Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Launch ISO from grub2 starting with UEFI


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 May 2014 - 07:29 PM

Hi,
i'm trying to convert these entries from grub4dos to grub2 starting with UEFI

In my lst I've

 

find --set-root /boot/InSeven.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /boot/InSeven.iso (hd32)
map --hook; chainloader (hd32)

And

 

kernel memdisk
    append iso
    INITRD /boot/InSeven.iso

I just tried to launch grub.exe using this entry
 

menuentry "GRUB4DOS" {
 set root='(hd0,1)'
 set g4d_dir="/boot/Grub045"
 linux $g4d_dir/grub.exe --config-file=$g4d_dir/menu.lst
}

But don't find the menu.lst

Can any one hel me to find the solution?

Thanks

Davide


 



#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14955 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 May 2014 - 07:50 PM

Try first a plainer approach:

 

menuentry "GRUB4DOS" {
set root='(hd0,1)'
set g4d_dir="/boot/Grub045"
linux $g4d_dir/grub.exe --config-file=(hd0,0)/boot/Grub045/menu.lst
}

Remember that grub4dos numbers partitions with base 0 whilst GRUB2 numbers them with base 1.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#3 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 May 2014 - 07:58 PM

Thanks for reply but don't works :(



#4 ilko

ilko

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 500 posts
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 01 May 2014 - 10:09 PM

From grub2 you are loading grub4dos (grub.exe), which does not support UEFI at all.



#5 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 May 2014 - 07:02 AM

Thanks for reply,
I've to launch one ISO that contain one ima with freedos.
I don't have to launch EFI but one ISO large 1.44 mb.
I Just tried with memdisk with the same result.
I Just tried to put standard menu of Grub4Dos with the same result (not found menu.lst)
 



#6 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1440 posts

Posted 02 May 2014 - 08:06 AM

I've to launch one ISO that contain one ima with freedos.

I doubt freedos at UEFI environment. Freedos won't run at UEFI.
A BIOS is required.

Revalutate your question:
which application do you like to run at UEFI?


Some hints
http://askubuntu.com...-iso-from-grub2
http://askubuntu.com...o-file-in-grub2
http://askubuntu.com...live-iso-images

I doubt grub2 to launch a Windows ISO image at UEFI.

#7 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 May 2014 - 09:10 AM

I've to launch this ISO file.
My test is with this file but my issue born before coming to load the ISO.

I'm usigng the bootx64.efi taken from gparted and 
linux16 isn't a command recognized.
memdisk.mod isn't found



#8 azlvda

azlvda
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    Indonesia

Posted 04 May 2014 - 06:43 AM

try this

http://www.projectos...?showtopic=3244



#9 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 May 2014 - 07:17 AM

Thanks, today i Make others tests :)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users