Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

vMount

vhd

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#26 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14323 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 December 2014 - 08:40 PM

I haven't tested "mounting" yet, but when attempting to unmount an existing VHD, I receive an error:

 

COMMAND: VMOUNT64.exe DETACH C:\Secure.vhdx
STDOUT: OpenVHD failed,1392

COMMAND: VMOUNT64.exe UMOUNT S:\
STDOUT: NULL

 

Any ideas?

Are you saying that you attempted to UNmount a NON mounted VHDx? :unsure:

Then what is corresponding to the S:\ drive? :dubbio:

HOW (which program/driver/whatever) made the C:\secure.vhdx be accessible as drive letter S:\ ?

Do you know that a .vhd is NOT a .vhdx (they are DIFFERENT formats)?

Are you running Windows 7 (which knows nothing about .vhdx) or Windows 8/8.1 (which has "native" support for both .vhd and .vhdx)?

http://www.eightforu...indows-8-a.html

 

:duff:

Wonko



#27 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2321 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 18 December 2014 - 08:47 PM

I haven't tested "mounting" yet, but when attempting to unmount an existing VHD, I receive an error:

 

COMMAND: VMOUNT64.exe DETACH C:\Secure.vhdx
STDOUT: OpenVHD failed,1392

COMMAND: VMOUNT64.exe UMOUNT S:\
STDOUT: NULL

 

Any ideas?

 

1392 error code basically means file or directory is damaged or unreadable.

and as Wonko mentionned, it will work only if your O.S supports the vhdx format.

 

as for umount, drop the "\", it should be vmount umount s:



#28 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2321 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 31 December 2016 - 04:06 PM

A quick update 2 years later.

 

New switches on the command line :

vmount compact path_to_vhd
vmount online disk_id
vmount offline disk_id
vmount ro disk_id
vmount rw disk_id
vmount attributes disk_id
 
Added to that, the vmount disks command will now show extra details (bustype and removable).
 
Example:
0       DISK    KINGSTON SVP100S296G    91580MB SATA            NON-REMOVABLE
1       DISK    DT 100 G2               3824MB  USB             REMOVABLE

Cheers and happy new year :)

 

Erwan



#29 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2321 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A week ago

Small update to vmount.

vmount v0.8 by erwan2212@gmail.com
vmount createfixed path_to_vhd size(MB)
vmount createdynamic path_to_vhd size(MB)
vmount createchild path_to_child path_to_parent
vmount attach path_to_vhd [NOLETTER]
vmount attach path_to_iso
vmount detach \\.\PhysicalDriveX
vmount detach disk_id
vmount detach path_to_vhd
vmount expand path_to_vhd size(MB)
vmount compact path_to_vhd
vmount merge path_to_child
vmount disks [filter]
vmount partitions [filter]
vmount mount x: \device\harddiskX\partitionX
vmount umount letter
vmount online disk_id
vmount offline disk_id
vmount ro disk_id
vmount rw disk_id
vmount attributes disk_id

vmount detach will now accept a disk_id (like vmount detach 2) next to a physicaldrive path (like vmount detach \\.\physicaldrive2).

vmount attach will report the physicaldrive path when attaching a virtual disk.

vmount attach will now accept 'noletter' as extra parameter allowing one to attach a virtual disk without forcibly assigning a drive letter.

vmount will also create (fixed and dynamic) and attach vhdx (next to vhd and iso).

vmount disks will report the serial number for each physicaldrive.


  • ReTokener likes this

#30 ReTokener

ReTokener

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 144 posts

Posted A week ago

Hi erwan

thanks for continuing the development of this great tool. :thumbup: Thumbs up!

 

Sincerely   T.



#31 MJK

MJK
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    Ireland

Posted 2 days ago

Many thanks, Erwan, for the support and updates. Merci.

 

  - Mike Kennedy



#32 MJK

MJK
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    Ireland

Posted 2 days ago

Small query re the "disks" option:

 

I have a client reporting the following, but I have not been able to run many tests myself yet.

 

It seems that, if a VHD is attached/mounted, then "VMOUNT64 DISKS" (2014 build) reports the VHD slightly differently, depending on whether the command is run with or without ADMIN rights:

  - With admin rights; 1 DISK VIRTUAL DISK 500MB

  - Without admin rights: 1 DISK 500MB
 
I don't know if these strings are built inside VMOUNT or by Windows, and, if within VMOUNT, I don't know if VMOUNT is informed that the drive is a 'virtual' one when run without admin rights?
 
This is causing a small issue because the app that runs VMOUNT is parsing the response from the Disks command, and trying to verify that a "Virtual" drive has been attached/mounted successfully.
 
Thank you for any feedback. Let me know if I can run any specal tests, etc.
 
  - Mike

Edited by MJK, 2 days ago.


#33 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2321 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 2 days ago

 

Small query re the "disks" option:

 

I have a client reporting the following, but I have not been able to run many tests myself yet.

 

It seems that, if a VHD is attached/mounted, then "VMOUNT64 DISKS" (2014 build) reports the VHD slightly differently, depending on whether the command is run with or without ADMIN rights:

  - With admin rights; 1 DISK VIRTUAL DISK 500MB

  - Without admin rights: 1 DISK 500MB
 
I don't know if these strings are built inside VMOUNT or by Windows, and, if within VMOUNT, I don't know if VMOUNT is informed that the drive is a 'virtual' one when run without admin rights?
 
This is causing a small issue because the app that runs VMOUNT is parsing the response from the Disks command, and trying to verify that a "Virtual" drive has been attached/mounted successfully.
 
Thank you for any feedback. Let me know if I can run any specal tests, etc.
 
  - Mike

 

 

Hi Mike,

 

Are you able to copy/paste the output of vmount both with admin and non admin rights?

Also, altough I did not introduce much changes around this "disk" feature, download latest version (from 2018).

 

Regards,

Erwan

 

Edit (with both x86 and x64 versions)

 

non admin

vmount64 disks
0 []    DISK                            114480MB                                NON-REMOVABLE
1 []    DISK                            152627MB                                NON-REMOVABLE
2 []    DISK                            10240MB                                 NON-REMOVABLE

admin

vmount64.exe disks
0 [01020304]    DISK    WDC WDS120G2G0A-00JH30  114480MB                SATA            NON-REMOVABLE
1 [56B682DC]    DISK    Hitachi HDP725016GLA380 152627MB                SATA            NON-REMOVABLE
2 [CE41BBFB]    DISK    Virtual Disk            10240MB                 UNKNOWN         NON-REMOVABLE


#34 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2321 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 2 days ago

fixed in x86 version : should now display all datas even if not run as administrator

 

now fixing x64...

 

edit : x64 version fixed as well.

 

@Mjk

 

zip re uploaded...just re download...and report :)

 

I have not tested all functions thus as non admin so cannot tell which will work as non admin and which will work as admin.

 

Note that latest version will also report the physicaldrive id after attaching a vhd.

You can also choose to not assign a letter (and therefore possibly assign your letter afterwards).



#35 MJK

MJK
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    Ireland

Posted 2 days ago

WOW!!!!!  MERCI Beaucoup!!

 

Just to answer your earlier questions:

  - The little bits that I posted were actually copy-pasted from the DISKS outputs.

  - And, your outputs exactly matched the outputs that I saw - especially with the word "Virtual Disk" missing in the non-admin runs.

 

I'll get the client to try the latest download - thank you again, Erwan. [I hope this tweak does not break the program for other users].

 

  - Mike



#36 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2321 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 2 days ago



WOW!!!!!  MERCI Beaucoup!!

 

Just to answer your earlier questions:

  - The little bits that I posted were actually copy-pasted from the DISKS outputs.

  - And, your outputs exactly matched the outputs that I saw - especially with the word "Virtual Disk" missing in the non-admin runs.

 

I'll get the client to try the latest download - thank you again, Erwan. [I hope this tweak does not break the program for other users].

 

  - Mike

 

This is a minor tweak in one function (GetDiskProperty using IOCTL_STORAGE_QUERY_PROPERTY) called in the "disks" feature only.

The same tweak may be needed on the "partitions" feature later on

 

Next time in Dublin, the first Guinness is on you ;)



#37 MJK

MJK
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    Ireland

Posted 2 days ago

Great news that it's only a minor tweak to the "disks" command!

 

Re "partitions": The same app is using this command also, but, so far, I've not heard of any "admin" issue with it. Maybe with "disks" working better (without admin rights), perhaps the app will get further, and maybe the "partitions" option will throw some errors. If so I'll let you know.

 

Thank you again, Erwan, for the extremely fast responses and fixes!

 

And, on that Guinness: it would be my total pleasure to help you sample some really good "black stuff" in Dublin - any time! Don't forget... OK?

 

  - Mike







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: vhd

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users