Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

LiveXP & nativeEx under Vista.


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 19 April 2007 - 05:58 PM

After testing WinBuilder 0691 with LiveXP and nativeEx Projects and XPSP2 as source
under Vista Ultimate, I noticed that the builds are 3MB bigger than under XP.

The reason is that under Vista, several files are generated in system32 and config folder.

Attached File  system32.zip   1.13KB   283 downloads Attached File  config.zip   2.01KB   278 downloads

With some experimenting, I found out that those files could be safely deleted.
Deleting could not be done with cleaning script, as I have done it in XP.
The reason is that names of those files are dynamically changed for every following builds.
If you delete files manually in Target folder and then recreate ISO, everything is OK.

For both Projects I normally use the same settings, modified from default, and did not have
any problems with builds under XP. With nativeEx under Vista, I have experienced problem
with Application programs icons.
After changing Build Model script settings to default, everything went OK.

1. Why LiveXP builds made under Vista and XP with the same settings work fine?
2. Why nativeEx build made under XP with the same settings works fine but not under Vista?
3. Why both builds made under Vista have bigger size for 3MB than under XP and how to avoid that?

#2 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1718 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 20 April 2007 - 04:09 AM

The files are all part of the common log file system and transactional ntfs subsystems. What this means is that writes to the registry are transacted such that in the event of a catastrophic failure whilst updating the registry the update can be rolled back after a reboot. It should if its working correctly make it impossible to corrupt the registry as a result of a system crash / power failure etc.

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 20 April 2007 - 05:34 PM

In the WinBuilder 69 beta 1 topic there are already a lot of discussions about this theme.

Let me conclude:

Fact is
  • LiveXP brings identical results under XP and Vista host
  • nativeEx_barebone brings different results under XP and Vista host
Intention:
For both OSs same result with both projects, if possible.

Peter

#4 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 20 April 2007 - 06:05 PM

Fact is

  • LiveXP brings identical results under XP and Vista host.

Build under Vista is 3MB bigger, but othervise builds are "identical".

  • nativeEx_barebone brings different results under XP and Vista host.

  • If settings for Build Model script are default, the result is as with LiveXP.
    If settings are diferent, there is problem with Application programs icons under Vista,
    but not under XP.

    Intention:
    For both OSs same result with both projects, if possible.

    OS "independent" WinBuilder!

    #5 pscEx

    pscEx

      Platinum Member

    • Team Reboot
    • 12701 posts
    • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
    • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
    •  
      European Union

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 06:21 PM

    If settings for Build Model script are default, the result is as with LiveXP.
    If settings are diferent, there is problem with Application programs icons under Vista,
    but not under XP.


    Maybe we misunderstood us all the time :cheers:

    Can you post a screenshoot of the buildModel GUI which causes the icons issue under Vista?

    Peter

    #6 phox

    phox

      Silver Member

    • .script developer
    • 764 posts

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 07:04 PM

    Maybe we misunderstood us all the time :cheers:

    Can you post a screenshoot of the buildModel GUI which causes the icons issue under Vista?

    Peter


    Vista_3.JPG

    This is Build Model setting I normally use with LiveXP and nativeEx
    and never have any problem under XP. Under Vista, LiveXP works OK,
    but nativeEx have problem with Application programs shortcuts.

    #7 pscEx

    pscEx

      Platinum Member

    • Team Reboot
    • 12701 posts
    • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
    • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
    •  
      European Union

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 07:29 PM

    Vista_3.JPG

    This is Build Model setting I normally use with LiveXP and nativeEx
    and never have any problem under XP. Under Vista, LiveXP works OK,
    but nativeEx have problem with Application programs shortcuts.


    Here we are! :cheers:

    In the older buildModel (inside LiveXP) there is a shortcut mechanism wich did not work in all cases (see loooong discussions with MedEvil).

    Therefore I ceated a new algorithm.
    In the newer buildModel there is standard to have the 'refresh' checked. :cheers:
    'Unchecked' sometimes work, I really do not know why. But it seems to depend on some explorer tweaks ...
    Maybe I should have turn the caption into negative and write 'do not refresh ...' :cheers:

    The 'PeDrive' MUST be checked and only checked, if any of your scripts uses a shortcut with %PEDrive%.

    I think, if with this informations, you do a new test, everything is syncronized.

    Peter

    #8 MedEvil

    MedEvil

      Platinum Member

    • .script developer
    • 7771 posts

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 07:42 PM

    The 'PeDrive' MUST be checked and only checked, if any of your scripts uses a shortcut with %PEDrive%.

    ehm, so 'subst %TargetDir% by Pe drive letter' has nothing to do with subst?

    #9 pscEx

    pscEx

      Platinum Member

    • Team Reboot
    • 12701 posts
    • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
    • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
    •  
      European Union

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 07:47 PM

    ehm, so 'subst %TargetDir% by Pe drive letter' has nothing to do with subst?

    Of course it does a 'subst'. After that %PEDrive% is present and the shortcut to %PEDrive% can be created w/o error.

    Peter

    #10 phox

    phox

      Silver Member

    • .script developer
    • 764 posts

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 08:02 PM

    In the newer buildModel there is standard to have the 'refresh' checked.

    If it's standard, why have check box?

    I think, if with this informations, you do a new test, everything is syncronized.

    I did and everything is OK, but builds are 3MB bigger (unnecessary).
    Could something be done about it?

    #11 MedEvil

    MedEvil

      Platinum Member

    • .script developer
    • 7771 posts

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 08:06 PM

    Of course it does a 'subst'. After that %PEDrive% is present and the shortcut to %PEDrive% can be created w/o error.

    Peter

    OK! So it works the way i thought it would. Was just getting confused. :cheers:

    :cheers:

    #12 pscEx

    pscEx

      Platinum Member

    • Team Reboot
    • 12701 posts
    • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
    • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
    •  
      European Union

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 08:13 PM

    If it's standard, why have check box?


    I did and everything is OK, but builds are 3MB bigger (unnecessary).
    Could something be done about it?


    In the 'createIso' script currently there is a cleaning script 'ISO-PreProcess.Script.txt' called. The script gets command lines (with others) by the hives factory and currently deletes the hives' log files.
    I'm going to check whether, depending on OS=Vista, some more files can be deleted.

    BTW: You can help: Look into the hives factory, [Cleanup] section and post a suggestion! :cheers:

    Peter

    #13 MedEvil

    MedEvil

      Platinum Member

    • .script developer
    • 7771 posts

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 09:47 PM

    :cheers: Peter, don't you think, you might have forgotten something in your BuildModel.script?

    I give you a hint! It starts with pCheck and ends with Box4! :cheers:

    #14 smiley

    smiley

      Silver Member

    • .script developer
    • 905 posts
    •  
      Greece

    Posted 20 April 2007 - 09:56 PM

    I did and everything is OK, but builds are 3MB bigger (unnecessary).
    Could something be done about it?


    These 3MB are created by the os itshelf. not by winbuilder.

    #15 phox

    phox

      Silver Member

    • .script developer
    • 764 posts

    Posted 21 April 2007 - 04:33 AM

    These 3MB are created by the os itshelf. not by winbuilder.


    I am well aware of that, but it doesn’t mean that it should be allowed
    3MB size increase of builds made under Vista unnecessary.

    Additional files could be safely removed, but they should be deleted
    with some cleaning script and not manually, as I do it for now!

    #16 phox

    phox

      Silver Member

    • .script developer
    • 764 posts

    Posted 21 April 2007 - 04:53 AM

    In the 'createIso' script currently there is a cleaning script 'ISO-PreProcess.Script.txt' called. The script gets command lines (with others) by the hives factory and currently deletes the hives' log files.
    I'm going to check whether, depending on OS=Vista, some more files can be deleted.

    BTW: You can help: Look into the hives factory, [Cleanup] section and post a suggestion! :cheers:

    Peter


    I am going to try with my modest knowledge.

    In the mean time, please look at my Cleaning script, Attached File  Cleaning.zip   750bytes   236 downloads
    to see if it is possible to change other scripts to avoid cleaning.

    I also delete ProjectInfo.ini in final build by deleting
    FileCopy,"%ProjectInfo%","%TargetDir%" and
    FileCopy,"%ProjectInfo%","%RAMFolder%" from CreateISO script.

    #17 phox

    phox

      Silver Member

    • .script developer
    • 764 posts

    Posted 21 April 2007 - 05:16 AM

    You can help: Look into the hives factory,
    [Cleanup] section and post a suggestion!
    Peter


    I think that:

    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\setupreg.hiv.LOG1"
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\setupreg.hiv.LOG2"
    and:
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\default.LOG1"
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\default.LOG2"

    could be incorporated in hivesFactory script.

    Problem could be (or I don’t know how to do it):

    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\SETUPREG.HIV{69bb71f6-ee8e-11db-bae9-000000000000}.TM.blf"
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\SETUPREG.HIV{69bb71f6-ee8e-11db-bae9-000000000000}.TMContainer00000000000000000001.regtrans-ms"
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\SETUPREG.HIV{69bb71f6-ee8e-11db-bae9-000000000000}.TMContainer00000000000000000002.regtrans-ms"
    and:
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\default{69bb71f2-ee8e-11db-bae9-000000000000}.TM.blf"
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\default{69bb71f2-ee8e-11db-bae9-000000000000}.TMContainer00000000000000000001.regtrans-ms"
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\default{69bb71f2-ee8e-11db-bae9-000000000000}.TMContainer00000000000000000002.regtrans-ms"
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\software{69bb71ee-ee8e-11db-bae9-000000000000}.TM.blf"
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\software{69bb71ee-ee8e-11db-bae9-000000000000}.TMContainer00000000000000000001.regtrans-ms"
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\software{69bb71ee-ee8e-11db-bae9-000000000000}.TMContainer00000000000000000002.regtrans-ms",

    as file names are dynamically assigned and are different for every new build.

    #18 smiley

    smiley

      Silver Member

    • .script developer
    • 905 posts
    •  
      Greece

    Posted 21 April 2007 - 06:10 AM

    Problem solved!

    Cleanup section should be like this:
    [Cleanup]
    
    If,NotExistDir,"%ProjectDir%\Temp",DirMake,"%ProjectDir%\Temp"
    
    FileCopy,"%PreISOScript%",%ProjectDir%\Temp
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\I386\system32\setupreg.hiv.log*"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\SETUPREG.HIV*.blf"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\SETUPREG.HIV*.regtrans-ms"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\I386\system32\config\software.log*"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\software*.blf"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\software*.regtrans-ms"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\I386\system32\config\default.log*"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\default*.blf"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\default*.regtrans-ms"

    We forgot that winbuilder support wildcards! :cheers:

    Peter can you update nativeEx and LiveXP?
    Edit: This will also cleanup the xp hive logs :cheers:

    John

    #19 phox

    phox

      Silver Member

    • .script developer
    • 764 posts

    Posted 21 April 2007 - 08:41 AM

    Problem solved!

    Cleanup section should be like this:

    [Cleanup]
    
    If,NotExistDir,"%ProjectDir%\Temp",DirMake,"%ProjectDir%\Temp"
    
    FileCopy,"%PreISOScript%",%ProjectDir%\Temp
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\I386\system32\setupreg.hiv.log*"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\SETUPREG.HIV*.blf"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\SETUPREG.HIV*.regtrans-ms"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\I386\system32\config\software.log*"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\software*.blf"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\software*.regtrans-ms"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\I386\system32\config\default.log*"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\default*.blf"
    
    FileDelete,"%TargetDir%\i386\system32\Config\default*.regtrans-ms"

    We forgot that winbuilder support wildcards! :cheers:

    Peter can you update nativeEx and LiveXP?
    Edit: This will also cleanup the xp hive logs :cheers:

    John


    For the reasons I am not familiar with, this suggestion
    doesn’t works as a part of hivesFactory script but works
    OK within my Cleaning script executed before UPXing.
    Attached File  Cleaning.zip   661bytes   225 downloads

    #20 phox

    phox

      Silver Member

    • .script developer
    • 764 posts

    Posted 21 April 2007 - 05:38 PM

    During extensive testing of WB under Vista I have discovered
    one pleasant and one unpleasant behavior of nativeEx:

    Pleasant is that network support is working under qEmu
    without selecting any qEmu network driver!?

    Unpleasant is that nativeEx works correctly only if I manually
    delete Prebuilder and Project/Temp folder!?

    Attached File  log1.zip   46.91KB   195 downloads




    0 user(s) are reading this topic

    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users