Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

WinBuilder068 exception error


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 tamws

tamws
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 April 2007 - 03:36 AM

Hello,

When I download and run the latest WinBuilder068, it cannot run but just report an exception:
However, I can run fine with WinBuilder067.

My machine is a Celeron-S 1.2G, 1G RAM, Chinese Windows XP Pro SP2, thank you!

Vincent

Attached Thumbnails

  • wb068_error1.gif
  • wb068_error2.gif


#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 April 2007 - 09:43 AM

Hi tamws!

Thank you for reporting this issue - I think the biggest difference between 067 and 068 is the download center - on startup it will try to ping http://updates.boot-land.net to see if the host is valid and then connect.

The message box you've posted complains about richedit - so the first idea that comes to my mind is the lack of support for unicode languages such as Chinese, and since wb067 is working well - now we need to find where this happens.


A way to debug this error is replacing your folder with 067 with 068 and this way avoid the download center when no projects are available to see if it runs.

When you mention that wb cannot run - you mean when starting up the program or when you press the play button?

(just to ensure where to debug)

:cheers:

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 April 2007 - 10:03 AM

Thank you for reporting this issue - I think the biggest difference between 067 and 068 is the download center - on startup it will try to ping http://updates.boot-land.net to see if the host is valid and then connect.

@Nuno:
Do you think on the GUI interface label changes you made? ANSI-chars to ???

Peter

#4 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 April 2007 - 10:13 AM

I'm not sure yet - looking on the wb's code, richedit3 is the object where the license agreement is placed - and this is a completely static object wich does nothing relevant to the startup.

The weak points here could be download center and the multi-language support.

Since we're starting wb from scratch, english language is used as default for everything, and the download center would fetch informations if connected to become updated.


Maybe Oleg_II can reply and let us know if wb 068 is working well under Chinese Environment so that we can have more informations about this behavior..

:cheers:

#5 枯道曦风

枯道曦风

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 22 April 2007 - 02:23 PM

Just now I downloaded v68 and ran it on my working system (let's name it xp1), got same error, then tried it in three xp (EN) of vmware, all work, ran on another desktop working system (xp2), works without error.
then downloaded v67 and ran on xp1, it works.

then I wanted to post this error, as you know I am a newbie to here, after a few minutes search then find this related post.

xp1: XP SP2 english with multi-language support, and default language for non-Unicode is Chinese.
xp2: have same config as xp1 in most area.

#6 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 April 2007 - 02:30 PM

I've already added some code to see if this corrected - please try the latest wb 069 beta and let me know if it works:

http://www.boot-land...ta-1-t1943.html

Thank you! :cheers:

#7 枯道曦风

枯道曦风

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 22 April 2007 - 02:34 PM

now I could run v68 on my working system (xp1),

set Standards and Formats to Chinese (PRC) on Regional Options tab, then error gone
I got this item by comparing xp1 to xp2

haha, now I can begin to use WB (I have never used it, just learned its name several days ago)

#8 枯道曦风

枯道曦风

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 22 April 2007 - 02:46 PM

I've already added some code to see if this corrected - please try the latest wb 069 beta and let me know if it works:

http://www.boot-land...ta-1-t1943.html

Thank you! :cheers:



For your information, the error still exsits in 069 beta version when I change the item to English (United State)(this is default on my working machine) from Chinese (PRC), but leaving Chinese for non-Unicode option.

#9 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 April 2007 - 05:22 PM

Thanks for reporting back - now it is a bit clearer where the error is occuring.

Unicode support should be improved over time.

Can you post this information on the chinese forum, it could help others solving this matter while it isn't fixed properly..

:cheers:

#10 枯道曦风

枯道曦风

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 17 May 2008 - 05:14 AM

One year later, once again I tried WB, now it is v072, but the old problem is still over there.

My OS is XP English with east asian language pack as follows

Express it by text as the following:
Chinese(PRC) is selected in non-Unicode program dialog
If also select Chinese(PRC) in Regional Options WB works, if select English(United State) then this error hapens.

So maybe you can set same option to playback this error and debug it.

Ctrl_EastAsian.jpg
Ctrl_nonUnicode.jpg
Ctrl_Formats.jpg

#11 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 May 2008 - 11:23 AM

Hi,

Sorry for the long wait, please add this bug and respective way to reproduce the exception on the bug tracker: http://www.boot-land...?...ject=1&st=0

-----------------------------------


I'm not understanding very well your steps, please correct my assumptions are wrong.


- You install Windows XP (english)
- Select the East Asian language support
- When you select english on the windows control panel - wb gets an exception when starting up.


It must likely be fault of the web component from bsalsa.

;)

#12 枯道曦风

枯道曦风

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 19 May 2008 - 02:41 AM

Hi,

Sorry for the long wait, please add this bug and respective way to reproduce the exception on the bug tracker: http://www.boot-land...?...ject=1&st=0

-----------------------------------


I'm not understanding very well your steps, please correct my assumptions are wrong.


- You install Windows XP (english)
- Select the East Asian language support
- When you select english on the windows control panel - wb gets an exception when starting up.


It must likely be fault of the web component from bsalsa.

;)


Your understanding is right.
Okay, I will make a new bug post later.

PS: There is a little difficult to post here to me, otherwise I had replied this post early. (several times, waiting for a long time after post, then ask me a "log on" dialog windows, then I have to repost it, and ..., I guess it met timeout)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users