Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Help with "Open with" in WinPE 4.0/5.0


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:01 PM

Does anyone know how to add Open with support to WinPE 4.0/5.0? At the moment the option is present in the right-click context menu, however when its used it returns an error -
No such interface supported
:frusty: Help!

Regards,

Misty

#2 farda

farda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
    Iraq

Posted 20 April 2014 - 02:06 AM

maybe missing dll? No such interface supported

i searched some of them fixed with registering ieproxy.dll or actxprxy.dll



#3 RoyM

RoyM

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 415 posts
  • Interests:"Booting and Owning".
  •  
    United States

Posted 20 April 2014 - 02:28 AM

Hi misty
congrats on your MistyPE project...
 
For file association in PE see here:
 
 
If your talking about the right-click open with gui,
I don't recall that discussion ever happening on reboot, 
I do have some insight on some of the registry settings involved,
but some peices are still missing for me.
 
I've never seen "No such interface supported" Sorry.
 
Regards RoyM


#4 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 20 April 2014 - 06:26 AM

 

Hi misty
congrats on your MistyPE project...

Thanks.

@RoyM
Thanks also for the response. I'm familiar with adding file associations for individual file types - this works in WinPE 4/5. I was talking about the right-click open with gui as you surmised. This feature is supported in earlier versions of WinPE, but has been broken since the introduction of WinPE 4/5. The registry settings appear to be there so it may just be due to a missing file dependency - just not sure which one(s). The "No such interface supported" also appears to have been introduced with WinPE 4/5 - at least I don't recall having seen it in previous versions.

@farda
I tried registering dll's as suggested in the linked to article, however it didn't make any difference. Thanks anyway.

Regards,

Misty

#5 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 20 April 2014 - 10:14 AM

Ok, I added actxprxy.dll to the build, as suggested by farda. I then ran the following command in WinPE -

Regsvr32.exe /s x:\Windows\System32\actxprxy.dll

Attempting to use the Open with context menu now returns a different error -

Class not registered

Trying this with the other file suggested by farda (ieproxy.dll) made no difference. Any suggestions? Or preferably a solution that I don't have to work out myself, as I'm in danger of... :blowup: 

Regards,

Misty



#6 farda

farda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
    Iraq

Posted 20 April 2014 - 01:38 PM

try to register ExplorerFrame.dll

this is a Fix for : Class Not Registered error in Internet Explorer in Windows 8


Edited by farda, 20 April 2014 - 01:41 PM.


#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 April 2014 - 02:52 PM

The old, prehistoric and primitive (and "brutal" :ph34r: but often effective ;) ) way to solve this kind of problems has traditionally been that of re-registering each and every .dll, like:

http://pyrocam.com/r...ie7-standalone/

 

Now, being a PE, if the actual needed .dll is missing, that won't work, of course.

 

And, as hinted here:

http://reboot.pro/to...e-9#entry154017

RegSvr32 may fail to "fully" register a .dll.

Someone with a 8/8.1 system willing to help may redo what I did for XP Gold for these newish OSes.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#8 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 20 April 2014 - 03:40 PM

 

try to register ExplorerFrame.dll
this is a Fix for : Class Not Registered error in Internet Explorer in Windows 8


@farda 
I tried, unfortunately this resulted in the following error -

The module "x:\Windows\System32\ExplorerFrame.dll" was loaded but the entry-point DLLRegisterServer was not found.

Make sure that "x:\Windows\System32\ExplorerFrame.dll" is a valid DLL or OCX file and then try again.
@Wonko
Thanks for the tips - I simply don't need to get this working enough to go to all that effort. It's one of a number of annoying things that I'd like to get working in WinPE - but can live with. Yes, I am lazy.

Regards,

Misty

#9 farda

farda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
    Iraq

Posted 20 April 2014 - 04:26 PM

@misty

read here  and here  and here . or i am not sure this work or not but possible help

if program you try to launch, work in real PC then download Process Hacker

extract and launch it now find process of your program right click select Properties and go to modules tab

see which dll is loaded and which is missing in your PE



#10 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 April 2014 - 05:36 PM

  Yes, I am lazy.

 

I know :), and as long as this is to be tagged as "lazy, might do when I have time and will" it's OK, if it's gonna become "giving up" is not acceptable :ph34r:.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#11 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 April 2014 - 06:33 AM

Yes, I am lazy.


I know :), and as long as this is to be tagged as "lazy, might do when I have time and will" it's OK, if it's gonna become "giving up" is not acceptable :ph34r:.
 
:duff:
Wonko

Is a workaround acceptable? I played around a little more but have not had any success in implementing Open with in WinPE 4.0/5.0 - I suspect that it might be linked in to the Metro UI. My workaround involves adding a few registry keys to use the cascading context menu feature that was introduced in Windows 7 (and supported in WinPE 3.*/4.0/5.0) - see attached screenshot.
 
Regards,
 
Misty

Attached File  openwith.jpg   19.07KB   1 downloads

#12 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13745 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 April 2014 - 08:52 AM

Is a workaround acceptable?

Sure it is :), actually whatever works, one way or the other, is fine, no rules in war, love and PE computing. ;)

 

:duff:

Wonko



#13 kaushalmalkan11

kaushalmalkan11
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 3 days ago

This error usually occurs if the concerned DLL file has been un-registered. If you face Class Not Registered in Windows 10, depending on the application, you may have to:

  1. Re-register ExplorerFrame.dll file
  2. Run System File Checker to replace corrupted ExplorerFrame.dll file
  3. Register DCOM components
  4. Start Internet Explorer ETW Collector Service
  5. Re-register Windows Store apps.

You should read more about it before implementing it.

 

Reference Links:

 

https://answers.micr...85-70a719e9fbbb

 

https://www.techwhoo...not-registered/






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users