mA

USB Device ID: VID = 0951 PID = 1665
Serial Number: 08606E6D413DFDA0D70E4F68

Device Vendor: Kingston
Device Name: DataTraveler 2.0
Device Revision: 0100

Manufacturer: Kingston
Product Model: DataTraveler 2.0
Product Revision: 1.00

Controller Vendor: Solid State Systems
Controller Part-Number: SSS6698-BB
Flash ID code:      983AA892 - Toshiba TC58TVG7T2JTA00 - 1CE/Single Channel [TLC-8K] -> Total Capacity = 16GB

Tools on web: http://dl.mydigit.net/special/up/sss.html


Possible Flash Part-Number
----------------------------
[1CE]TC58NVG7T2JTA00 x 1 pcs/Channel x 1 Channel
[1CE]TC58TVG7T2JTA00 x 1 pcs/Channel x 1 Channel


Flash ID mapping table
----------------------------
[Channel 0] [Channel 1]
983AA8927657 --------
-------- --------
-------- --------
-------- --------

then go to flashboot.ru site

http://flashboot.ru/iflash/

 

past your flash vid and pid 

 

this will show you the program that can repair your flash software 

 

download it the archive has pdf explain how the program work

 


Edited by memoarfaa, 15 July 2014 - 05:11 PM.


#9 dummkopf007

dummkopf007

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Location:vasodilator madness .....hydrocephalus ...........hose your mind thx ............. Dr Struck off ... .......... Bedsforhire
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 15 July 2014 - 05:12 PM

 

minikane said: "...Did that but it fails to format..."

 

 Ahhh .... but did you try the second mother download?  DT101G2/xxGB 67.1MB

from kingston support


Edited by dummkopf007, 15 July 2014 - 05:13 PM.


#10 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2838 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 15 July 2014 - 08:07 PM

I would either try "delete the disk layout" (will basically wipe the MBR) or (more aggressive) wipe the first sectors.

 

nkZG9v2.png



#11 minikane

minikane
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Alderney

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:56 AM

Did you ran as administrator those tools?

 

Yes.
 

 

 

No 

1- download ChipGenius_v4_00_0030.exe

http://www.usbdev.ru/?wpfb_dl=4381

 

find your flash vid and pid 

 

ChipGenius will provide you the vid and pid like this

 

Description: [K:]USB Mass Storage Device(Kingston DataTraveler 2.0)
Device Type: Mass Storage Device

Protocal Version: USB 2.00
Current Speed: High Speed
Max Current: 100mA

USB Device ID: VID = 0951 PID = 1665
Serial Number: 08606E6D413DFDA0D70E4F68

Device Vendor: Kingston
Device Name: DataTraveler 2.0
Device Revision: 0100

Manufacturer: Kingston
Product Model: DataTraveler 2.0
Product Revision: 1.00

Controller Vendor: Solid State Systems
Controller Part-Number: SSS6698-BB
Flash ID code: 983AA892 - Toshiba TC58TVG7T2JTA00 - 1CE/Single Channel [TLC-8K] -> Total Capacity = 16GB

Tools on web: http://dl.mydigit.ne...ial/up/sss.html


Possible Flash Part-Number
----------------------------
[1CE]TC58NVG7T2JTA00 x 1 pcs/Channel x 1 Channel
[1CE]TC58TVG7T2JTA00 x 1 pcs/Channel x 1 Channel


Flash ID mapping table
----------------------------
[Channel 0] [Channel 1]
983AA8927657 --------
-------- --------
-------- --------
-------- --------

then go to flashboot.ru site

http://flashboot.ru/iflash/

 

past your flash vid and pid 

 

this will show you the program that can repair your flash software 

 

download it the archive has pdf explain how the program work

 

 

I did that but I can't find the right utility after adding the PID/VID cause there r lots of utilities or maybe none. Can u help me on this a little more plz cause I don't know which utility to choose...
My new ChipGenious info: vhc.jpg

 

 

 Ahhh .... but did you try the second mother download?  DT101G2/xxGB 67.1MB

from kingston support

 

 

Downloaded that: and ran it on Admin. This too like the previous one fails 2format it... Says: "your drive is not authorized to run this software"
 

 

I would either try "delete the disk layout" (will basically wipe the MBR) or (more aggressive) wipe the first sectors.

 

nkZG9v2.png

The 1st option basically does nothing, only changes the USB's drive letter from I: to J: and the second one does this: vhc.jpg


Edited by minikane, 16 July 2014 - 02:57 AM.


#12 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2838 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 16 July 2014 - 06:37 AM

Yes.
 

 

 

I did that but I can't find the right utility after adding the PID/VID cause there r lots of utilities or maybe none. Can u help me on this a little more plz cause I don't know which utility to choose...
My new ChipGenious info: vhc.jpg

 

 

 

 

Downloaded that: and ran it on Admin. This too like the previous one fails 2format it... Says: "your drive is not authorized to run this software"
 

 

The 1st option basically does nothing, only changes the USB's drive letter from I: to J: and the second one does this: vhc.jpg

 

send me the bug report if you can, will help me improve the software.



#13 minikane

minikane
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Alderney

Posted 16 July 2014 - 12:00 PM

send me the bug report if you can, will help me improve the software.

tled.png

Untitld.jpg

Untitled.jpg

Untled.jpg



#14 florin91

florin91

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 197 posts
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:00 PM

So your stick is seen as 0 mb read-only by your windows, but this usb does not have write protect lock or knob. Does it behave the same in other computers?

#15 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2838 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:15 PM

So your stick is seen as 0 mb read-only by your windows, but this usb does not have write protect lock or knob. Does it behave the same in other computers?

Hi Florin91,

 

What makes you think it is read only?

The fact that the physical disk reports 0 as disk length does not look so good.

 

Even with a messed up MBR or disk layout, it would not be doing that.

 

Regards,

Erwan



#16 florin91

florin91

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 197 posts
  •  
    European Union

Posted 18 July 2014 - 09:58 PM

Just to make sure it's not some windows reg setting or virus.

Fine. Let's suppose it's the stick controller or nand then.

The controller is SSS, it should be recognised by SSS tools, not Alcor.

http://www.usbdev.ru/files/sss/

#17 minikane

minikane
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Alderney

Posted 20 July 2014 - 04:42 PM

Just to make sure it's not some windows reg setting or virus.

Fine. Let's suppose it's the stick controller or nand then.

The controller is SSS, it should be recognised by SSS tools, not Alcor.

http://www.usbdev.ru/files/sss/

I've checked properly with the English translation as it's in Russian. But didn't find any tools/utilities related to my Flash's Controller-Part No. which is SSS6698-BA. What does it mean? Will it be released in the future? How long? OR maybe I haven't checked well?



#18 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15187 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 July 2014 - 05:40 PM

I've checked properly with the English translation as it's in Russian. But didn't find any tools/utilities related to my Flash's Controller-Part No. which is SSS6698-BA. What does it mean? Will it be released in the future? How long? OR maybe I haven't checked well?

No :(.

Unfortunately it seems that no MPT for your sticks controller is available.

http://www.usbdev.ru...on-sss-6698-bb/

 

:duff:

Wonko



#19 dummkopf007

dummkopf007

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Location:vasodilator madness .....hydrocephalus ...........hose your mind thx ............. Dr Struck off ... .......... Bedsforhire
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 20 July 2014 - 06:28 PM

hi minikane can you re-check using this utility http://www.upan.cc/chipeasy_en.exe

and post image thx


Edited by dummkopf007, 20 July 2014 - 06:29 PM.


#20 florin91

florin91

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 197 posts
  •  
    European Union

Posted 20 July 2014 - 06:38 PM

If there is a forum where it's a solution for your problem, here it's that one: mydigit.net redirecting to  http://www.mydigit.cn

 

If you happen to succesfully register an account, PM me :)) The question is not a problem, the language in which is stated it is :D






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users