Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Multiboot USB w/ Basic PE Image


Best Answer KP13 , 01 April 2014 - 05:17 PM

AWESOME! It finally worked out! It was the case sensitivity that did it.

 

root (0xff)
chainloader /BOOTMGR
boot

 

So that seemed to work wonders. I appreciate all the help as always, you don't understand how annoying this problem has bugged me.

 

Thanks again,

 

-KP

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 KP13

KP13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 March 2014 - 08:30 PM

So what I want to do is have a multiboot USB drive that contains a mixture of Linux boot disks as well as a basic x64 PE image that was created from the WAIK command line. 
 
The problem I'm facing is that when the PE image is wrapped as an ISO file it cannot be booted to although when I just put the folder and files into the base of a USB drive it does. The folder structure is as follows:
 
-boot (Folder)
-efi (Folder)
-sources (Folder)
-bootmgr (File)
-bootmgr.efi (File)
 
First, is that at all possible given the circumstances? Second, what would the lines of code on the Grub4DOS or Syslinux menu be to make this happen?
 
Thank you,
 
- KP


#2 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7566 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 27 March 2014 - 08:35 PM

So does the \sources folder have a boot.wim  (i,e, WinPE loads as X: drive in RAM)?

 

If so, it should be easy to boot PE from the ISO.

 

title Boot PE

map /MyPE.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader /bootmgr

 

 

Make sure the ISO is contiguous (use WinContig or RMPrepUSB and Ctrl+F2)

 

 

Or just use Easy2Boot and copy the ISO files to the Easy2Boot USB drive?



#3 KP13

KP13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 March 2014 - 12:39 PM

So does the \sources folder have a boot.wim  (i,e, WinPE loads as X: drive in RAM)?

 

If so, it should be easy to boot PE from the ISO.

 

title Boot PE

map /MyPE.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader /bootmgr

 

 

Make sure the ISO is contiguous (use WinContig or RMPrepUSB and Ctrl+F2)

 

 

Or just use Easy2Boot and copy the ISO files to the Easy2Boot USB drive?

 

The sources folder does have a boot.wim. I tried your code as well as running WinContig.

 

I get the following error after choosing it from the Grub4Dos menu:

 

351x2jp.png



#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7566 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 March 2014 - 12:40 PM

can you go to the command prompt (type c)

and do

 

ls (0xff)/

 

 

what files do you see?

 

P.S. What version of grub4dos are you using (date and version is at top of screen)



#5 KP13

KP13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 March 2014 - 12:42 PM

Output is:

 

Error 21: Selected disk does not exist



#6 alfreire

alfreire
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 30 March 2014 - 03:41 PM

Are you test boot in Virtual Machine without HDD...?

Regards... ;-)



#7 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7566 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 30 March 2014 - 03:48 PM

Output is:

 

Error 21: Selected disk does not exist

 

You will need to type the map commands in as well in the grub4dos console

map /MyPE.iso (0xff)
map --hook
ls (0xff)/

change name and path of ISO to match your ISO file.



#8 KP13

KP13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 April 2014 - 02:58 PM

Steve,

 

I mapped the .ISO using the command line and it does list the files in the base but I still can't boot to it. Do I have to type another line into the GRUB command line?



#9 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1469 posts

Posted 01 April 2014 - 04:14 PM

I mapped the .ISO using the command line and it does list the files in the base

Which files are listed? List the output.

#10 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7566 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 April 2014 - 04:18 PM

yes

chainloader /bootmgr

 

The error you got implied that /bootmgr does not exist. Is it listed when you type:

 

ls /

 

What files are listed?



#11 KP13

KP13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 April 2014 - 04:42 PM

yes

chainloader /bootmgr

 

The error you got implied that /bootmgr does not exist. Is it listed when you type:

 

ls /

 

What files are listed?

 

24e9xls.png



#12 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7566 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 April 2014 - 04:47 PM

so do any of these work?

root (0xff)
chainloader /bootmgr
boot

or

root (0xff)
chainloader /BOOTMGR
boot

work?



#13 KP13

KP13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 April 2014 - 05:17 PM   Best Answer

AWESOME! It finally worked out! It was the case sensitivity that did it.

 

root (0xff)
chainloader /BOOTMGR
boot

 

So that seemed to work wonders. I appreciate all the help as always, you don't understand how annoying this problem has bugged me.

 

Thanks again,

 

-KP



#14 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7566 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 April 2014 - 05:32 PM

If the ISO is bootable then

title Boot PE
map /MyPE.iso (0xff)
map --hook
rootnoverify (0xff)
chainloader (0xff)

should work for most ISOs.

 

P.S. Have you tried Easy2Boot?

 



#15 KP13

KP13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 April 2014 - 05:39 PM

Excellent, I'll have to try it out. I have not tested out Easy2Boot yet but I was planning on doing it in the near future!



#16 KP13

KP13

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 April 2014 - 02:07 AM

Last question, is it possible to use this code as an appended config file for a Syslinux menu item?



#17 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7566 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 April 2014 - 09:24 AM

should be fine.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users